Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Ocean side, walk to Gull Pond, spacious, private.
Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 25891

4 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 4 BRs: 2 queens, 1 double, 2 twins
Beach: 2 miles to Ocean & walk to Gull Pond!
Guest Reviews: 12 reviews
Time active: 1 year, 7 months
Contact details:
  Email Rebecca Hansen
Contact Rebecca Hansen, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (818) 769-5695.
Please mention Property ID# 25891 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
12 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Wonderful property

Our family recently stayed at the Wellfleet house and absolutely loved our experience. There was enough room for 7 adults and 2 children. The house is fully stocked and well laid out for a family vacation. We were able to park 3 cars without much trouble. The driveway is steep and there are plenty of stairs, but everyone agreed that we would like to go back next year. Thank you for sharing your house with us.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Owner Response:

Hi Mike!

So very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our home! I always like to warn people about the number of cars that will fit comfortably in the drive and I am glad I didn't scare you away cause it looks like it worked out OK for you.

Again, I am always so very happy to hear that our home contributed to a great vacation...

Hope to "see" you again next year!

Best wishes for the rest of your summer...

Rebecca and Skip.

Feura Bush, NY
Member since Nov 2016
Wonderful week in Wellfleet

It's hard to believe that's it's been nearly a week since we returned. We were lucky to have a beautiful week in the 70s, with only one day of rain. The house is one of the most completely and thoughtfully supplied and furnished we have ever rented. Paper goods, herbs and spices, sun tan lotion, cleaning supplies....anything and everything we needed.

The house is located at the top of a VERY steep driveway; after parking the car one must walk up a steep set of brick steps...clearly not an appropriate choice for anyone handicapped in any way, but worked fine for us. The location is not ideal, though workable, for people who want to do a lot of biking, as getting bikes up and down the driveway is a trial.

The views of the treetops from the many windows are wonderful, and there are two large decks. I don't think this house would be suitable for a family with young children who need to run around as there are no other flat areas, but for four adults and a seven year old, it was fine.
We were not fans of the old charcoal grill, which took a long time to heat up, and emitted clouds of black smoke.

The location, a short drive from Gull Pond and Newcomb Hollow Beach is ideal, along with easy access to the pleasures of downtown Wellfleet.

All in all, a wonderful house, well located, beautifully maintained, and fully stocked. Dealing with the owner with questions before we left was great; she was always helpful.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Owner Response:

Ellen, so glad you had a wonderful week in wonderful Wellfleet! I am glad you appreciated all the details...as a previous renter I try to think of everything that would make a positive difference. Yes, the driveway is steep and there are lots of stairs but I have always been careful to review that in great detail with potential renters. Not having children, the lack of flat space had not occurred to me but I will advise potential renters about that. I am sorry you didn't enjoy the grill...we just bought it after debating between propane and charcoal. Charcoal just seemed more "Cape Codish" and easier to use for our guests rather than looking for propane canisters. All in all, it sounds like you enjoyed the house and that is our hope! Best wishes, Rebecca.

Trumbull, CT
Member since Jan 2015
Gull Pond Home

Wonderful house, and just right for our group (a family of 8, 3 generations): roomy and comfortable, with generous common spaces both indoors and out, beautifully equipped throughout with many thoughtful extra touches. We loved the ample private decks and the proximity to ponds and ocean beaches. A total success!

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Owner Response:

So happy that choosing our home helped you enjoy your vacation!
Best wishes,
Rebecca

New York, NY
Member since Jul 2017
Picturesque Gull Pond Road

Great rustic cabin among the trees--airy, open space yet country home close to beaches, parks, great restaurants, and close enough to get to Provincetown for a day or evening. Outdoor shows is a bonus.

The home was exactly as described. However, the steep driveway is challenging and really room for only one car, even though Rebecca did tell us in advance that it is a steep driveway.

Would definitely recommend this getaway!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: June 2017
Owner Response:

Thank you, Awilda! So very glad our home worked out for you and your friends! Yeah, it is a steep drive! Note to multiple car families: there IS room for 2-3 cars but 3 cars would require require planning on which car goes out first... and I don't recommend it for 3 large SUV's.... small or midsize SUVs would not have a problem.

