Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Sunsets from your deck & ten steps to private beach stairs.
Eastham Vacation Rental - ID 4635

3 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 double, 2 twins, + loft with 2 twins
Beach: 10 steps to stairs - private beach
Guest Reviews: 12 reviews
Time active: 15 years, 9 months
Contact details:
  Email Donald Plouffe
Contact Donald Plouffe, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 384-3689 (home), (508) 507-0860 (cell).
Please mention Property ID# 4635 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
12 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Bosun's Locker

We had a beautiful time at your property Bosun's Locker. The central location was perfect. Steps away from the bay and close to restaurants and several beaches. The neighbors were very friendly and helpful. We also loved the outdoor shower it was very helpful and helped keep the cottage nice and neat after coming in from the sandy beach. We would highly recommend it to others. It worked out perfect for the 3 of us.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Frankfort, NY
Member since Jun 2018
Great little cottage on the bay!!

My family and I (myself, sister and three children) stayed at Don’s property and we were very happy with our experience. The cottage is small but has everything you need. You can’t beat the location if you are looking to stay close to the bay. The view from the deck is lovely. The living space was cozy. The main floor bedrooms were a nice size and comfortable. The loft bedroom was difficult to keep cool and the ladder was a bit of a challenge but the kids were happy to treat the space as a tree fort (no one actually slept up there). The bathroom was spacious and clean. Short drive to the National Seashore and kettle ponds. Overall I would recommend renting this lovely little cottage for a small family.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Owner Response:

Unfortunately the previous renter had a "flair up" on the grill resulting in destroying it, where if the burner was shut off and water poured on what was burning would have eliminated the "flair up". Regardless, a new grill was provided on Monday, with minimized impact.

Valhalla, NY
Member since Feb 2012
Can't beat the location

I was there as a single Mom with 3 young children, and it turned out to be the perfect location for us. The cottage is surrounded by sand, the kids played as if they were at the beach. It was quiet, no traffic, and no worries about cars. The beach was at the bottom of the stairs, so I was able to relax and not have to haul a ton of stuff and 3 kids in a car every day. I saved money on having to purchase a beach pass, enjoyed the sunsets every night, and loved the deck with its great views of the bay. The owner is very nice and very professional. We will be back next year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Owner Response:

I plan on breaking up the cleaning & responsibilities into fall and spring, which will help to increase quality. Items in question: (1) bathroom & bedroom floors look dirty - will clean/wash in the fall, assess and potentially correct in the spring . (2) Parking area has high grass - Will estimate cost to prepare surface for fabric and crushed stone again, both cottages share costs and this was entertained in the past & was concluded to costly. (3) Landscaping - Have tried in the past, not realistic since it requires maintenance and adds cost, which increase rents.

My mission is to keep costs down in order for you to maximize your pleasure and minimize cost. In the most recent past I installed a very expensive awning because I could see the value of increasing your pleasure utility.

Member since Apr 2018
Checked off all our boxes, and more

I'm hesitant to post a good review, because I worry it will get harder to book this place in the future as it gets more popular...

We are so happy to have discovered this fantastic little cottage! We were looking for walking distance to the water, and we got it. I wouldn't have thought we could be so close for this price. There are amazing views of the bay from all the front windows and the deck, and it literally is a dozen or so steps to the stairs down to the beach. Our kids (7 and 11) had so much fun looking for hermit crabs and snails at low tide, and I could watch them on the beach from the kitchen window. We lucked out on the last day and there was a storm out at sea that brought in big waves, so it was like being on the ocean side, riding the waves on our tubes. Sunsets were also spectacular; we enjoyed one on the beach in front of the house with beer and fried clams!

The cottage has everything you need, including plenty of beach chairs. Next time I'll know I won't need to pack any. A/C was a nice bonus, as it was pretty hot when we were there, and while the ocean breezes are wonderful, it can still be pretty muggy at night. I honestly can't think of anything I'd change or recommend, though I do agree that an awning or umbrella would be nice on the deck (especially for this pale-skinned Ginger who can only take so much sun-exposure!)

As much as we like to explore new locations, I think we may not need to look any further. We're going to be a bit spoiled now -- we're always going to want to be this close to the water. Can't wait to come back again soon!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Owner Response:

Will have to solve the shading problem. Don't want to be responsible for anyone, especially pale-skinned Ginger, becoming ruby red. We always intend on making this cottage the most comfortable as it can be in order for renters to get the most bang for their buck.

Member since Jan 2016
Great view and location!

We really enjoyed our stay at this cozy cottage right on the bay. Being able to sit on the deck and look out at the ocean or prepare dinner and view the water was incredible. We were there during one of the hottest weeks of the summer, so the AC was greatly appreciated and the envy of our neighbors. A canopy or umbrella would have been nice on the deck so it could have been enjoyed more during the intense midday sun. We luckily didn't need the loft, but it did get pretty warm even with the AC during the week we were there (again, one of the warmest of the summer).

