Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Beaches, Bike Trail, Backyard & Central Air
Eastham Vacation Rental - ID 18359

4 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 9
Beds: 2 queens, 5 twins
Beach: 1.5 miles to Nauset Light & Coast Guard beach
Guest Reviews: 24 reviews
Time active: 7 years, 7 months
Contact details:
  Email Jamie Musler
Contact Jamie Musler, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 528-1193 (Home).
Please mention Property ID# 18359 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
24 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Fantastic Home in Ideal Location

First, Jamie makes the entire rental experience stress-free. He answered our questions prior to booking (last year) fully and immediately. Once we got to the house, we knew that we would want to come back for many years to come! My family loves to bike, and Sandy Bottom Retreat is right off the bike path. In fact, Jamie shared with us a short cut that makes the house less than a two minute walk to the path. We appreciated that there were some bikes in the basement because we brought a family friend who didn't have one. We also love the beach, both ocean and bay. The house is a very short drive to great choices. We were pleased that he told us that you can get a permit (required) to build a fire on the beach. They are limited, so we were happy to have this information upfront.

The house itself is fantastic. It is always immaculate, and that hasn't been the case at other rentals. The decor is very tasteful and the kitchen is fully-stocked with dishes, pots, pans, and gadgets. It is clear that the owners love to cook and entertain. The furniture is very comfortable, and we often just hung out watching TV, playing the provided games or reading one of the many books in the house. (It was also nice to have central air on a really hot, humid, day.)

We love the addition made to the deck this year. We grilled and ate dinner outside many evenings. Our kids love the outdoor shower, hammock, and tire swing.

It's really nice that there are two bedrooms upstairs and two down. It allowed the adults to hang out in the living room long after the kids went to bed upstairs. Each bedroom is nicely decorated and the mattresses are comfortable. I have a funky back, to this is very important to me! There is plenty of closest and drawer space to feel at home for a week.

This house is a real gem. You won't be disappointed.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: September 2019
Greenville, RI
Member since Sep 2019
Nice Home, Great Location

We came for a late July/early August visit for Mom, Dad, and our five kids plus Nana, and this home really fit our needs as well as any we have experienced in Eastham. With five twin beds upstairs and two queens downstairs we had many options for sleeping arrangements and the open floor plan downstairs was great for the times we were not at the beaches and just hanging out. The house is very clean and updated, comfortable, and was so well stocked with the things you might need that it was like being at home. We also took advantage of the games and books that are available at the home during our breaks from the beach. The back deck was also very nice and we spent many mornings reading books or playing in the yard, enjoying the tire swing, fire pit, and hammock. We were even able to invite some local family over for dinner and had plenty of space for everyone to enjoy.

The location for Eastham is about the best you could ask for. On the ocean side of Route 6, and a short walk or a very short bike ride to the rail (bike) trail, Sam's Deli, and other restaurants. We made use of the bikes that were available and found that it was often easier to phone ahead our orders at Sam's or the Friendly Fisherman, or a make quick trip to Dunkin' Donuts or Nauset Ice Cream, and left the car at home which added to the vacation experience. We also took some longer bike rides to PB Boulangerie in Wellfleet for amazing French baked goods, and to Chocolate Sparrow in Orleans for treats with the kids. Nauset Light Beach is less than two miles away and several mornings I went for a run to the beach for a quick swim and back, and by bike it was even easier. Ease of access to the ocean, the businesses on Brackett Road, and the Rail Trail make this home an instant winner.

We have exclusively rented direct from owners over the past 15 years of family vacations, and Jamie was as wonderful host as you could ask for and he made the rental process simple and easy and was always responsive to the few questions we had. We happened to hit the hottest week we have ever experienced on the Cape (highs into the 90s a few days), and we had the minor inconvenience of warmer than usual bedrooms upstairs, and Jamie immediately directed me to an available window A/C unit and fans that made things much more comfortable for our stay.

