Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

18th Century Cape Cod House w/its own Beach on Scargo Lake
Dennis, Scargo Lake Vacation Rental - ID 9530

3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 3 BRs: 2 queens, 3 twins, queen and single airbed
Beach: 1/2 mile to Howe Street Beach
Guest Reviews: 12 reviews
Time active: 9 years, 2 months
Contact details:
  Email Verity Bostick
Contact Verity Bostick, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (908) 693-3042 (after 2 p.m.), (212) 864-6605 (any time, evenings best).
Please mention Property ID# 9530 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
12 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Location, location, location.. Beautiful Property on Scargo Lake!

We are 2 families (brother and sister) who come together every other summer to Verity's home. We grew up summers in West Dennis and need to fill our need for our love of the Cape! There are 8 of us, 4 kids (19, 14, 13, and 11 this year) and 4 adults. We have been coming to Verity's for the past 5 years. This is our 3rd visit, and we wouldn't ever go anywhere else!

The home has so much history and is true "Cape Cod"... the space is truly charming, unique and spacious! The bedrooms are all air conditioned and well stocked with bedding and extra blankets galore! There are plenty of bath towels and beach towels as well. The kitchen has everything you need to cook amazing dinners inside or prepare outside on the gas grill or the charcoal grill down by the boathouse and lake front.

The main dining room is huge! The table seats 8-12 and we have enjoyed many meals and played many games here! The family room is also very large with a vaulted ceiling as well. There are sliding glass doors on one whole side of these 2 rooms. There are skylights as well, all making these rooms bright and airy! There is a fabulous air conditioning unit up on the high wall that cools off these large rooms in minutes on a hot summer day.

We cannot say enough about the property! The lawn sprawls all the way down to the lakefront. This property has the best access to Scargo Lake by far! The lawn is wide open leading down to the beach area with a boat house that has all you could ever want! The boathouse has electricity, a bar, stools, life jackets, floats, oars, fishing rods, and more. There are 2 kayaks, a canoe, and a fabulous Hobie sailboat! There are plenty of lawn and Adirondack chairs to lounge by the lake front and nice large tables to eat as a family and/or with friends to enjoy all the beauty of this property and Scargo Lake.

We never need to leave the property! We keep so busy swimming, boating, floating, playing wiffle ball, frisbee, bocce, and more! When we do leave the property, we head to the beautiful Mayflower and Corporation beaches which are just a quick drive away. We love to eat at Sesuit Harbor, Captain Frosty's, the Scargo Cafe, the Marshside, and more. There is Smugglers ice cream, a candy shop, a donut shack and the Dennis Public Market that has everything you need. The Cape Cod Playhouse is right up the street to walk to and see a fantastic play.

We count the months between our visits to Verity's beautiful home and property! We absolutely love it here as do some of our friends who come over for a dinner or a day on the lake. We will be back as always with baited breath! Thank you, Verity, for providing us with a family home away from home to come to and enjoy!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Auburndale, MA
Member since Jun 2009
Our Perfect Vacation on Cape Cod

Friends of ours told us about this pet-friendly updated antique home on Scargo Lake, and based on their photos of the place, we booked the "main house." No photos, however, can capture the beauty and restfulness of this home. We were fortunate to learn the history of this home directly from the owner, who has made sure it has all the modern conveniences needed while preserving the character of the building.

The large property on which the house is located allowed our dogs the freedom to relax off leash, and the lake waterfront became our favorite place to sit and watch them play in the crystal clear waters of Scargo Lake. The property has a lake front boat house, and we took advantage of the kayaks. We also enjoyed the firepit with its view of Scargo Tower.

This home is located in Dennis, MA, and Dennis has excellent food stores for the "we prefer to cook at home" vacationer. It also has plenty of good restaurants for those who are not cooking inclined.

We shopped for gifts and other "souvenirs" at a huge antique barn, but there are also many quaint specialty shops in Dennis also.

Ocean beach lovers will be pleased with the location of this property...two very nice beaches are only a few minutes drive away. Since we rented after Labor Day, those beaches were not crowded at all. Other Cape Cod beaches further away were still quite full... so we recommend staying with the Dennis beaches if you like a bit of peace and quiet!

We loved this property and have plans to return. it was a perfect fit for us.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: July 2017
King George, VA
Member since Jul 2017
Spacious Cape Cod Retreat on Scargo Lake

We truly enjoyed our stay in this wonderful retreat on Scargo Lake. We are a family of 5, with children aged 15, 12, and 9, plus 2 dogs - and all enjoyed everything the property had to offer. We had more than enough space - the house is actually bigger than what it seems based on the pictures online. We loved all the charm of this antique home, and the additional provided extra space for us to lounge and watch television at night. We enjoyed mornings kayaking on the lake and then hit the beach in the afternoons. The home was very well taken care of - clean and the beds were very comfortable - important while on vacation! The owner was pleasant and accommodating. Great location in Dennis Village - enjoyed trips to Eden and Scargo Pottery, as well as a trip up to Provincetown to go whale watching. We recommend getting dinner at the snack bar at Mayflower Beach (lobster roll was delicious) and watching the sunset. We highly recommend this property to anyone visiting the Cape!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Herndon, VA
Member since Feb 2013
Perfect Winter Wonderland Escape...

