Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Captain Morse House - Edgartown Village Living at its Finest
Edgartown Vacation Rental - ID 18084

11 BR
7 baths
Sleeps 23
Beds: 11 BRs: 2 kings, 3 queens, 9 twins, 1 Sofa Bed
Beach: 2 blocks to Lighthouse Beach, 3 to Fuller St Beach
Guest Reviews: 17 reviews
Time active: 2 years, 5 months
Contact details:
  Email Platt Johnson
Contact Platt Johnson, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (888) 278-0327 (Toll Free), (401) 575-0328 (Cell).
Please mention Property ID# 18084 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
17 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Very nice property

This property was a great solution for our annual family vacation of 17 people. We had always wanted to vacation on Martha's Vineyard. The property is meticulously maintained and the location could not be any better - just a couple of short blocks from downtown. It gave our teenage kids great independence for their shopping and dining needs. A couple of very minor requests were handled very promptly by the owner. We highly recommend this property.

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Allen, TX
Member since Jul 2017
Stunning property

We couldn't have asked for a better rental home in Edgartown. Beautiful bedrooms. Fantastic porch. In the center of everything. Bikes to use. Walking distance to coffee shops and restaurants. We used this as home base for my daughter's wedding. Entire family stayed there.
Bride and bridesmaids got ready and took fabulous pictures both inside, on the porch, and in the backyard. Wedding was at the Harbor View Hotel. This house was a perfect gathering spot. Owner was extremely helpful and accommodating prior to arrival.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: June 2017
Denton, TX
Member since Jun 2017
Captain Morse House, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA

We have just spent a wonderful week at the Captain Morse House. Twenty six members of our family celebrating my husband’s birthday. The house is very spacious and confortable, the furniture is beautifully kept and the kitchen is well stocked with all one can require for such a big crowd. Platt (the owner) was very helpful and always available to help if needed.

We can warmly recommend a vacation in this house for a large gathering.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: June 2017
Fort Myers, FL
Member since Jun 2017
Exceeded lofty expectations

My family and I stayed at Captain Morse House for Thanksgiving this year. We were 11 adults and 4 children (1--13). We had planned this trip for quite some time and were holding some very high expectations. The property and the manager exceeded them all. The house is extremely comfortable and well-appointed. The area was perfect for us -- walk to bars, restaurants, attractions. We prepared Thanksgiving dinner at the house and the kitchens (2) are incredibly equipped. We lacked nothing. Platt Johnson was super responsive to a number of questions we had both before and after our arrival. Overall, our stay was a treasure that we all will remember for the rest of our lives. CMH is the bomb!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: November 2016
Date Submitted: December 2016
Omaha, NE
Member since Dec 2016
A Historic Home Perfectly Updated for a Modern Visit

My husband and I rented this home for our closest friends and extended family members to stay during our wedding on the Vineyard this October. Although we are very familiar with the island, the vast majority of our guests had never been before, and the Captain Morse House offered a perfect location, very comfortable accommodations, and so much MV history for the group. The house is incredibly spacious and has numerous bathrooms and areas to spend time, while still offering plenty of space for groups looking to relax -- we had a rainy weekend and our guests loved solving puzzles in the living room and taking advantage of several of the DVDs provided as well. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and all guests said the rooms and beds were very comfortable. The location cannot be beat - a parking space is available but there is not a need for a car if you're looking to take advantage of all Edgartown has to offer.

