Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Spacious Cape Cottage with English-Style Garden
Osterville Vacation Rental - ID 23526

3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 7
Beds: 2 queens, 2 twins, 1 child's daybed
Beach: Joshua's Pond (400 ft.) and Dowses Beach (1 mile)
Guest Reviews: 19 reviews
Time active: 2 years, 6 months
Contact details:
  Email Liz
Contact Liz, by e-mail.
Please mention Property ID# 23526 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.

We absolutely fell in love with this house and Osterville during our two week stay here. The garden was the most beautiful I’ve ever seen and we enjoyed many an afternoon relaxing in it and evenings eating out on the patio. The house was great for our party of 7 to cook and eat in most nights the kitchen was well equipped. The local Joshua Pond was a daily visit for us as was Dowses Beach both stunning and great for cooling off in the water during the hot weather. We also enjoyed short walks through the Armstrong Kelley Park and a picnic there too. A truly amazing stay we are so greatful to Liz for her help in the booking process and advising us about the house and the local area. We hope to return to this lovely house one day.

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: April 2019
Kirsty F
Warrington, United Kingdom
(Homeowner Entered)

The house was well stocked with everything we needed for a Cape Cod vacation. Beach sticker, beach towels, beach chairs and a great beach a very short drive from the house. No traffic issues since the beach is restricted to town residents. We cooked outside on the grill and enjoyed the beautiful gardens in the backyard. The village of Osterville is a short walk from the house so we took morning walks and evening strolls to eat out or shop at the small businesses located there. We are an adult family of 5 and our new granddaughter of 8 weeks joined us for her first Cape Cod vacation! It was delightful!

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: April 2019
Marie B
Wayland, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

The backyard is gorgeous with splendid gardens and a relaxing setting that provides privacy for cookouts and family gatherings. The house, although small, is comfortable for a family of 5 or 6. The kitchen is well stocked and laundry area very helpful when returning from the beach with towels and blankets. The owner was very helpful and house manager available when needed. We enjoyed our stay and will return to the quaint village of Osterville again next summer. We loved Fancy Market and Dowse's beach!

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: April 2019
Marie B
Wayland, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

My family greatly enjoyed our week at Elf Hill Cottage! When we arrived the house was sparkling, shining clean, and the landscaping is meticulous. The fenced in yard with the swingset, (two swings and a climbing rope) and hammock was absolutely perfect to entertain the kids after days at the beach. The house is in a beautiful residential neighborhood, very quiet but so close to the main street that we walked to dinner a few of the nights even with a 3 year old! We especially enjoyed Wimpys and Crisp Flatbread restaurant! Having the beach pass accessible to the area beaches was awesome. We specially liked Dowses beach, super soft sand and ocean on one side and harbor on the other. We explored Joshua's pond after lifeguard hours so we could go beyond the restricted area. The house itself had plenty of towels and kitchen accessories for cooking. The window AC units in the bedrooms were a nice escape on the humid warmer nights. The owner was also very attentive and responsive to any questions and offered helpful suggestions. We had such a enjoyable, relaxing, stress free week, it will be one to remember! Thank you for sharing your home!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: April 2019
Julie B
South Windsor, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Lovely Cape Cod house tucked away from Main Street noise but within walking distance to the downtown as well as one of the Osterville beaches. The back yard is filled with beautiful perennials, a swing set that is perfect for small children and raspberry bushes. Sometimes you will even see a little rabbit standing on his toes to sample one of these berries. Very comfortable beds, wonderful outdoor table and chairs all make this an ideal vacation home.

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: April 2019
Deb S
Bethlehem, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

This is our family's 4th consecutive year of coming back to this charming cottage, and it's safe to say that the time we spend here each summer is something we look forward to all year long! The house has everything you need for a relaxing visit to the Cape, and the owners are very responsive and kind. It's also within walking distance of beaches, shops, and restaurants in Osterville.

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: April 2019
Kate H
Austin, TX
(Homeowner Entered)

This property is in an excellent location, has plenty of space, and was very well kept. We really enjoyed the back yard space and the bright kitchen area. There was plenty of space for visitors. It had a really homey feel. Osterville is in a great location. It's close to Hyannis and other Cape communities. The southern beaches are close by and easy to access.