I highly recommend this property—the location, amenities, and comfort are great and it is priced very competitively with other homes in the area (I personally found this home a little less expensive than other homes we have rented in the area that were not as quite nice). Add to that, the wonderful hosts, and you pretty much cannot go wrong with renting this home. We have family in Eastham, and are hoping that we will have a chance to return to this home sometime soon.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
Annapolis, MD
Member since Oct 2009
Charming and Comfortable

The house was charming and comfortable. It had everything you needed for a fantastic vacation plus a whole lot more. The central A/C was an added plus because it was 90 degrees all week. The home was on a quiet street, but was centrally located to town as well as all the beaches. It was a two minute walk to the bike trail and there was a bike shop for rentals right there. I would highly recommend this home to anyone looking to stay in Eastham.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
Boston, MA
Member since Aug 2019
Charming Eastham Home

Charming Cape on the Cape. Perfect for one or two families. Great amenities, great location, great communication with owner. Great all around.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: July 2019
Woburn, MA
Member since Dec 2018
Wonderful vacation home

We enjoyed a great week at the Sandy Bottom Retreat, with kids and grandkids. The location is ideal for accessing lots of our favorite places including ocean and bayside beaches, Cape Cod League baseball games, Rock Harbor, Provincetown, the Audubon Area in Wellfleet and many others. We appreciated the easy access to the bike path and the bikes provided at the house were a great plus!

The home itself was immaculately clean, nicely furnished and comfortable. There is a wonderful outdoor shower with a dry changing area. Outdoors the tire swing was a big hit while others enjoyed the hammock. Most meals were eaten on the spacious deck. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped and roomy enough for several people to work and/or hang out. We enjoyed some of the board games provided in the evenings.

The owner communicated very well and responded quickly to all my questions. The instructions at the house for recycling and trash pickup were clear and much appreciated.

I certainly hope to return another year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: July 2019
Boylston, MA
Member since Jul 2019
Perfect!!!

Great location!!! This Eastham home was perfect for our family vacation. Convenient to Rt. 6 and to some great beaches. The area was quiet and private and the home was better than described. We enjoyed the deck and back yard and especially the fire pit. The home was very comfortable and the air conditioning was a plus as some or the days the temperatures were in the 90’s. We made great use of the large kitchen and and dining room. Jamie was easy to deal with and promptly returned my deposit. I look forward to returning to this home.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Rome, NY
Member since Aug 2018
July 2018 vacation

Home is located in a great area. Close enough to route 6 with a traffic light for easy turn navigation, but located in a quiet, small neighborhood. Short bike ride to the bike path and short car ride to Nauset Light and Coast Guard beaches. Also a short distance to general store for incidentals, Sam's for best deli sandwiches around, and ice cream and DD close by.

House has two good sized bedrooms down and two bedrooms up for kids or overflow guests.
House was well stocked with all of the kitchen necessities and had an outdoor gas grill.

Having the central air was a nice benefit as we had an unusally humid week.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Huntersville, NC
Member since Dec 2017
Well equipped and comfortable cottage

We've been to the Cape multiple times over the last 15 years and this is the first rental we've all agreed we'd love to stay at again in the future.

We really enjoyed our stay in this cottage. It was a very comfortable home and seemed to have everything we needed. Having the bikes and beach items available for our use was super helpful for us since we do not live within driving distance of Eastham. The cottage design is up-to-date with a soothing paint palette. The kitchen had every gadget we needed. The cottage was close to our favorite beaches and not far from the popular eateries in the area. The street was quiet & peaceful.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Portland, OR
Member since Oct 2011
Wouldn't Hesitate to Stay Here Again!

Just what we were looking for - a nice, clean home, on the ocean side to spend some quality family time on the Cape. Jamie and Melissa were wonderful to work with. I wouldn't hesitate to rent this property again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Woodbury, CT
Member since Nov 2016

The house was perfect for our family vacation. We brought our bike helmets and made use of the provided bikes for a morning ride on the bike trail every morning (and once to three sisters light houses, and once to Salt Pond). So close to Nauset Light and Coast Guard beaches. Kitchen had everything we needed, outdoor shower was wonderful. Kids LOVED the tire swing. Though we brought our own, basement had beach chairs and a beach cart to use. Really appreciate the binder with restaurant recommendations. House was ready to entertain all ages - from a stock of kids games to books in every nightstand (which I made use of when I finished the beach books I had brought!). Thank you - we definitely recommend!