Easton, PA
Member since Dec 2016

From note left at house:

"Thank you for a great vacation, we had such a great time and loved your house!"

Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: November 2016
Catherine C
(Homeowner Entered)

The house is spacious and very comfortable; the owners thought of everything to make our visit enjoyable. The house is secluded and nicely situated in the woods - just a short drive to the village of Wellfleet, it is also easy access to the beaches and ponds. We look forward to future visits.


Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: November 2016
Richard & Diane H
Philadelphia, PA
(Homeowner Entered)
Wonderful vacation home!

We loved our stay at this lovely house. The house is comfortable and nicely furnished. The kitchen is well supplied with just about everything you need to cook and serve family meals. We've been to Wellfleet several times and love it. This home is a quick drive from Wellfleet center and the harbor. Its proximity to Gull Pond gave us our first experience swimming in the kettle ponds, which are perfect for kids.

Rebecca was very communicative and even let us extend our trip by a day.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Owner Response:

Hi Katie ~

So glad you enjoyed your stay in Wellfleet and in our home. First time in one of the ponds! So very glad that you did! Thank you for the compliments on our house and glad you found it comfortable and had what you needed for family meals...our goal is for our home to be a wonderful base for Cape adventures as well as a good experience on it's own! Hope you can return. Best regards, Rebecca

Brooklyn, NY
Member since Sep 2016
Beautiful home on Gull Pond Road

I stayed at this house in late August with my family and friends (4 adults and 4 kids), and we absolutely loved it. This was our fifth year renting a house on the Cape, and this was our favorite house so far. We loved the spacious, well-designed layout, chalet-like interior, and huge windows with views of trees and sky. The location is great: near Gull Pond, Newcomb Hollow beach and Moby Dick's restaurant. Everything was clean and in good working order, and I would recommend this house to any group looking for a peaceful escape near Wellfleet.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Owner Response:

Maria...thank you so much for your lovely review! It makes us very happy to know that our place helped contribute to a great Wellfleet vacation. That's what we hope for. We also love the cathedral ceilings and all the windows! Again, thank you and we hope to "see" you again! Best wishes, Rebecca

Jackson Heights, NY
Member since Jan 2016
Tatyana

I have been in Wellfleet 3 times before. The house I've rented before was very good. This time, the owners did not respond in a timely manner, and I spent significant time to search, compare prices, etc., for a decent house for a party of 7. So i can compare and will point out why you would be happy to have a very nice time in Wellfleet in Rebecca's house.

1. Location of the house: 3-4 minute drive to 2 beaches and same or less to 2 ponds. (Do not understand why the call them ponds. Supposed to be lakes.)
2. Neighborhood: Wellfleet is a very quiet and safe place by itself. But some of guests could listen to loud music or sometimes behave loudly. Rebecca's (owner) house is located more than 100 + yards from 2 more houses. You can barely see them through trees. So no noise or anything will prevent you from taking midday nap.
3. House: Very decent size clean, neat 4 bedrooms. 2 on 3 third floor have air conditioners. This is a big advantage if you prefer take midday nap not on outside patio but inside. Plus could be hot weather and you might want to use it night.
There is some device in basement that dehumidifies and cool off living area on first and second floors. Generous size living areas on floors 1 and 2 floors, with 2 more couches that allow 2 more guests to sleep comfortably. So party of 10 can be accommodated with not troubles. (not positive if it is allowed).
Kitchen has all necessary supplies, plates, cups, pots, cookware in any imaginable size. Plus they're not plastic cheap ones.
4. Owner communications: Maybe i'm lucky but so far all owners in different places I vacationed were nice, good people.
There was one exception though so I would like to point out that Rebecca was always clear, timely, and accurately responded to all e-mails and my questions. Sometimes her response came within minutes.
5. Extras: Outside summer shower, grill, 2 tables on patio (not one). I can continue on and on.

