Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Glorious Sunsets On and Over the Water

Oak Bluffs, Lagoon Pond Waterfront - saltw Vacation Rental - ID 27817
4 BR
3 ½ baths
Sleeps 12
Beds: 2 kings, 2 queens, 2 doubles, 2 twins, Walkout Lwr Lvl suite sleeps 2-4
Beach: Private beach, 2-kayaks, 4-paddle boards, kids bea
Guest Reviews: 17 reviews
Time active: 1 year, 10 months
17 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review

5 out of 5
Awesome!
Great, quiet location, beautiful view! Beautiful yard and garden leading to small beach. House had more than enough space for 7 adults, with sitting areas and decks on multiple levels. Well-equipped kitchen, plenty of dining space inside and out. Beautifully decorated home, felt like we were invited guests. Owners were extremely responsive to questions, and helpful with suggestions for enjoying the island.
6/13/2021 at 2:04 PM
(Review taken from VRBO site)

Date of Stay: June 2021
Date Submitted: July 2021
Anne E
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5
Unique and distinctive property
Wonderful hosts who are very knowledgeable about MV, friendly, helpful and care about guests having a great experience. Definitely worth visiting and wouldn't hesitate to go back!
6/15/2021 at 11:59 PM
(Review taken from VRBO site)

Date of Stay: May 2021
Date Submitted: July 2021
Madhu N
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5
Clamdiggers 2021
We had a great time at The Leonard's home. The house is well designed and stocked with items like laundry detergent, beach chairs, beach towels, SUP boards, and kitchen utensils to make a great home experience, close to town for activities and restaurants, and a nice balance for rest, relaxation, and outdoor sport. easy to catch and uber here, we recommend edgartown for better restaurant options. thank you for a great east coast experience on the island!
5/29/2021 at 8:20 PM
(Review taken from VRBO site)

Date of Stay: May 2021
Date Submitted: July 2021
Diane M
(Homeowner Entered)
A true Martha's Vineyard escape

This was our 4th year straight renting this wonderful home on the Lagoon. This home is truly a gem. The location -- nestled on the bluff overlooking Lagoon Pond -- is the best kept secret on the Island. Just sitting on the deck, enjoying a glass of wine watching the sunset or a morning cup of coffee while the neighborhood osprey hunt for breakfast and the morning ferries chug out of Vineyard Haven -- our blood pressure drops immediately. Seriously, you will wonder whether you really need to see or doing anything else on the Island once you enjoy the deck overlooking the Lagoon.

But when we did leave the deck, we were steps away from the best water on the Island -- quieter than the ocean or Sound beaches, but wonderful. Perfect for our guests' smaller kids, but also fun for us as we enjoyed the SUPs and kayaks to toodle around the waterside-neighborhood. We also love the location -- a wonderful walk to Oak Bluffs town center (or a longer walk to the Oak Bluff harbor or beach and then through town for a well-deserved Mocha Motts coffee or Backdoor Donut!).

Inside the house is wonderfully comfortable and cozy. We love the well equipped kitchen with high end pots and pans, lobster pot and gas grill on the deck. We always use the dining room table for a jigsaw puzzle and then eat on the deck. So live-able -- Master bedroom with its own bath, 3 bedrooms downstairs and another bath -- and a fabulous TV room. And the all-important outdoor shower!

The owners were attentive, but never intrusive, and after four years of renting, they have become not just our Island experts, but our treasured friends. We have rented on the Island for 17 straight summers, have tried out every town and many different houses with many different offerings. We are really thrilled that we finally found the perfect place with this Lagoon gem!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Washington, DC
Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 5
Beautiful Place!
Pictures don't do it justice, probably nicest vrbo I've stayed in. Richard and Pia are unbelievable hosts, great local knowledge and provided everything we needed for a great long weekend.
9/19/2019 at 4:35 PM
(Review taken from VRBO site)

