Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Amazing Views Year-Round, Private Beach, Great for Kayaking

Vineyard Haven Vacation Rental - ID 29492
5 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 10
Beds: 1 king, 4 queens, 2 twins
Beach: Private beach on the property, 3/10 mile to Wilfri
Guest Reviews: 17 reviews
Time active: 2 years, 8 months
17 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Amazing Views and Gracious Host

We visited this home mid September. SO many great things to say about it:
1. The views are sensational. Every level of the house has gorgeous views.
2. The beds and linens were super comfy. We slept like kings and queens. Three of the bedrooms have sliding doors to a deck/porch.
3. The house has a private beach. It is also in walking distance to 2 other private beaches, or semi private, at the least. All 3 are gorgeous. There was no one else there anytime we went. The house is in the woods so the walk to the beaches is very relaxing.
4. The owner left us a welcome basket. That was just lovely: tea, coffee, snacks, wine, etc. Got us off to a great start.
5. The house has anything you could think of. I brought my own apron (have never had one of those at a rental before) and in fact, even that was there. It's very well stocked: games, books, pots, glasses, blankets, etc.
6. The house has enough space for people to spread out indoors in the event of inclement weather.
7. The owner left us a very thorough guide with details on everything. We took one of his suggestions and had a kayak and paddle board dropped off. We had a blast with those.
8. The private beach is not deep nor rough nor very rocky. Easy to enjoy.
9. The owner was very responsive. I had a general question about one of the island attractions and thanks to him we were able to finally see Lucy Vincent Beach. He also sent notes to welcome us and let us know he was available.
10. All of the appliances are new and the house has a great personality. It's cozy and family friendly. The house is in a great location; only 10 mins to Vineyard Haven and 15 to Oak Bluffs. Yet, it is also its own private oasis where you feel like you are really away!
We hope to be back next year, same time.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
South Orange, NJ
Member since Sep 2020
Amazing House for a Ladies Weekend!

My friends and I had the best experience at this property. With Covid and a busy summer, it was so nice to have our own little private beach to walk down to where we could stay safe and beat the crowds! It was so calm, beautiful, and quiet! The other beaches near the property were just a walk away, which made it very easy for us! The house itself is well maintained and had so much space inside and on the balconies. Tim had an amazing welcome package/packet and everything was very clear and precise, with great recommendations. The house was very well stocked with necessities for cooking, cleaning and toiletries. Our favorite part of the trip was watching the beautiful sunsets from the balcony. A breathtaking property away from all of the busy MV town centers but close enough to explore all of them with just a short car ride. I would recommend for anyone looking for a little slice of paradise.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Trumbull, CT
Member since Sep 2020
Delightful Gem on Lake Tashmoo

We loved our time on Lake Tashmoo in this home. The layout was perfect for our multi-family group. The house was comfortably furnished and had all the amenities we needed. The owner stayed in touch and provided helpful information and suggestions. On top of all that, the location was amazing. We could walk or bike into Vineyard Haven or take a short stroll to the beach at Wilford's Pond. Looking forward to a return next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Nacogdoches, TX
Member since Dec 2013
Beautiful Lake Tashmoo

After having spent about 20 vacations on MV, this was the first time we stayed Down Island. We weren't disappointed. The house is situated right on the lake with gorgeous views. Easy access to the water and a private beach which can get small at high tide. We left our 3 kayaks there and frequently paddled across the lake to the public beach where the water was a little deeper for swimming. The paddling around the lake was ideal.

