Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Colton Hollow - Beautiful North Truro

Truro Vacation Rental - ID 15035
3 BR
3 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 2 queens, 2 doubles
Beach: For an ocean beach, only a two (2) minute drive to Head of the Meadow and for the Cape Cod Bay, it is 5 miles to Herring Cove
Guest Reviews: 20 reviews
Time active: 12 years, 2 months
20 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
What a Great Spot!

We were down for a wedding and had a wonderful time! We thoroughly enjoyed this quaint, cozy, and peaceful rental home filled with intriguing items. Great decor, clean, neat, and lots of fun. We loved how soft the sheets were! The home is very comfortable and well equipped, with everything you might need. The decks and yard are great to sit out in with plenty of lounge chairs and tables for outdoor living. The hosts are great and make sure you have everything you need and you are close to beaches and all activities from P'town and up the Cape! Loved our visit! It was a wonderful getaway!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2019
Date Submitted: September 2019
Owner Response:

Dave and Deanna, we're so glad you were able to stay with us at Colton Hollow and everything was to your satisfaction. —Paul/Shawn.

Winchester, MA
Member since Sep 2019
Instant Relaxation

This was our first year at Colton Hollow, and it exceeded our expectations. The home was stocked with everything we could possibly need during our stay.

We had 4 adults and 2 children in total. The children loved the 1st floor, fenced in yard and board games, while the adults appreciated the privacy and fire pit. Even on a rainy day, we all settled in and the house was easy to enjoy.

Just a quick drive to beaches, parks, and other treasures the area has to offer.

The hosts are nothing short of fantastic and we look forward to returning!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: October 2019
Owner Response:

Thank you for staying at Colton Hollow, Missy! It was a pleasure to be a part of your first time staying on the Cape. We look forward to seeing you again. Paul & Shawn

Portville, NY
Member since Oct 2019
Home Sweet Home

My partner and I have been staying at Colton Hollow for years. It is our go to place for rest and relaxation. It sits in a hollow surrounded by trees. The house is well set up and meets our needs perfectly. Head of the Meadow beach is less than five minutes away. Paul and Shawn are great hosts and always make us feel welcome with flowers on the counter, a note welcoming us "home" and a welcome gift of wine. The internet connection is fast and consistent. Cell phone reception is not great but that is due mostly to the location. We have had great luck walking a short distance up the hill. Having two bathrooms is always a plus. The two decks and fenced in backyard round out this wonderful house. My advice would be, "well worth investigating" as long as you do not take our week.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: September 2019
Owner Response:

Thank you Donna for staying with us. It has been a pleasure getting to know you both over the many years you have stayed with us. We so appreciate how well you take of the house and are glad it has become a second "home" for you both. Looking forward to seeing you next year.

Easthampton, MA, usa
Member since Aug 2011
Little Gem

My first time out to North Truro could not have been better thanks to Paul & Shawn and this gem of a property of theirs. Our party consisted of four adults and four children with extended family staying close by. One night we had everyone over for lobster dinner and a fire; what a great time with so much room for us to spread out and really enjoy this space. The cottage is cozy and well stocked with essentials. We were able to catch the P-Town shuttle within walking distance and there were a couple of great beaches close by. This cottage is perfect for families with it's surprising amount of peace and privacy.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: September 2019
Owner Response:

Thank you for staying with us Jessica....we are really glad you had an enjoyable experience and hope you are able to return again another time.

Member since Jan 2019
Hidden Gem

Colton Hollow is my happy place. The location is perfect! So close to beautiful Head of the Meadow beach, a short walk to the bay, an even shorter walk to the P'town shuttle (a nice alternative to the very short drive if cocktails are involved!)

Hosts Shawn and Paul consistently provide a warm welcome. The home has everything you need, whether traveling with young children or a group of young and old adults. Though so convenient to great restaurants and night life, the yard, decks, grill, and full kitchen make the option of a relaxing night in an equally appealing option.

As a 7+ season renter, I keep going back because I can rely on consistent quality, cleanliness, convenience, and complete satisfaction.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: September 2019
Westborough, MA
Member since Jan 2007
Great Stay

We have stayed at Colton Hollow for the past sevn years and enjoy it every year. Location is great and Shawn and Paul are very accommodating and easy to work with. The layout of the house is perfect for our needs.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: September 2019
Owner Response:

Thanks Dave for choosing to stay with us year after year. We are happy you continue to return and see the improvements we make each year.

We look forward to your return and catching up on how everyone is doing.

