Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Designer cottage w/AC, Heated pool, short w to 3 beaches

Eastham Vacation Rental - ID 33790
2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 5
Beds: 1 queen, 1 double, 1 twin
Beach: .5 miles to Cole Rd Beach and 0.4 mi to First Encounter Beach
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 1 year, 1 month
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Spectacular stay

Often a home doesn't quite live up to the pics, but in this case, the pics don't do justice to this wonderful cottage, yard, and pool.

The cottage strikes a great balance between great design while being very comfortable and feeling lived in. The back deck is a lovely place for morning coffee. The POOL, wowza. We were blown away by how beautiful it was, the landscaping, everything. It was a million degrees the week we were there and the pool made all the difference.

Sunset beaches just down the road were amazing. And our dog LOVED daily walks over to Wiley Park (just a few hundred feet down the road from the cottage you can enter paths). She loved hiking, playing with other dogs in the clearing "dog meet up" spot, and splashing around in the water (so rare to find dog friendly places in the summer in the water!).

Louise made sure we were happy, comfortable, and well taken care of (and even gave us a peek at the main house next door--also gorgeous if you need more space!).

Overall, we'd be back in a heartbeat. Thanks for making our week so special.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2021
Date Submitted: July 2021
Owner Response:

Well Karen, Dave, and Maxie
I'm so thrilled that you had such a good week! I know it was a special occasion for you and it makes me really happy to hear your thoughts. Thanks for being such thoughtful guests on your departure
I hope we do see you again
Best
Louise

Member since Oct 2018
Retreat from City Life

We had a truly wonderful month-long stay at Alewife Cottage. Louise was very communicative, helpful, and incredibly thoughtful throughout our visit.

The cottage is very comfortable, beautifully decorated, has a great layout - with so many thoughtful touches that made our stay a joy. The kitchen is terrific, and the open ceiling/skylights make the main living space bright and cheerful. We really enjoyed the plantings and animal/bird-watching on the property. The pool was a most welcome relief on the few really hot days.

The easy walking distance to beaches (and sunsets!) at Cole Rd or First Encounter are a real treat! The owners are warm and friendly, and show that they sincerely care about their guests' comfort. It was a lovely retreat from noisy city life. The owners have created a delightful and relaxing atmosphere, we will be back for sure.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2021
Date Submitted: June 2021
Owner Response:

Georgia and John
We were equally enamored
If there was a rating for guests
You get five stars
Can't wait to see you tomorrow in the fall
During less crazy times
Louise

Brooklyn, NY
Member since Feb 2021
Peaceful Retreat

I spent a lovely two weeks at Alewife Cottage with my dog.  We were both welcomed quite warmly, and the owners were very attentive to any needs that arose during my stay.  The cottage itself is immaculate and just beautiful; it's hard for pictures to do justice to the soaring ceiling in the main living area and the abundance of natural light. The kitchen is well stocked and there is ample everything you can think of, including linens, pillows, and towels for muddy paws after a fun time at the beach.  The wifi allowed for smooth video calls and the smart TV was great too. In general the space is thoughtfully designed and tastefully decorated.  Not your typical vacation rental.

The proximity to two beaches and a pond/hiking trail couldn't be beat, and there was much to explore in the area.  As a busy professional I was looking for a peaceful place to take a break. The cottage itself, the beauty of the surroundings and the kindness of Louise and Tom made that a reality.  Plus, as everyone's been saying...the beds were incredibly comfortable! Will definitely be back.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2021
Date Submitted: April 2021
Owner Response:

Sasha, thank you for choosing to stay at Alewife cottage to celebrate such a milestone event. I wish we had been able to get a hike in. Next time!
Best to you,
Louise

Brooklyn, NY
Member since Apr 2021
Private, quiet & comfortable retreat

I recently wrapped up a 2-month stay at Alewife Cottage while my house was under renovation. It was wonderful to have this full-amenity home as a retreat during that process. It worked great for me, as a work-from-home professional.

And its close proximity to Cape Cod Bay and oceanside beaches - along with the wooded trails of Wiley Pond - meant many options for walks with my welcomed dog.

While Louise's primary residence is next door, there's plenty of privacy, with a stockade fence as a separation. And the open-plan design with fully equipped kitchen and large, flat-screen TV helped make the stay feel like a real vacation. Also, as others have said - great bed!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: February 2021
Date Submitted: April 2021
Brewster, MA
Member since Apr 2021
Wonderful Cottage

I just returned from a lovely week in this home. The hosts were responsive and easy to work with and the home was a perfect escape. Amazing kitchen, bed, and location. Highly recommend.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: January 2021
Date Submitted: January 2021
West Newton, MA
Member since Apr 2014
Lovely retreat

I spent a long weekend here with my dogs and could not have asked for a more comfortable, relaxed lodging. From the well-equipped kitchen and thoughtfully-appointed living room to the excellent mattresses (both human and canine) and ideal location - a short walk to bay, trails, and ponds - Louise's cottage was perfect. I look forward to returning.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: December 2020
Date Submitted: December 2020
Owner Response:

Hi Joan,
It was a pleasure having you. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to take me up on my offer to you another time.
Best, Louise

Member since Jan 2018
Very cute cottage, highly recommend!

