Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Fabulous Cape in Quiet Neighborhood Near Edgartown
Edgartown Vacation Rental - ID 5313

3 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 king, 1 queen, 1 double, 2 twins
Beach: 2 miles to South Beach
Guest Reviews: 14 reviews
Time active: 8 years, 2 months
Contact details:
  Email Jackie Ashe
Contact Jackie Ashe, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (248) 421-3443 (Cell).
Please mention Property ID# 5313 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
14 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Great Vacation Home

Our family had a wonderful week on the Vineyard. The house was very clean and had everything we needed. The location was great, and it was a short car ride to South Beach or into Edgartown. We enjoyed biking to Morning Glory Farm, which is very close, and through Katama around the beach area. The outdoor shower was fantastic after a beach day, as well as to hang on the porch. Jackie was fabulous to work with and very flexible and accommodating to what our family needed. Great place to stay. We highly recommend.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Groton, MA
Member since Sep 2016

First of all the owner of this Edgartown rental is wonderful to work with. She promptly answered every email and gave us great suggestions for our trip. The house is in a nice area of Edgartown, and we biked every day into town. Several days we parked the bikes near the bus pick-up and off we went for the day. Visiting Oak Bluffs two days, Vineyard Haven one day, and Aquinnah another day. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would rent this house again.

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Stephanie R
San Francisco, CA
(Homeowner Entered)
Great House

This house is great! It is close to town, yet private. It is clean, has a well equipped kitchen, and is sunny and comfortable. We enjoy eating meals on the deck, and our kids love the loft.

We have stayed here several times and are renting the house again for a week this summer.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
New Paltz, NY
Member since Apr 2016

Our family just returned from a wonderful week at a very charming house at the vineyard. This house was located within walking distance from the town of Edgartown, which we walked and jogged to daily. The neighborhood was quiet and the house was clean and nicely furnished. Our family enjoyed the outdoor shower and games on the private back deck! The beds were comfortable and the washer and dryer made packing very easy. I would definitely return to this house again and recommend this house for anyone wanting to be in a quiet neighborhood with easy access to the beaches and town.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: June 2016
Felicia L
Philadelphia, PA
(Homeowner Entered)
Great House in Edgartown

We have been renting this home for the last 6 years and just love it. The landlord is very accommodating and easy to deal with and the location is spectacular. It is on a private road in a very quiet neighborhood close to the bike path and town. It is nice to have the option of not having to hassle with in town parking! The house is very open, clean and well equipped. Our kids love the dorm style loft as they can have friends come visit and all sleep up there together. The deck is very spacious and private. We appreciate that the homeowner supplies beach chairs as well since they take up so much room in the car! Great house!

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
Eastham, MA
Member since Apr 2016
A Wonderful Week on Martha's Vineyard

My husband and I just returned from a perfect week in this house on Martha’s Vineyard. We chose the house because it was near Edgartown, was available during the last week of the low season, and seemed tasteful and quiet. It was all those things and more – convenient to town and beaches, clean, well-equipped, nicely furnished, peaceful, with a lovely deck facing the woods. There was also a spacious outdoor shower, beach chairs, a reliable WiFi connection, and an airy room on the second floor with a number of beds that would be perfect for children or a young family.

The owner, Jackie, was prompt, helpful and friendly in all our communications. She answered all our queries ahead of time and we knew that we only had to call if we had any problems or questions along the way.

The house is in a wonderful spot for biking, walking and exploring. Although there’s a very good bus system that runs between all the towns on the island, we brought our car and bikes with us so were able to get around on our own. We biked into Edgartown frequently and also to South Beach at the end of Katama Road; also from Edgartown along Beach Road to Oak Bluffs, bike path all the way with splendid views.

The first beach you pass as you head north out of Edgartown is a perfect spot for watching the sun go down, also a popular place for evening fishing. We loved Chappaquiddick and took our bikes over on the ferry twice - we loved the Japanese Gardens as well as the Cape Pogue Nature Preserve at the end of Dyke Road. I would strongly suggest a day (or more) Up Island. The cliffs at Gay Head (Aquinnah) are a must (although I imagine they’re very busy during high season), the village of Menemsha is exquisite, and the roads and views around Chilmark and West Tisbury are lovely. South Beach at Long Point (off the Edgartown-West Tisbury Road) is gorgeous and we could barely tear ourselves away.

Although we got used to biking on sandy roads, this would be a long trek without a car, one of the things that makes it so special - a long, quiet beach abutting a bird refuge with access to numerous walking trails. Stunning! What struck us about Martha’s Vineyard is how varied it is, wild ocean next to quiet, inland ponds; farmland and meadows; woodlands and cliffs; crisp, white New England towns; lighthouses galore; and a fishing village that seems lost in time. It is hard to believe that an island can be so many different things. We explored every day and yet can't wait to return and see more.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
Doylestown, PA
Member since Apr 2016

It had been more than 10 years since we rented a home on the Vineyard but we knew we wanted to stay over near Edgartown. The home was all that it was advertised to be and the 5 star ratings by others were warranted. Very clean, well-equipped kitchen, great deck, GREAT outdoor shower and within walking distance to Edgartown. We really enjoyed our stay here and the owner couldn't have been more responsive. We will definitiely be returning.

