Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

The Hibiscus House at Lewis Bay Pet Friendly
West Yarmouth Vacation Rental - ID 4829

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 5
Beds: 2 BRs: 1 queen, 3 twins, Futon in LR, 3 Twins=1 + bunk bed
Beach: 4/10 mile to Colonial Acres Beach
Guest Reviews: 18 reviews
Time active: 5 years, 4 months
Contact details:
  Email Bob or Jean
Contact Bob or Jean, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 778-4557.
Please mention Property ID# 4829 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
18 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review

Title of review (from Tripadvisor) "Awesome"

House was well stocked. Owners super nice and helpful with any questions. Tons of stuff to do in the area, for kids and adults. Beach was a short walk away and owners provide wagon for all your beach gear. Yard was nice, house was clean, Very happy with this rental for the week.

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Melissa R
(Homeowner Entered)

Review title from tripadvisor "Wonderful location, charming cottage, perfect hosts!

I LOVED the week with my sister and 2 year old Bichon Frise at Hibiscus House. It was the perfect location: a 5 minute drive from my conference in Hyannis, and a short walk to the neighborhood beach. Bob was gardening when I arrived and stopped to chat, later adding yoga recommendations to the already fantastic giant reference book that he and Jean provide - guides to sights, restaurants, all that we needed! Everything was extremely well taken care of, instructions were meticulous. We met gracious, welcoming neighbors on our daily dog walks down to the beach. Plenty of room and supplies. I would absolutely book again and definitely give Bob and Jean my highest possible praise!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Tanya P
(Homeowner Entered)

From TripAdvisor Title "Amazing"

Bob and Jean were awesome! The house is adorable. It was everything we needed for a comfortable visit. It is 2 miles to the ferries that take you to the islands and wonderful restaurants. We didn't have children with us...but the area has a lot of fun things to do for kids. Bob has thought of everything for his renters. He has a guide book that we used often. We had our dog with us and it worked out great!!! We cannot wait to visit again.

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Gayle B
Crown Point, Indiana
(Homeowner Entered)

From Airbnb: We had a great stay at the Hibiscus House! We brought our dogs and we loved being able to walk down the quiet road to the beach. The cottage is charming, cute and well appointed and was a perfect fit for us. Rob and Jean were super flexible and hospitable and easy to commuicate with. We wish our visit could have been longer and we look forward to booking with them again.
Since we were down there for many things including a road race, they left us gives of health treats and electrolytes which were such a nice gesture. We would definitely recommend booking with Rob and Jean and staying here.

Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Jenniffer B
(Homeowner Entered)
Well maintained house, lovely setting

We stayed here during a unusual week of oppressive humidity, and we were grateful for the cool breezes the backyard offered and the ac in the house. The owners were attentive and thoughtful, and you will know that from the very clean and well cared-for house. It's a beautiful neighborhood that is very quiet with little auto traffic and lots of people walking and enjoying the outdoors. Because of the way the lot is situated, you'll find a lot of privacy here too. There are no houses behind the rental, one house on one side, with a quiet owner, and a dirt lane on the other side of the house, before the next house.

It was close to anything you need, including a very short walk to the bagel and coffee shop, which served nice quality food and had friendly service.

Several people wrote of the backyard wildlife, and as a homeowner with a large yard and wildlife activity, I thought that wouldn't matter to me. I was wrong! The birds were very active at the feeder and we really enjoyed watching them close up. We had a mama duck and 6 ducklings parade through the backyard a couple of times, and several bunnies all day long. Squirrels stealing fallen bird food were cute, too.

While the house is charming, it is also up to date. The walls are drywall and painted, with closed ceilings, finished wood floors, an up-to-date bathroom, and everything you need in the kitchen. Often summer rentals have wood walls or open beams but that is not the case here. It is a year-round house, with beachy charm. It was also very nice to have use of the washer and dryer in the basement.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Southbury, CT
Member since Mar 2012

We love the Cape in October - no crowds and our dog Morgen loves being able to swim and run on the beach. Hibiscus house was incredibly comfortable for us just a cute little place, and felt very relaxing.
We haven't been to the Cape in 12 years but we're determined to make this a great vacation.
Thanks so much! Mary, David, B & Jake + Jeff and of course Morgen

(note: entered from our 2012 guest journal at the house)

Date of Stay: October 2012
Date Submitted: February 2013
David and Mary H
New Fairfield, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Bob & Jean,
Its Friday already! :( The week flew by but we had a great week. Saw the 100 year old weeping beech tree in Yarmouth. It was incredible! Great sunsets this week. Caught a breathtaking one at Chatham light!
Bluesfest concert at Melody Tent was cool! Brought us back to our 70's days :) Great beach weather! Thanks again for our 8th week at the house. Carrie and John H.
p.s. Thank you for trouble shooting the internet. :)

(note: entered from our 2012 guest journal at the house.)

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: February 2013
John & Carrie H
Fitchburg, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Dear Jean and Bob,
Thanks for letting us enjoy the place for a week. Its has been a bliss and total recovery from our hectic week in NYC.
The weather was great. We enjoyed the beech, Sandy Pond and went whale watching to Provincetown.
But most of all we enjoyed the backyard, the birds, rabbits and squirrels were lovely. We even saw a humming bird this morning. We don't have those in Finland!
Thanks again and have a lovely Summer!
Mika & family, from Espoo Finland.