I have been visiting the Cape since I was 6 months old. Sadly, my family no longer owns any Cape properties, so I now rent once or twice a year. In February I rented this amaaaazing property and could not have been more pleased. The house was clean, warm, and had all the charm of a true Cape home. The grounds were equally as fabulous as the home. Sooo much character! I enjoyed the snowy yard and the frozen lake as much as I would have during the warm sandy summer.

I truly felt at home, enjoying making breakfasts and dinners in the well supplied kitchen. The beds provided comfortable and cozy rest. Bathrooms were great..big by Cape standards.

The house is conveniently located for day trips to local destinations...Hyannis and P Town were a quick drive...even in the snow!

The owner of the property is extremely friendly, attentive and accommodating. She made every effort to make sure that I was happy and enjoyed my stay.

Overall, I have to give this experience an A++ -- a grade I seldom feel is earned. I look forward to my return to this lovely home in August.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: February 2014
Date Submitted: March 2014
Valencia, CA
Member since Mar 2014
Fabulous

we have just returned from the most enjoyable vacation imaginable at this lake house in Dennis. What made the trip so memorable was the fact that not once during our week did any of our 4 grandchildren ask "what can I do now?" The lake beach at one point is shallow enough that the 4 grandchildren aged 1 to 8 could wade into the water quite a way and always be safe. We had use of a canoe, a kayak, and a Hobie Cat. The large yard was great for after dinner games of croquet, frisbee, and softball. This charming antique cape was large enough for three families to live and have space for themselves. The Rt 6A side of Dennis has some of the best beaches on the Cape. Mayflower and Corporation Beaches were great fun when we could pry the kids away from the lake although the lake(Lake Scargo) was everyone's choice. Great restaurants very close by. We plan on making this a summer family tradition.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Walpole, MA
Member since Jul 2012
A vacation to remember!

We stayed at Verity's for a week in early June with our son who was not yet two, a babysitter, and a few friends. It was everything we had hoped and more: the house is not only beautiful, but it holds a welcoming charm, a sort of magic. It feels like a home somehow. It was easy to settle in, to cook together, and for everyone to still feel as if they had space and privacy. Maybe the best meals were shared around the long table in the dining room at night, or maybe at the homey kitchen table, or maybe berries for breakfast on the patio, gazing at the roses, or watching a bunny eat its breakfast too...

But it's not just the house--it was also, for us, the time of year. The sun was gentle on us, which was important when we had a toddler to care for; it was still warm enough to swim every morning in that clean, refreshing lake, and also every afternoon and evening. We saw otters, loons, hawks...The town, the lake, the beach were never too crowded, thanks to the earliness of the season, and yet there was plenty to do. The walk to town itself, to check on the daily bread at the Underground Bakery, or sample the latest ice cream flavors, was often enough of an afternoon pastime. At night, you could lie out on the lawn and see the stars; depending on the tides, you could walk or else drive out to one of the beaches and walk forever, dreaming at the clouds, chasing gulls, and, as our son did, digging endless holes.

He couldn't talk too much then but I think one of his first words was "Scargo."

Verity was a lovely person to work with in terms of setting up dates, getting our needs met (bedding, etc), and chatting about best spots for sunbathing, and life on the Cape in general.

Wish we were there now! Yes--we recommend it!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: April 2013
New York, NY
Member since Apr 2013

5 stars out of 5

Classic Cape vacation but better
jack p.

