Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Fabulous Lake Front Family Retreat

Harwich Vacation Rental - ID 12069
5 BR
3 ½ baths
Sleeps 16
Beds: 2 kings, 1 queen, 4 doubles, plus 2 pull out queen sofa beds
Beach: in front yard
Guest Reviews: 12 reviews
Time active: 13 years, 5 months
12 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Lovely Stay at a Lovely Lakefront Home

Our extended family enjoyed a week at this very special property. The grounds are lovely, and it is clear that the homeowner puts great care into the upkeep of the beautiful and bountiful flowering plants. The landscaping is spectacular! We enjoyed the spacious flat grassy yard that extends down to the private beach by the lake- (Long Pond). Our large family found all that was needed in the kitchen to prepare meals to enjoy many meals together. There were so many spacious options to gather with our large group...the living room, dining room, deck, picnic tables. We look forward to a return visit to make more fond memories of summer family time at the lake.

Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Amherst, MA
Member since Aug 2020
Great stay for large group

We rented this home for a family vacation of 12 people: 6 adults and 6 children ages 11, 10, 9, 8, 6 & 5. The house was perfect for us. Loved the beach! The water is shallow by the beach for the smaller ones and the older kids enjoyed swimming out to the raft in deeper water to jump off. We all used the 2 kayaks and a paddle board daily. The fire-pit was a great spot by the beach that we enjoyed on several evenings - the fireworks over the lake were an added bonus! The property has lots of trees and flowers and is very private.

The home is centrally located, close to all of the ocean-side beaches and fun activities for the kids in Harwichport. The house was able to accommodate our large group comfortably.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Sharon, MA
Member since Aug 2020
Wonderful location and great memories

Our family of 14 stayed here for a week and the location is ideal. The children ranging in ages from 15 to 7 spent endless hours in the water which was at our doorstep. The home felt like our home and Susan's attention to guests' needs is remarkable. We would highly recommend this home to anyone. Outside deck and beach area and fire pit with lots of private yard space make it a perfect retreat.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Member since Sep 2017
Awesome place!

We spent Labor Day weekend here and loved it. The house is beautiful. There is everything that you need. The backyard is huge. We played games, sat around the firepit, swam in the lake. Can't wait till next summer to come back. Thanks, Susan!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: September 2017
Avon, CT
Member since Jul 2013
Magical Get Away for the Whole Family

This lovely home is the perfect spot to relax and unwind from the hectic hustle and bustle. Inside and out the property does not disappoint. We couldn't have been happier with everything from the lovely decorating, the plentiful towels, the space to sprawl out but also to gather; we had a week that we will not soon forget. The clear, clean, sandy beach was just what we needed. The kids brought their snorkels and masks. They found 20 golf balls in the lake. It was a dream vacation for us. I sure hope we can make it back one day.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Member since Aug 2015
family fun

This will be our sixth year at this property and we have 11 in our family group, 5 grandkids and 6 adults. The lake front fits all of our needs as all the kids are under 10 years of age. The large grass yard and sandy shallow beach are perfect for young kids, plus a dock with a row boat, kayaks and plenty of beach toys. The fire pit in the evening helps to top off the day. Sleeping accommodations are great along with plenty of bathrooms for all. The kitchen is stocked for any kind of cooking you plan on doing and the propane gas grill is plenty big outside near the deck.

The house has central air and one of the bedrooms was not getting the air, I called the owner on the first day and she had an window air conditioner to us within an hour. What service to eliminate uncomfortable sleeping nightly. Love this place.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Medway, MA
Member since Oct 2010
WOW....who could ask for more!!!!

My family and I have tried to book this property a number of times but it has always been booked throughout the summer season. So we took a chance and were thrilled that it was available in October. The home was exceptionally clean. The layout of the home was open and nicely appointed. We were all very comfortable. My parents, who are older, thoroughly enjoyed the lower level suite that offered some privacy or escape from all the grandchildren. As wonderful as the house was, the property was even nicer. We sat around the fire pit and shared memories under a starlit sky. Who could ask for more....and now we are looking forward to a week this coming summer.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2015
Date Submitted: March 2016
Walpole, MA
Member since Mar 2016
Harwich Cape Cod home

I was one of 9 women who needed a getaway! This group has been away together to the CAPE for the last 3 years! I was not impressed with the cleanliness of this home!! The basement was moldy, damp with lots of spider webs! None of us stayed down there, although if cleaned up, it would be very private and nice! The blue upstairs bathroom tub did not drain well so none of us could use it¬ very clean! Overall the house needs a top to bottom cleaning job!! The location, however, is BEAUTIFUL! The outside could use some TLC!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
Owner Response:

