Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

On Upper Chilmark Pond overlooking Lucy Vincent Beach

Chilmark, off South Rd. adjace Vacation Rental - ID 13169
2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 4
Beds: 1 queen, 2 twins
Beach: See below. Lucy Vincent Beach and 100 yards to dock, 6 min. paddle to beach.
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 13 years, 6 months
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Vineyard at its finest

This sweet cottage is all one needs to have the most amazing respite on island. John and Caroline are delightful and communicative hosts. The place was immaculate upon arrival. There are no better views on island. Beach access a breeze via kayak or car. Lovely yard and gorgeous outdoor shower with another prized view. Easy bike ride or drive to stores and markets. Super fireplace on chilly evening. The cottage is incredibly well appointed. We want for nothing. Easy living—all day long. Lovely breezes and ceiling fans for slightly warmer days. We will be back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: June 2020
Wayland, MA
Member since Jun 2020
Magical Beach Cottage

We thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay at this classic beach cottage in a near perfect setting. With tons of privacy and ambiance all the way around, it far exceeded our expectations. Alex the house keeper, and the owners John and Caroline could not have been easier to work with and went out of their way to be sure all was great!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: June 2018
Owner Response:

Thank you, Tom. We're so glad you both enjoyed your stay at this very special spot. Thanks also for leaving it so neat and clean. Do come back!

Westlake Village, CA
Member since Jun 2018
The Only Way to do Martha's Vineyard

My wife & I had such a wonderful, relaxing & rejuvenating time at the Chilmark Cottage. The photos posted on line don't do justice to the beautiful location & view that the house enjoys (not that it's the owner's fault - I'm not sure anyone could really take a picture that does it justice). Our trip was a bit last-minute, and we didn't really know what we were getting ourselves into with a trip to MV, but we will definitely be returning in the near future. The owner was extremely kind and helpful, quick to respond to questions and concerns. If you're looking for a place with easy access to the beach, a great view, and seclusion away from the "crowds," this this the place! We'll definitely be returning next year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Member since Jun 2016
Great Spot

Perfect location. House is wonderfully maintained and perfect for a family of four. The owners John and Caroline were excellent hosts and wonderful to deal with in every way.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Los Angeles, CA
Member since Mar 2008
Perfect getaway on the Vineyard

This guest house is a perfect spot to get away. Ideal for a couple. It's down island so you're 20 minutes away from the towns. But it feels much more remote. You have a beautiful pond and ocean beyond to look out on. Easy beach access. There were 50 swans in the pond when we arrived. There are several great restaurants nearby in season. It's a comfortable, clean, neat and relaxing spot to get away. We've stayed here 4 or 5 times and never tire of it.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Owner Response:

Thank you, Roy....but a slight correction. The house is UP island. We look forward to your return.

John and Caroline Moore

Atlanta, GA
Member since Jul 2016
A Hidden Gem

I am somewhat reluctant to let others know about this wonderful cottage. It has everything one could want for a relaxing vacation. Its views of the tidal pond and the ocean beyond provide a beautiful view with gorgeous sunsets furthering the beauty of the setting. There is nothing more relaxing and enjoyable than sitting on the deck watching the ocean as the sun sets. As others have mentioned, the cottage is well designed and beautifully constructed with attention to detail and the wood burning fireplace takes the chill off in the evening. John and Caroline are wonderful hosts and make you immediately feel at home. They have provided everything you could possibly need. We look forward to returning.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2015
Date Submitted: March 2016
Member since Sep 2015
At peace with nature

We wish we could own the property--that's how much we like it. If you love Lucy Vincent Beach and if you have mobility issues, this is the only place to stay. The pond is at your doorstep, and you are guaranteed a kayak any time you want. The paddle is just a few minutes, and you are *right there* without all of the parking and dragging of items...it eliminates so much walking that my elder husband is game for the beach, suddenly.

As to the accommodations: ample deck. Ample yard. Outdoor shower (and indoor). Full kitchen. Extra bedroom for guests. Laundry. And a great, easy living space that features one the greatest views on the island (IMHO).

We like that there is no A/C. The ceiling fans are perfect. Your neighbors are horses, geese and rabbits.

It is very quiet and private. It abuts the Sheep Farm and is close to the restaurants we like and the Library and the Chilmark Store and Menemsha. The
Farmer's Market and Up Island Cronigs and State Road are all quick excursions.

Most importantly, you don't spend your vacation time sitting in traffic, jostling for parking, waiting in lines or otherwise surrounded by every other vacationer costumed in logos navigating their way through the same hassles of an overwhelmed summer "hot spot." We find they are much better enjoyed on occasions we seek them out by going to one of the towns for the movies or a bar. Kind of a control freak's vacation paradise, but our time off is so short and we always arrive with much stress to shake off. It's best to get right down to it and unplug.

My husband has been extremely impressed with how responsive the owner is when any issue arises.

Our favorite thing to do at night there is to have drinks after supper and await the return of the geese to the pond. They sleep there overnight, but are elsewhere all day. When they come back to sleep en mass, it's quite an impressive production.

The landscape looms close in our memory.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Owner Response:

Many thanks for your wonderful review, Celeste, especially your coverage of why this is such a special spot on the Island.

We certainly regret cleanliness was only four stars. We did have a couple of conversations with our cleaner this summer about her being stretched too thin. The fact it continued during your stay and one other leads us to line up another cleaner for next year.

Cambridge, MA
Member since Sep 2015
Quintessential Chilmark

We have rented this house for several years now, and have grown to love the spectacular views and calming nature of the property. The porch provides an ideal setting for family dinners overlooking the pond and ocean, while the canoes and kayaks provide a quick and fun escape to the beach. The house is both well built (we've been through one hurricane there) and well-maintained, with plenty of room for our family of four, as well as an additional room (and laundry) downstairs for those with more guests.

The owners could not be more gracious, and have gone out of their way to make each our vacations special, while the close proximity to Chilmark, Menemsha and West Tisbury provides multiple options for both great food and local culture. In short, this home provides an idyllic setting for those looking for a place to relax in Chilmark, and we look forward to many more summers there in the years ahead.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: November 2013
New York, NY
Member since Nov 2013
The Guest House

This is the most relaxing location on the Island. Sitting on the deck looking out at the ocean and pond with a beverage is worth coming time and time again. We have been renting for three years and enjoy it more each year. Caroline and John are great landlords.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: November 2013
Duxbury, MA
Member since Nov 2012
Chilmark Paradise

We have had the pleasure of renting this property for the past four years. It is by far our family's favorite week of the year. The cottage has been perfect for our young family of five. Our favorite features are the vaulted ceilings & open floor plan, the fantastic unobstructed ocean views - including from the outdoor shower, the fantastic deck with built-in benches and large yard, and the wood burning fireplace (great for the cooler off-season evenings). It is a perfect vacation spot as its tranquil and private setting really encourages you to just relax and enjoy the beauty of Chilmark. We look forward to returning each year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Winchester, MA
Member since Aug 2007
quintessential Chilmark beauty

From the moment you set foot on this property, you relax and your vacation begins. From the back deck looking out across the pond to the sea, you are immersed in this amazing landscape. Sitting out here in the morning sunshine is a wonderful way to start your day, made more wonderful knowing that just footsteps down the trail from the back yard awaits your kayak/ canoe (property includes 2 Kayaks and 1 canoe) to take you across the pond to Lucy Vincent Beach.
We are returning to this house for our 6th summer with our boys 21 and 17. They have spent time every summer of their lives on MV but this property, from day one, has been the most endearing,

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: June 2013
Brooklyn, NY
Member since Jun 2013