Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Lovely In-town Victorian ~ walk to beach & ferry

Oak Bluffs, Historic Downtown Copeland Dis Vacation Rental - ID 13640
3 BR
2 ½ baths
Sleeps 7
Beds: 1 king, 1 queen, 1 double, 1 twin, 1 cot
Beach: 2 1/2 blocks Oak Bluffs Town Beach and The Inkwell
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 13 years, 4 months
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Wonderful rental - great location

Wonderful rental - beautiful home with a very convenient location. Walking distance to all major Oak Bluffs areas (shops, restaurants and beach), easy to drive to other attractions. Very clean and comfortable accommodations - the highlight is the light-filled kitchen! The hosts are wonderful and very thoughtful. Great rental for a group.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Member since Jun 2020
Sharing Secrets

Okay, so I am one of those people that when I come across something in life that is truly exceptional, I try my best to keep my cards close to my chest. The BLT House is the perfect example of something truly exceptional, due to many contributing factors, but mainly the combination of the owners loving maintenance, care thoughtfulness (they thought of everything, more on that in a bit) and the things that are more circumstantial, like the awesome proximity to the shops and restaurants, a walk to the steamship ferry, to some of the beaches, a walk to the bowling alley (for rainy days), etc. The two story house is bright, cheerful and charming. The living room, family room, kitchen and all bedrooms equipped with ceiling fans to keep you cool in the warm summer nights. They offer a parking space if you bring a car, how convenient is that? While the location is so close to everything (including beaches—5 min walk) it is so peaceful and serene. Another major bonus, there is enough room for everyone! It was only two adults renting the house, but we had guests down throughout our two week stay—just give the landlord a heads up. We had five adults in the house and it didn’t feel cramped at all. In fact, there were two additional beds. We hosted a fabulous little summer dinner party, using the grill on the back porch.

This was my first stay here, and when I say the homeowners thought of everything, I mean everything. There was unopened hand soap in the dishes, plenty of kitchen supplies (plastic bags, tinfoil, dishwasher detergent, etc), there were beach chairs, board games, additional blankets and pillows. An added bonus is that the beds have sheets, apparently this is a thing. There was also a manual that helped us navigate everything, EVERYTHING, how to logon the WiFi, how to deal with trash/recycling/composting, checkin/checkout helpful hints, where restaurants are...it was so intuitive and user friendly that we felt right at home. Oh, did I forget to mention they have an awesome washer and dryer?

Again, I hate sharing my secrets, but this home is the best kept secret on Martha’s Vineyard, and the owners deserve the best guests—this home is sooo worth checking out. Just don’t take my rental weeks!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: December 2018
Boston, MA
Member since Nov 2017
We loved BLT house

We had a wonderful stay at the BLT house. The owners, Brian and Lisa, are a delight. The house is impeccable: well maintained and exceptionally clean (a rarity for these older Oak Bluffs homes)!

The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you might need (after all, the owners live there during the off-season). The beds are firm and comfortable and the linens are clean and fresh (and unscented!). It's just a short walk to the shopping and dining on Circuit Ave, or to the gingerbread houses of the Campground Association, or to Inkwell Beach.

We look forward to returning to the BLT house the next time we stay in Oak Bluffs.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
Cambridge, MA, MA
Member since Apr 2014
Lovely house!

We have been going to the Vineyard for many years and to Oak Bluffs for the last 7 years. The BLT house did not disappoint! Lots of charm, lots of great kitchen stuff (important to us!), and a very fun "secret bathroom."

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Silver Spring, MD
Member since Feb 2007

This was our first summer renting the BLT House and had a wonderful experience. The house was in a great location, walking distance to the Circuit Ave shops as well as the beach. It was very quaint inside and very clean when we arrived. I cannot think of anything that we needed that the house did not provide already, which made our stay much more enjoyable. If we do ever go back to MV for a family vacation, we would certainly rent this house again!

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Franklin, MA
Member since Feb 2011

We've stayed in the BLT house two years in a row and have enjoyed it very much. The house is sparkling clean and well-equipped. Beds and linens are really comfortable. Rare to find such good sleeping/bath quarters in Victorian house. Landlords very helpful. Highly recommended.

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: November 2009
Anony M
Taftsville, VT
(Homeowner Entered)

We loved the BLT house. We have rented at various places in Oak Bluffs for 4 years and the BLT house is the cleanest, most beautiful and has the best location. We would highly recommend it to anyone. We will be renting it next year. The owners are very friendly and great hosts.

Date of Stay: June 2007
Date Submitted: November 2009
Rob B
Hingham, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you Lisa & Brian for having such a perfect house to rent for a perfect vacation. The location is perfect..1 1/2 blks to Circuit Ave & all the shops...2 blks to the beach!! The house is interesting with all it's nooks & cranies and surprises to uncover! What a fun house...and it is set up and organized so well..great quality everything...cooking untensils, diswasher, washer & dryer...everything..as well as being very clean. And yes, it was wonderful to hear the music of the piano from time to time...our only regret was that we did not make arrangements for our "little ones" to take piano lessions while we were there. Hopefully, we'll do that on our next vacation here. I highly recommend Lisa & Brian's home for your next visit to OB!!

Date of Stay: August 2006
Date Submitted: November 2009
Barbara E
Washington, DC
(Homeowner Entered)

My family and I came on holiday from England to stay in Oak Bluffs. We had a brilliant time. The house is lovely, we felt at home straight away, it had everything you needed. The house is also perfect if you don't want to drive as it is so close to the beach and shops. My favourite thing was to sit on the porch, tea in the morning and wine in the evening. Lisa and Brian who own the house are really nice people and we had some nice chats. I would thoroughly recommend a vist to the BLT house.

Date of Stay: August 2006
Date Submitted: November 2009
Sharon P
Surrey, UK
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks Brian & Lisa! Our stay at the BLT house was wonderful! We are frequent Vineyarders and have rented the same house for many, many years. This year we decided to try something new and rent close to town and the beaches. Through a web search we found the BLT House. We were a little nervous at first, but when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. Their renovated Victorian is just lovely, it is tastefully decorated, very comfortable and full of lots of little details. During our vacation week, the weather was not that great so we spent more time in the house than anticipated. Because the house was so comfortable, including the addictive wrap around porch in the front and wonderful private garden in the back, we had a fabulous time despite the bad weather. We would definitely rent the BLT house again!!

Date of Stay: August 2006
Date Submitted: November 2009
Sandra S
Miami, FL
(Homeowner Entered)

My sister and I brought our 3 kids to Lisa and Brian's house for a week in July 2006. We were so pleasantly surprised (as it's hard over the internet to know exactly what's in store) to find a charming, extremely clean home w/ lots of character! There are lots of nooks and crannies that my younger son enjoyed finding. The kitchen was wonderful w/ good appliances and lots of room with French doors and a cute deck and backyard. We had 5 people and felt we could all have our own space if need be. The TV is in a cozy separate room which is nice for kids and adults. My son felt very grown up being able to walk downtown on his own to the Arcade or to the beach. Shops were closeby for our teenage girls. Lisa and Brian are so nice, even bringing us puzzles for a rainy day. They know just when to help and also when to leave you alone! I would not hesitate to stay here again, in fact my son says, "Let's make this a tradition!" Thank you Lisa and Brian!

Date of Stay: July 2006
Date Submitted: November 2009
Karen C
Diablo, CA
(Homeowner Entered)