Review Submitted: August 21, 2011 Date of Stay: August 2011

This centrally located older Dennis village house was just a real charming place to stay. The older part was classic with low ceilings, smaller rooms and lots of windows. The newer part provided lots of space and air with a large table to sit around and a nice cable fed plasma TV (no HD). We just loved walking around in it and up to it from the lake (especially at night after a bonfire when it was all lit up.) It had AC in the bedrooms that helped a lot and also a cabled TV in one of the bedrooms. The kitchen was modern and had everything we needed. The dinning room off the kitchen is where we ate our dinners family style and talked endlessly. We're a family of 4 with a14 yr old boy and 13 yr old girl. Both enjoyed the house. Having the lake available with the Hobie Cat made for a nice split between beach and lake fun. We went to Mayflower beach 3 days and didn't get there until 2 or 3 any day spending our mornings hanging out at the house or on the lake sailing. We also had family visit and there was ample space for air mattresses with a nice huge one provided by the owner. Having linens service and the 2 bathrooms, 1 with a shower and 1 with a tub, are key and laundry is great to have. An outdoor shower would have been nice after coming back from the beach or lake but other than that it was just a lovely, awesome place to stay. We wish we could have stayed for two weeks.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Jack P
Quincy, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Guest review from Fran Couture on 7/19/2010 for a stay in July 2010. "My family of 7 adults and 1 child recently rented this property. We enjoyed our vacation there immensely. Positives: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! Lake frontage was wonderful for private breakfasts and late night swims. The lake is clean and the temperature was moderate. The atmosphere was serene. The swans in the photo visited daily. The beaches in Dennis are unmatched by any others, both Bay side and Nantucket Sound. The owner, Verity was on the property during our stay in her own cottage and was both unobtrusive and welcoming and respected our privacy. The great room and living room provided more than adequate space and comfort for our indoor activities. The price of this rental was more than we've paid in the past but all in all was a good value. I would definitely recommend this property as a truly unique experience. Sincerely, Fran"

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Brimfield, MA
Member since Jan 2010

5 stars out of 5 Lovely location and charming house! Sarah Madison, WI Review Submitted: August 13, 2010 Date of Stay: July 2010 We came here for a week: two families were quite comfortable in the three bedrooms. The older part of the house (built in the late 1700s) was charming - with lovely wide board floors, low door frames and cozy rooms. I was happy for the newer addition, which was far enough from the bedrooms that the adults didn't wake the kids at night. The rambling layout did make it harder to watch our toddlers, since they enjoyed running the length of the house. The kitchen was well-stocked with utensils and pots and pans. (We did a lot of cooking and I would recommend bringing your own chopping knives.) But we enjoyed the modern kitchen with its stainless steel countertops and huge refrigerator. The property was gorgeous! Well-maintained and HUGE! The lakefront property is lovely, with a perfect beach for the kids to play on. It is shallow for quite a while and the water was warm. We enjoyed the canoe and digging in the sand. We drove to Corporation beach twice. And the beach was filled with happy families and beautiful views. There are markets, ice cream shops, antiques and Captain Frosty's within 5 minute drives, as well as a public playground. Overall, we were very pleased with this rental and would definitely stay here again! Thank you, Verity! Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: February 2011
Sarah A
WI
(Homeowner Entered)

4 stars out of 5 A fun week by the lake :) nicki southwick, ma/ united states Review Submitted: July 25, 2010 Date of Stay: July 2010 My family and I enjoyed a wonderful vacation in this waterfront cottage on Scargo Lake in Dennis. There was adequate space to accommodate our family of 8, which was great. The cottage was nice and spacious, including a wonderful dining room area with a table that could comfortably seat us all together for meals. It was wonderful having access to the lake and utilizing the outdoor amenities such as a canoe and a catamaran sailboat, both included in the rental. We also enjoyed the privacy and tranquility this location afforded., The cottage is just a short drive to the beach, and well worth the expense of parking, with many area beaches to choose from. The closest beach to the property, Corporation Beach, was beautiful and clean. Overall, I would recommend this rental to others and would vacation here myself again as well. Recommended for: Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: February 2011
Niki C
MA
(Homeowner Entered)

4 stars out of 5

Best vacation we have had on the Cape in years

Amy Massachusetts
Review Submitted: August 3, 2010 Date of Stay: July 2010

The antique residence on Main Street, Dennis Village, was the nicest location for a week's stay on Cape Cod. As a former resident of Dennis, I knew my way around very well. Scargo Lake is a very peaceful and pretty lake to go to, and having a place with direct access to it was perfect. The home had the best of both worlds - an antique with lots of charm and history, and a newer addition with WiFi and big screen TV (keeps the teenagers happy). Truly a lovely place to stay. Because it is an antique, you have to understand there are some limitations (shorter doorways, fewer outlets, rambling layout). However, for us that was one of the main reasons we loved it. Complete with a canoe and catamaran sailboat for a nice ride around the lake, it was an ideal vacation for us. We will be back.

Amy and family

Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families
with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: February 2011
Amy S
MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Rating 5 stars out of 5 Great for the Family Ben Virginia Review Submitted: August 15, 2010 Date of Stay: August 2009 We rented this house last summer ('09) and are going back again this year. We have 3 smaller kids and they loved being able to jump in the warm lake any time. We really enjoyed the canoes especially since the lake is so quiet (I didn't see any boats with an engine). The house is old, but in very good shape. The new addition gave us some distance from the bedrooms so the adults could relax at night without disturbing the kids. Recommended for: Families with Young Children

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: February 2011
Ben W
Virginia
(Homeowner Entered)