Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Wooded Haven, Martha's Vineyard Oasis
Oak Bluffs Vacation Rental - ID 21977

1 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 4
Beds: 2 queens, 1 full Futon couch
Beach: 1/2 mile to East Chop Beach. 1 mile to Oak Bluffs
Guest Reviews: 14 reviews
Time active: 5 years
Contact details:
  Email Julia
Contact Julia, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 572-0309 (cell).
Please mention Property ID# 21977 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
14 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Great House for our 1st Visit on Martha's Vineyard!

Hi Julia,
Thank you for everything. We enjoyed our stay very much and your home was great. It was perfect for the three of us. We were close enough to downtown Oak Bluffs to enjoy all that it had to offer and within close distance to public transportation to travel to the other areas of the island. My boys and I loved our bike rides to the coastline too! We can't wait to return! Thanks again for everything!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Hackensack, NJ
Member since May 2016
Misleading Reviews - would NOT recommend!

The reviews of this home were misleading and inaccurate. I entered the home and was greeted by a mildew odor. As I walked through from the sliding glass entry doors, to my immediate left, on the table in front of the bongos was a water pitcher containing dried, dead flowers with some leaves that had fallen on the table. I proceeded toward the kitchen and on the dining table was a small bud vase of the similar dried, dead flowers. Please note, they were not decorative. I cleaned up the flowers, and then wiped the table surface. It was then that I realized that the house had not been thoroughly cleaned, as the table surfaces throughout the house were dusty and cobwebs were ubiquitous.

The lighting was very poor, as EACH recessed light was empty of bulbs and electrical connections, with the only lighting coming from desk lamps and two lamps on top of unmatching end tables, one of which contained a blown out light bulb.

The bathroom fabric shower curtain lacked a liner; the bath mat was an indoor/outdoor door rug. The door was an unfinished, externally mounted board held closed by a magnet. The house could have used a fresh coat of paint, consistent soft furnishings (decorative pillows, lamps, accessories) and a way of pulling together the disjointed furniture

I have stayed in several similarly sized homes on the island at the same price point. I have never stayed in a home in such condition. This is a home that should either be freshened up, or taken off of the rental market and used solely for family enjoyment. There is far too much for a renter to overlook.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Owner Response:

Dear Linda,
I am so sorry that your experience was so uncomfortable at Wooded Haven in Oak Bluffs! My manager and I will have to think carefully about what you are saying to ensure that others don't have the same kind of time.

I guess I will start at the top and say that I truly understand that odor is often a deterrent to enjoyment. My own sensitivities actually make it impossible to stay around mold or mildew smells, so I know what you are talking about, in that the cottage does have a damp whiffiness when you first walk in. Especially if you have the place closed up for a few days, it can get stuffy. Since your visit was a mid-week start that accommodated your family, the cottage had a chance to sit untouched after Saturday's cleaning crew got finished. Usually we don't provide flowers for the same concern with allergic sensitivities, but maybe the crew just let the previous renter's flowers stay without understanding that you would not be there til later in the week.

The cleaning crew is pretty fussy - if you had let the manager know that you had a concern, he would have appreciated it and got them back in there. Joe is right around the corner and available at a moment's notice to assist. The ceiling lights in the cathedral ceiling were removed because the cottage used to be an art gallery that had imposing spotlights that really didn't make the place feel cozy!

Bath and Accessories: While the bathroom door is not conventional, it is a door; it stays shut while ones uses the facilities. Most people use the outdoor shower, but the indoor shower has no liner because of the humidity on the island. If we had a liner, the curtain and liner would never dry. Since we do expect sandy feet or wet pups,

As for the decor, What you see in the pictures is what you get. Becky at WeNeedAVacation.com has done a great job helping me to post a beautiful set of photos that show just what the cottage provides. To get a good feel for how it is, I stay at Wooded Haven myself for several weeks in the rental season, and the bright, airy feeling from Wooded Haven comes through in Becky's photography. Getting a feel for what vacationers need is very important to me, and I refresh items and design every year. We will be checking the bulbs for the next family!

Thank you for the feedback.
Julia

Member since Jan 2017
Just like the pictures!

Great place with a lovely back deck, conveniently located an extremely short walk to the bus that travels between Vineyard Haven and Oak Bluffs. Would definitely stay there again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Brookline, MA
Member since Aug 2017
Charming beach cottage.

This cottage was surprisingly bright and roomy inside. Lovely open floor plan with high ceilings, sky lights and casual, cheery decor make it a wonderful getaway. It was clean, well stocked, and the AC kept it comfortable at all times. Also in a convenient location. Easy bike ride or walk to beach & Oak Bluffs, and also easy to drive to other parts of the island. I had not been to the Vineyard in many years and was glad at how easy it was to really explore the island. We also really enjoyed the yard and sipping wine on the back deck. All in all a wonderful stay!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Billerica, MA
Member since Aug 2017
First Time at this Lovely Wooded Cottage!

Julia was very clear on what I could expect and it was the perfect weekend getaway! Quiet street, easy walk to beach for collecting stones and shells, and a short walk to Oak Bluffs after arriving on the ferry. The house has everything you need, including air conditioning, kitchen, linens, several sleeping areas, and an outdoor shower that feels like you're in a carousel when the light flickers due to a shower curtain with horses. It was charming, clean, and airy with a lot of open space. Also, there was a "secret" patch of four-leaf clovers that yielded spectacular results!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Billerica, MA
Member since Aug 2017
Our spot on the Vineyard

We almost don't want to write a review, since the place books up pretty quickly, but we have to say we have a great time here every year. This is where we go for our vacation.

