Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Steps to Private Beach. Big Beach house. 5 Kayaks.

Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 14678
5 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 10
Beds: 1 king, 1 queen, 3 doubles, 3 twins, 2 convertibles, + 1 futon
Beach: Less than 1 minute walk to our private Sea Shells'
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 6 years, 8 months
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Sea Shells main house

The Main House at Sea Shells had everything you could want on a Cape Cod vacation. The house was very well equipped with plenty of space. It was steps to the beach, many boats and a beautiful view. A wonderful time was had by all. Highly recommend.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
Owner Response:

Thank you Beth for taking the time to leave a review. I know this is a period of grief for your extended family. I hope your stay at Main brought some measure of peace and the children made nice memories.

Slingerlands, NY
Member since Dec 2019

Beautiful house, amazing view. Everyone enjoyed the family vacation.
Thanks,
Terry

Date of Stay: June 2021
Date Submitted: July 2021
Tolland, MA
Member since Jul 2021
Week at Main House

We had a wonderful stay at the Main House! Wellfleet again provided our family (and now our friends) with amazing memories, good weather, and adventure. The house had everything we needed for a week of delicious cooking/grilling, kayaking, paddle boarding, and playing at the beach. It was clean, comfortable, very well stocked, with unbeatable morning/evening views from the second floor deck. We would certainly stay there again and/or recommend it to others. Thank you!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
Owner Response:

Oh that's good to hear everyone had a good time Kara. Happy memories for the kids!

Brooklyn, NY
Member since Jan 2019
Our best Cape Cod vacation!

We've been to Cape Cod for vacation about 8 times, but this was our first time in Wellfleet. It's quieter and less crowded than the Lower Cape. We all loved, and especially the kids, kayaking to the Cape Cod National Seashore, right across from the Main House Sea Shells beach. So secluded and beautiful! The kids also liked collecting shells at low tide, swimming at high tide, and ping pong in the back. It was nice to watch them swim without worry of rip tides or sharks. (The Wellfleet Oceanside beaches all have shark warnings now. This property is on the Cape Cod Bay side.) We also enjoyed Duck Pond and Gull Pond where we rented little paddle boats. Some of us went on a whale watch and a 1/2 day fishing excursion after which we grilled what was caught. Eating on the deck - which looked new - the water view over and between the rooftops of the other cottages was very pleasant. The Sea Shells cottages are quiet. The bedrooms are smallish but there is a very large family room with TV - good for our kids, in addition to the regular "adult" living room. My mattress squeaked but was very comfortable. Howie was helpful and accommodated us by installing a portable A/C unit in one of the bedrooms for my mother. Probably the best thing about this rental for us, is being able to go back and forth between the house and the beach. I think it's less than 30 steps.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: December 2018
Owner Response:

Thanks for the review Sara. Glad all had a good vacation.

Wellfleet, MA
Member since Dec 2018
Sunrises and Sunsets

The Main House is perfect for traveling with a big family. Take advantage of being on the water and use the kayaks. We also rented a sailboat nearby from Jack's. He brings it and puts it in at Power's Landing. It's wonderful to be able to walk the length of beach up to Wellfleet Harbor and back. Our whole family had a great stay. The Main House is a great place to experience all of the beauty of Wellfleet

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: December 2017
Owner Response:

Good to hear it was fun for your whole family!

Roslindale, MA
Member since Dec 2017
Great place for large family with kids

I came here with my family - 8 adults and 5 kids (all under the age of 8) and had such a wonderful time. This house is right on the water, which makes it super convenient for the little ones. We didn't need to worry about packing up all our gear and food since we were able to just walk back to house if we forgot anything or got hungry. This saved us time and allowed us to spend the entire day on the beach.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: March 2017
Owner Response:

Looking forward to having you back in 2017!

Arlington, MA
Member since Feb 2017
Paradise!

Our family loved our stay at the Main house. We loved the convenience of the beach right outside our door and enjoyed the views from the deck and house. We took advantage of all the activities Wellfleet has to offer. We went swimming in the ponds and ocean and went hiking on Great Island, The kayaks and the ping pong table are a real plus. The house is roomy and well-stocked. We're looking forward to going back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: March 2017
Lexington, MA
Member since Mar 2017
Beautiful stay right on the bay

I loved going to sleep and waking up each day so close to the bay. The house is tucked into such a perfect spot. There was a lot of space for a good number of guests, and the house had everything we needed for an amazing week in Wellfleet. Very comfortable! It's a great location for quick walks to the pier, and it was also not far from a number of hikes, ponds, the ocean side, and the town center. I'd go back any summer!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: March 2017
Wellfleet, MA
Member since Mar 2017
Great Place to Rest

My wife and I has been going to Wellfleet for many years, first with our children and now alone or with friends.. We enjoy this beautiful house because of two main reasons: 1)near the beach and 2) walking distance to the center of town and shops.

The house is well equipped with everything that you might need while on vacation. My two favorites pieces of equipment are the kayaks and the ping pong tables. I have gone kayaking with my friend to Great Island. The porch overlooking the bay is amazing. We have spent a lot of hours on this porch reading, talking or having dinner at night.

The location of this house allows us to go bike riding on the bike trails, swimming in Long Pond, and hiking on Great Island.

I recommend this house to anyone who wants to enjoy a good summer time on Cape Cod,

Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: February 2017
Owner Response:

Looking forward to having you back this Spring.

Milton, MA
Member since Feb 2017
A Special Spot, Indeed

My family of 6 thoroughly enjoyed ourselves last August. The location is hard to beat, with a lovely, sandy beach steps away with a killer view.

The house was very homey/comfortable in the best sense. One of the owners, Howard, was a joy to work with.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: March 2016
Cambridge, MA
Member since Aug 2013
Location, Views, Access, Luxury

The Main House is a beautiful place in a quiet cluster of beach-front cottages. My family and always some assorted friends have been staying here for 10 or so years now for a week each summer, and I don't think we could ask for more. So I really owe a review.

From the second floor and its long, spacious wooden balcony, where there's a view of the sea, and from the first floor, you can simply walk a couple hundred feet to the beach itself. The house is very tastefully arranged and has all sorts of amenities, from kayaks to a ping-pong table, a wide screen TV to a second-story porch grille, and a backyard. This is the kind of place that can really hold a sizable group of people. The first floor is a nearly complete living space on its own, with several bedrooms and a full-sized fridge, a spacious living room and sliding glass doors leading to a backyard area with ping-pong table. The second floor has a master bedroom, a kitchen with a giant island, and a long table for sit-down meals. Plus comfy couches and giant chairs for group hang-outs or movies. The house is really well-located, just a few minutes' drive from the Wellfleet pier and the downtown area and 15-20 minutes to ocean beaches and ponds.

One of our family traditions has been to go out after dinner and walk along the sand the mile or so to the pier for ice cream. I've loved my time at the Main house because of its access to the treasures of The Cape, but also because of the way the sun slants into the second floor living room on summer days, sitting on the balcony at wooden tables under sprawling umbrellas with coffee and the newspaper, and grilling food on cool, starry nights with a wonderful, pulsing sea just across the way. Would highly recommend.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: March 2016
New Haven, CT
Member since Mar 2016