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: July 2016
Jack J
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful time in this home and would definitely return. It was clean, just a mile from downtown Edgartown and in a great area for active kids to play. Our boys (8, 10) enjoyed riding bikes around the neighborhood. The deck was great for dinners outside and the landscape gave the sense of privacy even though we weren't too far from the action. The kitchen was the best stocked kitchen of any home we've rented (and we rent for almost every vacation) The loft was huge and a fun spot for the kids to sleep and play. The bathroom had a massive tub and large separate shower. The bedrooms were nicely furnished and comfortable. If you are avid bikers, be aware there is a small stretch of road with no shoulder to get to the bike path, but it's fairly easily navigated. We brought our car and would recommend that if staying here. Our weather wasn't great so it made it easier to explore the island. The owner of the home was excellent to work with and responsive to any questions. We look forward to coming back.

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: July 2016
Karen W
Philadelphia, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

We are already reminiscing about our trip to the Vineyard. Our experience was nothing but special and memorable. This lovely home in a fabulous neighborhood tucked away and private was delightful. A well appointed kitchen. LOVED the outdoor shower!! Our son was in heaven up in the loft. Since we could not secure a car reservation on the ferry, we were a bit hesitant about not having four wheels. We rented bikes to get us to town and the beach. One day we rented a Jeep to zip around the island. In the end we were glad we did not have the car. We enjoyed the surroundings from a different perspective. Jackie, the owner, was extremely responsive and answered all of our questions. She really cares about the people she rents to and checked in during our stay to make sure we were having a good time.

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: July 2016
Lisa A
Valhalla, NY
(Homeowner Entered)
We've been back every year since

Update: We have been staying here since 2012 and come back more than once each year I can't say enough good things about working with the owners. They are terrific.

We have been coming to the Vineyard for many years and this was our fist stay in this home. We were so pleased with the rental we have already booked a return. The house was terrific. It was clean, well appointed, comfortably furnished and very nicely laid out. The kitchen was better equipped than most rental property kitchens. Everything we needed was right there and in good condition. We especially enjoyed the deck and spent quite a bit of time there. We loved the location! While private and in a very quiet neighborhood, we were close to the beach and to Edgartown. We were even able to walk into town for ice cream after dinner. - took us exactly 20 minutes, one way, and there were sidewalks for almost all of the way! Similarly, the beach was a short drive or bike ride away. The outdoor shower was lovely after a day spent there. The owner was very quick in response to any questions, however small, and very accommodating. Thank you, Jackie, for a wonderful week!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: April 2016
Westport, CT
Member since Apr 2016

Thanks Jackie, it was great! We loved your house and hopefully we can rent it again sometime soon

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
GREGORY K
NYC, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Just got back from our stay on the Vineyard and had a fabulous time. We had 2 families stay and it worked out perfectly. We had all the kids sleep up in the loft and they loved it. The location was perfect in that it is a very private location (in a great neighborhood) yet a quick drive to Edgartown center, State Beach and South Beach. As a previous entry noted - it is truly a beach house with all the basics. The outdoor shower was great and the on site beach chairs were appreciated. Thanks for a great family vacation.

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: February 2010
Jeff W
Hopkinton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We have spent a few summers at this home located in the Kittsfield neighborhood of Edgartown. The things that we have enjoyed are many. We can walk into town which is about a mile to a mile and a half. This saves us from having to find a parking space when we want to shop or go to lunch and dinner, or for ice cream. Then we get to walk off our calories afterwood. Also, on many nights we chose to cook in or barbecue the great fresh fish we got at the local fish market. We sat outside on the deck and made sure we sprayed ourselves with bug spray and enjoyed the fruits of the sea. When it was hot and humid we made sure we had the bedroom air conditioners on for respite from the heat. The house has a summer vacation feel with open living space for socializing. One of the highligts of any summer vacation on Martha's Vineyard is the outside shower. It feels great after the beach, or when it is hot, of just for when you want to feel clean before you go to bed and look up at the stars while showering. The house is within driving or biking distance to State Beach or South Beach (if you are fit.) And there is an abundance of privacy if you just want to have a great get away. It is summery and fun if you want a true Island summer experience. It's not high end or pretentious - it's just a true island summer vacation home. We love it and can't wait to go back next summer

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: March 2010
Betsie R
Marstons Mills, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Guest review from Ellen Weber on 6/14/2009 for a stay in July 2008. "I have rented this property a few times over the past few years. The property is very convenient to downtown Edgartown, within walking distance. The house was very clean, nice deck and great outdoor shower!! It was a pleasure to deal with the homeowner. I would definitely recommend this property if you are looking for a modern house with good location."

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: June 2009
Boston, MA
Member since Jun 2009