Date of Stay: September 2019
Date Submitted: July 2021
Tom M
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5
Great House - Great Stay
We had a great week on the Island and in the house. Its a beautiful property and its stocked with everything you could need or want. Richard and Pia were great and gave us a big run down on what to do and see during our stay. I would recommend this property to anyone. Well appointed and amazing views. Thanks for a great stay.
8/5/2019 at 1:26 PM
(Review taken from VRBO site)

Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: July 2021
Anonymous A
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5
Perfect location!!
We had a wonderful family vacation. House was very clean and the perfect size for our family of five with 3 adult children. We enjoyed waking up each morning to the beautiful view of the water and ending each day watching the sunset while we enjoyed dinner. The kitchen has everything you need and is a joy to cook in while enjoying the view. The master bedroom is upstairs and there are 3 bedrooms downstairs which allows everyone space to spread out. Also downstairs is a sitting room for the early risers. We enjoyed taking swims in front of the house, laying on the loungers in the yard and the wonderful outdoor shower. Richard greeted us upon arrival and was a wonderful host. It was the perfect vacation to relax and unwind. Many wonderful family memories were made and we can't wait to return!
7/2/2019 at 1:15 PM
(Review taken from VRBO site)
NOTE: New master suite on lower level

Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: July 2021
Sarah C
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5
Life on the Lagoon is great
A wonderful view, and house! My family had a great time playing on the little beach by the lagoon! We even got some clamming done! More than enough room for a family of 7, and Circuit Avenue in Oak Bluff is only a minute or two away by car, for some ice cream.
8/3/2018 at 2:59 PM
(Review taken from VRBO site)

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: January 2018
Edward G
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5
Quiet waterfront cul de sac get away in Oak Bluffs
Well appointed home with a beautiful view overlooking the Lagoon at Vineyard Haven. Richard has made sure the home is stocked with all the little things that renters appreciate including but not limited to a bread machine, waffle iron, and of course a lobster pot. The home was all the more impressive considering this was a weekend where of one his family members was planning g a wedding and only a few weeks removed from knee surgery. The home is just a little distance from town center, but the views, kayaks, row boat, and private beach area of over 70 feet are well worth the trade-off.
8/5/2017 at 4:02 PM
(Review taken from VRBO site)
NOTE: 4 paddle boards are also available now for fun and pleasure!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2021
George P
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5
Beautiful home and perfect location!

This gorgeous home is ideally located with spectacular views of the water and sunsets, and close to all of the sites. The spacious floor plan accommodated our two families - 4 adults and 3 children. It has everything you need to feel at home while you are on vacation. We loved dinners on the upstairs deck and roasting marshmallows in the backyard fire pit.

Richard and Pia were great to work with through the booking process and very helpful offering advice and tips for our visit.

We would love to come stay here again!

Submitted: Jul 18, 2016 Stayed: July 2016 Source: HomeAway

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Jessie Y
(Homeowner Entered)
Outstanding Property for MV Vacation

We spent a week with our family at this wonderful home, and this is an exceptional choice for a great vacation in MV.

The home is exceptionally well-appointed with stylish decor, fully functional and modern design, and maximum comfort. The home features an incredible view from two decks that you can spend hours enjoying accompanied by a beach just at the bottom of the stairs in front of the property. One of the nicest features is the beautiful and well maintained yard that allows for yard games, additional outdoor dining and privacy. The home features every modern convenience including an excellent home entertainment system, beautiful appliances, central air, high end awnings on the deck, etc.

The home is in a great location for moving around the island. Farm Neck is very close for golf, Oak Bluffs is walkable, and there are numerous options for entertainment, beach time and relaxing.

The owners are outstanding and helpful in every way. They even helped us go clamming for the first time.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Member since Apr 2016

5 out 5
Wonderful
We came all the way from the UK and the house, the setting and the delightful owners made our stay perfect. The house is exceptionally well equipped, comfortable and has probably the best sunset view on the island!

Thank you for your hospitality Pia, it broke my heart to leave!

Submitted: Sep 24, 2016 Stayed: September 2016 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: January 2018
Caroline L
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5
Perfect waterfront vacation getaway on Martha's VIneyard

This is a beautiful, new waterfront home that easily accommodated our extended family (total of 8 people). We thoroughly enjoyed the waterfront location.....beautiful views across the back of the home, outdoor dining, small beach area, kayaking, clamming and mooring for our rented boat. Truly, the waterfront location was the highlight of our vacation.

