Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Long Pond Large Family Home - Sleeps 14

Harwich Vacation Rental - ID 29176
6 BR
3 baths
Sleeps 14
Beds: 4 kings, 3 queens
Beach: 2-minute walk to Long Pond Private Beach
Guest Reviews: 12 reviews
Time active: 3 years, 9 months
12 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Fabulous Harwich rental!!!

We had a 2 week stay at this wonderful Harwich rental! We had our large family the first week then couples the second week. This rental was so convenient to everything on the Cape. Tracy was incredibly accommodating to us and very easy to work with. The home was extremely well equipped wide many activities and interests. We would def come back again!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2021
Date Submitted: July 2021
West Des Moines, IA
Member since Jul 2021
Incredible House and Amazing Host

Absolutely incredible property. Has all the amenities you could want. Lots of entertainment available in the home including a ping ping table and a pool table. The host was extremely nice and very easy to communicate with. The check in and check out process was smooth and easy. Great for a summer vacation or a winter retreat to spend time with friends. This will be the first place I look to stay when returning to the Cape.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: December 2020
Date Submitted: January 2021
Owner Response:

Steven - Thanks for your kind words and your 5 star review.
We are so glad you had a great stay, come back anytime you
Need to getaway and relax. Be safe and see you again.

Hingham, MA
Member since Jan 2021
Best Rental Yet!

This is our third time to Cape Cod, and we have rented different houses each year...this is the most accommodating house yet and will be happy to return here our next trip:) We were vacationing with three families...enjoyed a quick trip to beaches in Chatham, Brewster and Orleans (Rivervale and Skaket are two of our faves), the pond was great for kayaking, fishing and splashing around. The home is very centrally located to all activities. It was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The game room kept the kids occupied during our downtime and there was more than enough room to accommodate all twelve of us. Very happy to highly recommend this house.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: September 2019
Cranford, NJ
Member since Jun 2019
Relaxing Getaway

Tracy, the owner, gave great thought and care to each step of this rental process. She handled the contract quickly, reached out before our stay with instructions for check-in and even had fresh flowers on the counter as we entered! The home was equipped with everything you need for the beach, and even games and some toys for the kids when we were hanging out at the house. The kitchen had all the essentials! The rooms are spacious and comfortable beds. The path to the pond led to a very small private beach. This walk was a little challenging for some folks in our party. My son however thought it was an adventure! Plenty of room for us all to spread out and relax. Highly recommend!
Thank you

Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
Owner Response:

Hi Jess

Thank you so much for your kind and generous review - we are so glad you all had a great stay and found the house to be a good fit. I will say that the path to the beach is "temporarily challenging".
We had a tornado come through Harwich three weeks ago and that is why the path is not 100 percent clear. We will have that all cleaned up in short order and your son will have to find an alternative adventure. How about a whale watch? Ha ha ha. Glad you liked the house and I am glad you all found it to be spacious and relaxing. Thanks for the recommendation - please let us know if you wish to return we would love to have you back to make more memories. Enjoy the rest of the Summer and be well.

Tracy Slocumb

Bozrah, CT
Member since Jan 2020
The Perfect Vacation Home for a Large Family

We just returned from a fabulous week minutes away from Long Pond in Harwich MA. Fourteen of us with seven grandchildren found this rental ideal. Tons of space, immaculate and even more beautiful than the pictures.

The early risers would take advantage of the huge play room and TV entertainment center in the finished basement, allowing others to sleep without hearing a peep from all the activity below. All of the bedrooms were large and the beds very comfortable.

The two indoor dining areas handled our crowd with ease. The kitchen had everything you could possibly need. We bought a huge amount of groceries on day one and had room for everything thanks to the second fridge in the garage.

The yard was great for T-ball and corn hole. The outdoor shower was perfect for rinsing off the little ones coming back from the beach.

Long Pond was a perfect area for the grandchildren (all 7 years of age or younger ) to swim. We enjoyed Red River Beach in Harwich which is only an 8 minute drive away and the kids loved the tidal pools at Mayflower beach (on the bay side with a huge flat beach to explore as low tide approaches). They provided us with everything from beach chairs to kayaks.

