Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Perfect Cape Escape - Lovely 4 Bedroom Cape in East Dennis
East Dennis Vacation Rental - ID 23036

4 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 9
Beds: 4 BRs: 4 queens, 1 twin, Pack n' Play
Beach: 2.2 miles to Sea Street beach, walk to Scargo Lake
Guest Reviews: 13 reviews
Time active: 2 years, 4 months
Contact details:
  Email Jeanine
Contact Jeanine, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (203) 400-0688 (Cell), (203) 261-8247 (Home).
Please mention Property ID# 23036 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
13 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Lovely Clean and Cozy Cape in East Dennis

Lovely clean and cozy cape in East Dennis. Just off the beaten track in a quiet neighborhood, but only a hop, skip, and a jump to the beaches, Scargo Lake and 6A! Thanks to Jeanine and her family, we felt at home. East Dennis beaches are the best and this is the perfect place to stay and enjoy them.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: February 2018
Westport, CT
Member since Feb 2018
All the comforts of home

Great family rental! Our party had 4 adults and 2 children and there was plenty of space! We loved the screened-in porch for breakfast and dinner most nights - great for watching children play in the yard. The owners shared their granddaughter’s pack n play and high chair which helped cut down on the items we needed to transport. The A/C units in most rooms made the few hot nights tolerable. We explored town beaches by day and visited Scargo Lake most nights. Even made it to the National Seashore a couple days. This is a great home base with all the amenities. Located in Mid Cape making everything convenient. Highly recommend this rental for one of the easiest vacations you can choose!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: February 2018
Ballston Spa, NY
Member since Aug 2015
Charming and fully equipped home near beach

This home is a charming, warm and fully equipped house that offers easy access to shops, restaurants and the beach area. The neighborhood is quiet and on a lovely tree-lined street and there is an airy screened in porch that was wonderful for breakfast and dinner. The host/owner was friendly, welcoming and answered all questions prior to our arrival. If you want a nice quiet getaway, this home is for you!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: February 2018
New Canaan, CT
Member since Feb 2018
Charming cottage vacation home

What a great place to stay. The home is clean and well kept. We loved sitting on the screened in porch sipping daiquiris after a long hard day at the beach. Close proximity to so many wonderful things. The pictures are very accurate. Look forward to staying there again sometime.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: January 2017
Owner Response:

Hi Jacki - great to hear from you - thanks for your nice comments...we all could decidedly use some long hard days at the beach right about now! Really happy to hear that you love our home. I hope you can make the trip again sometime soon.

Summerville, SC
Member since Jan 2017
Renters be prepared

My family and inlaws rented this house last summer as a way to spend a week together since they're out west. It was listed as air conditioned and we had a 5 month old. My mother-in-law spoke repeatedly with Jeanine to ensure that things were fine for a baby and also for her as she is a little unstable on her feet. I mention this only as one of the problems we had was railing at the back stairs from the porch to back yard, completely broke when I was walking down it and lost my balance. Upon closer inspection, the wood was rotted in several places and to "fix" it, they had used various nails and screws (some of which were protruding from the railing.

The kitchen is probably fine if you are not remotely choosy or don't mind disorganization and clutter. I appreciate that when other people stay, things can get put away in an odd manner. However, there were very few matching dishes, bowls or glasses, and cooking was sometimes a challenge because utensils and dishes were so scattered and hard to find. That being said, the coffee pot worked and there were pantry essentials when we got there.

There is 1 very old air conditioner on the main floor in the living room. It in NO WAY cools the whole house. The 2 bedrooms on the floor are across the house, and hot as Hell when we stayed. There were some fans if I remember correctly but certainly not enough to carry the coolish air through the kitchen, down the hall and into the rooms. The front living room was essentially uninhabitable as it was so hot.

As for the 2 bedrooms upstairs, 1 has an AC unit, directly above the head of the bed. the other has no AC.

There are certainly positives about the house: the back porch is nice, laundry in basement is a plus.

I may not have been so upset about the whole thing but it was so hot that my husband and I considered taking our baby to a hotel, as he was so miserable. In addition, it took 6 weeks for my mother in law to get her deposit back.

If you're booking early or very late summer, the AC may not be a big deal but be aware, AC units is not what I would consider a forth coming description.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: January 2017
Owner Response:

Hi Liz,
Thanks very much for your feedback. I'm sorry you and your family didn't enjoy your vacation at our home. We really strive to accommodate our guests and care very much about your experience. We tried to be very responsive to your Mom-in-law's calls and e-mails prior to your stay..

The screened porch is one of the most popular features of the house, with many folks who've shared their stories of great times from morning coffee, to cocktails, to cook-outs, so I apologize for the railing issue. As soon as I heard about it (after your stay), we had a carpenter out who fully replaced the railing, step, and infrastructure, just to ensure it's safe and attractive.

As this is our second home vs. just a rental property, the kitchen dishes and glassware are a bit of an eclectic mix, but there are lots of amenities (microwave, blender) plus current appliances. We try to make it turnkey with basic spices and supplies so you don't need to start your vacation with a trip to the store! Also, sometimes other guests move things around, but we've always had good feedback that everything they needed was readily available.

