Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Surrounded by Water, Private Beach

Harwich Vacation Rental - ID 29556
4 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 7
Beds: 1 king, 1 queen, 1 double, 1 twin, 1 sofabed
Beach: Private pond beach as well as association beaches
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 2 years, 9 months
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Perfect work away from home location

We rented this house for 3 weeks in October. I needed a place where I could get away for a few weeks from the monotony of working from home during this pandemic.

Many Pros for this location and house (no cons)
The house was centrally located. It was an easy 1/2 drive east toward Hyannis and < hour drive to Provincetown. We explored many of the beaches along the way searching for seals and sharks ;).

The views from inside and outside of the home were amazing. It sits between two ponds so you get the benefit of beautiful sunrises over Bucks Pond and sunsets over Joseph's Pond.

We appreciated that there were two kayaks to use. It was nice to take a break from a busy day at work and get out on the peaceful serene pond.

Since we rented during the pandemic, we didn't eat out at restaurants. We did take out a couple of times. Chatham fish pier is a short drive away. The seafood market there is great and the clam rolls were delicious, Marion's Pies in Chatham was well worth the drive - seafood pie... yum. We cooked all of our other meals at the house which had a really well equipped kitchen with new appliances, sharp knives and all the gadgets, pots and pans you might need.

The high speed internet access was key for us since I was working during our stay. The internet access was fast and reliable. The one time we lost it and power over was over a weekend and the owner was very responsive to help us get it back on.

October is a beautiful time in New England especially on the Cape. The weather is mild, the crowds are gone and the changing foliage is beautiful. The leaves falling from the trees cleared way for even more spectacular views over the ponds each day.

This house would make a wonderful get away for anyone. We created a small family bubble of 3 during our time on the Cape, but the house could accommodate many more. This home was the perfect place for us to get away from the city and enjoy beautiful views and all that the shoulder season on the Cape has to offer.

The only con is that reality set in and we had to leave.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2020
Date Submitted: October 2020
Owner Response:

Joan, we are happy to hear that you had such a good time at this magic place and welcome you and your family back any time.
Best wishes
Hans & Patricia

Member since Nov 2015
Central Location in Lower Cape

Beautiful central location to the Lower Cape! 4 bedroom home. We loved the lake views all around and enjoyed watching and hearing all the different birds. My most exciting viewing was the Eagle hunting for fish on the lake! So happy to watch it flying around! We enjoyed the quiet on the lake, had fun kayaking and swimming. My husband hasn't been this relaxed in quite a long time! All amenities were available in the kitchen. My husband missed his k-cup, though. We made do by buying Dunkin Donut's coffee for the week. Definitely recommend this home and hope to return soon!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2020
Date Submitted: October 2020
Owner Response:

Hello Vicky and family,
We're delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time at the lake house. We are also glad that we could accommodate your needs to change your plans due to Covid 19. In times like this we have to help each other....
Greetings,
Hans & Patricia

Mount Holly Springs, PA
Member since Jun 2019
Wonderful Family Vacation

We have been vacationing at Lakeside Terrace since 2012. It has been our pleasure to return every year. Because of the pandemic, this year was a different experience. Our family, including 2 babies, especially enjoyed that the home was located directly on Bucks Pond with its own beach. It worked perfectly for us. Yes, we missed some of the regular activities that the Cape has to offer, but this home more than compensated for that. We did not need to leave it to have a wonderful experience. We spent the days on the beach swimming and playing in the sand and using our kayaks and paddle boards on Bucks and John Joseph Ponds. We ate all of our meals on the upper deck or on the lower terrace overlooking Bucks Pond. We had our groceries delivered and bought scallops and fish from local fishermen. The house is well maintained and everything worked. Three of us used the fast Wi-Fi for work during the week. Its location between 2 crystal-clear ponds is very special. We all agreed that we will try to duplicate our experience next summer when we hope things are once again back to "normal." Lakeside Terrace holds a very special place in our hearts!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Medfield, MA
Member since Jan 2011
Beautiful and Peaceful Home

This home was perfect for me, my spouse, and our two preschool-aged children. They spent hours every day playing on the little sandy beach and splashing in the clean, calm water, while we adults were able to read, enjoy our coffee, watch from the deck, etc...This place is truly a home, so it has all the things you need to feel at home yourself: kitchen items and appliances, a great grill, W/D, books, band-aids, bug spray, and more! It's a 10 minute drive to everywhere and even on a busy Saturday night in July, the pond was calm and quiet. We loved it and can't wait to come back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
Owner Response:

Hello Paige,

we are delighted that you and your family had such a wonderful time. You are welcome to return any time.
Hans & Patricia

Member since Dec 2018
Great Place, beautiful lake, nice and comfortable home

We enjoyed our stay and we hope to come back next summer.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
New York, NY
Member since Sep 2018
Outstanding home on the water

We have stayed at this property for two years and hope to stay for many more. The setting is stunning - it is surrounded by water on three sides and is located at the end of a dead end street. The house itself is up to date and has all the comforts of home - washer, dryer, dishwasher and this year the newspaper was delivered which was an huge bonus! I cannot say enough how great this property is. Thanks for everything, Hans and Patricia!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Owner Response:

Dear Christine and Ben,
We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time at the Lake house. We appreciate very much having you and your family as guests, and you are welcome to return next year.