We would highly recommend the property for anyone looking for a relaxing group stay in one of the most historic, well-maintained homes on the island. The owner was very responsive as well - the weekend was cooler than the previous week so we requested a temperature adjustment (it was controlled remotely). He immediately adjusted the thermostat for us and provided a quick text update as well. The house is a remarkable property and all of our guests left with very fond memories.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Palo Alto, CA
Member since Oct 2016
Beautiful Historic Property - Well Stocked and Friendly Service

We stayed here for my wedding weekend and hosted our rehearsal dinner in the backyard. The house is incredible, well stocked with virtually all the amenities of a hotel and then some (everything from extra sheets, soap, shampoo, etc., to a leaf blower we used to prepare for our dinner outside. Only "downside" was that every friend and family member in town wanted a tour of the house! It oozes with charm and history. Everything we needed to know about the house beforehand was evident if you read the listing and view the photos. The owner was friendly and prompt with communication. We would definitely recommend the Captain Morse House to a friend.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Arlington, VA
Member since Sep 2016
Stately Historic Home on prestigious North Water Street

Truly superb home with all the amenities and ideally located. It was a brief ten minute walk to fine dining and shops in Edgartown.

Staying in this elegant home was an experience in itself. It had all the finery and grandeur of a home of its significance but still felt warm and cozy for family gatherings.

Although the home is ideally suited for a family reunion with many adult couples and children in tow, my four sisters and our mother (who requires a wheel chair ) never felt lost in this grand home. Highly recommend!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Member since Sep 2016
Lovely family vacation

We had a lovely family vacation in the house. We were a group of 16 and had plenty of room. The kids enjoyed the lawn and front porch. We all enjoyed having different family/living rooms to gather in or separate to. It was convenient to have 2 kitchens. The house was very well stocked with towels, cookware, dishes, beach chairs, etc. The bicycles were a great bonus, and one of our favorite activities was biking around. Excellent location. It was lovely to be able to stroll downtown for ice cream or fudge whenever we wanted. The owner was very accessible and accommodating prior to and during our stay.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
New York, NY
Member since Aug 2016
Beautiful historic house

This house is a grand example of the history of Edgartown. It's steps from great shopping and dining options.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
South Burlington, VT
Member since Aug 2016
Perfect Location!

Our week here was beautiful! Family and friends came together to share a relaxing week, and the house didn’t disappoint. Perfect for a large group! Our favorite time was meeting on the porch early for coffee, and later, for a nightly signature cocktail, always chatting with the passers-by, one of whom happened to be an old neighbor!

The convenient location allowed for nightly walks into town for exploring the shops, enjoying the restaurants, and indulging in nightly ice cream. With public transportation nearby, everyone was able to go their own way during the day to see all that Martha’s Vineyard offers.

We are already looking forward to a return trip!

Accuracy of listing:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Madison, CT
Member since Aug 2016
Didn't want to come home!

We had a great time, nobody wanted to leave! Superb location for all things in Edgartown, walking or biking distance to most activities. The yard was great for kids and the property worked very well for large families like ours, who included 24 people. Every amenity was provided that one could hope for. Martha's Vineyard is a wonderful vacation destination. There are so many options for every type of interest. We happened to come during the 4th of July, and it was perfect. The parade went right past the house and we could all watch from the spacious front porch, and the fireworks were seen from the second story balcony. Thanks for allowing us to use your beautiful home for our annual vacation.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Scottsdale, AZ
Member since Jul 2016
Another great week at the Morse home

We just finished 2 fantastic weeks at the Captain Morse home. This is the second year we have rented the home for our family vacation. The home is very well maintained, furnished and ready for guests. The home is large so other guests or visitors have plenty of room to move around without stepping on each other. The bikes are a great addition and make arrival so much easier. The owner and caretaker are very responsive and go out of their way to make sure your stay goes well. We highly recommend the Captain Morse home.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Brentwood, TN
Member since Jul 2016
Great family vacation

We spent a relaxing and memorable week at the Captain Morse House. The location is superb -- a few short blocks to the beach, harbor and Chappy Ferry. And the house is unique and very comfortable. We loved it.

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Member since May 2016
A week to remember

We stayed at the Captain Morse House for a week in June and enjoyed it very much. It is a very large and beautiful house that many can enjoy at the same time. Wiith all the different seating areas. each group can have privacy but still be part of the party! We especially enjoyed the front porch as we sipped our coffee in the morning and wine in the afternoon.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Member since Jul 2016
Edgartown's Best Place to Stay!

