Q: What is the current status of short-term vacation rentals in Massachusetts? Are they allowed now?
A: Yes, as of Monday, June 8, 2020, all short-term rentals are permitted.
Gov. Baker announced on June 6, that Phase 2 of the Massachusetts Re-Opening Plan will begin on Monday, June 8. Vacation Rentals were included in Phase 2 as part of opening all lodging (hotels, motels, inns and short-term rentals).
All rental owners are required to follow the Safety Standards and Checklist developed by the State of Massachusetts.
Q. What is considered a short-term rental?
Short-term is any vacation rental that is rented for 31 or fewer days.
Q: I am traveling from out-of-state. Do I need to quarantine for 14-days?
A: Gov. Baker announced a new restriction for anyone entering the state of Massachusetts. All visitors entering Massachusetts, including returning residents, who do not meet an exemption, are required to:
Complete the Massachusetts Travel Form prior to arrival, unless you are visiting from a lower-risk state designated by the Department of Public Health.
Quarantine for 14 days or produce a negative COVID-19 test result that has been administered up to 72-hours prior to your arrival in Massachusetts.
This travel order went into effect on August 1.
Lower-risk State Exception: Anyone traveling from a lower-risk state are exempt. As of September 25, 2020, this includes Colorado, Connecticut, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Vermont, and Washington. The list of states will be maintained by the Department of Public Health.
View details of Lower-risk states
Failure to comply may result in a $500 fine per day.
For full details, view the Mass.gov COVID-19 Travel Order
Q: What if my COVID-19 test has not been received prior to arrival?
A: If you are visiting from outside of the lower-risk states, and your test results are not available yet, then you must quarantine until you receive a negative test result.