Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Solera - Ocean Vews & Steps to Inkwell Beach
Oak Bluffs Vacation Rental - ID 22456

4 BR
3 baths
Sleeps 9
Beds: 4 BRs: 1 king, 3 queens, 1 twin
Beach: Inkwell Beach is 1 short block away
Guest Reviews: 12 reviews
Time active: 4 years, 9 months
Contact details:
  Email Rick & Chris Schwartz
Contact Rick & Chris Schwartz, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (914) 358-4518 (Home, evenings), (917) 678-3863 (Cell, anytime).
Please mention Property ID# 22456 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
12 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Beautiful house and wonderful location

We stayed at Rick's house in 2017. The house was unbelievable. It had everything we could ever need and was very clean and well decorated. The location was ideal. We could walk or bike to town or the beach. We hope to rent the house again next summer!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Durham, CT
Member since Feb 2017
Best Week Ever!

Perfect house, perfect location, perfect owners!

When my daughter said she wanted to get married on Martha's Vineyard - I knew the house would set the tone for the week!

We have stayed at the hostel twice, a B & B, a cottage in the campground, a house in Vineyard Haven, the Clarion and now Solera! We have worked our way up to perfection! Excellence is in the details. The attention to detail at Solera is amazing! I truly don't know what could be done to make it any better! The pictures listed don't do it justice - seeing is believing! Everything is high quality, top grade from one end of the house to the other. They outdid themselves when it came to decorating. There are not enough words...

We had cars - but for those using the bus system, the bus will pick up/drop off at the end of the street. It is an easy walk from the ferry and downtown.

Many amenities, including bikes, golf clubs, fishing gear and note that top quality linens are included. That is a huge plus! I loved the porch, very inviting! The upstairs balcony was great for quiet time and reflection.

The Solera was a great place to spend with our daughter before she got married, we will always have such wonderful memories!

Thank you, Rick & Chris, for making your beautiful home available to us! We truly enjoyed our stay! I'm ready to go back!!

Sharon L.
Norwalk, Ohio

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Norwalk, OH
Member since Jan 2016
Perfect Family getaway

Perfect home and location for our family !

Our 3 sons and daughters in law and 3 granddaughters enjoyed our time at Solera ! Perfect comfortable home ! Decorating perfect ! Kitchen outstanding! Bedding comfortable and lovely! Porches perfect morning for morning coffee or evening wine ! Bicycles , beach access and Oak Bluffs such an inviting quaint town ! Donuts , carousel, shops , restaurants, beach .... wonderful ! Edgartown so close ... shopping , eating , girls spa day!

Thank you so much for a perfect home and family place to retreat and call home!
John and Cathy

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Saint Charles, MO
Member since Jul 2017
Best vacation

We have been renting in Oak Bluffs for 7 years. Solera was by far the best property. Our family enjoyed the proximity to town. Comfortable set-up, central air!!, and spacious yard. Every night before dinner we played volleyball or badminton in the yard, and after dinner games on the porch. Not to mention the 9 burner gas grill that made cooking so easy! The kids easily walked to Back Door Donuts almost every night. All the rooms were spacious and comfortable with more than adequate bathrooms. It was great to have linens and towels supplied. We look forward to returning next summer!!

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Member since May 2016
Simply the Best

I have rented summer homes on Martha's Vineyard for many summers, and I have to say Solera was the very best of all for so many reasons. Location is everything, and my house guests and I all appreciated how close we were to the beach and to the many restaurants and activities of Circuit Avenue. I could walk to my favorite restaurant in 8 minutes!

The house is beautifully appointed and meticulously clean, both inside and out. It is so comfortable - maintaining the charm and history you expect on the Vineyard but with contemporary amenities. We felt like we had all of the conveniences of our home.