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: February 2016
Lisa P
RI
(Homeowner Entered)

My family and I stayed in "The Sandy Bottom Retreat" last week. We have been vacationing at the Cape for eight years now. As our needs have changed over time, we have found new homes to rent. We will definitely come back to this home in our future! It is a perfect location for everything we like to do (kayaking, swimming at the bay/ocean/Great Pond, clamming, biking on the rail trail, boating, hiking and playing mini golf). It was GREAT to come back to an air conditioned house after being out in the hot sun everyday! We enjoyed the outdoor shower as well as badminton and firepit!! We played some of the games and had a great time! The kitchen is fully stocked for all of your needs. There is plenty of seating inside as well as out. We were able to drive to Orleans, Wellfleet and Ptown very easily! The beach chairs were great when we went to the beach and we were glad that we didn't have to pack ours! Plenty of beach toys also. The house is very nicely decorated and maintained very well!

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: February 2016
S O
CT
(Homeowner Entered)

My family and I have been vacationing on the Cape since 2003 and have stayed in many wonderful houses. In fact, every year we picked a new one until the year 2013 when we found "The Sandy Bottom Retreat". This is the 3rd year we've come back to this house and highly recommend that you give it a try. The location can't be beat if you are looking to explore the National Seashore beaches or ride on the bike path. The quiet street and large natural lawn provide a relaxing setting to begin and end each day and is also walking distance from Arnolds & other restaurants, mini golf, grocery/liquor store, Ben & Jerry's and lots more. This year we loved the newly renovated downstairs bathroom and the pair of Adirondack chairs out front. This house suits 4 adults and 4 kids (teens) perfectly. Everyone has plenty of space and the house has everything you could possibly need. The kitchen is exceptionally well stocked and the bedrooms are spacious. It is bright and airy and well furnished. The house has always been very clean (not something that you always get when renting on the Cape) and the owners easy to work with. Thank you so much for opening your wonderful home to us!

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: February 2016
Andrera S
VT
(Homeowner Entered)

The location of this house is great -- it's around the corner from the bike trail and a small grocery store, close to Route 6 (but quiet), about 1.5 miles from Nauset Light beach. Inside of house is clean and updated, with large kitchen/dining room (large table can accommodate 9), LR stocked with games & kid videos, newly renovated 1st floor bath, 2 good-sized 1st floor queen BRs, 2 upstairs twin BRs (one with 3 twins, one with a twin + twin trundle); note that half bath upstairs is inside one of the BRs. Backyard has tire swing, badminton net, hammock, fire pit, deck w/ grill and table, outdoor shower. Owners are very nice and easy to work with. Highly recommended!

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: February 2016
Cape Visitor O
MA
(Homeowner Entered)

The house was great, very spacious and 4 bedrooms. The owners were great to work with as they outlined all steps that we needed to take beforehand and got us our security deposit soon after the stay. Thanks for having us.

Date of Stay: May 2015
Date Submitted: February 2016
Dan P
CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We just spent a wonderful weekend at Sandy Bottom beach house in Eastham. The house was spotless. It looks like the downstairs bathroom has recently been renovated. We loved the outside fire pit, the setup for badminton and the hammock. There are 2 bedrooms on the 1st floor and 2 bedrooms on the 2nd floor which was great for us. Our kids could have their own space upstairs. The CC bike trail is literally around the corner. It was perfect for a memorial day weekend away. Only about 20 minutes to P-town. Jaime was very responsive and easy to deal with. We will definitely rent it again.

Date of Stay: May 2015
Date Submitted: February 2016
Amber M
NH
(Homeowner Entered)

This is one of the most pleasant and accommodating homes that we have stayed in on the Cape. The home is comfortable, spacious and is located close to the Cape rail trail and ocean side beaches. We definitely would rent this house for a future vacation on the Cape.

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Nancy B
E. Nassau, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Perfect location! Home was very welcoming. We enjoyed our stay.