We rent a big place every year and this was the nicest vacation home we have ever found! If you are lucky enough to rent this property you will not be disappointed.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
Owner Response:

Thanks for your kind words - We work really hard to make sure folks have a great stay and feedback like this is very rewarding. Please let us know if you would like return - 2020 is already filling up.
Take care
Tracy

Worcester, MA
Member since Mar 2019
Ryan Family Vacation

The week (Thanksgiving) we spent at this house was fantastic.... it more than met our expectations. It is spacious, well equipped and beautifully decorated. The furnished basement added lots of fun for adults and kids!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: November 2018
Date Submitted: November 2018
Rensselaer, NY
Member since Nov 2018
Well-Appointed Rental

This home was a great base for our multi-generational vacation. The house is extremely well-appointed - stocked kitchen, lovely furnishings, toys, books, electronics, bikes, beach equipment, etc. Tracy was very helpful and organized leading up to our stay and the photos were completely accurate. The house was immaculate upon arrival and smelled and looked clean (great cleaning crew!). The location was perfect - great access to Long Pond, bike trail and numerous nearby activities. The bedrooms were spacious and living space was ideal for a large group. We were very pleased overall.

The only challenges we faced were: Linens - these are included in the rental fee, however all need to be washed/dried, folded and returned to storage before 10am departure time making for a scramble on your departure day. If we returned, we would likely use an outside linen rental company (that doesn't require you to launder everything upon return) or bring our own sheets from home. Bathrooms - the main level features 1 full bath and 1 half bath (for 2 bedrooms) and the second level features 1 full bath (for 4 bedrooms). Given the size of the house, layout and makeup of our party, it would have been preferable to have one additional full bath.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Owner Response:

Hi Jessica,

Thanks very much for your feedback on your stay - we are thrilled you had a great stay!
Five stars - Wow, feeling good my friend!!!

We offer our linens as a benefit for folks flying in and have recognized the check out day is a busy one when you
are trying to launder sheets and towels. We just purchased a large capacity high efficiency commercial washer and dryer this week - it is our hope that the cycle time is quick and the capacity allows for a single load of wash and drying the day of check out. Certainly - bringing your own linens/renting them is always a perfect option as well. If you decided to return, know the appliances are now upgraded to mega size!

On the bathroom option - We would hope that folks would also use the spacious and private outdoor shower so that makes 3 showers for the house but... we are looking into installing a 4th shower into the downstairs bath off the dining room since there is plenty of space to add a walk in shower.

Thanks so much for your feedback - We really appreciate hearing you had a wonderful time and loved the house and we also appreciate suggestions for improvement. We are listening and we are looking to make our home some place you want to come back to again and again.

Kind regards,
Tracy

Mount Kisco, NY
Member since Mar 2017
Fabulous House

We are a large extended family with ages ranging from 1 to 81. The space in this house worked beautifully for us. All 6 bedrooms are large and allowed for personal space. We especially liked the bedroom over the garage which was ENORMOUS! Large game/TV room in basement also allowed for separate adult and kid space. Well stocked with everything and very high quality furnishings. Knowing all the great beach and outdoor equipment available to us in the garage will save us carting extra stuff next year when we return! Outdoor yard areas were lovely and we enjoyed sitting by the fire pit most evenings. Great central location to Harwich, Chatham, Brewster and close to Rte 6. Also enjoyed having the pond close by to kayak. This was a great find for us this year and we will most definitely be back!! Tracy was great to have as a contact- well organized and very responsive.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Owner Response:

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your kind words we are so glad your family enjoyed your stay and we are excited to host you all again next Summer!

Thank you for your suggestions for improvement, I am working on installing a second fridge in the garage this weekend and have already switched the trash pick up to twice a week. Great minds think alike! Ha ha ha.

