Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Classic waterfront Vict. cottage, walk to town; huge porch

Oak Bluffs Vacation Rental - ID 31304
4 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 1 king, 1 queen, 2 doubles, Double daybed nook; tw +Qn futon
Beach: Two blocks to Inkwell & OB town beach, Harthaven
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 1 year, 10 months
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Great Vacation Home!!!

Awesome vacation home with absolutely excellent host. Easy walk to Oak Bluffs town center. Nice view of Farm Pond. Our host Jamie was available, helpful, flexible and extremely thoughtful. The house has plenty of room for a large family with a great porch, yard, and parking. It is a classic Vinyard home with character and the quirks and charm that entails. We all had fun with the canoe, kayak, and playing ping pong.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
Usa
Member since Oct 2015
Great location, great view

This cottage is in a prime location--short walk to the town and beaches of Oak Bluffs and an easy drive South Beach in Edgartown and downtown Vineyard Haven. The view of Farm Pond from the front porch is just beautiful, and the porch is spacious and cool enough for the whole family to lounge away the entire day and evening. The propane grill is great--we grilled many meals. The inside of the home is charming and the beds are comfortable; the outdoor shower worked great. Jaime is a wonderful host--friendly and easy to communicate with, responsive to renters' requests and needs, and very knowledgeable about the island.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
Member since May 2020

great property
5/5
Stayed Sep 2018
Susan S.
Yes, it is a quirky place and yes, it does have a bedroom that connects to another bedroom, but it is a great location and really an amazing view. Drinks and appetizers on the porch cannot be beat and so close to town and Inkwell beach that it is well worth it. We had 7 people in the house plus two dogs and it accommodated our needs excellently. Kitchen is well stocked and we had a ball. Jamie is a great hostess. I found the whole experience heavenly!!!
Submitted Sep 26, 2018

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Member since Oct 2018

Great location beautiful views and the 9 adults in our family.
5/5
Stayed Sep 2018
Terry F.
The location was great. We were able to walk into oak bluffs for dinner, the ferries, and any other activities. Easy access to the bike trail too. The house had 4 bedrooms up stairs that easily fit 8 of us adults and one slept in a reading nook on the first floor. Kitchen had everything needed, and the wrap around porch was great to relax on and possessed a wonderful view of the pond and beyond that, the ocean. Outdoor shower was nice even on cooler evenings. We wouldn’t hesitate for a moment to stay here again if we come out to MV with our family or friends.
Submitted Sep 14, 2018

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Member since Oct 2018


If you're looking for a slice of peaceful heaven, then Jamie's house is just the place to hang your hat. Jamie's house has a covered large porch, which overlooks Farm Pond, and Nantucket Sound beyond, where we sip our coffee and read the paper in the morning in total peace and quiet. In the afternoon, we might stroll down to Nancy's and have ourselves a lobster roll for lunch. There aren't many homes on MV in such a quiet location where you can also easily walk to restaurants, beaches, etc. And there are also lots of places to sleep for those unexpected guests who will surely drop by once they hear you're on the island! Book now before it's too late!

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
April S
(Homeowner Entered)

Big, rambling 19th century house right on Farm Pond!
5/5
Stayed Jun 2018
Jen G.
We loved our stay this year at Jamie's house! What a charming, and comfortable home. We had two families the first part of the week and no one felt on top of each other. The big wrap around porch is lovely with its breezes! We were even able to watch the Edgartown fireworks from the porch!
The location is perfect for a family with teens like ours--all the kids could bike or walk over to Circuit Ave for some needed independence. And if you have young kids it's great because there is a yard for them to play in. We loved our stay and hope to be back!
Submitted Jul 10, 2018

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Member since Oct 2018

Heartwarming Vacation!
5/5
Stayed Jul 2017
Tina H.
First time to Martha's Vineyard with my husband and this home was perfect! The back deck was a morning breakfast and Happy Hour retreat! Our adult children joined us for the last 3 days and fell in love with it too. Jamie was on duty answering all of my questions on where to get the best coffee to where to hike, bike, dine and sight see. We chose to rent bikes for a week and walk, taking Uber a few times to restaurants and it was a fantastic break from life. We highly recommend this endearing home which feels like you are in the country and a 10 minute walk/4 minute bike ride from all the action and dining.
Submitted Aug 10, 2017