The house is a perfect distance from town and I took an easy jog there each morning. Also very close drive to great beaches and Vineyard Haven -- go to Sandy's Fish Shack!

The owners have put in new items each year, but the place is comfortable for kicking back and relaxing. Everything is well taken care of. Last year the fold-out futon was upgraded so my kids each had a real bed instead of sharing!

Outdoor shower was perfect, and the space very cozy. Would certainly go back.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Owner Response:

Thank you, Charlie!
It was great to have your family at Wooded Haven again!
Julia

Bedford, MA
Member since Jun 2012
Great place to visit!!

Wonderful location, super cute, comfy house! Great beds, nice kitchen, living room. Outdoor area was lovely. Loved it!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Bedford, MA
Member since Aug 2017
Winemeck

This is a great place that has all the basics you need for a very affordable rate on Martha's Vineyard. Its East Chop location in Oak Bluffs has you a 5-10 minute walk to downtown. The laundromat is right in town so you don't have to go very far to do laundry.

The home is conveniently located on the bus route to get you wherever you would like to go on the island. It is tucked back off of the main road and is nice and private. Back deck is perfect for grilling or sitting out and enjoying a meal. Outdoor shower is very convenient as well. You could easily sleep a family of 6 in this place. House comes w everything you need for the week or a month! Perfect for people or families on a budget trying to see the island. The caretaker is right around the corner if you need anything. Great place and would recommend this to my family and friends.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Steamboat Springs, CO
Member since Apr 2017
Great space for teens!

Once again, we went to Wooded Haven and had a great time! The girls are teenagers now, and could get into town by themselves to play at the arcade or go to the beach. Good privacy inside the house means we feel like we are out in the woods, with all the trees and greenery around. The owner put in some really comfy new furniture, and our friends brought their dog one night, which is ok with the owner.

Very clean and good amenities. We love the linens and towels. The sheets and pillowcases are fresh and 100% cotton, and the towels are fluffy.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: March 2016
Bedford, MA
Member since Jun 2012
Quiet well appointed nest

I was so pleased with my stay at Julia's little house. The neighborhood is quiet, and I appreciated the fact that I could bring my dogs! The house has everything you could need for cooking, and Julia provides nice linens and towels. In addition the decor was tasteful and not overly campy, like you often find in vacation homes. I look forward to renting this place again next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2014
Date Submitted: October 2014
Cambridge, MA
Member since Oct 2014
The ants were relentless

The location was incredible. Everything that the other reviewers stated. Really couldn't have asked for a better place with ONE major exception. The ants of several varieties were everywhere. We were informed that there was a small problem but that was a gross understatement. Having grown up in the country, ants, skunks, raccoons are not new or surprising. This was a full on infestation that needs to be addressed. It's negligent for any homeowner not to.

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: April 2014
Owner Response:

Hi!
Thank you for the review! My family and friends love the Vineyard, and the Oak Bluffs cottage definitely is in a great location: private setting, quiet street, 1 mile from the center of town and beaches.

We are working diligently to make the place less interesting to ants: The mature garden plantings will be thinned out, the tree branches cut back, and more house cracks and crevices will be sealed. The process is ongoing! We are reluctant to use toxic chemicals and have found some effective natural remedies.

Feedback is always welcome! I hope you will enjoy your vacations on the Vineyard for many years to come, in Oak Bluffs or elsewhere.

New York, NY
Member since Apr 2014
Cottage experience

This is an awesome place! Quaint but open for a small group! We enjoy it and look forward to returning again next year and many years to come! The location offers peace and quiet enjoyment! Also, it has a wonderful outdoor private shower on the side of the house/loft which allows you to hear the Vineyard Sound of relaxation while taking in the fresh air! The brand new furnishings inside are comforting to just relax after a nice day at the beach or bike ride!

The home is centrally located to Oak Bluffs and Vineyard Haven for all shopping needs. It's easy to find upon arrival from both Steamship Authority Ferry locations! I would highly recommend this place for a small family or group! Until next year, thank you to Julia for another unforgettable experience of having my family and I as guest in your wonderful cottage on the island!!!!

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Owner Response:

You are very welcome, Lena - Thank you for reserving for next year already and for leaving the place in such wonderful condition!

Hyde Park, MA, United states
Member since Apr 2009
Relaxing spot

I stayed at this cottage twice: in 2012 with my girlfriend and two children (ages 7 and 10), and then again 2013 with just my girlfriend. The house is spacious: the kids each had a queen-sized bed (one on the sofa, the other on an air mattress). The quiet is surprising, even though the place is close to the road that connects Oak Bluffs and Vineyard Haven. We walked the kids everywhere. The loft has a low ceiling but the platform bed is very comfortable. The AC works great. Lots of updates between this year and last. Julia and Joe helped us out quite a bit - very friendly! Bottom line, I had privacy, steak, and wifi - it was a great vacation spot!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: August 2013
Bedford, MA
Member since Jun 2012
Quiet, lovely house in a great location.

We enjoyed the peaceful, quiet area. Sitting on the porch in the back was great, and the outdoor shower was very comfortable, too. The house is open and spacious. Located near the main road, it was a nice walk into town. There was a great spot to watch the sunset just down the road, on the water where boats go in and out of Vineyard Haven Harbor. The house was very comfortable and we were able to cook lobsters and other meals in the house. I’m looking forward to visiting this house again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: August 2013
New York, NY
Member since Aug 2013