Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Spacious Gambrel, Walk to Private Beach on Lewis Bay
West Yarmouth Vacation Rental - ID 25964

4 BR
2 ½ baths
Sleeps 9
Beds: 1 king, 1 queen, 1 double, 3 twins, Pack and Play crib and high chair
Beach: 3/10's mile to private beach
Guest Reviews: 15 reviews
Time active: 2 years, 9 months
Contact details:
  Email Barbara and Lou
Contact Barbara and Lou, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (845) 705-8884 (Lou before 9PM EST), (845) 489-5316 (Barbara cell), (845) 229-8394.
Please mention Property ID# 25964 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
15 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Great Vacation House!

Thank you, Lou and Barbara, for such a wonderful house! We had a great time, plenty of space for our group of 4 adults and 5 kids. The house is comfortable, clean and well equipped. We walked to the private beach every day, kids had fantastic time digging and exploring the shore during low tide or just swimming in the ocean. Great location, on a quiet street, but close to so many entertainment places and restaurants. Cape Cod Inflatable park is just a short drive (or walk!), kids had a blast!
We would be happy to return next year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Member since Jul 2014
Home Away from Home!

We had an amazing trip. This house is great! We had plenty of room with 6 adults and 2 children (ages 2 & 4) - the “Great Room” was ideal for the little ones. Inside and out, the decor was beautiful. Everything necessary to make us feel right at home was provided. The home had all the amenities we look for in a Cape trip, with the walkable private beach being a nice plus. The mid-Cape location set us up to explore all areas of Cape Cod. Barbara & Lou were always in touch,when requested, and extremely helpful. Would highly recommend this home and hope to return! Thanks!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
West Springfield, MA
Member since Sep 2018
Great Vacation Home

We rented the house for a vacation week earlier this summer. It is a fantastic house! It's spacious and beautifully kept. The master bedroom downstairs is huge, with a great bathroom. I stay with my siblings and their kids, so it's great to have a quiet spot for myself. Upstairs is a great room with a TV, a double bed and a twin that was perfect for the kids, who thought it was their party room.

If you go to the Cape and want a calm, beautiful beach, try Mayflower in Dennis. It's about a 15 minute drive from the house and is great for little kids (but get there early). Bass Hole was also great, and had some good exploring areas and parking was free. The beaches close to the house are very small and are great for finding shells -- great places to walk to in the afternoons and evenings.

The owners were really easy and helpful. I hope to rent the house again! We had a great time, and the great environment of this home contributed to that.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Arlington, MA
Member since Jan 2013
Great Family Vacation - Part II

I rented this beautiful vacation home from Barbara & Lou again this summer. Our week was absolutely great thanks to both the great weather and the great accommodations! Barbara & Lou are great to deal with and handle the necessary arrangements in a timely manner.

The house is very conveniently located and close to all the fun activities that Cape Cod has to offer; mini-golf, go karts, ice cream shops, restaurants, Cape Cod Baseball games, etc. The street is nice and quiet and my grandchildren enjoyed riding their bikes up and down the street every day. The house provided us with everything we could possibly need for the week. The kitchen is very roomy, clean & fully stocked and the gas grill just outside the back door made it convenient to put a delicious meal together. The dining area was big enough for us all and provided many hours of fun playing games/cards and wonderful conversation. The outdoor shower was nice and spacious and such a blessing after spending the day at the beach. Once again, that front porch didn't disappoint. So relaxing to sit out there and read, have your morning coffee/tea and have fun.

If you are looking for a great place to relax on Cape Cod with your family/friends, this home "hits it out of the park"! Thank you, Barbara & Lou, for allowing us to stay in your Cape home once again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Tewksbury, MA
Member since Apr 2013
A great vacation on Cape Cod

Just a note to thank you for our stay at your rental. The house was clean and had all the amenities of home. We spent our days at the beach and exploring all of the restaurants and things available for the children to do. I would highly recommend a vacation. At this lovely cottage and hope to return next year.

Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: September 2017
Fort Pierce, FL
Member since Sep 2017
Beautiful Cape home in the Perfect Location

My family spent our summer vacation at Barbara and Lou's lovely home and it was just perfect! We have 4 children ranging in age between 7 and 14 and the layout of the house was amazing. There was plenty of space for everyone and the house is beautiful. The location was great too. We were close to so many beaches and many attractions and restaurants. Barbara and Lou were friendly and so easy to plan and communicate with. We always seem to stay in different houses each year, but we would definitely love to come back to this home in the future. Nothing but great things to say about this rental.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
East Greenbush, NY
Member since Feb 2018
Great Family Vacation

Over the years, I have rented many places on the Cape for family vacations. This property is definitely one of our favorites.

As you can tell from the pictures, the house is updated and beautifully decorated. I looked forward to relaxing on the front porch and it didn't disappoint! We all spent many hours sitting on the porch reading, chatting, playing cards and watching the grandkids play in the yard. Even on the days that it rained, the porch was our go-to spot.

The house was plenty roomy enough for my extended family and spotless! We cooked dinner quite a few nights and the gas grill on the deck was a hit!! The kitchen had tons of room and was fully equipped.

The house was very convenient to Sea Gull Beach; very short drive and we did not need to go out to the main road to get there. We would walk down to Englewood Beach in the evening with the kids to play on the beach, but due to the boats/docks, we chose not to swim there.

The owners (Barbara & Lou) were great to deal with, very efficient, timely and accommodating right from the very first phone call. If you are looking for a great home to spend your vacation, I would definitely recommend this place. A great place to make wonderful memories!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Tewksbury, MA
Member since Apr 2013
Cape house

The house is even more beautiful in person. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the house to a friend. We'll be back again for sure.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Sudbury, MA
Member since Jul 2017
Great house!

We rented this house over the Labor Day weekend. We found the house as described - clean, spacious with all the necessities. The location was great! about 10min walk to the beach, very close to Route 28 with ice cream, shops, etc. Overall, we had a great time! Thank you!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Lexington, MA
Member since Jun 2008
Great week

We rented the Ricci's home for the first time this summer and everything was great. Lou & Barb were very easy to work with. We've rented 8 times in the West Yarmouth/Englewood neighborhood so really know the area. The home was exactly as the pictures showed. A very lovely home, in a great, quite neighborhood. The master bedroom was huge with a huge walk in closet. The master bath and upstairs shower stalls were custom tiled and were fantastic. We really did enjoy everything about the house. Loved sitting on the front porch in the early morning drinking tea and reading a book or at night just enjoying the evening. Would definitely recommend as a choice!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Cheshire, CT
Member since Jan 2008
Loved it!

Beautiful home, great location! Loved everything about this house. We usually rent a different house every year we visit the Cape to add a little excitement to our trip, but this by far was my favorite! We will definitely stay here again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Northborough, MA
Member since Aug 2012
Great home but Sadly disappointed in the end

The house was beautiful and in a perfect location in West Yarmouth. I thought the landlord and I had a nice correspondence and there was a mutual respect. The security deposit was not returned to us, however, because the house keepers contacted the owner and told her that we left an enormous amount of sand, some sea weed and they found some mac and cheese left on the floor. There were nine people staying in the house and 5 were children, ages 8 to 15. We spent all of Friday evening cleaning and Saturday morning. Yes, we cleaned that much on our vacation, which to some level is completely expected. We left with the feeling of content in our hearts and disappointment that we had to leave.

Despite the allegations, and let me remind you, there were no damages and there were no pictures of any of the house keeper's allegations provided to us. The owner, Barbara, stated that we would be responsible for the additional cleaning fee. Overall, if you want to enjoy a vacation without every day life minutia, this house is not worth the price for what you get, at least if you have kids. Most of our cons would have been overlooked if the house keeper and the landlord did not make an issue about sand (we are at the beach, that's where sand lives), sea weed (probably in the shower from someone's bathing suit), and some mac and cheese we missed from one of the kids (ok, that one is a little gross, but it happens). This house would better serve an over 55 years of age population.