Let me know if you think you might like to come back before next Summer - Maybe a long weekend would be nice? ;)

Member since Feb 2018
WONDERFUL family vacation

Our group of 14 ranged from 70+ to 18 months and we all had a super time. The house is beautifully furnished, the play areas in and out were fully equipped and user friendly. Super clean. Tracy is a very professional and thoughtful homeowner. Loved it. Can't wait to go back.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Milton, MA
Member since May 2016
Our vacation week

Hi Tracy,
Our stay was fantastic! Your house is amazing and super kid friendly. They loved the game room and we all enjoyed the spacious living and amenities for our group. One thing I would suggest is to put in the guest book that the beaches have very limited parking. I know you have a ton of great suggestions/information there, and we left for the beach probably far too late (getting all the littles beach ready !!) but had a great deal of trouble getting parking. Some would only let you park if you had a pass. But aside from that, everything was great.

We caught a real good week, enjoyed the beaches when we got on them..lol. Mayflower Beach was unanimously the fave. We went to the museum on the one rainy day we had, and took the suggestion for the kids fishing trip. They really loved that!
We also took a day at the lake and brought the kayak. It was fun and easy!
Thanks so much for everything!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Owner Response:

Hi Shanley,

Thank you for your review and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay.

We will definitely add more detail to our guest book on beach information. Thank you for that suggestion.

From what I see on the Harwich site, people can purchase a daily beach pass at a number of beaches: Beach stickers can be purchased from early June through Labor Day at the Harwich Community Center(7 days a week through mid July), the Town Treasurer's Office (Monday through Friday all summer), or at the Chamber of Commerce. Beach stickers are required at all town of Harwich Beaches with available parking lots/spaces. If you do not have a beach sticker, you can also purchase a daily pass from a gate attendant at Pleasant Road Beach, Red River Beach, Earle Road Beach, and Long Pond (Fernandez Bog).

Enjoy the remainder of your Summer and please let us know if you wish to return to Harwich - it just keeps getting better!

Kind regards,
Tracy

Harrisville, RI
Member since Mar 2018
Gorgeous Home - Great for Extended Families

We stayed in this beautiful home with our extended family for a week, and we all had a fabulous time. The house is sparkling clean, and every room appears to be brand new with modern updates and beautiful furnishings. The layout of the open rooms allowed for everyone to have plenty of space to spread out.

The kitchen is loaded with with everything we needed for cooking, and we enjoyed to 2 dining tables that provided plenty of space for eating meals together.

The kids all enjoyed the downstairs game room where they spent much of their time playing pool, air hockey, and enjoying cousin time together.

We also loved making fires in the outdoor firepit in the evening. The yard is great for hanging out together around the fire, eating s'mores and enjoying a cocktail.

We all loved the location. The short walk to the beach on Long Pond enabled us to sit and relax by the lake, and also get out and paddle around on the provided kayaks. We also enjoyed the ocean beaches in Harwich which were a short drive away.
We hope to come back again and stay at this beautiful home. It was the perfect spot for our group of 12.

Accuracy of listing:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Shirley, MA
Member since Aug 2011

Each year the Wallace Family takes a holiday down at the Cape and we typically rent two medium sized houses in the lower cape. This year we found this giant house in Harwich and we were excited to all be under one roof. There are 14 of us and we are multi generational - 83 to 8 months old. We absolutely love love love this place.
There is plenty of parking, the yard is beautiful, the quiet road is great for kids to ride bikes, the short walk to the amazing Long Pond is so convenient and a free beach day is always welcome we loved swimming out to the dock, the kayaks are awesome, never mind the house. Holy Moly! The house is huge and so so so beautiful. The kitchen has more than my kitchen at home, it was totally equipped and I wanted for nothing even the dishes are beautiful. The big Weber grille on the back deck is killer. The beds are all so comfortable and the bedding is not rental grade, all good quality luxurious bedding. Never mind this price, I shopped around and this is the very best value on Cape Cod for the quality, location and capacity on this house. I will say that I also liked interacting with the homeowner. The homeowner is very responsive, quick and clear communicator and welcomes inquiries to make sure we had the best week possible. She even texted me after check in to make sure everything was meeting my expectations. We all loved the vacation and we all committed to returning every single year to form our NEW Wallace Family Tradition and for that I am forever grateful. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Maureen W
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)