Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Behind the Hedge

Mid-island Vacation Rental - ID 24282
3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 1 king, 1 queen, 1 double, 2 twins, Pack and play
Beach: Fisherman's Beach 2.2 miles, 12 minute bike ride
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 7 years, 2 months
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Vacation with girlfriends


I cannot recommend this property enough! Such a clean/comfortable and lovely home away from home. The central location (right near the airport) is great for a quick bike ride to pick up a few groceries or to take a daytrip downtown or to the beach. The large front porch, huge backyard and outdoor shower are just a few of the "extra's" that you will enjoy at Lema's bACK. This is your ultimate Nantucket experience without having to break the bank!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2021
Date Submitted: December 2021
Eureka, MO
Member since Dec 2021
Wonderful property and owners

I have rented for multiple years from the owners. It is in a central location and the house has everything you need, everything clean, and perfect for a great vacation getaway. The owners are fabulous to work with, and are flexible and responsive.

Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Member since Aug 2018
New Outdoor Shower!

I have had the pleasure of staying in this great home a few times. I love the addition of the open-air shower out on the side porch. It is quite private and I enjoy being able to just hang my sarong or beach towel to the set up if a little more privacy is needed. The blooming privets all around made it like a spa. What a great way to enjoy that fresh Nantucket air. nThis home is well equipped and everything you read in the description is true.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
Member since Aug 2019
Good Times

My three grown children and l just spent a week at Behind the Hedge. The accommodations and descriptions of the home were on the mark! It was excellent value for the price. My children particularly appreciated the bicycles at the home. It was a very lovely touch. Thank you, Cathy and Jim, for trusting us in your home.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Mount Kisco, NY
Member since May 2012
Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay

My girlfriends and I stayed here over a long weekend towards the beginning of the summer and could not have been happier with Cathy and the house. Cathy was extremely accommodating and set us up for a great weekend with her recommendations and rental guide.

The house is open and spacious. We were all able to sleep comfortably. It is in a great location just around the corner from a bus that can take you into town.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: September 2017
Winchester, MA
Member since Jan 2017
Charming and Perfect!

I had the pleasure of staying at this home last summer. It was ideal - and Cathy and Jim couldn't have been nicer! The home itself is cozy and bright with lots of outdoor space. We wanted for nothing - there were bikes, beach chairs, a barbeque, beach towels, etc. And the location is perfect - close to the airport but the island is so small that you are in town or a beach within minutes! I highly recommend staying here!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: February 2017
New York, NY
Member since Jan 2014

Great location for all that the island has to offer. We enjoyed bike riding and the extra bikes came in handy. WE dined in the house and the grill was great. ....your yard was perfect and I hope to see the hydrangeas bloom next time.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Elena C
New Jersey, united states
(Homeowner Entered)

...the street is quiet, the yard is perfect for our dog and stargazing on a clear night and the beds are super comfortable. You are located in a spot that has such easy access to all the beauty this island has to offer! We loved every minute of our time here and hope to come back next year!

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Maggie B
Troy, NY
(Homeowner Entered)
What a delight!

Being our first trip to Nantucket, Cathy was the perfect homeowner to rent from for the experience. With years of time spent on the island, she was so helpful and generous with knowledge of Nantucket, giving us practical tips as well as some great "must-sees" and "must-dos" that we most likely would not have found on our first trip to Nantucket.

The house is cozy and clean. There is a wonderful yard and great porch area that allows for some nice family time outside (we definitely took advantage of the charcoal grill). The house is very convenient to a lot of different parts of the island. We spent a lot of time at Nobadeer Beach (which is a quick drive or an enjoyable bike ride away). We were also able to get in and out of town really quickly and easily. Such a wonderful trip and the perfect place to start our love affair with Nantucket. Thanks, Cathy!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Member since Jun 2014
Such charm!

My husband,14-year-old-son and his friend, and I, spent a glorious week in this charming cottage. Even though Nantucket isn't a large island, this home seems to be near everything! Close enough to drive or bike to a wonderful beach, close to the airport, close to restaurants...but far enough out of town so that the hustle and bustle of "downtown" isn't invasive. Yet if downtown is a destination, it only take a few minuted to get there.

The house had everything we needed for our week, and Cathy and Jim gave us great ideas of things to do and places to go. The beds are comfortable, the decor is timeless, the yard is very large, and the porch spans the front of the house...what more could we ask for? The boys especially loved "their" bedroom with the bunkbed in it. I can't wait to go back!

We love Nantucket, and look at this house as our home away from home...thanks for sharing it with us, Cathy and Jim!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: January 2015
Fenton, MO
Member since Jan 2015
property 24282

My husband and I and our two children, ages ten and 13, absolutely loved our stay at this cozy house and enjoyed Nantucket thoroughly! We loved biking everyday and we are not bikers. The paths were everywhere, safe from the traffic, and flat enough for the whole family to navigate for hours. The bike rental was in walking distance, and they collect your bike for you, if desired. The town offered so much in the way of live music, great food, and the beautiful scenery of a cozy wharf. I had never been anywhere that had such beautiful homes that mixed into the landscape, making nature and architecture seamlessly blend. The overall effect, just so peaceful. There were public tennis courts nearby, ballparks, golf courses and beaches all in walking distance. The back yard is so spacious and flat we were able to play sports right outside our door. Everything was so nearby, we could quickly head to a restaurant or cook at home with ease. The house offered everything we needed. I have rented homes before where we had so many things to secure before feeling settled. Everything was easy, accessible and cozy. We stepped off the plane, and arrived ten minutes later! The whale museum was amazing!

You will love your stay at this home, and the owners were wonderful people!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: January 2015
Chesterfield, MO
Member since Jan 2015