Conclusion
There are some choices to rent house in Wellfleet if you book in advance (4+ month in advance) -- size wise, location, prices (I got some discount as I booked more than 6 months in advance),etc. It would not be easy (I say impossible) to do better than Rebecca's house for all the amenities, location, and price. So do not hesitate to rent it. You would never regret it.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Owner Response:

Hi Alex ~ We are SO happy that you and your friends had a great vacation in Wellfleet and that our house helped make it a good experience. Just wonderful to be able to get together with a group of friends the way you guys did! We love all the things that you mention as well.... and I am glad our place made a good impression on your friends. With best regards, Rebecca

New York, NY
Member since Jan 2016
Beautiful, comfortable vacation rental

This house in the trees high above Gull Pond Road, up a steep driveway was the lovely setting for our wonderful family vacation this year. Rebecca and Skip have decorated this four bedroom, two bath home (and grand outdoor shower) beautifully with lovely artwork and furniture in a very aesthetically designed home on two and 1/2 levels. The kitchen was very well stocked with great dishes, pots and pans, glassware and silverware and kitchen tools, and had everything one could want (including spices!) in a well equipped kitchen. The two decks with nice outdoor furniture added to the overall comfort and ambiance. . The house is conveniently located to downtown (on the ocean side of Rte.6) and Newcomb Hollow Beach and Gull Pond. Rebecca was very responsive to any questions we had and was an excellent host and homeowner. We really appreciated the little amenities, such as soap, dish detergent and dishwasher detergent, extra paper towels, toilet paper, plastic bags, etc.provided for our use. We hope to be back in the future! Lynn

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Owner Response:

Hi Lynn ~
That you had a good time and enjoyed our home and would like to return is all we could ask for! Thank you for noticing the details. We did put effort into trying to anticipate what our guests might need and enjoy. Very, very glad our home helped you have a wonderful Cape Cod vacation!
Rebecca

Keene, NH
Member since Mar 2012
Lovely place to stay!

Five of us spent a wonderful week in Wellfleet with wonderful weather, which of course helps. We are aware that this house was purchased in the fall and that we were one of the first renters, and we were excited to see how well stocked it was with things that we usually purchase on our own (eg,, toilet paper, spices, etc). Rebecca was a delight to deal with, and very responsive when a thunderstorm impacted our electricity. The outside of the house was treated for mosquitoes, and it was extremely effective! This is the first time in 20 years that we were able to eat our dinner on the outdoor deck under the trees. The outdoor shower was also wonderful. Bedrooms are on the small side, but the living space was ample and open, and two decks meant more privacy if needed. The TV was in a separate area, which we also appreciated, since we don't use it much anyway. Cable and internet worked fine. The biggest challenge is that the house is set up a long and STEEP driveway, making maneuvering cars and getting out a challenge, but we made it work.

Thanks for a great week! I wish I was still there!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Owner Response:

Debra ~ We are so happy that you enjoyed our place and that you had a great time in spite of the thunderstorm and power outage on the Cape!!! SO GLAD that the mosquito treatment is really working... wow, 1st time in 20 years!!!! Yeah.. it's a steep driveway... a challenge to put in more than 3 cars... doable but a challenge! Glad you appreciated the efforts we made to make the place comfortable! ... we REALLY want people to have a good time!

Needham Heights, MA
Member since Jan 2016
Swiss Chalet in Wellfleet

We just returned from a week at this home. The house is a hidden gem, a quiet and beautiful setting right off the road and nestled in the trees. The house itself is immaculate and well equipped. It's spacious, bright with lots of windows and very comfortable furnishings. Four lovely bedrooms, cozy couches, two bathrooms, outdoor shower, big kitchen and two nice decks, one in the front and one in the back. We especially loved the zero gravity lounge chairs. You'll have a perfect view of the sunset form both the living room and the decks. Rebecca, the landlord, is a pleasure to interact with. Five stars all around!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Owner Response:

You were our very first guests and we are so glad you enjoyed our home. Yes, those sunsets ARE wonderful to watch! Thank you for the lovely review! Best wishes, Rebecca

Medford, MA
Member since Jun 2016