(note: entered from our 2012 guest journal at the house.)

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: February 2013
Mika P
Espoo, Finland
(Homeowner Entered)

Bob & Jean,
Here we are again! This is our fourth visit in 8 years. Do we need to say we love it here!
Thanks for everything. Weather was just lovely and the Cape had more people here than usual at this time of year. We will be back soon. See you then. Rob & Khris C. Hellertown PA
(note: entered from our 2011 guest journal at the house)

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: February 2013
Rob & Khris C
Hellertown, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

We arrived the day after Hurricane Irene left. The weather was gorgeous and the sea was active and fierce. The cottage was such a relaxing place to call home as we spent our days at the National seashore and kayaking thru the salt marshes in Nauset.
Never have I been in more need of some time away and as always Cape Cod delivered. If we didn't force them I sure the dogs would choose to stay.
I am thankful my long time best friend found this place.
Eileen - New Haven CT Kristen - Providence RI
(note: entered from our 2011 guest journal at the house)

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: February 2013
Eileen & Kristen M
Providence, RI
(Homeowner Entered)

Bob & Jean,
Thank you so much for this beautiful, peaceful and very clean house we got to stay in this week. The children loved finding all of the cute "treasures" around the house. Emma loved the angel and said good night to it the other night! The hammock was a hit with the kids (and my husband) and the fooz-ball, kite and sand toys were loads of fun to play with as well.
We really enjoyed our stay here and we will be taking lots of fun memories home with us.
Take care. Sara, Ted, TJ, Olivia, Emma
(note: entered from 2011 guest journal at the house)

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: February 2013
Sara and Ted D
Natick, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Dear Bob and Jean,
I feel very blessed to have spent the week here at the cottage on the Cape. My husband has been deployed to Kuwait since September and this was a much needed retreat for me! I spent the week here with my sister-in-law here and a wonderful girls time was enjoyed. We hiked along the trails and visited Provincetown and Nantucket. We spent time in your relaxing backyard enjoying yard games, the wildlife and just chatting. I've lived in NH for 15 years now and this was only my 2cnd time to the Cape. I can't wait to visit again with my husband Jim.
Thank you for such a lovely time! Lisa C Bow NH
(note: entered from 2011 guest journal)

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: February 2013
Lias C
Bow, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

Bob & Jean,
We would like to thank you for one of the best vacation weeks. Your home was inviting and warm. All of your special touches made our stay perfect. Our three daughters loved the bunk beds and the hammock and the bunnies that visited the backyard everyday. We are leaving relaxed and rested thanks to your home. We have loved every minute of our stay.
We hope to stay again on our next visit to the Cape. All the best- Stacey, Chris, Kaileah, Meghan and Emma-Syracuse NY

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: February 2013
Chris & Stacey D
Syracuse, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Bob & Jean,
Thanks so much for making us feel so at home this week. We loved the house, the great walk to the beach, and especially the backyard. We enjoyed coffee every morning listening to the birds & even seeing the occasional bunny! We really needed this vacation, and so we appreciate all of your efforts to make the house so fabulous and comfortable. Thanks again, Melissa D.

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: February 2013
Melissa D
Providence, RI
(Homeowner Entered)

Dear Bob & Jean,
Thanks to you and all the special touches we totally enjoyed the accommodations at "Hibiscus Cottage." The mild December weather was fantastic!
Your thoughtful way was demonstrated throughout the cottage with decor for Christmas and we loved it! It was truly one of our nicest holidays. We were 15-20 min from family but int the "Hyannis Hub for great shopping. All the best to you in 2008 Frank and Cathy C.

Date of Stay: December 2007
Date Submitted: February 2013
Frank and Cathy C
Niagra Falls, Ontario, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you both for a wonderful retreat from the real world. We have been so lucky to spend our family vacation here 3 years running and hope to make it 4 next year. Once again the Hibiscus house is like coming home.
Marie, Felix, Felix, Joey & Faith

(Note: from guest journal 2006)

Date of Stay: August 2006
Date Submitted: February 2013
Marie & Felix L
Queens, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Bob and Jean,
Thank you so much for providing such a beautiful cottage for our visit to the Cape. After long days @ the beaches, a trip to Provincetown & Martha's Vineyard it was wonderful to relax and take advantage of the "outdoor shower". After all there are not to many in Minnesota (for obvious climate reasons)
It is also the little details, beach chairs, the umbrella, the cooler, directions to the DVD and VCR..etc..etc.
We wish you the best & would not hesitate for a minute to recommend the Hibiscus House.
Thank you so much, G.S., A.J., B. & B. L.
(note: from 2003 guest journal)

Date of Stay: August 2003
Date Submitted: February 2013
Garen S
Twin Cities, Minnesota
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a lovely week-this was our first visit to Cape Cod. We traveled to a number of different beaches around the Cape - Nauset Beach was our favorite-we loved the waves.
The cottage was very homey-the children enjoyed the backyard and the hammock.
Sincerely, J.S.
(Note: from 2003 guest journal)

Date of Stay: July 2003
Date Submitted: February 2013
John S
Ottawa, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)