My husband and I stayed here for Thanksgiving and it was a perfect cozy little cottage for the 2 of us. Louise went out of her way to let us check in early and accommodate our travel plans as well as offer up hikes, trails, and activities near by. The cottage has a great updated kitchen, perfect to make meals at home. Given the cold weather we didn't spend much time on the outdoor deck but I can image it's a great space to unwind on summer afternoons and evenings. I rarely have positive reviews for beds but the mattresses, pillows, and bedding in the cottage were incredible - very comfortable. We didn't need the 2nd bedroom as there were just 2 of us but it would be plenty of space for a second couple. The dining area and living room was spacious and great for watching TV/movies - we spent the week working remotely and Wifi was no problem.

You can tell Louise has put a-lot of thought into making this cottage very livable and comfortable for her guests. The neighborhood is quiet and First Encounter Beach is less than a 5 minute walk away. It's also about a mile down the street from the Eastham Superette if you need to walk and grab coffee, sandwiches or any last minute grocery items. We will certainly be back to stay - cannot recommend the cottage enough!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: November 2020
Date Submitted: December 2020
Owner Response:

Hi Megan,
it was great to get to know you the little bit I did. I'm so happy you were comfortable and I am excited to hear your review of the beds. I do care that guests are comfortable and top quality beds matter. I hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Louise

San Francisco, CA
Member since Dec 2020
Fabulous Peaceful Place Right Next to the Bay

I spent five weeks in this lovely cottage this Fall - what a perfect experience. It was serene, well equipped, beautifully decorated, and a very short distance to the Bay - First Encounter Beach. I was so happy to be able to bring my puppy, enjoy autumn on the Upper Cape and greatly enjoyed the hospitality of owners, Louise and Tom. I will be back!

Date of Stay: October 2020
Date Submitted: November 2020
Owner Response:

Tracey, we were sad to see you go. I got so used to seeing you there I still expect to see you! We were so happy to have met you and know that we will be seeing one another again soon!

Berkeley, CA
Member since Nov 2020
September 5-19, 2020

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful cottage for 2 weeks and had a terrific time! The cottage was so tastefully decorated and designed perfectly for maximum use of the space. As the pandemic was still foremost in our thoughts, this place was well suited for a beautiful change of scenery and safe harbor. We cooked many meals utilizing the great kitchen amenities!

We brought our dog with us and the dog bed provided by the owner was an added plus.

Most mornings we took the short walk to first encounter beach or cook's beach with the dog (permitted after labor day) and thoroughly enjoyed the time. The proximity to the bike path was also fantastic, less than a mile away and an easy ride on the path in both directions! Our favorite restaurants were nearby and provided curbside pick up and the Eastham Superette was great to pick up small items needed for dinner. The television was also a nice surprise with all the premium streaming channels for movies and tv shows. The deck was used almost daily and the perfect spot to take an afternoon nap or read. The outdoor shower was nice for beach days and the owner quick to respond to any questions.

We would definitely stay here again, thank you Louise!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Owner Response:

Dear Renee,
Thanks so much for the review. It's really important to me that guests are comfortable and enjoy their stays. I also appreciated our offline discussion and your recommendations including marking the lighting and including a television guide. Good practical advice.
Hope to see you again.
Best
Louise

Member since Feb 2013
Paradise on the Outer Cape

We couldn't have asked for a better location or cottage! We thoroughly enjoyed morning coffee on the deck, cooking in the great kitchen, and epic games of Uno in the comfortable living room. We loved being so close to the Cape Cod Rail Trail, walking distance to First Encounter and Herring Brook Beach, and a quick drive to the National Seashore. An unexpected perk was the short walk to the trails of Wiley Park, where we could kayak and swim with our dog. All in all it was a perfect week on the Cape.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Owner Response:

Thank you, Kerry and John. It was a pleasure to have you. It makes us immensely happy to know you enjoyed yourselves and the property. Hope to see you again.
Best,
Louise

Wakefield, MA
Member since Aug 2020
We loved this cottage!

We had a delightful stay at Alewife Cottage. It's a lovely cottage in a peaceful, quiet neighborhood. Finishes are high end, and décor is tasteful and well done. The cottage was spotlessly clean. Bedrooms are cozy, beds are extremely comfortable and the back deck is perfect for morning coffee or after-beach barbecues. Central air ensures that the cottage is comfortable (even during a 90+ heat wave!). The cottage is conveniently located within a half-mile of both pond and ocean beaches. Shopping and dining options are nearby as well. The owner is gracious and welcoming, without being intrusive. She even provided a comfy bed for our dog! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return. We recommend without reservation!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Owner Response:

Thank you so much Joan. I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay. I'm looking forward to seeing you again this fall.

Member since Jun 2020