Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Family Beach House Retreat Walk to Duck Pond
Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 16624

5 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 9
Beds: 2 queens, 5 twins
Beach: 7/10 of a mile to Duck Pond; 1.6 miles to Maguires
Guest Reviews: 17 reviews
Time active: 9 years, 9 months
Contact details:
  Email Ed & Leda Hathaway
Contact Ed & Leda Hathaway, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (413) 585-9310.
Please mention Property ID# 16624 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.

Thanks, as usual, for a wonderful week at your lovely house! We enjoyed beautiful weather, which had us biking to the beach ever day, and swimming at Duck pond. We enjoyed using your resource of books and games and loved playing them on your serene back porch. Thanks again, and see you (or your house) next year!

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: July 2018
R, N, B
Cambridge, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Every summer we love Wellfleet even more than the previous ones. Our 3 weeks passed in what seemed like the blink of an eye. We did all the old favorites - swimming at Duck pond, Kayaking at Gull pond, Bridge diving, the Drive-in, meals at PJs and Macs, a whale watch in Provincetown, a walk at the Audubon, long lazy days at Maguires Landing, a fire on the beach, a ride on the bike trail. And we added some new things too. Lots and lots of wild turkeys this year! They were more populous than even the seals (or the sharks...) As always, we can't wait for next summer in Wellfleet!!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2018
L, D, C, C & N
London, England
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks so much for the use of your wonderful home - it was perfect for us.
We had a wonderful time.
The weather was a little iffy so the basement was a huge hit with the kids(and thus us).
The house is so well designed and so well stocked with everything we would need.
Love the location as well.

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2018
T, P W
Amherst, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks a lot for another year at your wonderful house. The weather was good and we found exploring the beach on foggy days was fun. We had 13 of us (3 generations) between 2 houses. 4 years to 82! Lots of wonderful memories.

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2018
B, G H
Pittsfield, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for the use of your house. We had such a great week. Your house was perfect for us on all accounts. Weather was gorgeous and we went to Newcomb Hollow every day, warm water, no mung, good waves, just perfect.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
R B
Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

We had another wonderful summer at your beautiful home! Thank you! The weather was perfect and we got in lots of biking, swimming, jumping the waves, tennis, Shakespeare, bluefish, reading… and all our other favorite Wellfleet activities.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
L R
Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a great week. You have a very lovely and comfortable home, we really enjoyed it.

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: December 2015
J Y
Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Just wanted to thank you for letting us rent your beautiful property. We all enjoyed our stayed in spite of the up and down weather. Our kids loved the ping pong and your screened in porch has me nagging my husband for one!

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: December 2014
D B
Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Another terrific week at the Hathaway home! Enjoyed a perfect week of weather – lots of beach days, biking, fishing, bonfires and excellent seafood. Our annual family gathering at the Beachcomber is always a good time. Thanks to Ed and Leda who went above and beyond to make our stay a great one!

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: December 2014
G& M
NY & VT
(Homeowner Entered)

We had an absolutely splendid time at your beautiful home last week. It was a perfect week to be at the beach. In fact, we've never been on the Cape when it has been so continuously hot -- the ocean was a pleasant relief for a change! The house and location were excellent. We especially loved the screened porch and the open, airy feel, which never got too hot (and the terrific outdoor shower -- no one ever used one of the indoor ones!). We were able to take advantage of all our usual Wellfleet activities -- Newcomb Hollow, Duck Pond, bike rides (with a stop at PB Bistro at the end for a treat!), Free Shakespeare (a real highlight of Wellfleet -- I wrote about it in your guest book), striped bass, smoked bluefish, lots of reading and a bonfire one night on the beach.

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: December 2014
L R
Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Wow, words are not enough to describe how much we all enjoyed your home for the second year. The house is very cozy and such a delight. The location of your home is wonderful, lots of trails and beaches close by for running and biking, with a refreshing swim afterward at Duck Pond.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: January 2011
S K
Saratoga Springs, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for the absolutely perfect vacation! Your house is perfect – and so well equipped! Thanks for providing all the games, ping pong equipment and beach gear. Your location is absolutely perfect.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: January 2011
L W
Huntington, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We enjoyed your home immensely. Your kitchen was perfectly equipped and we ate out under the stars every night. The outdoor shower was my favorite spot though! Perfect for washing three sandy kids at the end of a long beach day! Thanks so much for everything.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: January 2011
L P
London, England
(Homeowner Entered)

Your home is just lovely and it met our needs perfectly. Loved the screen porch, the back deck, the outside shower, and the patio dining set! Thanks for your hospitality and beautiful home. We loved our stay and will cherish our memories.

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: January 2011
JM & D
Oklahoma/Pennsylvania
(Homeowner Entered)

“Your home is absolutely gorgeous, from the beautiful screen porch to the simple but elegant wall décor. We spent a lot of down time in the cool refreshing basement playing extreme ping pong and outside in the backyard playing wiffle ball. We loved watching movies in the guest room / living room.”

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: January 2010
A W
Upton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

“What a wonderful week. Your home is perfect! It is so well suited for vacation living and perfectly appointed. We love the proximity to Wellfleet beaches and the remarkable – secret Duck Pond. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us.”

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: January 2010
S O
South Windsor, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

“What a beautiful home in a beautiful location! We took full advantage of all aspects – coffee in the AM sun on the screened porch, ping pong tourneys during down time, lots of fresh seafood on the grill, and friends having cocktails on the deck. Not to mention birds singing in the background. Proximity to beaches was perfect.”

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: January 2010
G M
Burlington, VT, Syracuse, NY
(Homeowner Entered)