Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Charming South Harwich Cape With Ocean View & Walk 2 Beach

So. Harwich/So. Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 5382
4 BR
2 ½ baths
Sleeps 10
Beds: 3 queens, 2 twins, Pull-out couch Queen sleeps 2
Beach: 2/10 mile to Red River Beach
Guest Reviews: 26 reviews
Time active: 16 years, 11 months
26 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
30th Anniversary Family Vacation

What a beautiful location to celebrate our 30th Anniversary with our growing family. Perfect destination for quiet and relaxation in the spacious Cape home with close proximity to Red River Beach - walk to have fun in the sun. The deck was our favorite spot to end our days laughing, eating, drinking, and chilling. Plenty of room for eight of us ~ all adults. Looking forward to making more wonderful memories with future grandchildren.

Note: We noticed COVID is taken seriously by most on the Cape and comply with clean home, wearing masks, social distancing, and hand hygiene which increased our comfort level to be on vacation during this time.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Owner Response:

Sharon & Mike V were ideal house guests who treated our home well and had a wonderful time at the beach, in Harwichport and the nearby Cape towns. The entire family, and any future grandchildren, are welcome to stay at any time. Dennis

Queensbury, NY
Member since Sep 2019
Ideal Family Beach Vacation Rental

We've been renting in the Harwich, Red River Beach area for over 20 years and finally found our ideal family ocean beach vacation rental. Conveniently located south of Rt 28 in Harwich, close to the "elbow" of the Cape with quick access to most Cape locations. Better yet, only a 5 minute walk to the Red River sandy beach.

The Cape Cod house is very comfortable and well equipped for a summer vacation. The large outside deck is convenient for enjoying meals as well as sitting by the moonlight and twinkle lights while the youngsters watch the large screen TV .

Dennis is a wonderful host and communicator, answering our questions within a day if not within hours and has made the rental process very easy. We look forward to returning next summer.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Owner Response:

Dick was the ideal person to rent to because he took care of our home as if it were his own. He has remotely owned rental property in the past, and knows that small problems can crop up. He called me from time to time and identified small problems I should look into and then helped me implement the solution. My only hope is that he and his family continue renting from us for the next 20 years!

Acton, MA
Member since Dec 2017
Perfect escape

We just returned from two weeks in Harwich at this property. It was exactly what the family needed. The house was spotless and well-equipped. Dennis was a perfect host, providing all kinds of inside information and recommendations. The convenience of walking to the beach was fantastic, it let us head there early and our older kids could join us when they woke up.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
Owner Response:

Scott and his family were the perfect guests. They treated the property well and the cleaning crew remarked that they left the house in a very clean state. This family is welcomed back to our home any time. Dennis

Member since May 2020
Fantastic property, incredible vacation!

First time staying in Harwich. We loved it! Our requirements were - less than 1/2 mile to beach, pet friendly, outdoor shower and a/c. This property was a short walk to the beach, 1 minute by car, 3 minutes by bike - check. Pet friendly, Dennis, the owner, loved his dog and knows family vacation includes your four legged friends - check. Outdoor shower - beautiful and new. This helps keep the sand out of the house and this shower has rainfall showerheads and back massage heads - check. Air conditioning - house has central a/c two zones. Keeps the house dry - anyone who has vacationed on the Cape knows what a sticky house is like - check.

On top of these amenities - we ate dinner every night on the beautiful deck with ambiance lighting, had mad board games at the kitchen table, all linens included. I wasn't sure and brought our own beach towels. Unnecessary- Dennis has a stack of beach and bath towels and backup bed linens - truly leave them at home!