The cottage had all the necessities for a great week on Cape Cod -- proximity to the beach (can't get much better), AC, not too far from bike trail, outdoor shower, gas grill, and the added bonus of a great deck. There's no yard, but the bay serves as a wonderful substitute. It's also a short drive to Orleans for a Cape Cod baseball league game, Wellfleet drive-in and Provincetown or Chatham. The home owner was very easy to rent from. We hope to make it back next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Owner Response:

Aware of the loft heating, A fan is in place to draw up the cold AC'd air. Will have to review installing an umbrella or awning in the deck. Regardless, we try to keep a clean cottage and everything in working order.

South Windsor, CT
Member since Dec 2015
Great cottage

We love Eastham and this cottage. The owner was very accommodating and we plan on coming back. The views were spectacular from the house and the bay was just steps away. We come to the Cape every year and love to try new places. This one was quaint and very clean. We loved the Internet, large tv, views, outside shower, AC, and deck. The kitchen was a bit small and made it a little hard to store food for the week but it was manageable. The table was also a bit small for a family of four but we ate outside most of the time and the deck was large.

You just can't beat the location and sunsets. The neighbors were very friendly. The house is in a perfect location in town as well. It's hard to find a house on the Cape with AC. It made it very nice on hot days. We can't wait to vacation here again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
Owner Response:

Our mantra is to constantly improve while maintaining cleanliness and providing function.

Bel Air, MD
Member since Jul 2012
You won't believe it until you see it!

The cottage is adorable and clean, functional..the windows are large, not sure you can appreciate them from the photos, but the views are wonderful..it is all part of its charm and beauty.

The bay beach is steps from your door and is simply gorgeous, and the deck is where you want to be for grilling excellent fresh fish you can get nearby. We loved it and we have rented cottages for many years on the Cape, none as great as this one.

Homeowners are very nice, accommodating people too..use Hendrix stamps in correspondence if you have any :)

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Owner Response:

I try to keep everything up to a very good standard including cleanliness. The litmus test is to satisfy myself.

Ridgefield, CT
Member since Jun 2011
Great place for family vacation

As a small family, we found this to be such a perfect getaway! At first we thought the cottage was very small, but we always had plenty of room. The bathroom is very large, which is a pleasant change from other places we have stayed on the Cape. Closet in the 2 twin bedroom was very useful because of its size - we had a lot of space. I loved sitting at the table and eating breakfast while looking out at the bay. Location is great and we spent most of our time outside. Love just walking down the stairs to the beach. The deck and grill were great, too! We played board games in the loft during a rainstorm and really enjoyed being able to watch Netflix in the evenings. Don, the owner, is very responsive and easy to get in touch with. We really enjoyed our stay and plan to come back and stay here next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Owner Response:

I have strived to constantly improve the cottage and make it as comfortable and affordable as possible.

Member since Mar 2015
excellent rental

This cottage is extremely well kept and has all necessities. The cable TV, WiFi and air conditioning are a plus. The setup of the cottage creates a plentiful space. The inside furniture is in great condition and comfortable. There is plenty of seating on the deck with a beautiful view of the ocean which is steps away. We will definitely return and highly recommend.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Worcester, MA
Member since Jul 2012
I never wanted to leave!!

Absolutely love this cottage! It is the perfect getaway for my family and that is why we return every year. The beach is literally steps away! We really enjoy the bay side because when the water comes in, we can swim right off the steps, and when the tide goes out, we can walk on the beach, dig for clams, collect shells, build castles and fly kites.

The cottage is very well kept, has everything you need! My child really loves the loft area which is just above the living room and can be accessed by a ladder that is permanently on the wall -- how cool! Every night we would watch the sunset from the loft, what an incredible view! Love the deck and the grill. The outside shower is perfect for rinsing sandy feet. Can't wait to go back. This place has my heart.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: March 2014
Owner Response:

We believe vacationers want to be able to have the following in a cottage:
1. Location; 2. Function; 3. Atmosphere; 4. Cleanliness; 5. For a fair price.
We try to constantly improve, where we can, ensuring the cottage is functional, the atmosphere inviting, in a clean setting. Through the years we've embraced this philosophy.

North Attleboro, MA
Member since Mar 2014
Awesome Family Getaway!

This getaway rental was very true to form! As a family with four children, the cottage fit us all comfortably and allowed the kids to have their "space" yet hang with the family. The cottage was very clean at our arrival. Loved access to a washer and dryer! Although it was a "vacation," having internet was a bonus! View was impressive...! Access to the beach was perfect! Sunsets... breath-taking!! It was a perfect getaway for us... to just hang out on the deck and take a break!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: August 2013
Owner Response:

We try to constantly improve and are very sensitive to renters who are possibly having their only vacation.

Quincy, MA
Member since Feb 2013
Unbelievable!

This cozy spot overlooks the most pristine view of the bayside. There is more room in the home than we expected! The deck is perfect for relaxing or entertaining! Love sitting on the deck watching the tide go out, while the children play in the sand, and having a coffee....that is a vacation! We have returned for 3 years and stay for 2 week periods....just can't get enough.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: August 2013
Owner Response:

We try to keep the cottage up to date with our renters in mind all the time.

Worcester, MA
Member since Apr 2007