Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Classic, Cape Cod Cottage
South Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 6765

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 2 BRs: 1 double, 2 twins, Queen Sofabed
Beach: 5/10 mile to Cockle Cove Beach
Guest Reviews: 26 reviews
Time active: 12 years, 7 months
Contact details:
  Email Todd
Contact Todd, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (216) 849-4168.
Please mention Property ID# 6765 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
26 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review

I am so glad we chose your lovely cottage to rent. Your place is beautiful. We loved it. (and) It was everything I wanted it to be... My vacation week on 35 Cranberry Lane was absolutely superb.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: January 2016
Lois V
(Homeowner Entered)

BEACH EVERY DAY! It was a wonderful vacation... We had a great time, as did our Cockapoo!

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: February 2016
Tom W
Easton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Fabulous! (weather). We loved the local Chatham beach and, of course Main Street... The cottage was absolutely perfect. We loved the privacy.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: February 2016
Jeff/Patty M
(Homeowner Entered)

Had a good week... Good time enjoying the Cape. Kids (grandchildren) loved the yard.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: February 2016
sue l
(Homeowner Entered)

A great girlfriend getaway!! Lots of shopping, Good wine & food. Must see is the (Chatham) Fish Pier. Great sunsets at Oyster Pond.

Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: January 2015
Judi, Cindy & Susan V
Ohio
(Homeowner Entered)
You will love it!

The cottage was neat, clean and in a great location. A short walk leads you to a beautifully quiet beach and a delicious ice cream parlor. We were disappointed not to find the washer and dryer that was listed. A clothes line would have helped to hang our towels from the beach.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Fayetteville, NY
Member since Dec 2013

Absolutely perfect! Nothing but sunshine and cool breezes. We spent most of our time at the beach, taking full advantage of the weather! Longshore in Chatham- very family-friendly, great service + great food (restaurant)... Another great year! Thanks for letting us stay.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: January 2015
A.M. Williams F
(Homeowner Entered)
Simply adorable!

Love this cottage! Beautifully maintained. Meticulously clean. Pet friendly, in fact I think the whole street is pet friendly. There is not a thing you could ask for that isn't provided. You can tell the owners take pride in this property. The beach is also beautiful, lifeguards on duty, not what I'd call a short walk, especially with a 4 year old and all her gear, but, right at the end of the street. We thoroughly enjoyed this cottage and would not hesitate to recommend to family and friends. Thank you for letting us enjoy your beautiful cottage!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
W Hartford, CT
Member since Feb 2014
Wonderful Cottage

If you are looking to stay on the Cape, this is a perfect spot that is central to just about everything. The cottage was spotless. Very close to the beach and the bike path which my wife and I both enjoyed. If you like to walk the beach in the morning, you pretty much had it to yourself until 10am. It's on a quiet, dead end street and a very short drive to restaurants, fishing, shopping etc.

The outdoor shower was great after a long bike ride or walk on the beach. We used it every day! All paper goods, dish soap, etc. was supplied. Lots of fans available for the bedrooms. Really can't find a bad thing to say about our whole week there.

Be sure to visit Arnold's Lobster and Clam Bar in Eastham, only about 20 minutes away. You will have to wait in line but it will be worth it! There is a magnet on the fridge with info for it.

Todd the property owner was very easy to deal with and supplied us with things to do in the area. All in all, a great vacation!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Member since May 2014
Timeless

There are few places one can go and return 20 years later and find things that have stood the test of time...with minimum wear. Compliments to the owners/managers for this well-maintained and authentic piece of heaven on earth.

I just returned from a wonderful visit to this property and was quickly drawn back to the magic of the cloudless skies, the wonderful clean ocean air and especially the fog...Chatham's character and the stores, which continue to draw the shoppers and curious onlookers, are as nice now as they were then...and many of THE SAME! Classic beauty at its prime! A wonderful place to unplug, relax and be grateful!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
Akron, OH
Member since Oct 2013
Dont Do It!!!!! There are better options available - Trust me!!!!

This was our family's third summer renting on the Cape, and we have always had a lovely experience. In fact, this is my first negative review EVER written about anything and my first negative home rental experience.

To start with, the place advertises 'WiFi" but, in truth, they were "borrowing" wireless internet from the house next door. Even more upsetting, is that the homeowners next door were out of town so when the Internet went down, it could not be reset. When I contacted the family about the Internet issue, they claimed that Internet was a 'nice to have' - this may or may not be the case, depending on the situation but they cannot ADVERTISE WiFi if they do not actually have it in the house. It is not truthful.

In addition, the backyard is very small and only has a slight cement patio so it is tough to enjoy the outdoor experience of the home. The kitchen is a small galley kitchen and the home is musty.

I can assure you that there are better places and, more importantly, better people to deal with than the folks at aptly named 'Half a House'.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Owner Response:

We have rented our Chatham home for many, many years and never had renter issues, or more importantly renter resolution issues. Specific to the internet, the arrangement for wi-fi has serviced many guests since installed by the cable company long ago. Equipment gets old and fails to function. It is not our custom to keep spare equipment on our property- when something breaks, we replace it. We were informed of this problem Sat. evening 8/17, and contacted the internet provider Monday morning. We informed the renter of same, and that we would reduce rent by $15/day each day without service. This is the 'value' established by metropolitan area hotels- not other property owners, not Chatham hotels. After numerous renter and cable company calls, new equipment was to be delivered Thursday 8/22. Concurrently, other solutions were tried (router resets) and suggestions were offered for nearby locations with internet access. The cable company delivered the equipment to the wrong address Thursday. By that time, these renters had decided to leave the home. They left Sat. 8/24. When returning the security deposit, they received the $15/day- including days no longer in the home, and a pro-rated daily amount for those days rented to another party. We are presently considering all options for wi-fi next year, and are sure to have some very current equipment to provide it in summer 2014.

