Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Private Dog-Friendly Cottage near Shuttle & Bike Path
Tom Nevers East Vacation Rental - ID 22289

1 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 4
Beds: 1 BR: 1 queen, Futon-double
Beach: 1.1 miles to Tom Nevers Beach
Guest Reviews: 23 reviews
Time active: 1 year, 6 months
Contact details:
  Email Lauren
Contact Lauren, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (914) 525-4485 (11AM - 11PM EST).
Please mention Property ID# 22289 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
23 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review

We spent a week in this charming cottage. It was very comfortable, the amenities were fantastic, and the cottage is well-situated (mid-island) for exploring all that Nantucket has to offer. It has a remote feeling and is surrounded by small gardens with a deck that is perfect for quiet relaxation and bird watching. Two TVs with satellite reception were perfect for a couple, one of whom likes to watch sports and the other movies (like us)! The owners provide a thorough list of restaurants and possible activities (such as hiking trails). We’ve stayed in many vacation rentals over the years, and this was among the best.

Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: April 2018
Eugene, OR
Member since May 2018

We had a great stay here and the owners were fantastic! Was everything we had hoped it would be and more. Loved the owner recommendations for restaurants/activities around the island too. Would highly recommend this place!

Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: April 2018
Winchester, MA
Member since Apr 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at Lesser Light. Plenty of space, great location. We look forward to returning next season. P.S. Endless entertainment from the bird show. My husband is dragging me away. :( Had a WONDERFUL time. Many thanks!

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: April 2018
Coconut Grove, FL
Member since Jun 2018

We went for a family trip to have fun and relax and thats exactly what we did! We had the best time! It was a great location to explore all parts of the island. We would take our nightly walks with our dogs to the cranberry bogs which was amazing and convenient. Then we would head to another part of the island and come back and make a big dinner. Lesser light had everything we needed and more....... We will be back! Thanks for the wonderful memories!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: April 2018
Ashley B
Willowick,, OH
(Homeowner Entered)

Leaving the hustle and bustle of home and finding our “new” home is our little secret. There is a movie called same time next year which we intend to continue as we feel it is important for what this week and what this magical place has done for us. Thank you for everything. We will see you for many years to come!

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: April 2018
Peter K
Pine Beach, NJ
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you, thank you, thank you for opening up your home to our family to help us kick off our 2017 summer vacation! What a fabulous time we had. And we could not have been any luckier to have rented from such wonderful people!

From the initial booking to the safe return of our deposit--you both made every detail of our experience so delightfully seamless!

Your cottage is so quaint, cozy, quiet and surrounded by nature! Even our children enjoyed a peaceful nap in the hammock amongst the singing birds!

Thank you for your wonderful island recommendations and your incredibly generous hospitality. We’re so happy to have discovered “Lesser Light” and look forward to returning in the near future!

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: April 2018
Montclair, NJ
Member since May 2013

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful relaxing stay the the Lesser Light. Kitchen was fabulous, house was toasty and the hosts were awesome. I would gladly recommend this little place for another couple looking for a getaway!

Date of Stay: November 2016
Date Submitted: April 2018
Erin B
Portsmouth, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

My husband and I brought our dogs and all of us had an amazing stay in this sweet and well designed cottage. The cottage is convenient to the Moors which is our favorite place for long hikes with the dogs. Tom Nevers Beach is also close by. We enjoyed sitting on the private deck, watching the birds come to the birdbath and feeder, cooking simple meals on the grill, watching a meteor shower, and relaxing under the large umbrella. The property is clean and well-maintained, Ron and Lauren could not have been more helpful, and I would highly recommend this place to a friend fortunate enough to be able to travel to the magical island of Nantucket. I only hope I am able to return someday.

Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: April 2018
Susan P
Landenberg, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you so much for hosting us! The cottage was so cozy and perfect for our 1st stay on the island. We appreciate you being great hosts. Thank you so much. We hope to have another opportunity to visit. P.S. Black Eyed Susan's was a great brunch recommendation! Excellent!

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: April 2018
Vanessa C
San Francisco, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you so much for hosting us! The cottage was so cozy and perfect for our 1st stay on the island. We appreciate you being great hosts. Thank you so much. We hope to have another opportunity to visit. P.S. Black Eyed Susan's was a great brunch recommendation! Excellent!

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: April 2018
Vanessa C
San Francisco, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

After all the stress and work from getting ready for our wedding what we both wanted was a quiet and relaxing honeymoon. (we also really wanted to bring our dog) Lesser Light was exactly what we needed....a charming cottage 1 mile from a great beach. Lauren and Ron were great to rent from. They made awesome dinner recommendations and told us about the Bluff Walk in Sconset which was gorgeous.