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: October 2018
Tina H
(Homeowner Entered)

An idyllic spot
5/5
Stayed Jun 2016
Gayle H.
This is a truly idyllic spot - it couldn't have been better. We spent a week here and never tired of the views. The house is quirky (which I loved) as only an historic place can be. You'll never want to leave the front porch! Jamie made us feel very welcome - we wanted for nothing!
Submitted Jul 5, 2016

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: October 2018
Gayle H
(Homeowner Entered)

Great house, Perfect Location!
5/5
Stayed May 2016
Timothy W.Wakefield, Massachusetts
Had a friends weekend here over Memorial Day Weekend. There were 8 of us, and the place felt like it could have fit more. The house is so broken up that if feels huge (I think it was originally two houses that were combined). The outdoor shower was a great amenity. The location is close to the ocean and right on a small lake which was perfect. It was also good to be close to the downtown but not in the neighborhoods that have houses too close together. It was about 10 minute walk to the restaurants and bars. Jamie the owner gave us very detailed instructions for the house, use of his kayaks, and tons of recommendations for things to do on the island. He was very responsive to make booking easy. Nobody wanted to leave and I hope we can make it back sometime.
Thanks!!!
Submitted Jun 30, 2016

Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: October 2018
Wakefield, MA
Member since Oct 2018

Just love this house!
5/5
Stayed Sep 2014
robin w.
My family has stayed here four summers in a row. Between kids, friends, and parents, we never know quite how many people will be with us, but always find the perfect room for everybody of all ages. It's a peaceful, beautiful, and quiet setting, yet we can walk to town in minutes for food, entertainment, and fun. We use the kayak in the pond (and brought a stand up paddle board this year). Being so close to the bike path is a huge plus, and after our busy, busy, days - there's nothing better than relaxing on the porch with a view of the water. Jamie lives on the island, and is available/responsive if we ever need anything (which is very rare). The kitchen has everything we need, linens/towels are abundant, and the outdoor shower is delightful. We have been coming to MV for many years, and this house has been our favorite by far!

Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: October 2018
New York, NY
Member since May 2007

5/5
Stayed May 2014
RussellConcord, MA
For anyone looking for a wonderful week or two or three on the Vineyard, this is the place to stay. Jamie and Barry's home is truly special. With its deep history of being built from two historic structures--an old Tea Room and a Cottage house from the mid-1800's--this unique and extremely comfortable home is a special "heart"haven located in the back door to active Oak Bluffs center. Overlooking Farm Pond to the endless ocean, the wrap around porch is a relaxing place to hang out with a cocktail or three while the dogs lay by your side. Friendly neighbors, such as Vineyard's own Alison Shaw, are eager to make you feel at home and offer their local knowledge of the best of the Island's many activities, in this wonderful community. Go for a walk around the pond, or hop on bikes and cruise into Oak Bluffs for a relaxing dinner or night on the town with the kiddos! The dog-friendly home offers ample comfortable bedding and lounge-out spots for turning off and tuning in. The romantic fireplace throws shadows on the beautiful open living area as you crack into some local lobsters, or dig into delicious BBQ from the close by Smoke N' Bones. An awesome collection of books adorns an entire wall above the daybed that invites one to just take a load off and chill out (I recommend the Rolling Stone Interviews compiled by the legendary Jann Wenner). There is a very big inviting yard that is always freshly mowed (thanks Barry!) where the kids love to run and play. An huge outdoor shower completes the outside amenities in Vineyard style. All in all, I can't say enough about this place, and I have stayed all over the island with my wife and two active boys (Chilmark, Upper and Lower Makonikey, Edgartown, Vineyard Haven, you name it!). We were lucky to stumble upon this home and will be coming back for years to come. Thanks Jamie and Barry for opening your home to us and allowing us to make great family memories in lovely Hearthaven!
Russell, Kingsley, Charlie, Harry, Petey, and Grumpy - Concord, MA

Date of Stay: May 2014
Date Submitted: October 2018
Concord, MA
Member since Feb 2008