Newtonville, MA
Member since Aug 2012

Beautiful (stay) with only two rainy afternoons. Fun walking around in Chatham. Loved the tranquility of Cockle Cove beach. Hope to return.

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
Cindy & Fred H
Rochester, Minnesota
(Homeowner Entered)

Spent time at Cockle Cove beach, Lighthouse, and Herring Cove beach in P'town. We love The Squire... and Schoolhouse Ice Cream (in Chatham). Another GREAT year at "Half-a-House"!!

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
Ann-Marie W
Trumbull, Conn.
(Homeowner Entered)

We can't wait to come back to THIS cottage. It was PERFECT!

Date of Stay: May 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
Jeff G
Philadelphia, PA
(Homeowner Entered)
Half-a-House

Our week long stay in this home was wonderful. The house was located on a quiet road about 1/2 mile from the community beach. It was well appointed, clean, and comfortable. We had internet access and a nice TV. Outside offered a nice patio with table and chairs. It was very private and a wonderful place to spend a week! We would return in a heartbeat!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Olmsted Falls, OH
Member since Oct 2012
Grey shingles, hydrangeas, sunshine and pies.

One of the first things to notice about Cape Cod is how much care has gone into preserving the unique character of the region's architecture and landscape. This cottage nestles prettily within the neighbourhood's grey shingles and blue hydrangeas, exuding character and all-round 'good vibes'.
One of the cottage's best features is in fact outside - the shower. Al fresco living is always a treat for us rain-soaked Brits, and taking a shower under the morning sun or indeed under the stars was one of each day's highlights.
The rooms are quirky and comfortable, cheerfully and nautically decorated as such a property demands. We appreciated the thoughtful welcoming gift of local goodies, and, even though we try to do without it on holiday, it was nice to have a good wi-fi connection.
It would be easy to walk down to the wide sweep of Cockle Cove and not bother to find other local beaches, but that would be a great pity. Cape Cod overflows with gorgeous beaches. We highly recommend Lighthouse Beach in Chatham, Nauset Beach and, for the most glorious sunsets, First Encounter Beach.
This cottage is near to the Chatham Cycle Trail, beautifully-maintained paths on which no motor vehicles can travel. What a joy to cycle through cool woods, past lakes and fields, along with a host of other enthusiastic and courteous cyclists and walkers. And just when you need refreshment, there are cafes galore along the tracks.
Honourable mentions must also go to the Chatham Fish Dock where incoming fishing boats and audience-friendly seals entertained us for hours, watching a Cape Cod baseball game in the late afternoon sun at Chatham and, of course, The Pie Shop. We freely confess that on our first visit we couldn't even wait to get the pie back to the cottage, but sat in the shade outside the shop and ate it all up. So we had to go in and buy another one...

Cape Cod really does want its visitors to have a great time, and this cottage made our great time even more special. It feels like a home; in fact it feels like our home.

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
UK
Member since Feb 2012
Great stay in Chatham!

We had a wonderful stay in Chatham, great cottage and perfect location! Shopping downtown Chatham, fishing pier, 5 minute drive to Hardings Beach and spent a day in Boston.
Thanks for a great stay!!

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Stow, OH
Member since Jul 2012
Great Spot!!

We had a great stay in the house and we liked it so much we are coming back for another week this summer!!! Had a great time with our friends and the beach and the cottage is great!! I think we used the entire yard and loved the tranquility and quiet around us. Had quite a few walks down to the beach and loved every minute of it! That great ocean smell every night made for peaceful sleeping.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Wakefield, MA
Member since Aug 2008

We had a great day at the beach! In October!! Two wonderful dinners...Thanks for a great weekend!!

Date of Stay: October 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
John C
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks Again... This cottage is starting to feel like 'our' place to relax away from home!

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
Kate R
Delmar, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

(The) Trip to Provincetown, Tidepooling at Ridgevale, Biking on the bike path...Making unforgettable family memories!

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
Dana G
West Newbury, Mass.
(Homeowner Entered)

Gorgeous...Joyce- you are the best landlord! Thanks for letting us share your beautiful spot!

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: April 2011
William G
(Homeowner Entered)

(This house) is like our little slice of heaven- a tradition we've come to love over the years!...Cockle Cove Beach was fun...good boogie boarding...A fun day in Provincetown- great whale watch.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: April 2011
Lisa & Gene L
(Homeowner Entered)

We are already looking forward to coming East again for our 36th time at your wonderful cottage. Hope all is well.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: June 2010
Jack/Cheryl K
Akron, OH
(Homeowner Entered)

We three fishermen from Denmark really enjoyed having your cottage to return to after a full day of fishing. Good weather too.

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: June 2010
Preben D
Odense, -, Denmark
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you so much for having us at your cottage-we had a wonderful, relaxing weekend! We loved the cottage-it was very cozy and quaint. Thanks again for allowing us to enjoy this beautiful place.

Date of Stay: May 2010
Date Submitted: June 2010
Maia B
Brookfield, VT
(Homeowner Entered)