Thank you! We had a blast calling Lesser Light and Nantucket our home for a week.

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: April 2018
Melanie H
Duxbury, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Perfect place for a peaceful weekend.

Highly recommend for couples or very small family. Quiet part of the island but close enough to bike trails and quick drive to town and into Sconset. Wonderful owners. We had a great time!

Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: April 2018
Deanna J
Brookline, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

My husband and I came to this beautiful cottage with our dog Jude for our honeymoon. The cottage is private, well decorated, and the outdoor space can't be matched. We loved the location on the island and was able to enjoy all that nantucket had to offer. To top it all off, Lauren, the owner, came by to say hello and congratulated us on our marriage. The process was so easy in renting the beautiful property and we ended up booking another vacation for September before we left. We can't wait to return to this beautiful spot many more times in the future. Truly a gem on this gorgeous island.

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: April 2018
Meg L
Malden, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

My wife and I stayed here with our dog Kali for a week and loved it. It had just the right combination of privacy, space, and location to make for a nice week stay. The outdoor shower was my fave and the cottage was very well put together, clean, and just the right size for 2 people and a dog. We would highly recommend it to couples looking for a romantic get-away who still want to be convenient to best spots on the island. Owners were easy to deal with and very accommodating.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: April 2018
Dave J
Jersey City, NJ
(Homeowner Entered)

Having visited Nantucket by boat many times, I was not familiar with all of the joys the island had to offer away from the harbor. Lesser Light was the perfect home from which to explore the Serengeti, the miles of bike paths and the solitude of a nearly-deserted Tom Nevers beach. The nearby shuttle stop was convenient for provisioning and shopping trips to town.

The cottage is immaculately maintained and well-appointed with an array of upscale amenities. The huge deck and outdoor shower are a delight after a bike-ride to the beach or just soaking up the sun on a quiet afternoon.

The owners are attentive and gracious, providing prompt assistance and guidance for even the smallest of issues. The only difficult part of the stay was having to pack and leave what we now consider our Nantucket home. We are looking forward to experiencing the cottage in the off-season this year and for years to come.

Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: April 2018
William M
Jamaica Plain,, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We arrived to this cute small cottage tucked away but surrounded by a beautiful garden. The decorations were simple but very Nantucket ... the house was well supplied, bed comfortable. Loved the proximity to the Serengeti and all the off road running paths/streets. The Inn Keepers were friendly responsive and very accommodating! And to top it off, our two goldens were welcomed and thoroughly enjoyed hanging out on the deck when they weren't chasing waves or going for daily walks. We shall return!!!

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: April 2018
Michael D
Natick, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

My boyfriend and I (and our dog, Tyson) needed to get away from the hustle and bustle of home and we could not have picked a better place to stay! I have absolutely no complaints about this listing. It was clean and stocked with everything you would need. We got groceries the first night and spent most of our time relaxing and grilling on the deck. We are not really the type to bird-watch, but we found ourselves so interested in all of the birds that stopped by! They were beautiful and definitely not the kind you would ever see in a city-setting. It was a very cool addition to our trip. The location is great because it is just a short drive into town but also just far enough away to get some private time in the Tom Nevers area (I would recommend a car unless you are an avid bike rider... we rented one for cheap from Nantucket Island Rent-A-Car because we wanted to explore the rest of the island). We took Tyson to the beach nearby which he LOVED. Lauren and Ron were amazing in all aspects of the rental process. They were easy to reach for any questions or concerns and Lauren provided me with a ton of helpful information about the island and our stay at the cottage. I HIGHLY recommend this listing to any couple looking for some R & R. Would definitely stay here again!!

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: April 2018
Erica F
Stamford, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

My boyfriend and I (and our dog, Tyson) needed to get away from the hustle and bustle of home and we could not have picked a better place to stay! I have absolutely no complaints about this listing. It was clean and stocked with everything you would need. We got groceries the first night and spent most of our time relaxing and grilling on the deck. We are not really the type to bird-watch, but we found ourselves so interested in all of the birds that stopped by! They were beautiful and definitely not the kind you would ever see in a city-setting. It was a very cool addition to our trip. The location is great because it is just a short drive into town but also just far enough away to get some private time in the Tom Nevers area (I would recommend a car unless you are an avid bike rider... we rented one for cheap from Nantucket Island Rent-A-Car because we wanted to explore the rest of the island). We took Tyson to the beach nearby which he LOVED. Lauren and Ron were amazing in all aspects of the rental process. They were easy to reach for any questions or concerns and Lauren provided me with a ton of helpful information about the island and our stay at the cottage. I HIGHLY recommend this listing to any couple looking for some R & R. Would definitely stay here again!!

