Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

West Harwich Vacation with Friends & Family close to beaches

West Harwich Vacation Rental - ID 7240
6 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 14
Beds: 1 king, 2 queens, 6 twins, pack-n-play, 2 toddler bed(s),
Beach: 7/10 mile to Belmont Road Beach
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 8 years, 2 months
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Perfect Cape Cod Getaway!!

Steve and Maura's home is the perfect place for a Cape Cod vacation! Their home is located close to the best beaches, restaurants and shops all within walking distance. You could also tell that Steve and Maura took extra care this year with deep cleaning as well as providing all of the products needed for cleaning during your stay which was an added bonus as those items may have been difficult to find otherwise. In addition to the cleaning products the kitchen is fully stocked with anything you could need for entertaining or relaxing as well as all sheets and blankets provided which makes planning and packing simple. The outdoor space is fantastic and provides enough room for eating or sitting in the Adirondack chairs with a glass of wine at the end of the day . In the front room is a large table for eating or games if you should have a night where the weather does not cooperate.

I can't recommend Steve and Maura's home enough if you are planning a cape cod vacation and we are looking forward to next year!

Suzanne and Derek

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Owner Response:

Hi Suzanne & Derek,
Thank you so much for the great review. You guys left the house so clean Maura was thrilled (and she isn't often thrilled when walking into the house after guests leave)! And thank you for noticing on the added cleaning supplies; that was again due to Maura's forethought. As mentioned we would love to host you guys in the future so just let us know whenever you want to come back. Enjoy the rest of the summer & year.
All the best - Steve & Maura

Member since Jul 2019
Loved this house!

Had a great time here! This house has many rooms to accommodate the big crew we had. We loved how the house had all the necessary updates but still had Cape house character. Having the two kitchen areas was key when we were cooking and cleaning up after big family meals. Our favorite place was the porch. We hung out there every morning sipping coffee and evening playing games, reading, or indulging in hobbies. Didn't matter if it rained, we loved the porch. Everyone agreed that the beds (and the sheets) were amazingly comfortable. Location is very central so easy to get everywhere. And the owners were so nice and easygoing. Highly recommend!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: January 2021
Owner Response:

Hi Allison, thank you so much for the thoughtful and detailed review. We loved having your group and hope to see you again this summer!
Be well,
Steve and Maura

Member since May 2020
Lovely, spacious home

My family and I stayed here for 6 days and we loved every second of our vacation! Due to COVID-19 we did not do much sightseeing, and we only left the house to go to the beach. Despite this fact my entire family had a blast and we are eager to come back next year. My two nieces are already asking to return! The house is clean, very well stocked, and quite large. Steve and Maura were very communicative and helpful, especially considering the fact that we reached out for a last-minute rental. I would highly recommend them and their home to any future guests.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
Owner Response:

Sitara and her family would be welcome any time. She is extremely thoughtful and was helpful in reaching out proactively and considerately in all interactions. We hope you and your family enjoy the rest of your summer!

Member since Jun 2020

We were 3 families with young children to spend the week-end at Steve's house. We felt like at home. The house has lots of charm, it is very well maintained and comfortable. All bedrooms have light shutters (that was precious to avoid having the children waking up too early...) The house has toys for children, precious too! We had the chance to meet Maura, that was lovely too...!

Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: June 2020
Paris, France
Member since Jun 2020
West Harwich Vacation House is a Gem on the Cape!!!

Hi Steve & Maura,

We had a blast with our family and friends last summer at your home in West Harwich. We like to gather with a bunch of college friends once or twice a year and your home provided the perfect venue for our gathering. We had 6 couples and there was plenty of room to relax and chill inside and out. The proximity to everything the Cape has to offer is ideal for our group.

We walked to Dennisport a couple of nights so no one had to worry about drinking and driving, actually the 10 minute walk sobered some of our frisky friends up a bit on the way home! Having 5+ restaurants/bars in walking distance (most within a half mile) is ideal, not just for the boozers, but for all of us who wanted to walk off a bit of dinner.

And the nights we stayed in were great. The kitchen provides all the tools necessary for a great feast along with the grill right outside the door. It made it simple to prepare a gourmet meal (including my world famous succotash!).

Being situated on the mid Cape was nice too as we could go easily to Nantucket with the ferry right in Harwich for a day trip (the bike path there is fantastic) or to head down to Wellfleet or Provincetown for some fun people watching or beaching at the National Seashore.

We appreciated your recommendations on things to do. Our walks to conservation land about a mile away provided us with awesome vistas in several directions with the bike path in the same vicinity made getting a nice bike ride another option for those seeking exercise.

When we first looked at the house on your website, we wondered if we would have enough space, but once entering the house, realized it's much bigger than it appears on the site.

Finally, thank you so much for your recommendation of using www.weneedavacation.com instead of Homeaway/VRBO. We used the savings to have an awesome meal out with the savings of the 'user fee' that they charge!!