Here are just a few of the amazing spaces I grew to love about Solera during my 2 week stay:
-The kitchen. It is a cook's dream, with every appliance and utensil needed (and even a spice drawer!) to create amazing food experiences. The dining area is large, beautiful and well lit with natural light. We spent many mornings on the spacious deck right off of the dining area.
-The master bedroom. Spacious, airy, with its own balcony, where I sat many mornings to watch the spectacular sunrises over the sea. Amazing breezes on the balcony! The ensuite master bath is huge and modern, and I felt like I was in a luxury hotel, not a summer rental.
-The front porch. The breezes from the sea made this the choice spot of my house guests. The furniture is so comfortable that it was easy to spend an entire morning or afternoon there reading, or talking with family.

The owners have taken care of every detail - from the luxury linen to the plush bath towels. They even have beach towels, chairs, and bikes for use, and if we weren't on the porch, we were biking all around MV!

As Tina Tuner sang, Solera was "...simply the best. Better than all the rest." I can't wait to return!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Atlanta, GA
Member since Dec 2015
Great Stay...not long enough!

We arrived on MV ready to celebrate our niece's wedding! We were excited to pull up to our rental, but had so many other items to think about that we did not think much about where we would be staying. We arrived at Solera and were blown away by the beauty and charm. The house was spotless and meticulously maintained. It had the character of the Vineyard, but with all the modern amenities would could have asked for. The main room was large and inviting, the front porch had a great breeze and was a fun place to gather as was the back deck. The kitchen was beautiful, spacious, clean, and very well equipped.

All the bedrooms were airy, adorable, clean and beautiful. The bathrooms were also beautiful and very well appointed. The master bedroom was stunning - the porch off the master had unbelievable views and breezes. We only wish we could have spent more time enjoying the views and spaces in this beautiful home.

The proximity to the beach and town were amazing. We walked and also grabbed some of the bikes provided to explore the Vineyard.

The only disappointment was leaving. It truly was an exceptional vacation because we were able to stay at Solera! We will be return customers for sure and next time for longer than a weekend!

Thank you!

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Westport, CT
Member since Jul 2016
This house has everything

Our family, including our 2 year old and our 4 year old, stayed at Solera in July 2015. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Rick and Chris--- what a lovely couple. They really let us "make ourselves at home." They have thought of every detail, which was much appreciated. (We didn't want our vacation home to be lesser in quality than our actual home.) This place is top-notch... it has all of the amenities we could have needed! Solera is the perfect OB vacation home: close to everything, yet far enough away to have a peaceful experience without the noise of the OB hot spots. We walked to Circuit Ave. and Ocean Park every day (we put the kids in a wagon- I recommend this for the toddlers).

It was important to us to find a house that has a yard for the kids to play in, which is hard to find in OB. This proved to be an important feature of Solera. We spent every evening having a glass of wine on the beautiful front porch. Having the two parking spaces made it easy to pile in our Jeep and head to other parts of the Island. * Note: we rented a crib for our two year old which was very convenient. Thank you, Rick and Chris, for making our vacation perfect!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
Owner Response:

Thanks for the kind words. The restoration of Solera has been a great experience and having people appreciate our efforts is rewarding. We have tried to set a very high standard so that our guests enjoy every comfort that we ourselves enjoy.

Hope to have you back!

Rick and Chris

Member since Jan 2015
Perfect!

To sum it up in one word - perfect. From the location on the island, to the amenities and comforting details that are graciously offered to use, our family had a relaxing and bonding experience in this charming Oak Bluffs cottage that has been thoughtfully renovated.

The home not only had a wonderful newly updated kitchen that was fully stocked with cooking pots and dishes, it included all the linens relieving us of doing more work on our vacation. In addition, the bikes in the shed were a great addition for daytime activity (especially being located right near the lovely Edgartown bike trail), and the variety of games and the plentiful selection of movies in the living room helped to pass night activity as well. And oh, did I forget to mention the lovely front porch? The photos only give you half the picture.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: June 2015
Mechanicsburg, PA
Member since Jul 2014
This property "Solera House" has the WOW factor you want + Location + Convenience

Having travelled the USA extensively, but never having travelled to Martha's Vineyard, we were curious as to why most Presidents of The United States vacation there...well, that was enough for us to try....and as it turned out, we did this vacation in style!