This was our third visit to the Captain Morgan House. We highly recommend it!! Impeccably maintained. Classic décor. All of the modern necessities you'd want -- high speed internet, music system, televisions. An ideal location (leave the car!) where you can walk or bike anywhere. They even provide the bikes! There are a ton of beds in the house. Perfect for large groups. We really enjoy having drinks in the large living room and spilling onto the front porch followed by dinner in the backyard -- huge grill, plenty of seating and a really lovely lawn. Lovely sheets and towels and robes provided. They think of everything and couldn't be more wonderful homeowners!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Haverford, PA
Member since Jul 2016
Wonderful

Nothing bad to say. The house is wonderful, the location is great.
Working with Platt was a great experience!

We used it for a corporate event. Enough space for 18 people individually. An amazing house!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Lincoln, RI
Member since Jul 2016

These are reviews and comments from our guests over the years. We do everything we can to earn good reviews by responding to any issues immediately. The house is maintained well and each winter we upgrade and update as much as we can.

These are visible on our website and are posted here since we do not have any weneedavacation guest reviews yet, only from other vacation sites.

“My husband’s family stayed at the Captain Morse House during our wedding weekend. We used the house to get ready the day of the wedding. It was wonderful to have the men getting ready in the back of the house, while the women got ready upstairs in the front of the house. I can’t wait to see the beautiful pictures from the photographer. It was so nice to have everyone able to have their own large bedrooms and an abundant amount of bathrooms. We loved having two kitchens and so many kitchen supplies to make our stay feel homey. This house is absolutely wonderful for a large family vacation. It’s decorated beautifully! We loved our stay!”
Chicago, Illinois – September 29, 2015

” Best family reunion to date. So close to everything. The house very user friendly and graciously appointed with every amenity. Will be back!
Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers “Richmond, VA July 2015

“The Captain Morse House was a total delight to stay in for the week of our wedding. We filled the house with our immediate families and spent the week leading up to our wedding preparing on Water St. We had an intimate rehearsal dinner in the front room and spent each morning on the front porches (1st and 2nd floor).All amenities that are available make your packing a little lighter. There are fresh robes in each room, towels in the linen closet, and plenty of working laundry machines to keep the place tidy during your stay.
As music lovers one of the most attractive features of the house was the built in stereo system with individually controlled room-to-room sound. We could have conversational toned music in each room and control the volume from the wall. We’ll always look back to this house fondly as the place we spent our wedding week with our families. ”
Dan – New York 2014

“We rented this house for a large wedding party, and it could not have been a more perfect fit for our group. We had 23 people, and the house was spacious enough to accommodate all of us. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated and the kitchen and living areas were great. We didn’t spend as much time in the house as would have liked, as we had many activities related to the wedding, so we even talked about coming back and renting it again as a group and possibly having a party on the property. It would be the perfect spot for an outdoor garden cocktail party. Overall it was a great experience and I would definitely recommend the home for any large groups traveling to the Vineyard.”
Robin – San Francisco 2014

“Perfect House – I rented this house for my wedding to house all of those in the wedding party. What a beautiful, beautiful house. Kind of quirky, as old houses to be, with doors and hallways pointing in different directions. But I think this made it so special. And it didn’t hurt that we were walking distance to the beach and to Edgartown. I loved every minute, and I would highly recommend this house to anyone!”
VRBO Renter – 2014

“There was much to do on the island and we only touched the surface. Having a location where the parade goes right past your porch is an enormous attraction over the 4th holiday. We were so close to the center of town, but actually did not perceive any real increase in street noise at all. In short, I can say with no hesitation that you have a spectacular property in a choice location.”
Peter – California 2014

“We picked Captain Morse House because it could hold al

Date of Stay: February 2016
Date Submitted: February 2016
Several G
Various Cities
(Homeowner Entered)