Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Beautiful Home and Gardens in North Truro

North Truro Vacation Rental - ID 30595
3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 6
Beds: 2 queens, 1 double
Beach: 8/10 mile to Cold Storage Beach
Guest Reviews: 13 reviews
Time active: 9 months
13 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review

Artist's home
A home full of books and artworks, with a well-equipped kitchen and a lovely, private backyard. Easy driving distance to beaches.

Date of Stay: September 2019
Date Submitted: January 2020
Marilan L
(Homeowner Entered)

A Great Getaway
We rented Irene's house for a 4th of July family getaway week and could not have been happier. The location and cleanliness of the home, coupled with Irene's excellent responsiveness made our experience a great one. The home is within walking distance to the Salty Market (sandwiches, groceries), a few restaurants and Cold Storage beach, which was perfect for morning walks with our dog. The national seashore beaches and Highland Links golf are all within a few minutes drive. We loved meals at the dining table with the oversized slider open, relaxing late afternoons in the well-manicured back yard and the outdoor shower after the beach. Thank you for the hospitality, Irene - we had an excellent stay in your home!

Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: January 2020
Member since Jan 2020

We loved our stay at Irene's house! Beautiful and private garden, sunny and cheerful dining room, and the perfect place for a cape cod getaway! Irene and Phil were always immediately responsive - thank you so much!

Date of Stay: May 2019
Date Submitted: January 2020
Andrea F
Boulder, CO
(Homeowner Entered)

For the past six years I and my partner and occasional family and friend guests have enjoyed the lovely setting and welcoming hospitality of Irene Lipton and Phil Smith's house on Shore Road in North Truro. The house itself is perfect for a couple or small family, or 2 couples, with 3 full bedrooms, 2 full baths plus outdoor shower, a marvelously well equipped kitchen, and a delightful back yard resplendent with tall trees and nice plantings. We like to cook and have really enjoyed the kitchen's culinary amenities, the gas grill and picnic table in the back, and the full dining room looking onto the garden. The house is situated just up the hill from the very convenient Salty Market/wine store, cafe, post office, and best chocolate shop in the area. It's a 10-minute walk to the bay beach and a 5-minute drive or bike ride to the océan and around 12 mins. to drive to Provincetown (20 minutes by bike along the beautiful bay). The house is also just a few minutes' walk from the Truro Library, which has a terrific collection of children's books and videos, computers, and a grand piano I've greatly appreciated being able to use. Of course, the house itself has quite reliable wi-fi, but it's nice to have the library nearby for printing documents, reading the latest papers or magazines, and for the very interesting lectures and other public events its staff organizes (lots for kids, including story time and terrific hands-on nature activities). The library also has a great outdoor playground that my grandchildren really enjoyed. Most of all, Irene and Phil are the landlords from heaven. Not only are they both working artists, so the house is filled with their beautiful work as well as tons of books; but also they are warm and delightful people - really friends. Staying in their house one has the benefit of privacy while at the same time, since they spend the summer months in a smaller house down the hill from the main house, they are always around if you have a problem or a question and tremendously accommodating to their guests' needs. I feel so fortunate to have found this house and hope to return many times.

Date of Stay: January 2019
Date Submitted: January 2019
NYC, NY
Member since Jan 2019

If you think you might like to spend a vacation in a charming house, well designed, filled with interesting art and wonderful books, classics as well as contemporary fiction and art books, this is the house for you. It has a lovely, very well equipped kitchen and spaces, inside and out, for entertaining guests or just savoring the beauty and flavors of Truro. Irene is very willing to help in any way and is nearby if there are any questions or problems. Highly recommended.

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: January 2019
Hiudson, NY
Member since Mar 2008

The house was nice and comfortable. The owners were very accommodating and responsive. We have rented several houses in Truro over the years. This house seemed more equipped with kitchen utensils, linens, etc... Dog friendly which is a big plus. If it’s bad weather the house is full of interesting books to look at and read. Many art books. We had almost perfect weather and didn’t get a chance to look through the books much. Nice back yard area and grill if you want to cook at home.

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: January 2019
NYC, NY
Member since Jan 2019

We had a lovely time at Irene's Truro house

Irene's house was just as promised- a lovely neat and tidy cape house with a pretty yard. The house was very comfortable and close to all the wonderful things Truro (and everything around it) has to offer. Irene was was extremely responsive, and gave us great tips on places to go and things to do. Great choice.

