Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.
4 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 4 BRs: 2 queens, 1 double, 2 twins
Beach: 2 miles to Ocean & walk to Gull Pond!
Guest Reviews: 21 reviews
OWNER SPECIAL:
Make the Cape happen! $250 off for full week or inquire on a nightly basis for Oyster Fest!
Daily
Weekly
Monthly
Off-season 2018/19
$255 - $285
Summer 2019
 
Off-season 2019/20
 
Off-season 2018/19
$1,700 - $1,950
Summer 2019
 
Off-season 2019/20
 
Off-season 2018/19
 
Summer 2019
 
Off-season 2019/20
 
Contact Rebecca Hansen - ID 25891
Time active: 2 years, 8 months
Click to see numbers!
Phone: (818) 769-5695

Set Up Your Vacation

Vacation Name *
General Description *

This information will be included in ALL email inquiries that you send related to this Vacation. You will be able to include questions specific to each listing before sending your email inquiries.

# Adults
# Children
      Cancel
×
Description

Description

Welcome to our home, our House in the Trees!

Our House in the Trees is on Gull Pond Road on the Ocean side of Route 6, around 2 miles from Newcomb Hollow and Cahoon Hollow Beaches. It is walking distance to Gull Pond (1 mile)and a 5 minute drive to Long Pond, Great Pond and downtown Wellfleet and the Pier.

This is a bright, airy and spacious home with an “open beam” architecture made with reclaimed wood from an old Connecticut school house. It is insulated, so it is livable year round. The open floor plan has a cathedral ceiling in the Great Room (living room and dining room) with wrap around windows. The house is on a hill on its own private, paved drive, well away from the street. Surrounded by trees, it is VERY private. There are several sky lights throughout the house so you can star and moon gaze or just watch the clouds drift by.

The house has 4 bedrooms, two FULL baths with two bedrooms and a bath on each level. (Each bathroom has a hair dryer). There is an entertainment room (TV/Games) and an office area, both of which overlook the living room and dining room.

Each floor of the house is reached by a short set of stairs, only 6 steps, making it easy to get up and down. The 4 levels offer privacy and space - great for a family with kids or two or three couples or two families! (Two queen beds, one full, and two twins). Each bedroom has good closet space, lots of hangers and shelving.

There are two decks, one on each side of the house (do you want sun or shade?) and an outside shower off one of the decks. A barbecue and a picnic table are on the other deck.

There is a washer and dryer in the basement, and the kitchen is fully equipped with pots, pans, plates, lobster pot, etc. Cable TV and high speed Internet are also provided: 140 channels including HBO.

Our cleaning service cleans green. You can contract with them if you need to rent towels and linens and/or want additional cleaning services. We can also refer you to other linen rental services.

Please feel free to contact us with questions about our House in the Trees. If you are new to the Cape, we will also be happy to provide information about the area.


show more show less

Photos

Photos

Pricing & Availability

Pricing & Availability

0

Calendar Last Updated: September 06, 2018

Additional availability info: Off season has flexible check-in/start dates!. This is a Sunday to Sunday vacation rental.

Long-Term Rental (1 month or more):

Additional pricing info: $200 discount for 2 week rentals

OWNER SPECIAL:
Make the Cape happen! $250 off for full week or inquire on a nightly basis for Oyster Fest!
Minimum Stay Requirements:
  • Off-season 2018/19
    3 nights
  • Summer 2019
    7 nights
Available
Unavailable
Unknown
 
