Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Stunning 5BR Designer Home on 3 Acres, Cozy Cottage, or Both

Tom Nevers Vacation Rental - ID 19138
5 BR
7 baths
Sleeps 12
Beds: 2 kings, 2 queens, 2 twins, 2 Futons, Pac 'n Play
Beach: 1.1 miles to Tom Nevers Beach
Guest Reviews: 26 reviews
Time active: 5 years, 10 months
26 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Disconnect from the world - a special location

Wonderful property, stunning home where you feel like the real world is far, far away. Sprawling house with plenty of private spaces for our party of nine guests. Close to the bike path, and a short ride to Tom Nevers beach. We took many fond memories with us when we left - highly recommend!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
Member since Jan 2021
Family Vacation

We had an amazing time at Ron and Lauren's beautiful home. It was the perfect set-up for our extended families since there were 4 different households coming together for the week and the space was excellent. En suite sold us but the other amenities were the icing on the cake - 2 living rooms, farmer's porch, back deck and multiple outside lounging areas. Tom Nevers beach was only 2 miles down the road so it's a great location, and Jetties is less than a 15 minute drive for the kids who liked the calmer waters and sand bars. Ron was very helpful with bringing us new beach chairs to replace the broken ones which really cut down on all the stuff we had to bring. They were very responsive and helpful and we can't wait to rent here again!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
Charlestown, MA
Member since Aug 2008
Incredible Home, Wonderful Vacation

I hesitate to write this review because I fear the secret will get out and this lovely home will be booked solid next summer. Incandescence is such a special property in the quieter Tom Nevers area of Nantucket. It is privately sited, stylishly appointed and lovingly cared for. Owners Lauren and Ron are a delight to work with as well.

Our party - two families of four with young adult children - were easily accommodated in the various bedrooms with ensuite baths. The beds were comfortable, linens divine and I cannot say enough about the costal-chic decor throughout. The common spaces made it possible for us to spread out for reading, game play, meals in the kitchen area and television watching en masse on rainy nights. The mudroom/entryway is divine too for storing shoes, towels and the like and the front covered porch with rockers and furniture was our favorite place for morning coffee and conversation. The acreage surrounding the home is lush and extensive - we played epic games of corn hole and bocce (we travel with our lawn games!) and I highly recommend you bring or rent bikes whilst on the island to get a true taste of the charm and paths that criss cross this most special place.

Nantucket this summer of 2021 was particularly crowded, and restaurant reservations for 8 hard to come by so we made our meals in the chef-worthy kitchen every night. Honestly, I think they have almost every pot or pan you can think of, and extensive plate and glassware for your party. The wine refrigerator in the family room was an unexpected perk, and the coolers on the deck were put to good use as well.

For our group, Tom Nevers was the perfect quieter place for our home base during our vacation, away from the hustle and bustle and traffic of downtown. It was an easy bike ride to Sconset or to Tom Nevers beach and we felt like we were away from it all. It was magical.

Our only complaint? Our week was cloudy and rainy for the most part, but it didn't hinder our fun.

Would we return? In a heartbeat. You won't be disappointed!

We had such a memorable week and are dreaming of our return to Incandescence.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
Bedford, NH
Member since Jan 2021
July 4th Escape

Our group had an amazing time at Lauren and Ron's place. They were extremely responsive and wonderful hosts. When we could not find the cooler, Ron actually came all the way to the house and took it out / left it on the porch for us. Truly incredible hospitality.

The home was clean and exactly as pictures showed. We felt extremely lucky to spend 4 nights in this special place!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2021
Date Submitted: July 2021
Owner Response:

We were happy to have been able to accommodate you and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you return for another!

Brookline, MA
Member since Jul 2021
Wonderful getaway!

Incandescence is truly a beautiful home and we enjoyed all it had to offer. We were family and extended family of nine— seven adults and two children. The house was perfect and beautifully furnished, we had plenty of room to spread out and still would have had plenty of room had there been more of us. The multiple sitting areas worked out great. The children could play games while others sat and chatted elsewhere. The kitchen is very well equipped we stayed in and cooked two nights even made a lobster dinner one night.

Especially love the secluded feel of the location while still being close to town shopping restaurants and beaches also enjoyed being able to sit on the front porch enjoying the wild life there were plenty of birds, bunnies and deer.

Thanks so much for the hospitality we can't wait to come back.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2019
Date Submitted: September 2019
Stewartsville, NJ
Member since Sep 2018

Absolutely Fantastic!!
Left on 01/01/2013 for a stay in June 2012

We traveled to Nantucket with four other couples in June 2012. It was the first time any of us had been to this quaint island, and we all loved the week we spent together in Ron and Lauren's home. It was beautiful and spacious, and they were very responsive to our needs. Even though there were 10 of us, the home was so open and accommodating, that we never felt crowded. We used the kitchen for several meals, and there was ample room for cooking and dining. The home is about two miles from the village of Sconset, which was our favorite place on the island! We rented bicycles for the week, and when we didn't want to ride the bikes, we walked about five minutes to the bus stop, which was a great way to get around. Nantucket was our home base for the week, but we traveled to Cape Cod by ferry for a day trip, and we also flew to Martha's Vineyard for a day trip. We would recommend visiting both of these places, but Nantucket was by far the best place to stay for the week! We loved the secluded location of the home and the big wrap around front porch, where we spent most of our evenings! Although nice and private, the location is still very close to everything. It was,by far, one of the best vacations any of us had been on!!!

