Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Panoramic Views of Cape Cod Bay and Scorton Creek
East Sandwich Vacation Rental - ID 10436

1 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 3
Beds: 1 BR: 1 double, sofa-bed in living room
Beach: just steps from East Sandwich Beach
Guest Reviews: 20 reviews
Time active: 6 years, 2 months
Contact details:
  Email Barry
Contact Barry , by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 888-1540 (Barry- main contact), 508-888-4885 (Arlene-home), 774-487-8868 (Arlene-cell).
Please mention Property ID# 10436 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
20 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Scorton Creek

Had a great time...again. Cottage was clean and owner is very accommodating. We love this spot!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Framingham, MA
Member since Aug 2018

Perfect summer cottage!

4 of 5

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this cottage. Cottage was quaint with plenty of room for me and my two kids. Easy access to creek and awesome sand bars at low tide. Will definitely rent again next year. Thanks Arlene!

Submitted: Aug 22, 2017

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: February 2018
MATTHEW B
FRAMINGHAM, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Incredible Location

5 of 5

The uniqueness of having the ocean on one side and Scorton Creek on the other makes this property incredibly special. The cottage itself is in great condition and maintained very well. It is Cape Cod in and out. The owner, Arlene, took the time to point out the excellent restaurants in Sandwich and nearby areas and also connected us with a local kayak store who dropped off our rental kayaks ahead of time at the cottage. She went out of her way throughout our dealings to ensure our stay was a priority. So for us, it was arrive and our vacation started. Did I forget to mention that Scorton Creek is perfect for kayaking and it's tidal flow and geography create some excellent fishing in the creek and just outside it's mouth. We had an awesome time and have lasting memories from our stay. Thank you for sharing your special place with us Arlene.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: February 2018
ROB M
MD
(Homeowner Entered)

Love this cottage!

5 of 5

I've stayed at this cottage twice now - I like it a lot. It's clean, comfortable and convenient. The location is perfect for me. I look for some place that's low key, quiet and interesting. The views from the deck are beautiful and peaceful. The cottage is equipped with most things I need and the owner is pleasant and helpful. The area around E. Sandwich is perfect. Good restaurants include the Pilot House, Seafood Sam's, the Bee Hive and several breakfast/lunch places. The Heritage Museum in Sandwich is a beautiful place to visit. The gardens are spectacular and this year they had a special art exhibit featuring paintings by N.C., Andrew and Jamie Wyeth. Amazing! I recommend this cottage highly.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: February 2018
PAULA F
SEACOAST, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

Enchanting cottage and location!!!
5/5
This is the best vacation my husband of 26 years have ever had. We've been coming to the Cape for 30 years and sandwich is our new favorite place on earth. The location of this pretty beach bungalow is between the stunningly beautiful Scorton Creek with all the waterbirds and changing tides . We kayaked there and it was magical!! Walk across the street and you are on a very quiet private bayside beach. Arlenes attention to detail in the cottage made it a cozy home away from home. Loved the decor, very clean, exposed wood in ceiling, comfortable furniture and bed. We loved the smallness of the place and we lived on the deck while being caressed by soft sea breezes and serenaded by the gulls and terns. In the distance you can hear the train passing all of which transports you to another world. We took short rides to the canal for fantastic bike rides and our favorite night out was at the Pilot House in town at the marina. We miss it already!!
Property Details: Beds: 1, Baths: 1, Sleeps: 3
Submitted: July 18, 2015

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: February 2018
DEB S
EAST LYME, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

best cape cod vacation

5 of 5

We had a wonderful vacation summer 2014 we are returning for summer 2015. Great location and pretty cottage

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: February 2018
TOM D
SAUGUS, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Best R & R ever~

5 of 5

We have lived many wonderful places, visited some of the finest retreats and hotels, been on some of the greatest excursions...this was the best R & R ever. We didn't want to leave. Sitting out of the deck, watching nature with a front row seat, was one of the best highlights. If you are looking for frills this may not be your place, but if you are looking for rest, peace & quiet, carefree days and nights...this is it! Overlook what it doesn't have because it makes up for all that it does.

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: February 2018
DEBRA H
(Homeowner Entered)

Very private, beautiful views, lovingly cared for cottage.

5 of 5

This is a really lovely spot. We have stayed here two years in a row now (my husband, myself, and our young daughter). The way the house is situated is very private, with a good sized deck looking out on a beautiful landscape right by Scorton's Creek. The beach is right there, and was never crowded even in August. You can walk around a little peninsula from the beach side to the creek side (or the other way around), and at low tide the sand bars are stunning, and great fun to explore. You can walk out very far into the ocean at low tide and the water is only up to your knees. The house is very nicely cared for, and we felt right at home. It is a small cottage, but it has high ceilings and, with the deck, and the beach right there we did not feel cramped. We love this place.

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: February 2018
ANONYMOUS A
BEACON, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Relaxing Retreat

5 of 5

I was looking for a place on the Cape for a personal retreat. This charming cottage was just the thing. It's located in a quiet area, with beautiful views and all the amenities I needed. The owner, Arlene, is welcoming and accommodating. She lives nearby and was very willing to help me locate services in the area as well as interesting places to visit. I look forward to going back. Thank you, Arlene!