Date of Stay: May 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Cathy S
Fremont, CA
(Homeowner Entered)
Ideally located vacation home

The owners of this home were a pleasure to communicate with. Their home was spotless and had all the amenities for a family vacation. The outdoor shower was perfect for after the beach. A firepit in the back yard was enjoyed by all under the stars. The kids loved the tire swing. Eastham's best restaurants are all within 5 minutes. Both Bay and ocean beaches are close by. Thanx again for a great week!

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Winchester, MA
Member since Mar 2007
Fantastic home base!

We have been renting houses in this area of the Cape, with another family, for our yearly beach vacation for a decade and it's unanimous - this is our favorite! This clean and well appointed house had everything we needed to be comfortable for the week. The 4 kids (ages 10-12) loved the spacious upper level and the back yard (hammock, volley ball, tire swing!) for hanging out while the comfortable living room, spacious bedrooms and back yard/deck offered many options for the adults. The kitchen had everything we needed (as we cooked in most nights - including all the necessities for lobster night). Big bonus: plenty of room for all of us at the large dining room table (something we have not had every year and yet is so important and desirable on a family vacation!). The furnishings and artwork were lovely. The location can't be beat with the close proximity to the bike path, restaurants, general store, donuts and ice cream but most importantly the Ocean within a mile or so from the house. The newly refurbished outdoor shower was awesome with the extra space for changing - another plus! Aside from staying in a great place, other hi lights of the week: sea kayaking through the marshes, shopping in P-town, fire and cookout on the beach (be sure to get a permit!), boogie boarding at National Seashore beaches, fun in the sun with family. Owners were very easy to communicate with and it seemed important to them that we were comfortable. Thank you - we'll be back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Jericho, VT
Member since Sep 2013
Spacious and convenient

Great space for the entire family in this 4 bedroom home away from home. The kitchen was furnished with beautiful dinnerware, plenty of utensils and all essentials and more. It really felt like home. The outdoor shower with dressing area made up for the single shower inside the house. Nicely furnished with beach decor and comfortable. We were so grateful the central air kept us comfortable during the week of excessive heat. Excellent location, so close to our favorite beaches and stores.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Chepachet, RI
Member since Mar 2013
Property 18359

We have stayed in many properties over the years in Eastham ocean side. And this property is up in the top group. If your needs call for a larger home, you won't find many that compete. Nice owners, quiet neighborhood, A/C, dishwasher, and everything else you will need.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: August 2013
West Brookfield, MA
Member since Mar 2013

I can't say enough good things about this home and the time we spent in it. I won't repeat everything in the house's write-up; it's all true. The house was spotless, in a great location, and perfectly decorated as a cozy Cape beach house. In addition to all the amenities listed, they also had beach chairs, some board games, and kids' movies available. The homeowners made us feel like guests in their home (not like renters like other vacation homes we have rented in the past). We're already planning to return to the house for our next Cape getaway!"

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: August 2010
Taunton, MA
Member since Aug 2010

"Our family vacationed at this property in August of 2010. We shared the house with my brother and his family which included three people. My family included five people. Most of the children were young adults. There was plenty of room for all of us and we had a fabulous time. The previous reviews share the great amenities that are provided in the house. All of the above information is true and accurate. The house is clean and smells great...things that were important to us. The one thing that was not mentioned in the previous reviews was the WiFi access in the house. Several of the adults brought laptops which were used regularly without any difficulty. There were easy to use directions in the notebook that has all the info about the house and the community that anyone would need. This was a great vacation home. I am recommending it to my co-workers."

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: August 2010
Boalsburg, PA
Member since Aug 2010

"I vacationed here July 2010 with my daughter & son-in-law, and my 6 grandchildren; triplets, twins, & a 'singleton'...4 are teenagers and the twins are 7...and there was room for us all, and plenty of room to sit and eat, and lots to do. The house was very clean and beautifully decorated, with a good sized yard and nice deck, in a nice, quiet neighborhood. We also welcomed having an outdoor shower, air-conditioning, and the washer and dryer. The bikepath is a stone's throw away. When we were back from the beach, (a close drive to both the ocean and the bay), the teens enjoyed walking to the nearby ice-cream shop. The owners have a wonderfully informative notebook about the house and the area, and in every contact I have had with them, they have always been helpful, and very kind. I highly recommend this property to both families, and couples."

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Middletown, CT
Member since Jun 2010