Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Waterfront Home At The Mouth Of Bass River

Yarmouth, On Bass River Vacation Rental - ID 2602
7 BR
4 ½ baths
Sleeps 14
Beds: 4 queens, 6 twins
Beach: 3/10 mile Bass River (Smugglers) and 3/10 mile to Yarmouth public beach
Guest Reviews: 13 reviews
Time active: 20 years, 8 months
13 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Amazing Views and Family Fun

This was our third year renting Dan's beautiful property on the Bass River with our extended family with ages ranging from 2 to 72. The house itself has old world Cape charm, enough space for our multi-generational group and amazing views to match. There is something for everyone- watching the sunrise, having drinks on the porch and watching the boats pass, walking the beach, fishing, kayaking... and the list goes on. Having two kitchens and multiple eating and entertaining spaces is definitely a plus with this big a group as well.

We look forward to returning next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Newtonville, MA
Member since Jan 2018
Wonderful week with family with great views!

We had a great stay at this beautiful waterfront home. The morning views were incredibly peaceful and we enjoyed watching wind surfers over at the beach across the river in the afternoon. We bought some floats for the river, which was really fun to hang out in the water with the family. Bring your kayaks if you have them! The house is definitely old but with lots of charm. It's huge and could sleep a big party, although we only had a small group and used a handful of the available rooms. If you have young kids I recommend bringing some baby gates!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Stoneham, MA
Member since Jul 2020
Prime Location

Summer fun is an understatement! We were wowed by the pictures and location of this property and it did not disappoint. We were a 12 person party with 6 adults and 6 kids. We enjoyed the location right on the river every day and night. From relaxing on the chaise lounger, playing games on the expansive lawn or floating, paddling or swimming in the river- we were all in heaven! The residential and private location was excellent, and there are walkable/ bikeable bakery, ice cream and food options a mile or less from the house. We were able eat dinner together sit down family style and enjoyed the use of the grill on site. There were 4 different living rooms to choose from - so we were able to relax together or separated. The outdoor shower was awesome after a day of swimming, quick cool down or instead of showering inside. We all had such a blast and look forward to planning another adventure on Cape Cod!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
Marshfield, MA
Member since Jul 2020
Surpassed our Expectations!

My extended family and I shared a terrific July week at this wonderful Bass River home. This was a last minute reservation and frankly we were not sure what to expect. However, the minute we drove down the long driveway and laid our eyes on the magnificent views we knew we had made the right decision. We honestly do not think there is a prettier view on Cape Cod. In this century old home there are quirks to be sure and the decorating in some rooms is definitely a throw back. However, it all adds to the charm of this historical home. It was wonderful having all those bedrooms, baths, and sitting areas. It is also a home where you never need to leave. We brought rafts for the kids, a kayak, canoe, and fishing gear. You can also rent these. This allowed us to partake in all the water activities right there on the property. We loved exploring the Bass River and Boaters Beach across the river. There was truly something for everyone and our ages ran from 8 yrs old to 74. Overall, we have rented many homes over the years, and this will no doubt be one of our favorites. Highly recommend a stay!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
Arlington, MA
Member since Jul 2020
Bass River Home

We had a fantastic time at Dan's "Cape House"! We walked to the beach, used the yard for kids games, and had great dinners in the dining room. This home easily held 12 people of all ages. There was plenty of room to spend time together or quiet time. The location is close to fine dining and other attractions which kept us busy every day. I would highly recommend this home and plan on going back. Great job by Dan and Gail!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Kingston, MA
Member since Feb 2016
Family Vacation

This house was amazing for the second time. We stayed here 3 years ago on our family vacation, and once again enjoyed this large house with amazing views, and the weather was perfect. Our kids enjoyed going out everyday and catching fish, crab, shrimp, etc in their nets. It's within walking distance to the beach & a great breakfast spot. We would definitely stay again...Thanks so much!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Cumming, GA
Member since Mar 2018
Wonderful Large Home and Great Location

We had a great time at this beautiful 7 bedroom home for our annual family reunion. The home had all the amenities we could possibly need. Plenty of room for everyone. The home is an updated vintage home, which retains the original charm and character. The location is perfect. Waterfront, right at the mouth of the Bass River. A very short walk to the beach as well. Dan was very easy to work with and was very responsive to any questions. Thanks, Dan ! We all enjoyed your home. Thanks for everything!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
North Scituate, RI
Member since Jun 2010
Fantastic Location

We couldn't have asked for a better location to spend our family vacation. Quintessential Cape atmosphere provided a tranquil setting with a short walk to the beach. The house was spacious, and the dual kitchens were great for preparing large family meals.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
Cheshire, CT
Member since Oct 2015
60th Birthday Celebration

If you love the Cape, you will love this location. My husband's family has been going to the Cape since they were young children, and the decision to invite his family to the Cape to celebrate his 60th birthday was an easy decision. The problem was finding a house large enough for the group. We could not have been happier. The house is full of anything you need. The river was perfect for young and old including kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, swimming, catching minnows, and the best of all, my husband, who loves to fish, could fish 24/7. The owners assisted us in finding a caterer and a company to provide towels. We appreciate Dan and Gail sharing their home with us, we now have memories that will be shared for many years.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Valatie, NY
Member since May 2009

We rented this lovely secluded home, sight unseen, and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Dan and Gail were present to welcome and acquaint us to their home.
Our large family found the house spacious, clean and comfortable, with plenty of baths and a large outside shower.
We definitely enjoyed the front porch for reading and watching the boats sail by.
We had fun swimming in the river however, would suggest water shoes, as there are shells on the bottom. We look forward to returning next season.
Booth Family

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Stratford, CT
Member since Dec 2006

We rented this lovely secluded home, sight unseen, and were pleasantly suprised when we arrived. Dan and Gail were present to welcome and acquaint us with their home. Our large family found the house spacious, clean and comfortable, with plenty of baths and a large outside shower. We enjoyed the front porch for reading and watching the boats sail by. We had fun swimming in the river however, would suggest water shoes, as there are shells on the bottom. We look forward to returning next season.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Stratford, CT
Member since Aug 2011

"Great location for a multi-family vacation ! We've been staying here for 5 years now & it's the highlight of the year. We come w/ 4 families & the very large yard & location on the river are especially accommodating for a large group. Dan & Gail are great to deal with, & we feel very fortunate to have found this spot for our annual trip."

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: August 2010
Ithaca, NY
Member since Aug 2010

Guest review from Dennis Sullivan on 7/27/2010 for a stay in July 2010. "This summer home is my stress relief. My family has been renting this vacation home for 3-4 years. I found this home on we need a vacation web site. I emailed the homeowner, Daniel Franchi, and he immediately returned my email. It was a pleasure dealing with Daniel. I looked at his photos, location, and description of the home. It doesn't do it justice. Once you drive down the long driveway and see the breath taking views of the Bass River, you know you’re in for a great vacation. It's all about the location. The home offers several bedrooms, bathrooms, space and spectacular views. Even with my large family you still have your own privacy. What I enjoyed was waking up to the ocean views from the bedroom, relaxing in the yard watching the boat traffic, walking steps to swim in the ocean and late nights sitting on the outside patio. The only problem my family had was leaving. We can't wait until next year."

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Tewksbury, MA
Member since Mar 2007