Pro's
1. great house
2. great location

Con's
1. questionable housekeeper
2. no linens/bring your own
3. expected to do the cleaning lady's job before leaving
4. landlord does not provide any contracts electronically
5. coffee pot still had coffee and mold in it when we arrived
6. underneath couches were unclean
7. there was still food on dishes in the cabinet when we arrived



Accuracy of listing:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Owner Response:

We always appreciate feedback from our guests but were very sorry to hear of your disappointment. We try very hard to keep our home in pristine condition for all of our vacationing families to enjoy.

We have a sign posted in the house that asks our guests to call if anything is not up to snuff. Had we known of the problems you mentioned, we would have had our housekeeper come back and make things right. She has worked for us many years, and this is the first time there has been an issue. It took her and another woman an hour and a half hour to remove all the sand, food, and seaweed from the floor, rugs, and under the bed. We of course had to compensate her for her time, taking $50 out of your security deposit. Many families with young children have enjoyed this home, and we have had no other problems.

Again, we were sorry to receive this feedback, especially after the nice note you wrote to us after your vacation was over.

Somers, CT
Member since Mar 2016
Absolutely perfect!

We loved it! This home was absolutely perfect and well-maintained. The kitchen was fabulous and the eating area was big enough for the entire family (and extended family) to gather round. The bedrooms were large and the built-ins provided great storage. The master bedroom was incredible with an extremely large walk-in closet and a great bathroom too! The yard was beautifully landscaped with a large front porch, which we all enjoyed . . . in the morning with our coffee watching the babies play on the front lawn . . . and in the evening watching the bigger kids play lawn games. The listing was extremely accurate in terms of amenities, layout, etc.

The home is close to so many great beaches. We went to a different beach almost every day, and all were lots of fun. The home is in a quiet, residential neighborhood, yet convenient to Rte. 28. Our vacation was absolutely perfect and we are looking forward to going back again next year. Thanks, Lou & Rich, for sharing your summer home with us!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Member since Mar 2016
Wonderful Experience

As we get ready for our 2017 vacation, it reminded me that I never reviewed this property. Well, I can't say enough about how we enjoyed staying last year. We stayed with 4 generations of our family (my husband, kids and I, my parents, and my grandmother) and we all had a wonderful time. There was plenty of room for all of us to find our own space as well as have family time together. The kids could watch TV upstairs while the adults could relax in the living room. It was even easy to get the kids to take a bath in the whirlpool tub! We loved having our morning coffee on the front porch. What a great way to start the day.

The neighborhood was quiet and secluded, yet close to everything one could need like restaurants, shopping and especially mini-golf for the kids! The private beach was perfect on the hot days.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: March 2017
Delhi, NY
Member since Mar 2017
It's a gem!!

We have been going to Cape for many years. We have rented and worked with many properties and property owners. Let me tell you this house and owners are truly amazing. Simply put, the house is amazing, it is beautiful, cozy, and spacious at the same time. There were 8 of us staying and it was large enough that adults were enjoying quiet time as the kids were having a blast and no one was bothered. Kids had a whole wing to themselves with their own play area and tv with cable and wifi connection, plus a big hit large bunk bed.

The amenities of the house are high end -- great large baths and showers, great Jacuzzi bath. There is plenty of storage so you didn't have to walk around coolers or luggage bags and we had many. There is tons of space in back and the front for kids to play around or to have a get together. The driveway of the house can easily fit 4 cars and then some. Beach is close by and is really nice since it's well protected and has only small waves. The house has so many great features most regular homes do not even come close to having (e.g., central air and vacuum).

The owners are wonderful folks that made sure that we had nothing to worry about from simple things as toilet paper and laundry soup to hooking up their Weber grill to central gas. That sure made our stay easy without going to get propane or carry charcoal to start dinner. Lou was a phone call away to answer any concerns or questions. The local is super close to everything from Hyannis Main Street to Captains Parker's fantastic clam chowder.

Simply put, this was one of the finest vacation we have had on the Cape, and a great deal had to do with the wonderful property we stayed in. We are definitely coming back next year!

Thank you. if you read this - do not hesitate to rent this house!! It's ALL BRAND NEW and AMAZING!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Wayne, NJ
Member since Feb 2016