  • Price SEPTEMBER 2018
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
     $2,900              1
     $1,950  2 3 4 5 6 7 8
     $1,700  9 10 11 12 13 14 15
     $1,950  16 17 18 19 20 21 22
     $1,950  23 24 25 26 27 28 29
     $1,950  30            
  • Price OCTOBER 2018
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
     $1,950    1 2 3 4 5 6
     $1,950  7 8 9 10 11 12 13
     $1,700  14 15 16 17 18 19 20
     $1,950  21 22 23 24 25 26 27
     $1,950  28 29 30 31      
  • Price NOVEMBER 2018
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
     $1,950          1 2 3
     $1,950  4 5 6 7 8 9 10
     $1,950  11 12 13 14 15 16 17
     $1,950  18 19 20 21 22 23 24
     $1,950  25 26 27 28 29 30  
  • Price DECEMBER 2018
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
     $1,950              1
        2 3 4 5 6 7 8
        9 10 11 12 13 14 15
        16 17 18 19 20 21 22
        23 24 25 26 27 28 29
        30 31          
  • Price JANUARY 2019
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
            1 2 3 4 5
        6 7 8 9 10 11 12
        13 14 15 16 17 18 19
        20 21 22 23 24 25 26
        27 28 29 30 31    
  • Price FEBRUARY 2019
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
                  1 2
        3 4 5 6 7 8 9
        10 11 12 13 14 15 16
        17 18 19 20 21 22 23
        24 25 26 27 28    
  • Price MARCH 2019
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
                  1 2
        3 4 5 6 7 8 9
        10 11 12 13 14 15 16
        17 18 19 20 21 22 23
        24 25 26 27 28 29 30
        31            
  • Price APRIL 2019
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
          1 2 3 4 5 6
        7 8 9 10 11 12 13
        14 15 16 17 18 19 20
        21 22 23 24 25 26 27
        28 29 30        
  • Price MAY 2019
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
              1 2 3 4
        5 6 7 8 9 10 11
        12 13 14 15 16 17 18
        19 20 21 22 23 24 25
        26 27 28 29 30 31  
  • Price JUNE 2019
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
                    1
        2 3 4 5 6 7 8
        9 10 11 12 13 14 15
        16 17 18 19 20 21 22
        23 24 25 26 27 28 29
        30            
  • Price JULY 2019
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
          1 2 3 4 5 6
        7 8 9 10 11 12 13
        14 15 16 17 18 19 20
        21 22 23 24 25 26 27
        28 29 30 31      
  • Price AUGUST 2019
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
                1 2 3
        4 5 6 7 8 9 10
        11 12 13 14 15 16 17
        18 19 20 21 22 23 24
        25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  • Price SEPTEMBER 2019
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
        1 2 3 4 5 6 7
        8 9 10 11 12 13 14
        15 16 17 18 19 20 21
        22 23 24 25 26 27 28
        29 30          
  • Price OCTOBER 2019
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
            1 2 3 4 5
        6 7 8 9 10 11 12
        13 14 15 16 17 18 19
        20 21 22 23 24 25 26
        27 28 29 30 31    
  • Price NOVEMBER 2019
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
                  1 2
        3 4 5 6 7 8 9
        10 11 12 13 14 15 16
        17 18 19 20 21 22 23
        24 25 26 27 28 29 30
  • Price DECEMBER 2019
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
        1 2 3 4 5 6 7
        8 9 10 11 12 13 14
        15 16 17 18 19 20 21
        22 23 24 25 26 27 28
        29 30 31        
  • Price JANUARY 2020
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
              1 2 3 4
        5 6 7 8 9 10 11
        12 13 14 15 16 17 18
        19 20 21 22 23 24 25
        26 27 28 29 30 31  
  • Price FEBRUARY 2020
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
                    1
        2 3 4 5 6 7 8
        9 10 11 12 13 14 15
        16 17 18 19 20 21 22
        23 24 25 26 27 28 29
  • Price MARCH 2020
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
        1 2 3 4 5 6 7
        8 9 10 11 12 13 14
        15 16 17 18 19 20 21
        22 23 24 25 26 27 28
        29 30 31        
  • Price APRIL 2020
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
              1 2 3 4
        5 6 7 8 9 10 11
        12 13 14 15 16 17 18
        19 20 21 22 23 24 25
        26 27 28 29 30    
  • Price MAY 2020
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
                  1 2
        3 4 5 6 7 8 9
        10 11 12 13 14 15 16
        17 18 19 20 21 22 23
        24 25 26 27 28 29 30
        31            
  • Price JUNE 2020
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
          1 2 3 4 5 6
        7 8 9 10 11 12 13
        14 15 16 17 18 19 20
        21 22 23 24 25 26 27
        28 29 30        
Amenities

Amenities

Interior
  • A/C Unit(s)
  • Washer & Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Coffeemaker
  • Cable TV
  • DVD or VCR
  • Wireless or wired internet
  • No Smoking
Exterior
  • Deck/Porch/Patio
  • BBQ-Grill
  • Outdoor Shower
Other
  • No Pets
Handicap Accessibility
  • No.
Location

Location - Wellfleet

Nearest beach: 2 miles to Ocean & walk to Gull Pond!