Regarding the weather and air conditioners, your stay occurred over a very hot and humid week at the Cape. Our listing advises that there are a couple of AC window units, and in our conversations I let your mother-in-law know that we did not have central air and used a combination of box fans (provided) and the window units to cool the house. Most of the summer we and our guests just open the windows/pop a fan in the window and there's a lovely cross-breeze that keeps the house comfortable. Had you reached out while there, I could have purchased an additional window unit and had our handyman pop it in where you felt it was needed.

Thanks again...hope you have a pleasant summer and enjoy your vacation wherever you choose.

Jeanine



Quincy, MA
Member since Mar 2016
Cape's Dream

My friends and I truly enjoyed our stay at this home in East Dennis. Not just a beach cottage, but truly a home; our favorite features were the screened in porch and the super comfortable beds. We love to enjoy the Cape each summer, and staying at this property made our experience complete. Short distance to our favorite beaches, ice cream parlor, and Scargo Tower. We look forward to many more years enjoying this wonderful property!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: January 2017
Owner Response:

Hi Lindsay - thanks so much for your review - the Cape house is very special to us, and we want everyone to enjoy it as much as you did...look forward to having you stay with us again!

Guilford, CT
Member since Jan 2017
Best on the Cape!

My friends and I have been renting this house for a few years now, the week before Memorial Day, for some calm before the storm of the craziness on the Cape. And for some well needed beach time. The house is in perfect condition with everything you need under the roof. The screened in back porch is my favorite spot in the house. I really love the location and the short walk into town for some Smugglers ice cream nightly. The bedrooms are all huge in size and perfect for our group. The location of this house is PERFECT distance from everything, away from the craziness of Hyannis with the quietness of a country retreat. We will definitely be back in May!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: January 2017
Owner Response:

Hi Kristy - thanks very much for your comments. We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves...looking forward to having you back. We'll have a coupon for the Smuggler waiting : ) !

Derby, CT
Member since Jan 2017
Relaxing Family Friendly Vacation

We had the pleasure of staying here for a week with another family. The house was very clean and in great condition. You can tell the owner takes great pride in this home. The screened in back porch was an outstanding bonus. We had several relaxing evenings there after long days on the beach. The location was ideal, within close driving distance to the best of what Dennis has to offer. The owner was very responsive to comments and questions. Highly recommended!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Owner Response:

Jai, thank you so much for your nice comments. We love the porch too, have had many happy times there, from morning coffee to strawberry daiquiris : ). It was a pleasure renting to you - hope you'll be able to come back again next year!

Quincy, MA
Member since Jun 2011
Great home for a relaxing vacation!

Beautiful home in a quiet neighborhood. Screened in porch perfect for morning coffee. Easy access to routes 6 and 6A. Perfect place for a family to enjoy time together. Close to beaches, shopping and activities. We love it here!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Owner Response:

Thanks so much for your nice comments, Janice - it's a pleasure having you and your family share our home! Looking forward to seeing you again next year - have a great Summer!

Woburn, MA
Member since Jun 2014
A Wonderful Cape Getaway!

My husband and I rented this home last August and it was everything we had hoped for and more! The location of this pretty Cape cottage is perfect. It is only a short drive (even walk) to beaches and Scargo Lake. Roll out of bed and walk to Grumpy's for a fantastic breakfast'. I have stayed in East Dennis in other vacation homes before but this particular house has everything a renter could need. It is deceptively large with plenty of bedrooms, a lovely family room, Cape inspired decor, a large kitchen for easy meal prep and a wonderful screened in porch that made for some fun nights with friends (rain or shine).

Most importantly, the home is dog friendly. We love our furry friend and had a difficult time finding a rental that would accomodate her. This home would be perfect for fur kids and actual kids! Finally, it is important to note that the owner is the primary reason for why this trip was so great. She is wonderful! Easy to deal with, responsive and takes total pride in her home. You will see it the minute you walk through the door. Already looking forward to booking our trip for next year!

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Owner Response:

Jess, thanks so much for the great review and your kind words - I'm so happy you, your husband, and furry girl enjoyed our home. Renters like you make it a real pleasure to share our special place - look forward to having you again next year!

Somerville, MA
Member since Feb 2009

Thanks so much for sharing your home with our family - what a great vacation! Your house is so comfortable and close to great restaurants and gorgeous beaches...there's nothing like getting some sun, swimming in crystal clear water, grabbing an amazing lobster roll at Sesuit Harbor then a cocktail on the screened porch and a cookout. We'll be back for sure, it's such a wonderful and relaxing time away!

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: March 2014
Diana M
Westchester, NY
(Homeowner Entered)
Great home

We had a wonderful time in this very cute, well maintained home. There was plenty of room for 6 adults and 4 children. We loved the screened in porch for relaxing after a day at the beach. The beaches are very close and lovely. Scargo Lake is perfect for little ones! We would definitely rent again.

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: May 2013
Owner Response:

So happy you enjoyed it...you know there's a seat on the porch always waiting for you!

Franklin, MA
Member since May 2013

The house is great, what a nice time my family and I had while we were there! Super comfortable and welcoming, great familyroom and screened porch, perfect for cocktails or cookouts...close to really pretty beaches and great restaurants, with all the conveniences you could ever need and a warm, relaxing vibe, wonderful to really unplug and relax in a gorgeous spot.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: May 2013
Ann A
Wallingford, CT
(Homeowner Entered)