Dennis was very responsive and helpful, the house was immaculate upon arrival. Plenty of room to spread out. The kids played pool in the basement. The washer and dryer are large capacity. WIFI was strong (no kids complaining)!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: June 2020
Owner Response:

Mary T and her party were wonderful people and excellent guests. Very glad they enjoyed the house and had a fantastic vacation. Dennis

Member since Mar 2018
Beautiful Home Away From Home

This house is perfect! It's on a little quiet street full of the friendliest neighbors. The beautiful Red River Beach is literally a few minutes walk and a beautiful walk at that. The house has everything you need, all modern conveniences, washer / dryer, comfortable bedding and a pool table. The real magic is the deck. It sits on the back and side of the house and is a beautiful sun trap with an amazing ocean view. We ate all of our meals there and could really soak in the amazing woods and nature that surrounded us.
Dennis could not have been nicer or more accommodating. He was always just a call or text away and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. I can't wait to return.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
Owner Response:

Johnny and his family were perfect renters. Living at the house for two months, they got to know all our neighbors and they all became fast friends. Johnny and his beautiful family are welcome back to our home anytime in the future. Dennis

Member since May 2020
A slice of heaven on the Cape

I hope my words can do this spot justice! First, whatever you think of the pics posted, they do not do the house justice! This house sits on a quiet street nestled in the woods but not too far from the necessities of life! In my opinion, the highlight of this house is the ample sized deck off the three season room. Along with the outside furniture is a picnic table where we ate our at home meals. A great place to relax and absorb nature!

This house is meticulously cared for and easy to fall in love with. It's obvious the owner puts much TLC into this property!

We would stay here again!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: June 2018
Member since Jun 2017
If you want to feel completely at home, this is the place!

We're a family that includes Cape Codders as well as those scattered to the far reaches of the globe. Every year we gather at Dennis' beautiful house to relax, reconnect, and enjoy each other's company. "Our" house is so comfortable with every amenity, and is in pristine condition. I love that the kitchen has everything I could possibly need--quality pots and pans, great appliances, and everything is close at hand and works! No need to overpack-there's a washer/dryer, plenty of sheets/towels--it really is like coming home. We sleep like logs in the lovely beds.

The landlord continually improves the home, and there are upgrades at every visit. This year we were treated to a brand new virtually silent, space age dishwasher and a 55 inch flat screen television.

If you are looking for a cozy yet spacious, comfortable, welcoming Cape Cod home that's made for reunions of family or friends, this is it. We'll be back next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: November 2017
Date Submitted: November 2017
Member since Oct 2014
A Great Experience

This charming Cape Cod home is centrally located in a quiet neighborhood. Its proximity to the beach is a pleasant walk, or short drive. The beach is beautiful, the waters warm, and is perfect for young and old, with easy access to restrooms and a snack truck. First and foremost, this is a wonderful value, yet beautifully appointed property! Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and we're looking forward to returning as an annual family reunion location. Dennis is an incredible resource for the local activities and businesses, with excellent recommendations for your family's stay. Dennis was beyond helpful, cheerfully responding to any inquiries that we may have had, before, during, and after our stay. We could not have been happier with this experience!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Saint James, NY
Member since Jul 2017
Still the best place to relax!

Always nice to update a previous review! This remains our favorite place to relax at the Cape. The house continues to be updated by the owner and is a place we feel "at home" within minutes of arrival. The location is central and convenient to many locations on the Cape. The neighborhood is quiet and only a few minutes stroll to the Red River Beach where we take our dog every day we're there.

The kitchen is the perfect place to cook for just a couple people, or a small crowd. The owner is tremendous to work with and although we've never met in person, we are treated like family. I look forward to coming here each year, and count the days until I return! ( I wish I could give more stars than the ones provided, but you'll just have to take my word for it until YOU visit.)

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: January 2017
Dillsburg, PA
Member since Aug 2013
Outstanding!!!

I wrote a thank you to Dennis for allowing us the opportunity to rent his home … thought I'd share in my review as this sums up our vacation in this home … “My family had a great time in your beautiful home with an awesome location and lots of space for us!”

This home is on a quiet side street. Red River Beach is a short stroll and the beach provides a convenient hot dog truck for lunch, daily visits from the ice cream man (which was a highlight for our grandson) and clean restrooms. It’s a great area for walking and/or running. Having the beach pass made it real easy to bring all the chairs, umbrellas, coolers, etc for a full day of fun.