Burlington, VT
Member since Jun 2012
Nice and Quiet

We really enjoyed our week at Colton Hollow and it was exactly what we expected. We arrived on Sunday. Shawn was there to greet us and give us a quick tour and a brief description of the area. The home was clean and there was ample space for us to spread out some. Our four teens preferred to stay together on the first floor (two on the couches and two on air mattresses). The couches pull out to beds but they wanted just to sleep on the couch, which they said was very comfortable. They liked having their own floor and bathroom to themselves too. My wife and I stayed on the third floor with our two year old daughter and we made the main floor bathroom ours. We had one upstairs bedroom that we really didn't have to use at all. The rooms were nice and had plenty of space for us. They were cooled with some window A/C units. A bunch of board games are upstairs and we made use of some of them. Kitchen was well stocked with utensils, pots, pans and supplies. Washer and dryer worked quick and well, so we went home with a lot of clean stuff. Shawn and Paul left us a bottle of wine, which was a nice touch after a long drive in from PA. They were truly great hosts who were quick to answer texts about local spots to visit and eat. Paul also stopped by to introduce himself and see if we needed anything, but they weren't at all intrusive and left us to do our own thing all week. We really enjoyed grilling out and sitting on the large deck. Our Weimaraner loved the fenced in yard which gave us some peace of mind in being able to just let him out the door. We made use of the bikes and beach chairs that were there. And we highly recommend sitting around the fire pit at night. There were great breezes and even though the highway is fairly close, you really don't even know it's there from out back. A whole family of turkeys made its way through the property several times during our stay. The home is a quick drive to both Provincetown and Head of the Meadow beach. We went to the beach every day. The seals were amazing to watch and we decided to swim and boogie board despite the scary shark signs at the beach head. The tide pools were great, especially for a toddler. Scenery in the beach area is amazing. We bought a Truro beach pass. I think if we return, we would buy the national park pass to see what it has to offer too. But the Truro beach is literally right next to the national beach anyway. We took a day trip to Boston harbor aquarium (which was awesome) and walked the waterfront. If we get back, we will try the Tea Party Ships. Also, if you bring a toddler, make sure to try the playground near the library and the library itself. Both were very cool to go to when our older ones were still sleeping.

Overall, the house is a little older but it was very comfortable for us. It is convenient to everything, yet a quiet place at the same time.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
Owner Response:

Jeremy and Kristie.....thanks so much for staying with us. We really enjoyed having you and glad you enjoyed yourself. I'm sorry our cleanliness didn't make a 5-star rating, we do our very best to make sure the house is clean and comfortable for guests when they arrive. We hope to see you again....thanks again. Paul & Shawn

Willow Street, PA
Member since Aug 2019
Doesn't feel like a rental; feels like a home

My husband and I have spent many weeks at Colton Hollow. It is our place out of time. Nestled in the woods, it is private. But it"s just off Route 6 in North Truro so it"s a short walk to Cold Storage Beach and a short drive to Provincetown. The house is spacious. It has three levels, two giant decks and a beautiful back yard. There"s free Internet, free parking and just down the street at Salty Market, homemade muffins. Colton Hollow doesn"t feel like a rental. It feels like a home.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: October 2019
Owner Response:

Thanks so much for staying at Colton Hollow. It's always nice to see you both and we welcome you anytime! Paul/Shawn

Canton, MA
Member since Oct 2019
A Hidden Gem!

Looking for a quiet cozy place to retreat to in North Truro? Look no further! Colton Hollow is quintessential New England/Cape Cod! Easily accessible to all that P-Town and the surrounding area have to offer!

My friends and I enjoyed our time at this lovely house. It is cozy and comfortable, but with plenty of room. We couldn't believe how cute the house was with picture perfect decor, beds, and furniture! There were 3 floors adorned with quintessential "Cape Cod" accents - first floor is a quaint living room space with a sleeper sofa and bathroom, second floor houses the open kitchen, large dining table, well-stocked bar, a full bath, and a nice sitting area, and the third floor has 2 cozy bedrooms (each with a full-size bed). The house also has 2 decks! It's a short drive down to Provincetown and all of the excitement you can find there.

This was our first time staying at this gem of a spot and we could not ask for anywhere nicer to stay during our time on the Cape; it certainly will not be our last! Secure this beautiful hideaway as soon as you can…..book it today!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2019
Date Submitted: November 2019
Owner Response:

Evan, it was great to have you and your friends stay at the house; you're all welcome back anytime!

Weymouth, MA
Member since Nov 2019
Great for us

This is the 7th year we have rented from Shawn and Paul. The location is great and the owners are easy to work with. We have really enjoyed staying at Colton Hollow. The decks and yard are fantastic and the main floor (kitchen dining room) is a wonderful place for everyone to get together. We are able to bring our dogs to the Cape, which is very important to us. We plan to keep coming back! Thanks, Shawn and Paul!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Owner Response:

Thanks, Dave....it’s always wonderful to see you and your family each year.

Burlington, VT
Member since Aug 2018
Perfect!

This was the perfect vacation cottage for our family. There were 8 adults and our dogs. We were all so comfortable. The cottage is beautiful, clean, and modern. The fenced in back yard was so nice for the dogs. The decks were great. The location is minutes from Provincetown and the National Seashore, and there's also a vineyard nearby.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: June 2016
United states
Member since Nov 2013
Wonderful Cape House

The first thing that I noticed when I walked into the house is that it is even more open and spacious than the pictures can convey. The house, deck, and yard are so open and comfortable that it is the perfect place to come home and relax after a long day at the beach. The kitchen is well stocked, and there is a nice grill if you want to get some seafood from Mac's and eat in. Then there is a great fire pit that we took advantage of at night.

