Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Breathtaking Menemsha Views of Docks& Water Sunsets
Chilmark, Menemsha Vacation Rental - ID 13297

3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 6
Beds: 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins, sofabed in l.r.+sleepling loft
Beach: 2/10 mile to Menemsha Public Beach and 2.8 miles to Lucy Vincent Beach
Guest Reviews: 12 reviews
Time active: 12 years, 7 months
Contact details:
  Email Nathaniel
Contact Nathaniel, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (917) 862-6114.
Please mention Property ID# 13297 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
12 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Wonderful Martha's Vineyard Cottage

We had a wonderful, relaxing, vacation at this charming and Martha's Vineyard cottage in Chilmark. The cottage was quaint, private and clean. The kitchen was updated and well stocked with any appliance and gadget you could possibly need. The owner was super helpful and a dream to work with. And the views were SPECTACULAR!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2019
Date Submitted: October 2019
Member since Nov 2018
Magical Menemsha

We had a magical week at the cottage. The views were amazing. The accommodations were comfortable and had everything we could possibly want. The views could not have been better. The owner was always helpful.

We will be back!

Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: June 2019
Owner Response:

Many thanks for the kind review!

Rockford, IL
Member since Jun 2007
Perfection

This was our second summer staying in this lovely picturesque home in Menemsha. I would like to rent it every Summer for the rest of my life. The house is perfect with nightly sunsets to view over dinner. I take a daily morning walk with my daughters down the beach path and over to the quaint fishing village. This is the perfect place to completely relax with family and friends away from the hustle of everyday life in the city. We purchase fresh fish from the market on the dock and barbeque it most nights. Lucy Vincent Beach is a less than 5 min drive from the house and absolutely amazing. The home has all the comforts and supplies one would expect. My daughters enjoyed flying kites in the yard and down at the beach.

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: June 2017
North Hampton, NH
Member since Jun 2017
Perfect getaway

We have stayed twice at this amazing property, once in October 2016 and again in June 2017. We initially came for the panoramic view from the deck, which is spectacular at sunset and dreamily calming the rest of the day. It was the epicenter of our trip: we lounged there with our coffee in the morning, enjoyed lobster at sunset, and gazed up at the stars at night. This deck is now one of my favorite places in the whole world!

Inside, the house itself is simply charming — full of warmth and character — and impeccably clean and well stocked. We were lulled to sleep by the sound of the buoy in Menemsha Harbor.

I love the location of this house. I’ve been coming to Martha’s Vineyard for 20 years, staying mostly in Vineyard Haven, so exploring the quieter side of the island is a treat. Two musts in Menemsha village are The Bite (a fried seafood shack) and lobsters at Larsen’s, which you can bring home or have cooked there. (The house has all the equipment you need for boiling and picking lobsters, if you are so inclined.) Nearby is a wonderful art gallery, the Granary. And two of the island’s best restaurants are a short drive: State Road and Chilmark Tavern.

The owner is great — available by phone and email if you need anything.

We will definitely be back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Marlborough, MA
Member since Jul 2017
Wonderful Place!

We stayed at this wonderful house last year with our young adult sons, and we loved it so much that we returned for another stay this year! The sunset views are spectacular. We made a habit of cocktails on the deck and then dinners of yummy seafood from Larsen's at the comfortable oak table. Lucy Vincent Beach is just a quick car or bike ride away. Morning yoga on the spacious deck was another highlight. Outstanding!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Albany, NY
Member since Jul 2017
Tranquility with spectacular ocean view

A unique experience in a cookie cutter world. A step back in time. A real home away from home & its owner is extremely hospitable & helps in any way he can to make your stay top notch. We couldn't wait to return to the house after our daily exploration of the island. The house is tucked away on a narrow, curving lane. Expansive windows on the ocean side give you ocean views & plenty of natural light from anywhere in the living area of the house. Large porch with 2 lounge chairs & table, unobstructed views of the coastline (although there are houses nearby, they are invisible because of the thick foliage). This was our favorite place to read, unwind & have an afternoon cocktail (gorgeous sunsets!) The kitchen is well equipped & clean but note there is no microwave.

FAVORITE MEMORIES--Open windows at night. Lulled to sleep with the sound of ocean, the dong of the buoy & occasional fog horn. Picking up dinner at Larsens Fish Market in Menemsha village & walking along deserted beach with Shannon(our dog). Path to beach behind house or drive there in 5 mins. We also took Shannon on walks along the lane. Very rarely did we see anyone. Middle Road-Pastoral drive with changing fall colors and stone walls transported us back to Britain & Ireland. Granary Gallery-Surprise was the quality of the art. Even if you're not buying worth seeing. Black Dog Shop-we couldn't resist buying a few souvenirs

Only one criticism-Size & positioning of TV for viewing.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: November 2016
Parker, CO
Member since Nov 2016
A Delightful Home with Dazzling Views

Nicely nestled in the woods with stunning views from every room and a spectacular sunset deck that will knock your flip flops off, you will find it very difficult to ever venture far from this impeccably finished homestead. It’s hard to imagine a more idyllic location or a more charming and tasteful “back to basics“ island retreat - replete with outdoor shower. Hit the trail and stroll down to the beach for an afternoon swim or hop on a bike and pedal down the road to Menemsha for seafood right off the boat. Fine restaurants, general stores, the farmers market - everything is within easy reach. With hosts who attend to every detail, we hope to visit again for a third year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Member since Jul 2015
The perfect vacation at the perfect house with amazing views

Had a wonderful vacation. Loved the view and the house. I hated to leave each day. Very relaxing.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Rye Beach, NH
Member since Jul 2016
Unbelievable sunset and ocean views

My family has stayed here three times, and all of the reviews are completely accurate. The views are amazing. The cottage has everything you need. The location is great and the property is very secluded. The owners are so nice and enjoyable to deal with. If you're looking for someplace fancy, this isn't it. If you're looking for a great location with tons of character, there isn't any place better.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Sudbury, MA
Member since Jan 2012
Idyllic MVY Experience

I cannot say enough nice things about this lovely home. The location is, bar none, the best on the island, and the sunsets are the highlight of every day. We were there late in season, and the roaring fires just added to the lovely ambiance. The home is dripping in charm, and you feel like you can really put your feet up and relax, after an outdoor shower or a walk down the to beach. I hope to go back year after year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Member since Apr 2009
Perfect Vineyard Retreat!

The property was exactly what we dreamed of, a quintessential Vineyard up island house. Gorgeous sunset views, a quick walk down to the beach, near wonderful restaurants. But with a secluded, private feel. Five of us fit comfortably in the three bedrooms. And we had an extra person come over the weekend who used the sleeping loft.

It's a summer camp, beautifully maintained, full of charm and personality. We loved the outdoor shower, the comfy couches, the fireplace. Would go back any time.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Brooklyn, NY
Member since Oct 2012
Amazing stay

I came to this Menemsha house with my family and loved my stay. The place could not be better located. Great views, calm relaxing atmosphere. Super convenient for a stroll to Menemsha. The house is lovely, has a classic feel and is incredibly comfortable. All in all my best experience in renting.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Owner Response:

Terrific, thanks for the generous comments & come again.

New York, NY
Member since Oct 2012