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: April 2019
Bill S
Palo Heights, IL
(Homeowner Entered)

Elf Hill is a lovely property set in beautiful gardens. Only a short walk into Osterville which is a very nice village with some beautiful shops. We enjoyed a very relaxing holiday here, in the back garden (yard) especially, spotting the local wildlife, chipmunks, humming birds and some birds we couldn't identify. We would recommend this accommodation.

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: April 2019
Suzanne C
Woodley Stockport, United Kingdom
(Homeowner Entered)

This cottage is truly a gem and ideal for a family, beach getaway. We stayed here for a week in August with two children (ages 2.5 and 4.5) and my older parents, and couldn't have been happier. The outside garden is meticulously maintained and the backyard is spacious, with Adirondack chairs, a great swing set, and hammock. Our kids loved playing outside and I was thrilled to be able to let them run without having to worry--the yard is completely fenced in. The cottage itself is incredibly cozy and because there are two floors, we were able to have some privacy and not feel that everyone was on top of each other. The kids' room is adorable, with three twin beds, which delighted my children. There were toys and books and lots of space to roam around. The two other bedrooms are also lovely with nice beds, bedding, etc. and AC units. Dowses Beach is a few minutes away and, again, ideal for kids. The waves are gentle, the sand is as soft and white as sugar, and it never gets too packed because the town limits the number of guests. (Only people with beach passes can enter.) We spent most days there or at Joshua's Pond, which is a 2 minute walk from the house. It's also a great swimming spot for children (and adults), and when the lifeguards aren't around you can swim long laps across the entire pond, which is really more of a lake. Osterville itself is a quant, New England village out of a Norman Rockwell book. Perfectly preserved, beautifully maintained with lovely shops and cafés. I really can't recommend this cottage more, and I actually do have high standards (which may not be clear from this review). I am generally nervous about renting places sight unseen, but I give my word that this place is worth it.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: April 2019
Nicole L
Los Angeles, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

My wife and I had a nice stay in Elf Cottage. The home is very charming and typical of a Cape Cod cottage. Cozy, clean and a great location to Osterville village. Walk to everything! The owner is very kind and responds to email immediately. I would recommend Elf Cottage to anyone looking in Osterville

Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: April 2019
Keith N
Naples, FL
(Homeowner Entered)

Two couples and one adult son spent a week at this home in Osterville in August. The house suited us perfectly. The patio and garden area were just beautiful, a very quiet and relaxing spot to enjoy morning coffee or afternoon cocktails. The location was excellent, we could easily walk to town for dinner or to pick up groceries at Fancy's market (truly a treasure). The beach at Joshua's pond was just a two minute walk and it was delightful, nice sandy beach, clear water for swimming and ample shady areas for those who wanted to stay out of the sun. Hyannis is just a short ride (we used Uber), the entertainment at The Melody Tent was fun, we saw The Beach Boys one night. We drove to Provincetown one day for the whale watching trip. It was outstanding! Would highly recommend it. The ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard are close by, in Hyannis. All In all we had a wonderful stay and I would recommend this home to most everyone. One member of our party was a little disappointed that only the bedrooms were air conditioned, but that was a very minor thing, as we were rarely at home in the daytime, and the outdoor area was cool and shady. Elizabeth, the owner, was extremely easy to work with and John, the caretaker was very helpful.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: April 2019
Mary Jane B
Boca Raton, FL
(Homeowner Entered)