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: April 2018
Erica F
Stamford, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Myself, my husband, our 7 month old daughter and our dog truly enjoyed our stay at the Lesser Light. Our trip was kicked off with a warm welcome from Lauren and Ron, who also periodically checked in to make sure we had everything we needed. The cottage was clean, comfy and cozy. And its location was very convenient - a few minutes outside of town, right next to a wonderful bike/walk path, and just up the road from Tom Nevers Beach which had spectacular views. I only wish we could have stayed longer!

Date of Stay: May 2014
Date Submitted: April 2018
Kate R
Stamford, CT
(Homeowner Entered)
Great Cottage

Great cottage in a great location. It has everything you need and very clean. Lauren and Ron were very attentive to our needs and were available at a moment's notice. Definitely would rent this cottage again. Thanks for a great weekend!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Andover, MA
Member since Sep 2012
Perfect for a young couple (with dogs, especially)

This really is a wonderful little cottage -- quiet, secluded, with a lovely rural setting. By the third day, my wife was already trying to figure out when we could come back next year.

We brought our two dogs and had a great time exploring the island with them. We were very pleased with the cottage's location. There are plenty of trails to walk just across Milestone Road at the Middle Moors. Tom Nevers Beach, which never has much of a crowd, is also a beautiful walk. The bike path along Milestone Road makes it an easy ride into 'Sconset or Nantucket proper.

Everything was clean and as-described, and, as others have written, you can tell that it was put together with a great deal of care. Some of my favorite moments on the trip were just sitting out a storm or the midday sun in the alcove. We didn't make much use of the kitchen, but I can verify that it's at least adequate for grilled cheeses.

Lastly, Ron and Lauren were very helpful (and very patient with us).

It was really a great experience for us and we can't wait to do it again. I would recommend this cottage to any party of a similar size.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Philadelphia, PA
Member since Aug 2012

What an amazing cottage!
5 ***** out of 5 *****

Review Submitted: September 14, 2011
Myself, my girlfriend, and two of her close friends made the trip to Nantucket this past Labor Day weekend. What a great trip! We stayed at the cottage on this property and were impressed upon arrival. It's just as peaceful, private and well kept as the description and photos suggest. The patio/deck area with the BBQ, hammock, and lawn chairs is where we enjoyed to sit the most while at the cottage. The inside of the cottage and kitchen was remarkable, as well, with everything you can imagine and more -- we're just more the outdoor type, so we really appreciated the deck. We brought our bikes and saw most of the island by bicycle. There is a beach just a few miles down the street which does not attract a lot of beach-goers, so the private feel of the beach was nice -- the beach becomes more impressive the more you walk towards the west. The town of Sconset was only about 3 miles towards the east, and the main town of Nantucket was about 5 miles west. So, we were pretty centrally located at this private cottage, which is pretty well tucked in the woods away from it all. And, when we got tired of biking, there was a bus stop just a short walk from the driveway. I'd recommend this cottage to anyone that appreciates tranquility and also doesn't mind traveling by bus, bicycle, or car to get around. Our party would definitely stay at this cottage again!

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
A J
Lincoln, RI
(Homeowner Entered)

Picture perfect

The cottage is a little piece of heaven set in the privacy of Tom Nevers but close enough to the beaches and town. We were there for our first anniversary, on a romantic holiday, and it was the perfect choice. Everything in the cottage is charming, right down to the linens and the pictures on the walls, and all the amenities (washer, dryer, well-stocked kitchen, a dishwasher) are provided. We brought our schnoodle, Chester, and he loved the doghouse on the deck. We also brought our car, but it wasn't really necessary because we ended up biking most places. Nothing is very far away on this island, and buses and taxis are available in case you need them.

We especially loved sitting outside on the generous deck, barbecuing on the gas grill and watching the stars; we couldn't believe how many there were! Birds fly in and out of the bird-feeder in the garden all day, singing as they go, and there was one spectacularly exotic bird with a long multi-colored tail that showed up now and then. We also saw, in a single day: a robin, a starling, a blue jay, a sparrow, an oriole, a woodpecker, a red tail hawk, a pine siskind, a cardinal, a chickadee, a purple finch and a goldfinch.

We can't wait to go back.

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: June 2012
Southington, CT
Member since Jun 2012