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: January 2013
Julie H
Norwalk, Iowa
(Homeowner Entered)


Such a wonderful home in a gorgeous setting! I felt like we had our own inn. I loved looking at all the features of the house and Lauren -- you did a splendid job on decorating ....
Pattie & Harry, Easton, MA
Lonnie & Sandy, Westwood, MA
Kerry, Bill & Devin, Franklin, MA
Sarah, Christoph, Jacob & Hannah, Heidelberg, Germany

Date of Stay: April 2012
Date Submitted: May 2012
Pattie S
Easton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We loved this warm, beautiful, spacious Nantucket classic. My wife and I stayed with six other adults in this large, very comfortable home. It is located in a very quiet, relaxed area but with easy access to both town and to the beach. The home was very comfortably decorated and the homeowners were exceptionally gracious. The kitchen was large and modern. The family room was very inviting, comfortable with a big screen TV. All of the bedrooms were large with comfortable beds. I would unequivocally recommend this house for a couple, group or a family. Outstanding!

Date of Stay: November 2011
Date Submitted: November 2011
Evanston, Illinois
Member since Nov 2011

We had a GREAT time here! Beautiful area, beautiful weather, & BEAUTIFUL HOUSE! Thanks for the memories!
Allie, Phyllis, Patti, Lauren, Ida and Denise

Date of Stay: October 2011
Date Submitted: November 2011
Phyllis K
Conway, AR
(Homeowner Entered)

A dream honeymoon!

Everything was beautiful and wonderful. We enjoyed each evening listening to the crickets and watching the honey-colored moon rise with the wind brushing our cheeks. A dream honeymoon for us. Ron and Lauren were wonderful!! Thank you.

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Dardi & Larry H
Brooklyn, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

A week full of wonderful memories on Nantucket. Beautiful home, gracious hosts, and many laughs! Thank you for making this such a special week for friends and sister to share.

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Elizabeth, Mary Ann & Gail F
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful time – Your house is lovely and in such a perfect spot. We all hope to come back next year. Thanks so much!

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Sean & Terry, Matt & T S
Glastonbury,, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Another wonderful week enjoying the "Nantucket Life"! The house is as amazing as we remembered. The whole family wanted me to let you and Ron know that they thoroughly enjoyed the stay at the house and what a great setting it is. The cottage was a special treat for the upcoming newlyweds. Thanks again for another great vacation on our favorite island.

Fondly, The __________s

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
David & Tara W
Norwich, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Great House! Very Clean and well maintained!! We had great weather and a fabulous time. Great place to stay to experience the Nantucket life.

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Bob & Anne Marie, Laurie & V
Bay Shore, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Everything was wonderful! It was an experience going thru a Nantucket hurricane. The views of the ocean were spectacular! We were so comfortable with the house. Ron and Lauren are great people -- we'd love to return -- minus the hurricane.

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Melanie M
Brookville, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

A hidden gem in Tom Nevers!

Privacy, proximity, comfort and charm...this property has it all! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and truly appreciated the spaciousness and overall layout of this beautiful custom house in Tom Nevers.

Great value for the $$, too...similar houses we looked at were priced significantly higher.

Hope we can make it make it back in the future!

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: July 2011
Ray and Lisa L
Stratham, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful summer vacation! We loved your house and the kids really enjoyed the yard. It was a great spot. My 4 year old cousin learned to ride his bike on Sunday, which will be wonderful memory. Maybe we will come back next year. Thanks.

P.S. Thanks for putting in the ladder to the widows walk.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Rob & Kara, Mike & M
Saunderstown, RI
(Homeowner Entered)

Celebrating our 50th Anniversary with our family was especially wonderful in this beautiful home and setting. We appreciated the thought and good taste expressed everywhere. Thank you.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Nancy & Jim R
Milford, MI
(Homeowner Entered)

The house is awesome. We really enjoyed our stay here. We'll be back in the future. Thanks for everything!

Date of Stay: May 2011
Date Submitted: May 2011
The California Girl s
San Francisco, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

Amazing . . . better than described! I would recommend this place to just about anyone. The price is very good for what you get. The home is beautiful. I just wish that I owned it! :)

Date of Stay: May 2011
Date Submitted: July 2011
CeeEllePee B
Los Angeles, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

This home is really beautiful. The attention to detail in the trim, tile and cabinetry is impressive. Owners very attentive to tenants' needs. Easy to find location and very fair rate.

Date of Stay: October 2010
Date Submitted: October 2010
Benjamin H
Hanwell, New Brunswick, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

"Absolutely delightful home . . . weather was great . . . We had a wonderful time! The house is fantastic, a great place to relax and enjoy the 'Nantucket Life.'"

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: August 2010
David and Tara W
Norwich, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

"Both families had a great time staying at this special house carefully built by Ron. The weather, beach and Nantucket activities created great memories for us! . . . We've been coming to Nantucket for 20 years, and this was the best house we've ever stayed at!"

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: August 2010
Keith & MaryEllen, Maureen & J M
Manchester, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"Thank you so much, we really enjoyed the house. Fantastic! . . . Beautiful kitchen with brand-new appliances . . . Fantastic backyard with great hammock . . . Spacious home and great for multiple couples and families . . . Liked the feather-bed in the master bedroom a lot . . . Very accommodating and kindly responsive landlords . . . Thanks to you and Ron for being so accommodating and having us!"

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Cameron L
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"Beautiful house! Great job, Ron!"

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Donald and Michelle R
Weymouth, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"The house is Gorgeous and the setting is so peaceful!"

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Kelly D
Weatogue, CT
(Homeowner Entered)