41.9486440 -70.0257100 0
Reviews

Guest Reviews

21 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Great stay!

We would highly recommend this rental! We have visited Cape Cod 5 times and this home was certainly one of the nicest and cleanest. They really thought of everything, from things to bring to the beach, to a very well appointed kitchen. The only thing we needed to provide were linen and towels, which frankly I prefer. the house is very cool , on several levels with lots of art and knick knacks to admire. There was lots of space for my husband and I and our 3 kids to spend time together and there was also lots of space if we needed privacy. I have to say the furniture was also very comfortable- we’ve stayed at places where the beds are uncomfortable or the sofas are kinda old, but everything here was really well thought out, clean and comfortable. And of course the best part was the outdoor shower!! And our hosts were easy to contact if there were any issues. We would absolutely stay here again. show more show less

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Owner Response:

Sue ~. We are so very happy that our home contributed to a great Wellfleet vacation...mission accomplished! I love the outdoor shower too!

Member since Sep 2018
Great family house

This is our second year renting house. Plenty of room and very well supplied kitchen right down to the Tupperware. Big dining table, good for family meals and games. Comfortable living room and plenty of fans. Would absolutely rent again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Owner Response:

Honored that you chose our home again for your Cape vacation! Glad the Cape treated you right, and, yes, you DO have to get to the beach early if you want Newcomb Hollow! Best wishes for the rest of the year and hope you can return!

Springfield, MA
Member since Jan 2007
Would not regret !!! One of the best houses.

Visited Cape Cod 4 times for the last 12 years. On my third trip, I was looking for bigger house for party of 8. And consider myself lucky once found Rebecca's house.

Here is a list of advantages you would get:-
1. Technically house is 3 stories with 4 bedrooms. Comfortably sleeps 8. But there is another floor sort of TV and children play area with 2 coaches plus some area for people who need to work and might require some privacy. 2 bathrooms.
2 First Floor is kitchen (includes everything that you have at your own house) big dining table that can accommodate 10 people if required, and huge living area with 2 couches
3. 2 bedrooms on second floor and 2 air conditioned (big plus especially if you want to take a nap in a hot day) bedrooms on 3rd floor.
4. 2 patios (the smaller one before the entrance door) and the bigger more private in the back of the house. Each has comfortable seating chairs and folding chairs that allow you take a nap in not so hot days or just enjoy some after the lunch and dining tables.
5. Picture does not reflect how secluded the house is. Very quiet in the forest area. You barely can see 2 houses through trees nearby each one at least 200 feet away . So almost no noise
6 All perks such as washing, drying (in the basement), dish washing (recently purchased as my wife said) machines, big nice (for summer houses) kitchen for your convenience. All kitchen accessories (glasses of all kinds, plates, pots ,cups and on and on and on). I have not asked Rebecca but did use even various spices that conveniently stored in separate kitchen cabinet .
7. Have not watched TV myself but children can watch TV with HBO included.

Now what I consider most important advantage.
House is located 0.5 mi from Gull Pond ( it's not a pond from my point of view -- it's a lake in terms of size. Excellent clean water) and about 1 mile or so from the one of the best beaches in Cape Cod.There is 2 more ponds. I visited just one of them called Long Pond (smaller than Gull Pond) about mile or so drive.

Rebecca is very friendly almost immediately responds to all your possible needs which most likely you would not have.

I'm planning to visit in the future and even would not have a big party still would not consider another house to rent.

I promise, you would not regret renting this house in one of the safest, quietest, and nicest towns -- Wellfleet !!!
show more show less

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Owner Response:

Thank you for your lovely review! This is your second time renting with us and that is such a compliment! And, by the way...yes, all the spices, etc, in the pantry are there for our renters to use! Best wishes for the rest of the summer!