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: January 2019
Newton, MA
Member since Jul 2012

Great location - close to Race Point Beach and Provincetown

Our family found everything that we needed for a comfortable stay in this eclectic and very interesting home. Irene and Phil were very helpful and quick to respond to any questions we had and although they were close by, they gave us our privacy.

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: February 2019
Manlius, NY
Member since Feb 2019

The N. Truro house was pretty much exactly as described in the listing. The 3 of us, plus 2 dogs, had an enjoyable early-autumn stay on the Cape in Irene's house. All the appliances were new-ish. Outdoor shower worked fine. Kitchen, billed as gourmet, had lots of supplies and amenities, and was great. Gas grill worked well, and never ran out of fuel. Location is on a quiet cul-de-sac, but also on 6A, which can be busy. But the cul-de-sac was perfect for walking the dogs. Also in walking distance (on weekends only) was Kindred Babes, a nice little bakery with delicious pastries, brownies, cake, etc. Salty Cafe, formerly Dutra's, has high-end beers and wines and a decent deli. Bottom line--we're glad we stayed here! Irene was very pleasant to work with, and we would consider the house again for a future rental.

Date of Stay: October 2017
Date Submitted: January 2019
Deborah F
Cape Coral, Florida
(Homeowner Entered)

Lovely eclectic old cape house with beautiful relaxing garden full of birds to relax and watch

This North Truro house is in a great location -- convenient to restaurants, stores, beaches, and the shuttle bus to Ptown. It's a lovely house with a lived in feeling. The beautiful backyard with birdfeeder is one of the best features. We literally spent hours sitting at the dining room table looking out the screen doors and watching the birds, bunnies and chipmunks. Our dog also loved it. The owners live in the property next door and are available and responsive if needed. The house is filled with books of every kind; lots to look at and read, and the kitchen is well stocked with herbs and spices from the Atlantic Spice Company. We spent two quiet, peaceful beautiful weeks enjoying all the Outer Cape has to offer.

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: January 2019
Hoboken, NJ
Member since Mar 2011

Beautiful, comfortable home away from home
When we first saw this property, we had some concerns about all of the art work & objects that were displayed in the many photos. Would we feel that they might be precious, and extra care would be needed, which might not be the most relaxing? What we found on our first of now several stays, was that all of this art was inspiring and not in the least intimidating. They are indeed precious articles, but are so much part of the great experience that is this property. Truly a gem for art lovers. Irene & Phil’s house is very comfortable, very much a home, which it is to them during the off season. It has everything that you would expect in a well provisioned home, from a nicely stocked kitchen to comfortable beds to 2 full baths. You can sit at the dining room table, and view the yard & gardens, and watch the activity around the bird feeder & bird baths. Another thing that is worth pointing out is that, while the house fronts right on Rte. 6A, it is amazing how quiet & private this place is. When you are in the house or in the back yard, you really don’t notice the activity on the road. With it being right on 6A, you are really close to everything the outer Cape has to offer. P-town is just a short drive, ocean & bay beaches are either within walking/biking distance or just a short drive away. There is a small commercial area about ¼ mile away, which includes a small market, a chocolatier, & Truro Vineyard just down the road.

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: January 2019
NY
Member since Jan 2019

Beautiful Retreat at the tip of the Cape.
The house is exactly as it looks in the photographs. Very clean, well maintained, well equipped felt like home, or the home of your favorite eclectic aunt. Beautifully decorated with interesting art and books in every room, on almost any subject for readers of all ages. The backyard is peaceful and great for outdoor barbeques with lots of birds visiting the large feeder. The location is excellent, very easy to get to all the wonderful beaches of the upper cape and a quick drive to Provincetown down route 6 or 6A. You can also take a shuttle bus, which picks you up right in front of the house into Ptown if you don't want to drive. Some highlights are the whale watch and dune tours out of Provincetown, as well as the many wonderful restaurants. The owners of the house were very friendly and helpful and even helped me get a new tube for the flat tire on my bike. The area is also great for bike riding, my son rode his bike everyday into Ptown, around a 14 mile round trip.

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: February 2019
Bud D
Old Saybrook, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

A special spot in N Truro

We have had wonderful visits to Cape Cod each year staying at this place. It is not a typical rental as it is filled with wonderful artwork and books and momentos - which makes it so much more personal and interesting. The property is well laid out and well maintained. There are yards in the front and back for relaxing and eating. Easy access to bay and ocean beaches and local restaurants, etc. The owners are very attentive and friendly and responsive.

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: February 2019
Easton, PA
Member since Feb 2019