Karen,
I so enjoyed meeting your group of special friends. I, too, am blessed to be part of an amazing group of women, and I know how very much we look forward to and so appreciate our get togethers. So I was particularly saddened to hear that you were disappointed with the cleaning during your weekend visit. When I did the walk through with your group, I must admit, I must have missed the cobwebs you spoke of or they would have been addressed immediately, especially, since the cleaners were still there upon your arrival. I should have checked the humidifiers myself to make sure that they were on, as in the fall, I know that guests often turn them off as the weather can be cooler, and guests find that they are unnecessary.

I do wish you had phoned though to share your concerns so that I could have fixed them for you. I have shared your comments with my cleaners who were equally astonished and disappointed as they and I have only ever had rave reviews for over 15 years of renting the lake house.
I am glad though that you enjoyed the rest of the house and grounds and were kind enough to describe the property as BEAUTIFUL.

I hope you and your friends will give us another chance next fall.

Stratham, NH
Member since Oct 2015
mike & mimi + family

Our family have stayed here the past 4 to 5 years and love the place. It fits the needs for our family of 11, my wife and I, our two married kids, and five grandchildren ranging in age from one 8 year old, two six's and two 3 year olds. The back yard is very large with shade and plenty of room for games and putting up a tent. The sandy beach and dock area make it great for the grandkids to swim, jump off the dock and fish. The paddle boat is fun for the kids along with kayaks and a row boat. Bedrooms fit all of our needs along with plenty of bathrooms. The large family room fits us all for games, reading or tv. Great kitchen and the eating area on the back deck is fun for all as we can enjoy the koi pond as Papa gets the evening lunch or dinner ready. We love the place.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Medway, MA
Member since Oct 2010
Perfect Home for a Family Gathering

We rented this lovely home for a family gathering and couldn't have been happier with the house! The house is absolutely perfect for large groups as it offers a variety of comfortable sitting areas. Evenings were absolutely fantastic sitting out by the lake with the firepit roaring, and watching the stars was amazing! The house was set in the perfect place for us to explore the entire Cape as it is located very close to the Cape Cod highway. We did spend one day using the rowboat and kayaks but in hindsight, I'd wish we'd done more! This home is a must see for any family looking for room but also some space of your own. You may not want to leave! :-)

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: October 2014
Owner Response:

Pat, I am so pleased that you and your family and extended family enjoyed your stay at the Lake House and for taking the time to give such a lovely review. We look forward to having you visit again soon. Susan Speight

Lansdale, PA
Member since Oct 2014
Family vacation

We rented this home for a family vacation of 11 people: grandparents, adult children and their spouses and 5 grandchildren ages 8,5,4,3 and 3. The house was perfect for us. The grandchildren loved the beach and running and jumping off the dock. The water is shallow by the beach so the kids could play in the water, and we could sit and watch them without worrying,. We all played with the rowboat, the 2 kayaks and a paddle board. We ate outside either on the deck or at the picnic table by the water. Every night we built a fire in the fire pit close to the beach and toasted marshmallows. The property has lots of trees and flowers and is very private.

Before bed, the kids were able to select one of the many Disney movies that are in the home.

The home is centrally located and we did do some sightseeing, although the kids always wanted to go back to the house and the beach. We had beautiful weather while visiting Cape Cod.

The house is about 1/2 mile from a great bike/run/walk trail that the runners in our family used every morning. We had a wonderful time and would stay in this home again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Tulsa, OK
Member since Aug 2012

This house is truly fantastic with everything shown here and more. My family and I (including grandchildren ages 7 and 9) have rented several houses on the Cape, and my grandchildren say this is their favorite. We were here in April, 2012, had unusually good weather, and were out in the rowboat every day. We played sports on the lawn, and the kids spent hours building sand castles on the beach. We ate meals down by the water or on the large porch. The house is immaculately clean, beautifully decorated and has every conceivable amenity. We loved the Koi pond, flowering trees and gardens, and a variety of birds. Two Mallards even came up on shore and let us feed them. The owner, Susan, could not be kinder or more accommodating. We hope to come back as often as we can! Karen, Dallas, TX

Date of Stay: April 2012
Date Submitted: April 2012
Dallas, TX
Member since Mar 2011