Early in our stay we had a small issue which Tim responded to immediately. He couldn't have been nicer and had the problem fixed in no time. The only downside is that 2 bathrooms for 10 people isn't enough. The outdoor shower got a lot of use. In two weeks we had from 3 to 7 people which seemed to be the optimal amount. We do a lot of cooking and the kitchen was very well stocked. The bunkhouse is adorable and was much loved by the guest who stayed there. The upper and lower decks are fabulous. The house is very close to town and Friday night lobster rolls at Grace Church. Easy to ride bikes there and to town. Easy walk to White's beach on the sound. We truly loved our stay and plan on returning.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Saugerties, NY
Member since Jul 2019
Great Getaway From It All

This home is a great getaway from it all. The home is comfortable, clean and well-stocked, with an absolutely amazing view! That alone is worth the trip. The two bedrooms upstairs are just perfect with great cross ventilation and a deck upon which to sit and enjoy coffee or wine, with a great view. The others have no view but are comfortable, with plenty of extra blankets and pillows. The kitchen is well stocked and they provide plenty of beach towels and beach chairs for your convenience. Although there is no A/C they do provide fans. You can walk to a very nice beach in about ten minutes and the walk into town takes about 30 minutes.

The hosts are wonderful and always accessible should you have any questions or concerns.
Highly recommend this home.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: September 2019
East Greenwich, RI
Member since Sep 2019
Perfect spot for our family

The Macy house was exactly as we had hoped for a family reunion. 4 couples and a young one were so comfortable in this lovely house in a magical setting. The view is unparalleled and the shoreline is perfect for exploring. The weather was dreary but it made no difference at all. We enjoyed every minute and the house offered everything we could hope for. So well organized and welcoming.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2019
Date Submitted: May 2019
Member since May 2019
Even in February

February may not have the most favorable weather for vacationing but the sun did shine and we found some wonderful activities. The conch at Chef Deon's restaurant in O.B. made a chilly evening much warmer as did the sing-along at the Charter School the following evening.

Daytime activities were pleasant with lack of 'summer' traffic. One can get around easily and in plenty of time. It's not as green as summer but the more stark landscapes are beautiful in a different way.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: February 2019
Date Submitted: March 2019
East Rutherford, NJ
Member since Mar 2019
Peaceful, Clean, Gorgeous View!

A very comfortable house in a beautiful woodsy setting. Perfect for a winter getaway!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: February 2019
Date Submitted: February 2019
Blauvelt, NY
Member since Feb 2019

Wonderful location for our family Thanksgiving!

A most comfortable house with terrific views! Great location and very thoughtful hosts!

Submitted Nov 24, 2018

Date of Stay: November 2018
Date Submitted: January 2019
Member since Jan 2019

Long Relaxing Weekend

Beautiful, peaceful, and the hosts think of everything! Highly recommend! Many thanks for the wonderful weekend getaway!

Submitted Nov 11, 2018

Date of Stay: November 2018
Date Submitted: January 2019
Jennifer B
(Homeowner Entered)

Beautiful setting. Remote feel but not far from town.

A group of 7 college guy friends (now all in our mid 60's) were looking for an affordable house that was big enough to accommodate us and that might offer something special. We found it in this rental. The house's fixtures/appointments are somewhat dated, but the owners have thought of everything and we did not go for want on anything. There were two full-sized bathrooms, plenty of beds (we each had our own), nice open concept between kitchen/dining/living rooms and it all opened up to a big deck overlooking the saltwater lake. We golfed during our stay. Mink Meadow Golf is within walking distance and Farm Neck isn't a bad ride (15-20 minutes?). All the conveniences of home (cable/internet TV, internet, etc.) for us to watch the Patriots and Red Sox at night. We also took the walk down to the beach several times (maybe a mile) through the woods and out along the sandbar. Very nice and relaxing. Perfect setting for a group like ours or a big family get together. Owners couldn't have been nicer (although we never actually met), and made us feel very welcome. Not fancy, but perfect for our needs. We would definitely book it again.

Submitted Oct 8, 2018

Date of Stay: October 2018
Date Submitted: January 2019
Member since Jan 2019

A quintessential and wonderful Martha's Vineyard vacation spot...could not do better.
5/5 Stayed Oct 2018
David C.
Nothing but great things to say about this property and the owners.