The downstairs finished room with pullout couches was perfect for my kids. They felt like they had their own house and deck to vacation.

You can walk to the beach on the bayside or drive to Head of the Meadow Beach in less than 5 minutes. P-Town,Truro, Cape Cod National Seashore, Bike Trails, Winery,.... this house is so centrally located that you can be just about anywhere you would want to go within 5 minutes,

This house was exactly what my family wanted in a Cape House.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: January 2016
Norwood, MA
Member since Feb 2008
The Perfect House for the Perfect Week.

I can't say enough about how beautiful and accommodating this house is. Quiet and private, yet close to everything. It was like walking into our own home. The owners were the perfect hosts. We will definitely be back for a visit.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Hazleton, PA
Member since Jul 2012
A Home Away from Home

We've been staying at Colton Hollow since before it was Colton Hollow. Seriously, our children have grown from teenagers to young adults in this warm and welcoming home, enjoying our annual family vacation together on our favorite part of the Cape. It's perfectly situated and appointed. Bay and ocean beaches are within walking distance, moments away by bike (provided). The outdoor shower (under sun or stars) is the perfect watery way to warm up. Provincetown is a healthy hike, short drive, or shuttle bus ride away. There's something for everybody!

Or nothing, should you just like to catch up on your reading (books galore), or board games (closets full), or cuisine (fully stocked kitchen and outdoor grill), or napping (on the upstairs or downstairs porch), or catching up on movies (cable TV, wireless internet), or... Its rustic appeal is enhanced by modern conveniences, not to mention dishware and glasses for every occasion.

Hosts Shawn and Paul make it easy to relax, providing everything we need to spend a low-key week tucked away in a private wood that's also convenient to civilization. We thank them every year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Haworth, NJ
Member since Dec 2012
Lovely Cape home with a seriously well stocked kitchen!

Colton Hollow is a lovely, classically Cape style house perfect as a summer getaway to the more mellow side of Cape Cod. A 15 minute walking stroll from the house takes you to a lovely bayside beach, perfect for sunset. The house itself is spacious with two amazingly large and relaxing porches, one is upstairs off the kitchen so excellent for meals outside and the lower level porch is covered so a really nice reading in the shade area (and a perfect place for yoga practice!)
The kitchen in this house is so amazingly well stocked when it comes to pots, pans, utensils, dishes, etc, so if you plan on cooking a lot on your vacation this house offers a stellar kitchen, the stove might be a bit aged but it works very efficiently.
We had 3 couples staying in the house during our vacation and it proved to be accommodating for sleeping space. The outdoor shower is an excellent treat for those who enjoy a more spacious open air environment for that daily ritual.
This house is certainly a treasure and the rental cost for the week is adequately priced.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Bonita Springs, FL
Member since Jan 2012
Fantastic place with fantastic landlords!

Colton Hollow is a hidden gem. We owned a home in North Truro before selling it a number of years ago. This home feels like our own home. It feels cared for and nurtured, with all the amenities (including high speed internet) and more. The owners are caring and kind, and we felt very well taken care of. The location is very convenient to both the bay and ocean beaches, and is a very quick drive to either Wellfleet or P'Town. We love the place and are returning this year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: December 2012
Newtown, CT
Member since Dec 2012

"Great location, easy on, easy off of Route 6 & 6A ! Super close to wonderful beaches and P-Town. Loved the 2nd floor where the open kitchen, dining & sitting area is. Owner is extremely nice and accomodating & readily available for questions. Thanks Shawn. Home is on a very nice lot, homes nearby, but not close and very private lot. Would recommend to all others but not those who do not ambulate well. The lower deck is gorgeous & cozy & the upper deck perfect. We LOVE The Outer Cape and return often."

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Tucson, AZ
Member since Jan 2009

I have stayed in this beautiful home on several occasions at different times of the year over the last 3 years. It is easy to find, and convenient to lots of great beaches and shopping. The property is well maintained and the house is clean. There is lots to do year round. The location is perfect!! Enough away from the crowded areas, yet close enough to get there by car or bike. I strongly recommend this as a great vacation getaway!

Date of Stay: January 2010
Date Submitted: February 2010
Natick, MA
Member since Feb 2010

Looking for someplace clean, spacious, comfortable, and convenient? This is it. I've stayed here numerous times over the past 3 years and have always had a wonderful vacation. With a full-sized kitchen, dining room, washer and dryer, and two full bathrooms, this home is ideal for a couple, a small group of friends, or a family to kick back, relax, and enjoy the outer Cape. For the price you pay, this is a great place to vacation for the week. I highly recommend it.

Date of Stay: January 2010
Date Submitted: February 2010
Boston, Massachusetts
Member since Feb 2010

"If you love the Outer Cape this is a great place to stay! Beaches, Provincetown and fine dining right around the corner yet not at the front door. Very comfortable, clean, well kept 2 bathroom home with nice amenities. Enough room for a family with children to have their own space, or just right for a couple wanting to get away. I've stayed in the home on several occasions during different seasons and have thoroughly enjoyed it."

Date of Stay: April 2009
Date Submitted: March 2010
Marshfield, Ma.
Member since Mar 2010