Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Summer cottage w/spectacular views & access to private beach

Chilmark, Martha's Vineyard Vacation Rental - ID 34003
5 BR
3 baths
Sleeps 10
Beds: 3 queens, 4 twins
Beach: 2/10 mile to private beach on Menemsha Pond
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 1 month
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Two Weeks in Paradise

I recently stayed at this property with a group of friends and had the perfect vacation getaway. The house itself provides so many wonderful features: open kitchen and social space, private rooms and bathrooms, a wood burning stove, beach supplies and more. For me, the main highlights of the home were the areas I started and finished most days. Waking up in nature in the outdoor shower (you'll want one at your home afterwards) and catching the ultimate sunsets and star showers from the multilevel back porch. The house is walking distance to a private beach on Menemsha pond perfect for swimming, kayaking and clamming. If you're looking for waves, some of the best sandy beaches on the island are within 3-5 minute drives. There's a lot to explore on this end of the island from the Gay Head lighthouse and Cliffs to Menemsha harbor's fish markets on bike, foot or by car. Speaking of markets, there are also wonderful farm stands (some open 24 hrs) close by: Beetlebung, Mermaid Farm and Grey Barn for fresh meat, dairy and produce. You can also get to the Chilmark Store and 7a for small groceries and delicious sandwiches. We can't wait to return in the future to make more memories at this property which truly serves as the ideal home base for the perfect Vineyard vacation.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Austin, TX
Member since Sep 2020

A great MV beach house .We spent 3 weeks there and could not have had a better located home and the view is great !!!
Not only did my family have a great summer vacation on MV; we also made friends with the owners. They were very helpful and attentive to making sure our vacation was the best it could be.
If you like incredible views, access to Menemsha Pond, sailing, swimming, paddle boarding, and enjoying the Vineyard's beautiful sunsets from your deck, this house is perfect.

Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
R K
Brooklyn, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

5/5
Outstanding view from an incredible deck
The view across Memensha Pond from the deck is beautiful all day long, but particularly spectacular at sunset. The deck stretches across the width of the back of the house, with more than enough space for a large group. It's a short walk to the small beach on the Pond, great for kids and when you don't want to spend a lot of time getting to one of the ocean beaches. The house itself is beach house funky, serviceable but not upscale. Since we were on a beach vacation, it fit our needs comfortably.
08/30/2019 at 12:17 AM

Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: September 2020
Michael W
(Homeowner Entered)

4/5
Amazing deck and location
This was our second trip to this house. The location is ideal if you want to escape the chaos of down Island. The deck is incredible with amazing views of Menemsha Pond and the ocean . Short walk to a nice beach on the pond that is perfect for swimming. We had magical days on Lucy Vincent Beach and bringing our dog to Squibnocket Beach before 9am.
07/31/2019 at 4:39 PM

Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: September 2020
Member since Sep 2020

5/5
Deck of Dreams
We basked in the sunshine on the deck. It's a magical place to watch the birds, wind and water. The location is private, quiet and relaxing. The outdoor shower was amazing once we got the right temp. We would definitely go back.
05/31/2019 at 11:37 PM

Date of Stay: May 2019
Date Submitted: September 2020
Sarah W
(Homeowner Entered)

4/5
Good time in quiet private home with family.
Private,peace and quiet, sweet view, spacious, and had everything a family needs to cook and play.
09/18/2018 at 1:00 PM

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: September 2020
William P
(Homeowner Entered)

5/5
Can't beat this view!
Outstanding water views from large deck and access to a great private beach. Spacious kitchen, great to cook in, and comfy home with plenty of space. Spacious yard with plenty of room to play and beautiful planting's. We really enjoyed Chilmark from this special home. Thank you!
09/15/2018 at 6:08 PM

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: September 2020
Steve B
(Homeowner Entered)

5/5
Lovely house with stunning pond views
My husband and I are and our two daughters together with another family with two kids spent a wonderful week in this house at the end of July. The house is extremely welcoming. It is cozy, well equipped and dominated by the magnificent terrace and the stunning views that one can enjoy at all hours of the day. The kitchen is in great shape -- we cooked and served big feasts and loved watching the sunset with our drinks on the porch every evening. Our kids loved the downstairs basement/tv room. The location is perfect for up island lovers -- the private beach on the pond is pure magic (especially with kids and dogs) and you are a very short drive from many wonderful beaches (Lucy Vincent, Squibnocket). The ever charming Chilmark general store is a few minutes drive away as are Menemsha and Aquinnah. The owners couldn't be friendlier or more accommodating. We would happily rent from them again.

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2020
Member since Sep 2020

4/5
The deck of dreams!
4 adults, 3 kids, and 1 dog had an incredible week on Chockers Lane. Besides one trip down island to pick folks up at the ferry, we never left this up island paradise. The deck is definitely the highlight, overlooking gorgeous Menemsha Pond. It is just a short walk down a dirt road to reach a great little beach on the pond which is perfect for long swims or playing with little ones. We had beach stickers for Lucy Vincent and Squibnocket and loved both with some epic body surfing days and not many people. The house was perfect for our needs. A great open kitchen/living room where we spent most of our time. The bedrooms are not fancy but are certainly nice enough. We definitely plan to go back to this magical spot.
08/09/2018 at 5:31 PM

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: September 2020
Rob E
(Homeowner Entered)

5/5
Unbelievable Views with a Great Beach!
I stayed here with my father and my children and grandchildren ages 6 months - 82 yrs in age! It was perfect for us all. The views are breathtaking and the quick walk to the private beach super...sometimes we threw the "gear" in the truck for the daily dropoff. Swimming and paddleboard heaven for sure. The house was setup great for families with the downstairs family room with twin beds in it a great idea...liked the tv was down there too. Everything you need is here from bath towels, beach towels, linens ( nice things too) and it had a very well set up kitchen. The owner was a doll to work with. Chilmark is up island but great for families. Susan O.
07/13/2017 at 6:37 PM

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: September 2020
Susan O
(Homeowner Entered)

5/5
thanks for a great escape!
we stayed for two weeks this past summer at the end of June ..we are a family of 6 and there was plenty of room for all. the deck is incredible!!!! the beach a short walk from the house was idyllic and peaceful and the kids loved it! We love Chilmark and this house is ideally situated to go to menemsha, aquinnah and the wonderful west tisbury markets. Hope to see you again next summer!!
09/18/2015 at 6:33 PM

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: September 2020
Miriam L
(Homeowner Entered)