The home is a short bike ride or walk into the town of Oak Bluffs, which makes it convenient to avoid having to drive in and park. We rented bikes from Anderson's and they delivered/picked up and were great to work with.

The house still feels brand new and has a few neat features. The kitchen is a cook's delight....top of the line appliances, cooktop and cookware (did I mention the water view while cooking?). The lower deck has an outdoor (warm/cold water) shower, which we LOVED. The upper deck has a retractable awning allowing use all day. The bathrooms were beautifully done. The only things lacking were ceiling fans in the bedrooms and a mattress in one room that should be replaced. We did make an assumption that the house was pet free based upon the pet restriction listed, however, the owners had a cat in the home before the summer rental season. That did limit our use of one bedroom for our children who are allergic to cats, but they were very gracious about it once we realized it (offered us allergy medicine).

Richard and Pia were delightful to work with, and ensured everything was just right for our family's vacation. They provided suggestions for dining, sightseeing, bike and boat rentals, and booking the ferry. Pia even gave us "clamming lessons" and showed us how to enjoy fresh clams right out of the water! Those personal touches made us feel well taken care of.

I do suggest checking ferry availability before booking, as we had to adjust our rental dates based upon when we could get ferry reservations, but that is likely just during high season.

Overall, this was the perfect house for our first visit to Martha's Vineyard and if we have the pleasure to return to the island, it's the only place we'd want to stay.

Did you find this review helpful?

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: January 2018
Natalie P
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5
Wonderful vacation
We rented Richard and Pia's home for a week to spend with our family on MV. We had such a wonderful stay. The house itself is beautiful- brand new and many amenities. The waterfront location was spectacular. We have two young children and it was great to be able to let them play by the water throughout our stay. It was also nice to have such a beautiful view for morning coffee, dinner, and sunsets. The house accommodated our group well and the smaller, second kitchen downstairs was great. Everything we needed was there and Richard and Pia were wonderful. We hope to be able to return with our family again.

Submitted: Dec 17, 2015 Stayed: July 2015 Source: HomeAway

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: January 2018
Melissa M
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5
Fabulous house and location. Spectacular views!
As we approached the vacation home, the owner was patiently waiting our arrival on the front step. He graciously escorted us into the house and gave us a wonderful tour, complete with instructions on the home’s amenities. The views from the second floor were spectacular! The position of the stove faced the lagoon allowing for picturesque cooking as we prepared fresh stuffed clams or clams over spaghetti squash. The home’s décor was beautiful including the tile work in the bathrooms and the stone fireplace. The days were spent enjoying this lovely home, playing in the water, clamming, and eating Smores. We are so grateful we found this home to enjoy our family vacation.

Submitted: Jul 22, 2015 Stayed: July 2015 Source: HomeAway

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: January 2018
Anonymous A
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5
GREAT FAMILY VACATION
Another great week on the Vineyard. The house was beautiful and had everything you could need. The kids loved clamming right off the beach and provided a huge lunch for all. We had a great time kayaking in the lagoon. The views from the upper deck were beautiful and relaxing. Can’t wait to go back.

Submitted: Jul 13, 2015 Stayed: June 2015 Source: HomeAway

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: January 2018
Sandra R
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5
Made some memories!
We had a spectacular week on the lagoon. Our boys were on the beach looking for sea creatures at the break of dawn! My husband and I drank our morning coffee sitting in Adirondack chairs on the bluff watching over them- It was easy and relaxing. We rode our bikes in to Oak Bluffs for ice cream and rides on the Flying Horses. The house was very comfortable. The views from the decks are beautiful and sunsets are FANTASTIC! Every night a different show! We loved our vacation ! Hopefully next time we can go for 2 weeks!

Submitted: Mar 8, 2015 Stayed: August 2014 Source: HomeAway

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: January 2018
Cindy G
(Homeowner Entered)