New York, NY
Member since Jan 2016
Beautiful Home in the Trees

We had such a wonderful time staying in your home. It is a beautiful, light, and airy house. We saw wild turkeys walking by in the forest when we were sitting on the deck. It is so well located, near beach, pond and Wellfleet. It is also the best-stocked house we have ever rented which made everything easier. We would love to come back next summer.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Owner Response:

Glad you enjoyed our place, Sharon! That’s our goal! And I hope you can come back too!

Member since May 2018
Bright and open home nestled on a perfect spot in Wellfleet

Location, location, location was great! You are minutes to the beach, minutes to Wellfleet Center and minutes to the pond. If you are like our family and hit these three spots almost daily, you'll love this house. Other things we loved: the outdoor shower (with hot water), the deck (which had a table that seats 8), an outdoor grill (charcoal), and indoor dining table (that also seats 8) and a separate area for the TV watchers in the group. We love to cook dinner at home to avoid the crowds. The kitchen was well stocked with equipment (even had a pastry brush!), easy to work in and the pantry had a nice supply of spices that saves you from buying random containers of things you have at home, but forgot to bring. Finally, the house had so many beautiful windows that allowed us to enjoy the fresh Cape air! show more show less

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Owner Response:

We are so happy that you enjoyed our home! Our hope is that it is a true contributor to a wonderful stay in Wellfleet. We hope that you have an opportunity to return.

Montclair, NJ
Member since Dec 2010
Beautiful tree house!

We enjoyed our time at Rebecca's during the last week of the summer -- a great time to get away because the Cape is generally quieter. Sunday to Sunday rentals also help in avoiding the worst traffic! Rebecca was very responsive with questions we had leading up to our stay and we enjoyed interacting with her. As in the description, the house is on top of a steep hill, which is a great advantage because Gull Pond Rd seems distant. You are completely in the trees. There's a deck off both the front and the back of the house, which is nice. Lots of wildlife (birds, deer). Having 2 bathrooms is great. The shed is stocked with beach chairs and an umbrella. It's good to not have to cart that kind of thing to the Cape! An outdoor shower is also a big plus, though beware, two bedrooms can see right in ;) I'd definitely recommend Rebecca's home to anyone without mobility issues! show more show less

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: September 2017
Owner Response:

So glad you enjoyed our house. Yes, the last week of summer and September and October are a wonderful time to be in Wellfleet! We also appreciate that the house has a private "away from it all" feel to it. I also love the putdoor shower and decks and, yup, this is not a house for someone with mobility issues as I always stress! (We'll see what it's like for me with my new knee!)

With best wishes for the rest of the year!
Rebecca

New York, NY
Member since Jun 2016
A great house for our group!

We really enjoyed our stay at The House in the Trees. The location is very good... far enough away from the highway to minimize traffic noise and in close proximity to ponds and the ocean.

The outdoor shower is perfect after a day at the beach. Follow that up with a cocktail on the deck in the shade of the trees... very relaxing.

The house is exactly as described and the photos are current. The owners will warn you that the driveway is steep, parking is limited, and there are plenty of stairs. If you're OK with those things, then this is a good house to consider. show more show less

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: September 2017
Owner Response:

Ken ~
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our home! We love the location too. I will send you an email to find out what was missing in terms of cleanliness and this should always be a 5! Thank you for your review ~
Best wishes,
Rebecca

Harwinton, CT
Member since Dec 2015
Wonderful!

We had a great time at Rebecca's house! It's well designed for two families-- with each family taking a floor (each floor had a bathroom, a queen bed, and then either two twins or a double). The first floor was our main gathering area, with a wonderful open design so we could all make meals together and relax after a day at the ponds or beach. I especially appreciated that the TV was upstairs in a little viewing area (with comfortable couches, seating 4 adults), so our kids didn't just sit plugged in each night and morning (but we could still watch something when we wanted to). Instead, they would devise little plays and put them on for us after dinner while we enjoyed the beautiful sunset light in the main living area. The skylights and windows make for a beautiful, airy space.

I also appreciated the well-stocked pantry and shed (with beach chairs, noodles, umbrella).

The driveway is, as previous reviewers stated, very steep and must be approached with care. Once you get used to it, it's not a problem.