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: February 2018
PAULA F
SEACOAST, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

Best Little Cottage on Cape Cod

5 of 5

My wife and I have been going to this same spot for over 10 years now. A perfect little cottage with everything you need. Not overdone and placed in the perfect spot overlooking Scorton Creek. This is "Old" Cape Code at it's finest. If I could give it 6 stars I would.

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: February 2018
DOUG S
NEWBURYPORT, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Perfect little cottage!

5 of 5

We loved everything about this cottage! Very charming, very clean, nice location, steps from the beach, nice outdoor space...

The cottage is not very big, but is equipped with everything that is needed (fridge, oven, microwave, BBQ, fire place for cool nights, outdoor shower, etc.).

We stayed with our 1-year old son, the bed room was just big enough for the pack'n play, the creek/beach behind the cottage was perfect for him.

Thanks so much Arlene for everything! Me might come back next summer!

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: February 2018
SILVIA E
(Homeowner Entered)

A Little Slice of Heaven on Earth!

5 of 5

This little cottage was exactly as described and everything I wanted for my Cape Cod vacation - definitely a 'classic' Cape cottage, cozy and comfortable and not 'overdone' like so many Cape Cod rentals these days. This cottage reminded me very much of the cottages I visited as a child many years ago; it feels like a Cape Cod retreat, and not like a 'house at the beach'.

The views from the back deck are lovely, and the cottage is visited daily by birds, chipmunks, rabbits, etc. At night the cottage is surrounded by the sound of surf and the chirping of crickets and croaking of frogs - it's very, very peaceful and the folks staying at neighboring cottages were quiet and respectful. The private beach on Cape Cod Bay is lovely and not crowded, and Scorton's Creek feeding into the Bay from the marsh behind is also lovely for swimming, kayaking, birdwatching, etc.

East Sandwich/Sandwich is one of the loveliest areas on the Cape - and of course, the rest of the Cape is only a short drive away. Locally, Green Briar Nature Center, Heritage Gardens, the Sandwich Glass Museum, Cape Cod Canal visitor center, shopping in Sandwich village and Marshland Restuarant and the Ice Cream Sandwich are all 'must dos'. Check out Crow Farm on 6A for fresh corn on the cob and other produce, plus fresh baked pies to enjoy at the cottage.

I'd recommend this cottage for a lovely solo vacation (as I enjoyed it), or for couples, and even for couples with one child in tow or for two friends to share. It is definitely cozy - not the best choice for folks who need 'space' from each other. It's also not really appropriate for inviting a crowd of friends over - just too cozy inside, and not really a huge 'yard' to entertain folks outdoors - the cottage is surrounded with vegetation that attracts wildlife and makes for a lovely surroundings.

Definitely WAY better than average, Arlene's cottage is a splendid, cozy, clean and pretty Cape Cod retreat, and I hope to visit it many, many more times in years to come. Thank you for sharing it, Arlene! My two weeks there were absolutely blissful!

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: February 2018
KARLA M
MT
(Homeowner Entered)

Just as described!

5 of 5

This perfect little cottage was just what we wanted and needed. So clean and pretty!

It was exactly as I imagined a Cape cod retreat. And the owner is very nice and helpful.

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: February 2018
JULIE B
MONTREAL, CANADA
(Homeowner Entered)

Bev

5 of 5

What a relaxing and charming location. When my husband and I stepped out of our car we could feel the stresses of life melt away. This cottage faces Scorton Creek. The view is absolutely breath taking and the privacy of this cottage was fantastic. We sat on the back patio and took all of the sights of nature in. We were graced by the presence of a multitude of birds , baby bunnies and two red foxes.The fish were biting , strippers and bass were plentiful. We strolled the beach and felt the salty mist on our faces. The owners gave us tips on all of the local restaurants. Only minutes from several delicious locations we savored clam chowder, fried oysters and lobster pie. It was a pleasant surprise to find everything necessary to cook up our own Cape Cod delights as we grilled on the patio sipping on a glass of wine. This place is truly a hidden treasure! If you want to escape from the hustle and bustle of the city this would be the spot for you. We are already planning our next trip. Thank you Arlene fro making us feel right at home!

Date of Stay: May 2012
Date Submitted: February 2018
BEVERLY E
HAMILTON, OH
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you so much, we had a lovely stay. Walks on the beach & quiet time just watching the world go by.

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: September 2009
Lincoln and Joan B
Leicester, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

A lovely week! The beach was still beautiful. Thanks for all the positives & nice touches. Hope to have a repeat in 2010!

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: September 2009
Patricia D
Weymouth, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

You have a perfect little place for a get away. Hope to see you again.

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: September 2009
Mary H
Brockton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

The last few days were so restful - Thank you for another wonderful place to spend our vacation. See you next year.

Date of Stay: June 2008
Date Submitted: September 2009
Marilyn & Fred M
(Homeowner Entered)

Charmed by your beach house in old Cape Cod...your touches made our visit just fantastic.

Date of Stay: August 2005
Date Submitted: September 2009
Rosina P
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
(Homeowner Entered)

What a wonderful cottage! So peaceful and relaxing. I knew as soon as I opened the door that we would enjoy our stay in your lovely cottage.

Date of Stay: August 1998
Date Submitted: September 2009
Moira T
London, England
(Homeowner Entered)