Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Sunset and water views of Hither Creek and Madaket Harbor

Madaket Vacation Rental - ID 6124
3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins, set of bunkbeds in downstairs room
Beach: less than a mile Madaket
Guest Reviews: 12 reviews
Time active: 18 years
12 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Enchanted Cottage

Our family has taken to referring to 8M as "the enchanted cottage" because everything about our stay there was lovely and magical. We knew we made the right choice when, the first day that we had breakfast on the deck, we saw a red-tailed hawk sunning himself on a post in the lot across the street.

This rental is more than a cottage, though. It is a real home where every amenity you could wish for is available. We have so many happy memories of our time there, even with the ungodly heat wave, the threat of a hurricane (which never came to pass), the abundance of jellyfish and occasional shark sighting. We really needed to run the A/C while we were there and, because it is central, every room in the house was comfortable.

This home is impeccably maintained, well-equipped and full of wonderful extras like the hammock, bicycles, cooler and beach blankets. Last but not least, Cynthia and Ellwood are warm, welcoming and responsive hosts.

I have been renting homes on Nantucket for almost 30 years and this is the most special place I have ever stayed. We hope to return next summer if there is room for us!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2021
Date Submitted: September 2021
Owner Response:

Thank you Liz for your review. We are so glad that lt went well for your holiday and would love to have you stay again some time!
Wishing you health and happiness ...enjoy this fabulous fall weather!
Cynthia

Little Falls, NJ
Member since Aug 2011

My husband and I stayed for few days at the cottage...we loved the location-perfect for afternoon was on the beach. The house was also well equipped with anything you might need for a stay on Nantucket.We'll definitely be back.

Date of Stay: January 2021
Date Submitted: January 2021
Emily G
(Homeowner Entered)

Had a wonderful time, house perfect for our family of four.
Great location, comfy home, nIce kitchen...thank you!

Date of Stay: November 2020
Date Submitted: January 2021
Amy S
(Homeowner Entered)

My friends and I recently stayed at this great home and were pleasantly surprised with both the owners and the condition of the home. The owners did a great job of communicating and even called in advance to be are we were ready for our stay. They priced reasonably and were willing to make accommodations for our stay. I highly recommend renting from Cynthia.

Date of Stay: November 2020
Date Submitted: January 2021
anonymous m
(Homeowner Entered)

This house has a great location. Bring your bikes! We biked out to Smith's Point for sunset most nights. Easy ride to Madaket Beach, as well. The house was VERY clean and cozy.The kitchen was very well stocked for those who want to cook dinner in. Great view of Madaket Harbor from table on the deck for morning coffee or evening cocktails.Would definitely stay again.

Date of Stay: September 2020
Date Submitted: January 2021
Lisa w
(Homeowner Entered)
Amazing

We had an absolutely beautiful vacation at this lovely home! We loved having meals on the deck overlooking Hither Creek. The sunsets were spectacular. Absolutely perfect! The house is so much more beautiful than I even expected. The pictures just don't do it justice. Fantastic place to stay where you feel truly on Nantucket.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: September 2017
Owner Response:

Thank you very much, Melissa, for taking the time to send this review:)
We are very happy that you loved our home and your trip to Nantucket!
Cynthia and Elwood Johnson

Member since May 2017

I returned home yesterday after a wonderful vacation on ! Your home at 8 AM was beautiful and exceeded our expectations. Everything was perfect! Thank you and hopefully we will return next summer.

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Lorraine D
Winthrop, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

I just wanted to thank you for allowing us to rent your beautiful college in Nantucket! We had a fantastic time on the island and your house was absolutely perfect!

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Alex C
Matthews, North Carolina
(Homeowner Entered)
Peaceful Madaket Vacation

We just returned from a week's stay at this lovely, comfortable Madaket home. It was very peaceful and enjoyable sitting on the back deck with a view of Hither Creek and the Marina. The home is clean/well-kept and has a kitchen that is fully stocked for when you feel like cooking. The owners are attentive and easy to work with.

Madaket Beach is a quick drive down Madaket Road - or you could easily bike. Try to catch a sunset. Millie's restaurant is a short distance from the home for good food and drinks.

We hope to return in the future.

We've been visiting Nantucket for many, may years and both agree we hope to stay at this location again in the future.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Owner Response:

Thank you very much, Pat and Bill, for taking the time to write a review! It makes us happy to know how much you enjoyed your stay. We love the house and are so glad that you do as well! Hope to hear from you again sometime soon.
Our best to you,
Cyndy and El

Member since Aug 2014
Really nice house

We enjoyed our week at this home very much. The bedrooms are nicely done, living room is comfy, and the kitchen is terrific. The back deck was our favorite place to relax and watch the sunsets. It's close to the bike path and close to Madaket Beach. Highly recommended.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Owner Response:

Thank you, Jim, for that great review! We are always happy when our guests love our home as much as we do! When next you visit Nantucket, we'd love to have you back at 8 M. In the meanwhile, be well and enjoy the upcoming fall season!

Cerrillos, NM, Usa
Member since Aug 2009

We really enjoyed our stay! Your house is charming ,and well stocked . "It's perfect." We love it here.. You are so lucky to have a beautiful piece of paradise. You take great care of your house, and it shows!! The gardens are so lovely. The rabbits are fun too:) We are all so sad to leave...Bummer ...
Thanks for such a nice experience .

Date of Stay: October 2014
Date Submitted: February 2015
Renee G
(Homeowner Entered)

This house was just what we expected during our first visit to ACK. The owner is super helpful with all things Nantucket and very easy to deal with- makes a trip to somewhere you have never been before all much easier for travel. The cottage has everything you need for an enjoyable trip, fully stocked kitchen, games, bikes, the list is endless.
I highly recommend this property in Madaket for your family get together, A+, we hope to be back soon!

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: February 2015
Alicia B
(Homeowner Entered)