Overall, it was a wonderful stay. Rebecca is very responsive and super easy to work with-- one of the best host/landlords I've had on the Cape!
show more show less

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Owner Response:

Awwwww.....blushing!
Thank you, Liz! It means everything to us that our guests find our home contributes to a wonderful stay in wonderful Wellfleet! We love our home, and it's great that other people do, too! if we can't be there loving it, then we are happy other people can! Yeah...that driveway can be daunting initially, but like you said, that is just at first. We love watching the sunset through the back deck and the living room windows...it is beautiful! I just LOVE the image of your kids putting on plays in the evening!!!!
Thank you for your kind comments!
Best wishes,
Rebecca
show moreshow less

Amherst, MA
Member since Aug 2015
Wonderful Home and Owners

We rented for 2 weeks in July of 2017. It is a beautiful, large home in a terrific location. The amenities are as nice as advertised. I highly recommend this home for anyone interested in lovely Wellfleet.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Owner Response:

Thank you, Marty!

How nice to hear from you! I am so glad that our place helped you enjoy your stay in Wellfleet! Goal accomplished!

Best wishes,
Rebecca

Milwaukee, WI
Member since Jan 2018
Wonderful property

Our family recently stayed at the Wellfleet house and absolutely loved our experience. There was enough room for 7 adults and 2 children. The house is fully stocked and well laid out for a family vacation. We were able to park 3 cars without much trouble. The driveway is steep and there are plenty of stairs, but everyone agreed that we would like to go back next year. Thank you for sharing your house with us.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Owner Response:

Hi Mike!

So very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our home! I always like to warn people about the number of cars that will fit comfortably in the drive and I am glad I didn't scare you away cause it looks like it worked out OK for you.

Again, I am always so very happy to hear that our home contributed to a great vacation...

Hope to "see" you again next year!

Best wishes for the rest of your summer...

Rebecca and Skip.

Feura Bush, NY
Member since Nov 2016

About Rebecca Hansen

Member since:
1/6/2016
Reviews:
21 reviews
Calendar Last Updated:
9/6/2018
Welcome to our home, our House in the Trees!

As mentioned, we just bought this house (Thanksgiving 2015!) Having this home is a dream come true for me (Rebecca). I grew up on the East Coast and any summer that our family could save the money to do it, we would camp or rent a small cottage on the Cape, specifically, Wellfleet. Those summer weeks were magical! If you have never spent time on the Outer Cape before, you are in for a real treat. Because we have been renters ourselves, we are making sure our home has everything anyone would need to have a great experience.

Having spent summers on the Cape as a kid I know that it can rain so we have provided LOTS of games that can be played with kids or adults. One of the great things about this house is that it has separate areas so kids and adults can have some dedicated space. We are also working on a ''library''. You are free to take a book with you if you haven't finished it prior to leaving... just make sure to leave another book in its place, OK?

If it rains, the mahogany decks gleam the most beautiful color and all the windows keep you from feeling closed in. It is actually kinda wonderful. (but we will send ''no rain'' wishes for you cause we know you probably want to be outside!)






What is special about this property?
What we love (my husband, Skip and I) about this house is the location and the way the house is built. It is what is called Open Beam architecture and it is all the exposed wood that we love. It is made from reclaimed wood from an old Connecticut schoolhouse. The cathedral ceilings and skylights make it spacious and airy. We love sitting on the decks with a morning coffee or an afternoon drink and just looking at the trees. Because of all the trees it has a very private feeling… as if you are alone on the top of a hill with no one around (even through there are houses close by.

One of the aspects of the Cape that I love are the long, sandy driveways into the woods to reach private residences. We have found that those are romantic and beautiful to look at and to drive on from time to time but a real pain to negotiate every day so we appreciate that we have our own paved and private drive right off of Gull Pond Rd. It is less than 5 minutes to Route 6, the main artery for the Outer Cape.

We are just a couple of minutes from either Newcomb Hollow or Calhoun Hollow beach or Long Pond or Great Pond and you can walk to Gull Pond. Downtown Wellfleet and the pier are also easy access. Sunset Point is only a few minutes away. It is centrally located between Orleans and Provincetown.






What is special about your town?
If you decide to stay in our home, and have never been in the area before we will be happy to provide you with all sorts of information about the area.

Best wishes,
Rebecca & Skip