We thoroughly enjoyed the very large deck with picnic table and it’s great ambience in the evening with twinkling lights for relaxing. The home provides all the conveniences of home plus more.

I would be remiss if I did not mention the fact that Dennis was a pleasure to rent from. He has thought of everything for this home. Dennis made the process easy and was quick to respond to emails.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Marlborough, MA
Member since Apr 2016
Brentwood Road

This house is a hidden gem! The location is ideal. The house is cared for and just so clean. We did not want for anything. The owner is extremely responsive and just so welcoming. We have already booked the house for next year. There is just so much attention to detail. The deck was our absolute favorite!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Stamford, CT
Member since Jun 2012
Brentwood Home

This home is lovely. It is clean, well furnished, well stocked with bedding, towels, kitchen and dining needs, and nature just out the door. A short walk brings you to a beautiful beach. Dennis was very easy to work with and was very accommodating with my rental needs. I would recommend Dennis and his home to anyone looking for a comfortable, quiet neighborhood near the beach.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Brewster, MA
Member since Sep 2016
Harwich vacation rental

Great place to stay that is a short walk to the beach. The owner provides a beach parking pass as well as towels and bed linens.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Milford, CT
Member since Jun 2011
Easy Booking; Great Home

Great house that is within walking distance to the beach, but still offers a private vacation retreat. The big L-shaped deck was perfect for hosting dinner, drinks, and general relaxation.

Linens & beach towels/chairs were provided which made life easier. Overall it was a no hassle house.

Great location, great experience, we would definitely return.

-Alexandra B, NYC

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: March 2015
Date Submitted: April 2015
Bethesda, MD
Member since Apr 2015
9 years!

Our family of 5 has rented this house for a week (or more) each summer for 9 years. We love the location between Harwich and Chatham. It is walking distance to a wonderful beach. The house is well maintained and provides a nice home base to our Cape Cod activities. We also appreciate the ease of communication with the owner.

Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: October 2014
Mount Kisco, NY
Member since Dec 2006
Close to beach, a great house and great host

We stayed at this cottage for the first time this summer. It’s a short walk to Red River Beach. Dennis is a very good host. Easy to get a hold of, very responsive.

The cottage is great. It’s clean, well kept, big rooms, great deck, great sun room.
Nice basement with small pool table. The best outside shower I've seen and ..... Everything works!

One thing to consider is there is not a lot of outdoor area for young kids to play in. There’s a small front yard and a big back yard, but it's down a hill and woodsie. However the street is quiet and the beach is close

I would recommend this cottage to friends and hope we can stay there again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Oxford, CT
Member since Aug 2014
Great Escape

From the initial conversation with Dennis until our time ran out, this experience in the Cape Cod Home with Ocean View was easy, leisure-filled and the way a vacation should be! The space was serene and self contained, but accessible to many Cape treasures that supplement the offering. Tons of nature, beauty, light, sounds. Personal favorites - waking up to the sun and sounds of nature and spending seven days with the option to shower outdoors. Cooked, worked from the awesome deck, again with the sun, sounds and ocean view, met the neighbors, and all in - had an amazing time. Thank you Dennis and team for sharing your property and being a great host!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: June 2014
New York, NY
Member since Jun 2014
GREAT LOCATION

THIS IS THE PERFECT HOUSE IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR SPACE AND LOCATION. YOU CAN WALK TO THE BEACH OR DRIVE TO TOWN. THE DECK IS GREAT TO EAT DINNER OR JUST RELAX AND ENJOY THE PEACE AND QUIET. THE OWNER WAS GREAT TO WORK WITH - ALWAYS GOT BACK TO ME. WE WILL BE BACK FOR SURE. LOVE THE HOUSE.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: June 2013
Plainfield, CT
Member since Sep 2007
Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!