We will look forward to coming back this year and many more as we loved the ability that your charming home had to make some memories with old and new friends.

Sincerely Jim J.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2019
Date Submitted: March 2020
Owner Response:

Hi Jim,
I really appreciate you taking the time to put together such a thoughtful review. You thought of some things I don't think I would have remembered! As you know, your band of college friends are always welcome at our home. We look forward to hosting your crew again this year in September. Sincerely, Steve & Maura PS - If you share, I want to get your world famous recipe for succotash, it sounds delicious!

Wethersfield, CT
Member since Jan 2020
Great place for a family vacation

We had an excellent vacation at this Cape house! It's just a short walk to the beach (7/10ths of a mile) and to the center of Dennisport, where there are lots of great restaurants and shops. I love the interior of the house -- the Cape Cod decor sends relaxing ocean vibes for the perfect beach retreat. The kitchen has all the amenities you can think of! There is plenty of space for a couple of families to vacation together. Great for kids too because it has a huge yard, excellent for running around and playing games. The owner is very nice and helpful if you need anything. I would definitely recommend this place!

Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: December 2019
Owner Response:

Hi Veronica, Thank you so much for the nice review. We really appreciate it and can't wait to host you and your crew again this year! Happy New Year as well. Steve & Maura

West Harwich, MA
Member since Dec 2019
Charming and comfortable!

We adored staying at this house - charm for days, a kitchen that is better stocked than my own, and everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay in the Cape! The owners are so accommodating and helpful. The location is central to many restaurants and activities - we went to Bank Street Beach quite a bit and Aunties' Ice Cream almost nightly! The only thing to note is that there are only 2 bathrooms in the house - one on the first floor and one on the 2nd that has a very small shower (not for tall folks!). However, we ended up using the outdoor shower exclusively so it wasn't a problem at all. We plan on coming back next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Owner Response:

Hi Emily,
Thank you so much for your very kind and thoughtful review! We would love to have you back next year. To your point, almost no one showers in that bathroom, because in the outdoor shower you can be 7 feet tall and there is still plenty of head room (in the open air!).
Enjoy the rest of summer,
Steve & Maura

Zionsville, IN
Member since Aug 2016
Great spot for all ages

We have had the pleasure of renting this cottage on several occasions. From 2 families together, to a girls getaway, this charming Cape house has it all. Updated kitchen and a big 3 season porch provided family style meals that were insta worthy.

We enjoyed walks to the beach and bike rides on the Cape Cod Rail Trail. A short walk to a quaint downtown and a great lunch spot , no need to drive or park!

A short drive to all other restaurants and beaches to spend the days, and end the day at the go carts with ice cream and happy kids.

We will be back as often as we can. it's become a tradition. Thanks for making our time down the Cape so memorable.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Owner Response:

Hi Laura,
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We certainly hope to be able to host you and your amazing family for years to come! Looking forward to seeing you again this year!

Milton, MA
Member since Jan 2018
Perfect Family Home

Wonderful home and yard for our large family. The place had everything we needed and more. Awesome yard for our grandsons, 3 years, 14 months and 4 months. We can't wait to go back next year. Thank you so much, Steve and Maura.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Owner Response:

Hi Beth, Thank you so much for the nice review. We really appreciate you taking time to do it. But most of all we look forward to seeing you this summer, we just received the lease and you are good to go! Enjoy the rest of the season until we see you later in the year.
All the best - Steve & Maura

North Chelmsford, MA
Member since Jan 2018
Fabulous vacation!

My family of 5 stayed at this property with another family of 4 and had a great time! The house is a great mix of antique and modern with its beautiful new kitchen and pantry mixed with a great old sunroom for game playing and meals. We could walk to the village for great shops and restaurants. Jump in the car and you are just miles away from other famous Cape Cod towns such as Chatham and Dennisport and Harwichport. We could ride our bikes to nearby access to the Cape Cod bike trail and our kayaks to a mature area through cranberry bogs. Many many memories made!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Owner Response:

Hi Patty,
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad your group had fun at the house. We hope to see you again this summer or fall!
All the best,
Steve & Maura

Holliston, MA
Member since Jan 2018
Loved Our Stay!

My family and I have stayed in the house on more than one occasion. The house is wonderful with a brand new kitchen with top of the line appliances. Everything you need is provided. The yard is great for coffee outside in the morning or a fire pit at night. Lots of room for the kids to play. Besides the amazing accommodations there are plenty of fun things to do for the entire family. We go hiking, kayaking, crabbing and lots of R&R on the beach. Finally, there are plenty of fantastic restaurants to chose from and great shopping. We have never been disappointed and highly recommend staying here!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Owner Response:

Hi Cindy, Thank you so much for the great review! We really appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to return it. We look forward to seeing you down there again this year as well! Hopefully you and your family enjoy the time between now and the next time we see you.
All the best - Steve & Maura

Butler, NJ
Member since Jan 2018