Best wishes,
Hans & Patricia

Canton, MA
Member since Apr 2013

Peaceful oasis surrounded by refreshing fresh water
32 Lakeside Terrace, Harwich, MA, 02645, United States
Date of Stay
Jul 29, 2016
Helpful votes: 1/0
Very well kept, clean and modernized vacation rental on 2 fresh water ponds. We had a great time in this central Cape location. Loved going out on the water in kayaks that were here as well as my own kayak. Ponds have largemouth bass that are of good size as well if you like fresh water fishing. The deck and patio areas were our favorite places to relax and the kids appreciated access to Netflix and wifi! This is a great location for kids and adults.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: January 2018
Christopher S
(Homeowner Entered)

Amazing Week!
32 Lakeside Terrace, Harwich, MA, 02645, United States
Date of Stay
Aug 22, 2014
Helpful votes: 5/0
What an amazing vacation! The house is perfectly situated on Bucks Pond at the end of a dead end street. The private beach is so relaxing. We enjoyed swimming, snorkeling--even pulling the beach chairs down to the private beach to read with our feet in the warm water. We kayaked daily, whether it be just around the pond, or to one of the association beaches for more swimming. Our daughters now believe that a pond/lake is better than the ocean! The wildlife was wonderful as well. My 11-year-old future ornithologist was thrilled to see a cormorant, an osprey, Canada geese, catbirds, and many other songbirds during the course of the week. We did day trips on the Cape Cod Rail Trial, to Coast Guard Beach, and to Wellfleet and Orleans. The deck was wonderful for our nightly grilling and relaxing--and NO MOSQUITOS! The house was so sunny and bright, had a large table, large living room, huge master bedroom and a well-appointed kitchen. We definitely plan to return!

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: January 2018
Karen W
(Homeowner Entered)

Sue
32 Lakeside Terrace, Harwich, MA, 02645, United States
Date of Stay
Aug 17, 2012
Helpful votes: 3/0
My family enjoyed an extraordinary week at this beautiful lakeside home!!! The house is conveniently located in the center of the cape making day trips a breeze. In addition to enjoying the house amenities (grilling nightly on the deck while enjoying gorgeous sunsets, snorkeling and kayaking on the fabulous pond, biking on the quiet, kid friendly street) we enjoyed biking on the rail trail, experiencing a great whale watching excursion, swimming at the National Seashore and much, much more! This vacation ranked as "best vacation ever" by my 11 year old son!! We look forward to returning... this house is spotless, comfortable and set on a quiet, private dead end street!

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: January 2018
Susan W
(Homeowner Entered)

Our 3 week vacation
32 Lakeside Terrace, Harwich, MA, 02645, United States
Date of Stay
Jul 6, 2012
Helpful votes: 2/0
Our family enjoyed our second visit to your home. It is ideally located on Buck's Pond. It was great to have our kayaks on your private beach and take our daily ride on the pond. The pond is clean and delightfully warm. Your home is wonderfully located for easy visits to the many trails, beaches and restaurants in Harwich and the surrounding towns. Looking out the front window, we watched many beautiful sunsets over John Joseph Pond. Also the deck and gas grille allowed us to have many wonderful grilled fish dinners on your deck. The house is clean and well maintained and all the appliances worked well. Thank you for letting us enjoy your home. It was a wonderful, relaxing vacation. Once again, your home offered us a quiet and memorable experience.

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: January 2018
Sandy A
(Homeowner Entered)

Great for young children
32 Lakeside Terrace, Harwich, MA, 02645, United States
Date of Stay
August 9, 2011
Helpful votes: 5/0
What a wonderful location! Loved being able to walk out the back door onto our own private sandy beach. Kayaks, sailboat and rowboat provided. My husband caught large mouth bass and even my 4 year old granddaughter caught her first fish! If you are looking for privacy and convenience....this is the home for you! All the comforts of home!
Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Families with Teenagers.

My Response
We're very happy that our guests enjoyed their stay enough to write a review. We're trying to continue improving our property for the enjoyment of our guests and ourselves.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: January 2018
Ruthie S
(Homeowner Entered)