This was our best family vacation by far! Osterville is a classic cape town with lovely shops, nice restaurants, and some great take out spots for food. The beaches were beautiful and easily accessible. We made a few drives to Hyannis and Centerville for the beach and kid amusement. Great places to go for early morning walks or runs. The fresh water pond was a great addition for the kids. We grilled out every night and had lots of whiffle ball games, tag and the kids played on the swings. The house was perfect. It was very clean, the bedrooms were perfect and the outside area was great for 3 kids under the age of 8. We are already planning a trip back. We could not have been happier.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: April 2019
Matt M
North Haven, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Delightful; peaceful; accessible.
The most impressive aspect of renting this property was the factual description provided by the owners. We looked at many properties and this one was most aptly described. It is a beautiful home -- inside and out. Location is ideal, with nearby beaches, retail amenities, and close proximity from one end of the Cape to another. We did a day trip to Provincetown as well as Chatham. Osterville is a beautiful community that begs walkers and bikers to enjoy the out-of-doors. The owners and the local caretaker are very attentive and have a plethora of information available to guests that outline local restaurants, beaches, retail and other adventures. We plan on returning and this is the only home we will consider living in during our stay. All was better than expected. If you go, check out Earthly Delights -- a natural/organic restaurant. It became our favorite place for breakfast. Superb creations from a lovely, funny couple!

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Sue M
Golden Valley, MN
(Homeowner Entered)

Very Cosy, Clean & Comfortable Cottage
It is a perfect holiday cottage. We all loved the house and the garden, there was a very nice pond right next to the cottage, Joshuas Pond. The surroundings were very well described, customer service was excellent. We loved the farmers market in Osterville.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: March 2015
Stefanie W
Germany
(Homeowner Entered)

Lovely Cape Cod Cottage
We loved everything about our stay in this charming cottage! The house was very clean, well stocked with everything we needed to cook meals, and within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and a fantastic freshwater pond. Its description and photos are very accurate. The backyard is a great space for kids to play, and we loved sitting out on the patio and soaking up the summer weather. We also made good use of the beach pass and enjoyed a lot of time at nearby Dowse's Beach. We can't wait to return!

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: March 2015
Kate H
Austin, TX
(Homeowner Entered)

A Great Week in a Lovely Cottage!
We rented this cottage sight unseen, on the basis of its online listing and pictures (the yard and garden were the deciding factors).The description turned out to be delightfully accurate: house and grounds were gracious, clean, well maintained, and user-friendly inside and out. There was plenty of space for the six of us: two grandparents, two parents, and young boys aged 3 and 6. There was room in the backyard for games of hide-and-seek and wiffle-ball, and the landscaping provided privacy from nearby houses. We usually ate in (most often on the outdoor patio), because the kitchen was well equipped, but there are good restaurants and food stores within walking or biking distance. The beach pass that came with the rental gave us access to the pleasant, sandy, relatively uncrowded town beach, and also to a beautiful freshwater pond within easy walking distance. The owner lives abroad but was quick to answer our questions, and the local caretaker came within minutes of our calling to fix a small problem (a clogged shower drain). Friends who visited us were similarly impressed and are considering renting the cottage themselves next summer--so, yes, I would certainly recommend the property.

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: March 2015
Julia B
Arlington, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Hassle-free and very kid friendly!
What a lovely home! Check-in was very easy and it was nice to know there was a local person near by to handle any issues if they should arise. The home was clean and cozy. Everything was right where we needed it. The location could not be better. Even though we visited in the fall, we were able to walk to the pond in minutes. It was nice to be able to walk to get my morning coffee, as well. Thank you for a stress free holiday!

Date of Stay: October 2012
Date Submitted: March 2015
Molly B
NYC
(Homeowner Entered)

Clean & Charming Cottage in Osterville!
We had a wonderful visit to Osterville and very much enjoyed staying in this cottage! We were greeted with fresh flowers when we arrived and found the cottage to be clean and ready for us. We also enjoyed the short stroll to town and Joshua's Pond, the swing set for the kids, and the pretty landscaping. Checking in and out of this cottage was also very easy. We also liked that it's only a short drive to the beaches. We will rent here again. Enjoy!

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: March 2015
Jody K
Wellesley, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Charming Cape Cod
Our family loved everything about this charming cottage. We had plenty of space, a lovely backyard to relax in while our youngest stayed occupied on the swing set, we were able to walk into town or to the fabulous pond with sandy beach.

The cottage was extremely clean and provided all the amenities one would need.

The owners were readily available to answer questions before and during our stay. Top customer service!

We would most definitely recommend this property to our family and friends and would rent again ourselves

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: March 2015
Carolyn C
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)