The house is well-equipped and immaculate. It is spacious, warm and accommodating. It's setting is absolutely amazing, quiet, serene, tranquil, and on the water with amazing views. And yet, five minutes to Vineyard Haven, 10 to Oak Bluffs and 15 to Edgartown.

The Macy's are great hosts, from your welcoming basket, to every detail imaginable in the advance packet you will receive in an email. Tim Macy is the contact for the family, and replies consistently and promptly within an hour.

I hosted extended family here at the Macy home. Each and every person who stayed at their home commented that they hoped I could get the home again next year. Although I live here on the island year round , and I am very aware of my many choices, I would look no further than renting this home again.

The only real problem I see here is letting too many people know about this great home and it becoming too difficult to get. In all seriousness, a wonderful home and wonderful experience.

Submitted Oct 10, 2018

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: January 2019
David C
(Homeowner Entered)

Great clean modern house in a rustic wooded area with sunsets over the sound

The house was so well prepared for our stay. The hosts communicated with us regularly to ensure a great stay. The gift basket when we arrived was lovely. Great location, private yet close to everything. Thank you!

Submitted Sep 10, 2018

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: January 2019
Jack D
(Homeowner Entered)

Serene, welcoming, gorgeous and very well equipped

The Macy’s were kind enough to allow an early check-in, which was hugely helpful. The property was a perfect home base for our crew who was in town for my sisters wedding. She lives on-island year round and the Tashmoo locale was so incredibly convenient for rest, relaxation, letting the kids run free. We had perfect proximity to our island friends, the venue, ferries and town. I personally stayed in the guest shed and absolutely loved the privacy and views. We will definitely rent again, hopefully for longer and are forever grateful to the Macy family for sharing their slice of paradise with us!

Submitted Aug 29, 2018

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: January 2019
Member since Jul 2018

Best family vacation spot

Three generations all under one roof, with plenty of space and room at the dinning room table for all of us. The kids loved playing on the beach and water right in the back yard and the very short walk to the bigger beach was perfect! We had a blast and hope to come back next year!

Submitted Jul 27, 2018

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: January 2019
Member since Jan 2019

Serene Getaway for Family & Friends

Our family and friends rented this house the first week in July. When we arrived, there was a lovely basket of thoughtful treats (from wine to oatmeal to teas). The house was very well stocked for cooking, relaxing (board games and books available) and had comfortable sleeping arrangements (there were ten of us - 6 adults and 4 kids). It was also clean and as my son says "felt homey."

The view from the main room of the house was very tranquil, overlooking the lake and stretching out to the Vineyard Sound. The water access was just a quick walk and the water itself was lovely. It was a bit buggy by the lake and on the porch in the evenings but applying the bug spray helped. We brought a kayak and had a fun time exploring the lake which is shallow so not intimidating, particularly for younger kayakers. It's also great to have the option of walking to the Lake Tashmoo Beach. The beach is calm and nice for swimming and fishing.

If you wish to get into Vineyard Haven, it's a short ride. So nice to have the privacy/serenity of the house but also close to action if you preferred it. Everyone enjoyed themselves, relaxed and reconnected. The Macy's were also very responsive with any questions we had during the stay. Their hospitality was very much appreciated.

Submitted Jul 29, 2018

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: January 2019
Liz M
(Homeowner Entered)

Unbelievable Location and House

Not much more to say about this place other than it’s amazing. Starting with the host they were pleasant to rent from and had the house set up perfectly for us. They had a gift basket for us when we arrived and had toiletry items to take if you forgot anything. The house that has three levels with living space on all. 2 amazing decks overlooking the lake and ocean and your own private little beach on the lake through a 30 second walk from the back deck. If you like being secluded but super close to all the amenities this is the place. Oak Bluffs has great nightlife and was only a 10 min Uber away. Can’t beat the location and price & would definitely come back. We’re already looking to plan another trip back.

Submitted Jul 5, 2018

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: January 2019
Member since Jan 2019