We rented this place for a spring getaway and were not disappointed! The house is beautiful, close to the beach, and in a lovely area of the Cape! The town was beautiful. The house was fully equipped with everything one would need! The owner was extremely friendly, quick to respond to emails, and full of information about the surrounding areas. I would highly recommend anyone from a couple of friends to a family with children to stay here!

Date of Stay: May 2013
Date Submitted: May 2013
Mansfield, MA
Member since May 2013
Weekend getaway

We returned to this location to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. The beach is close by for morning walks and just minutes from our favorite restaurants and shops. We look forward to future visits. The owner is a pleasure to work with.

Accuracy of listing:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2013
Date Submitted: May 2013
Wolcott, CT
Member since Mar 2012
The best place to relax

We have stayed at the house each Fall for years and each year it just gets better. There is plenty of room to spread out, the beach is just a few minutes walk away, and you are close to a lot of fun things to do. The house is comfortable and well-maintained and there's a nice yard for the dogs to play. The owner and his family have been great to deal with over the years.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2012
Date Submitted: August 2013
Dillsburg, PA
Member since Aug 2013
A wonderful family vacation spot!

My family had a wonderful week at this property. The beach is very close to the house, making it super easy to go back and forth during the day with the little ones. And I think that Red River Beach is one of the nicer beaches on the ocean side. Even when the parking lot is full, the beach doesn't feel full. The house has a nice layout...and the back deck is the real gem!! You can even see the ocean from the deck! The owner is very nice and easy to deal with and made our family vacation wonderful! I highly recommend this property...and aside from the location of the beach, the house is so centrally located to many fun things to do around the area.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Somerville, MA
Member since Jul 2010
Excellent Location!

We spent a fantastic 5 days on the Cape at this property. It is located within walking distance to a great beach and within a short driving distance to local towns. The property was spacious and had everything we needed. As vacationers from Ireland, the main reason I chose this property was the fantastic advice and help which I received from the owner - everything was made easy for us from booking the house, to advice on local attractions and where to eat! At any stage before and during our stay, all our questions were answered quickly and with accurate and valuable advice. A big thank you!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Member since Jul 2012

Our family had a wonderful stay at this location. We chose this property after our initial communication with the owner. He made the rental process easy and always addressed questions and concerns promptly and in a professional manner.
It was a quiet neighborhood location with a short walk to the beach that overlooked the Cape's natural beauty. We got a true feel for what living on the Cape is.
The house is quaint and still has some older features with new updates being added.
After many trips to the Cape this property was perfect for us. It was a positive experience from the beginning to end which gave us a most enjoyable vacation. We hope to return as often as possible.

Date of Stay: May 2012
Date Submitted: June 2012
Wolcott, CT
Member since Mar 2012

We had a fantastic two weeks at this house in July. It is close to Red River beach which is great for the children, warm water, gentle waves, big sandy beach. The house is very spacious, rural, quiet setting had everything we needed. The owner left a list of suggestions for things to do and places to eat which was really useful and included great cafes and restaurants nearby. It is really close to Harwichport and Chatham which both have loads going on. Would definitely recommend and would definitely go back.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
uk
Member since Jan 2011

If you are looking for a quiet family vacation within easy walking distance to the beach, this is the place. The central Cape Cod location is 3 blocks from Red River Beach and approximately equidistant from Harwich Port and South Chatham. We chose this general location because it enabled day trips of roughly equal duration to both ends of the Cape (30 minutes to Hyannis Port and 45 minutes to Provincetown). Also, we used the nearby Ferry at Harwich Port for a day trip to Nantucket.

When not out and about, our party of 5 spent most of the time on either the glassed-in porch or the outside deck. The kitchen and dining area enabled us to reduce restaurant bills. Three upstairs bedrooms gave everyone plenty of privacy. And the basement washer/dryer meant we didn't have to pack as much. Basically, time at this property is pretty much like being at home.

Highly recommended for families seeking a quiet mid-summer vacation at the beach with occasional forays into the hustle and bustle of P-town and other Cape Cod hot spots.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Rockville, MD
Member since Oct 2010