We looked at Oak Bluffs as the most convenient place to stay. We had studied up on the "Campground" - and wanted to see this historical religious neighbourhood...and it was is walking distance from our chosen "Solera House." Solera House is itself historical as the owners have a great book documenting the history of the house ...originally part of the Campground.

What we loved the best was how "new" the house was on the inside. All the creature comforts we expect in a luxury hotel and more. This home has definitely been renovated with nothing spared. What a kitchen! The Wow factor continues with a wonderful decorative touch of history throughout each room of the house. Great art too!

And, we found the location so convenient. We walked to the beach - just 2 houses away! We could have parked the car on the mainland and walked on the ferry (next time) as the ferry docks an easy 5 minute walk from Solera. The owners have provided 4 or 5 bicycles, and you're right on a great bike path that takes you into Edgartown. You peddle right past the "Jaws Bridge." Jump off if you want! Most kids do, but most young at heart do it too!

Lots of restaurants within walking distance. We even got talking with some of the Island residents who recommended the Back Door Donut place. Well, we waited in line after dark for about 30 minutes and I thought this was going to be crazy...until I saw the size of the apple fritter! It could have fed 4! Certainly an experience not to be missed. Again, all within walking distance.

We thought Solera provided us with great value, a great location and a virtually new "old" home to stay in. And it was super clean. We loved sitting on the great big front porch with our entire family watching the world go by. I can't imagine doing it any better.

J&J
Newmarket, Ontario


Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: November 2013
Member since Nov 2013
Week in Paradise.

This was our second visit to Chris and Rick's property. Both weeks were like a week in paradise. The first time it was the kids and I. We had such a great time last summer that we booked a week this summer. This summer I invited my siblings and their children to join us. The week was perfect. Everything in the house is immaculate. From the kitchen to the bedrooms to the deck and grill and the beautiful front porch. We would start the day with coffee and breakfast on the front porch and end the day cooking on the grill and eating dinner on the back deck. The house was large enough to accommodate all of us comfortably.

The location is perfect. Walking distance from town and a block to the beach. A running/bike path that starts at the end of the block. We didn't need to bring a car with such a great location. We took the bikes to go to Jaws Bridge and to go paddle boarding in the lagoon. We could jump on the bus at the end of the block to explore other areas of the island. It was so convenient to be so close to everything and have bikes at the house to venture out a little further.

We can't wait to return next summer! Truly an island paradise.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: November 2013
Montrose, PA
Member since Nov 2013
Solera

We enjoyed an incredible week at Solera in July 2012 and cannot wait
to return. This was our first visit to MV and we were very taken by this unique vacation spot.

Solera is conveniently located in a well-kept, quiet neighborhood at the edge of Oak Bluffs. We valued the fact that the beach, downtown, historic campground and passenger ferry docks are all within easy walking distance. This home is tastefully decorated and furnished with high quality pieces. The recent renovation did an excellent job of both preserving and enhancing the historic charm of the original cottage while seamlessly incorporating an impressive range of modern conveniences and amenities.

In short, Solera is one of the best vacation rentals we have ever experienced!
>
> Brian and Jane C.
> Oakville, Ontario, Canada

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: January 2013
Member since Jan 2013
Island vacation

We spent a long weekend (4 days) here with the kids in June 2012. This was our first visit to Martha's Vineyard, and we will return many more times. The whole experience was wonderful and unique.

I've never done an island vacation before and was concerned that we didn't bring the car during our stay. We took the ferry over from New Bedford to Oak Bluffs. We were able to walk from the ferry to Solera. While at Solera I found everything was fairly easy to get to without a car. We were able to walk to town, the beach, bike to Jaws bridge (and jump from the bridge) and take the bus to Edgartown.

When we weren't out exploring the island, we experienced the island life from great front porch and grilling on the deck. The porch is covered and has comfortable wicker furniture. Great place to sit and watch the world go by. We cooked our dinners on the huge grill on the deck and enjoyed hanging out at the cottage.

There is ample room at the cottage. The kitchen is furnished with modern appliances and everything you would need to cook a gourmet meal. The bedrooms are good size with great beds.

Can't wait to go back.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: January 2013
Montrose, PA
Member since Jan 2013