Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Secluded 4+br home: short walk to private association beach

Vineyard Haven, Lower Makonikey, off Lambert's Vacation Rental - ID 3695
4 BR
3 baths
Sleeps 10
Beds: 2 queens, 4 twins, Queen sofabed in den
Beach: 4/10 mile to private Lower Makonikey Beach
Guest Reviews: 13 reviews
Time active: 13 years, 9 months
13 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Hidden Gem

I have been coming to the Vineyard for over 20 years and we have rented a number of houses, but this house is by far the most beautiful, most serene and just the right amount of secluded and by far the most comfortable and well equipped. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need and plenty of dishes so you don't have to constantly run dishwasher. There is plenty of living space with both the living room and the den. Plus the porch provides both sun and shade and has enough comfortable seats for all. We ate at the large outside dining table for every meal. The bedrooms are large, the beds comfortable and they all have air conditioning. There are air conditioners downstairs as well but we never used them. The beach is easily reachable and very private. During such a difficult time in our world, this trip was just the shot in the arm we needed.

Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Member since Oct 2019
Wonderful home to relax and go to the beach

My wife and I were fortunate to rent this house for a week this summer. Gracious and thoughtful owners. House is a gem located in a wooded area with a very nice beach. beach is not crowded. Great place to socially distance if you are concerned about COVID 19 or to just relax . The outdoor porch is a wonderful place to relax. House well set up with air conditioned rooms, excellent internet access. Best of both worlds with house away from the crowds but Vineyard Haven is close by which is one of calmest towns on the island. Excellent restaurants and near to supermarket and near farms, and bike paths within easy driving distance.

Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Owner Response:

Thank you so much. You described everything we love about the house. Our location is little known, but we do feel it has the best of both worlds. So glad you enjoyed your vacation

Newton Center, MA
Member since Aug 2020
Great family getaway

We had such a great time during our family getaway. There was plenty of space for both my family and my brothers to relax, play games and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of the area. The home was clean, inviting and an oasis from the hustle and bustle. Thank you for sharing your home with us and we look forward to spending time there again next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
Owner Response:

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time. So glad you enjoyed your vacation and the house and hope to see you again!

Canton, MA
Member since Jul 2020
"Dreamy" Vacation Home and Location

This was one of the best rentals we have stayed in to date. The house is situated in a beautiful quiet location on the island (but still close enough to get coffee at the Black Dog in the morning).

To start, the house is awesome! It's large, clean, the kitchen is stocked with everything you need and more. The wrap around porch is a huge bonus. We spent so much time out there from coffee in the morning to playing cards at night. There is comfortable seating on the porch for ten or more people. The inside of the house has a large kitchen and dining table for ten. Two large sitting rooms and four large bedrooms upstairs. The washer and dryer on the first floor is great and very convenient. This home also has a large outdoor shower. The large spacious yard is great for outdoor games. The association beach is clean, quiet and perfect for families.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: September 2019
Owner Response:

Thank you so much for your lovely review...it is so nice to have someone enjoy our house as much as we do.

Franklin, MA
Member since Jun 2015

Perfect Retreat!!!1 Massabesic Ave, Tisbury, MA, 02568, United States
My family stayed at this beautiful home for my wedding this past week and it was perfect. The house is fully stocked and plenty of room to spread out and relax. The beach is only a 5 minute walk away. Anything you need is a five or ten minute drive. We will definitely stay again to celebrate our anniversary!!!! Thanks for everything Lynn.

Owner Response
You are so welcome. Glad our house could be part of such a happy event! We would love to have you come and stay for your anniversary. The house was in perfect shape when you left.

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Jennifer M
Orangeburg, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Beautiful House in Great Location1 Massabesic Ave, Tisbury, MA, 02568, United States
House was spacious, clean, and fully equipped with everything we needed. Location was the best of both worlds, being not too far from Vineyard Haven or Oak Bluffs, while secluded enough for peaceful enjoyment of the surrounding woods and beach.

Date of Stay: May 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Coventry, RI
Member since Sep 2018

Beautiful home and wonderful location1 Massabesic Ave, Tisbury, MA, 02568, United States
This is our fourth year staying here and it is a lovely home with a quick walk to a serene beach. It feels so private and serene but a quick ride to vineyard haven.

My Response
Thanks so much for your kind review. So glad you enjoy the house as much as we do

Date of Stay: May 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Brookline, MA
Member since Sep 2018

Wonderful!1 Massabesic Ave, Tisbury, MA, 02568, United States
We spent a week with another family in this lovely house. It's huge, with an amazing covered wrap around porch, lots of comfy places to lounge, and a fully stocked kitchen (we joked there must have been 4 households' worth of dishes and utensils in that kitchen!) it's really quiet and private in the middle of the woods, perfect central location to reach different parts of the island, and a 2 minute walk to a small beach (which made it possible to go to the beach more then once a day). We drove to some of the nicer beaches earlier in the day, then would have "happy hour" and watch the sunset on our private beach :). Our kids liked the private beach for shell collecting and sand castles-- there were a lot of stones on the beach, so maybe not the best for swimming/ wading (though one of the neighbors said the beach changes every year and the stones were just due to a storm earlier in the summer). Great house for kids (we had two toddlers and a 5 year old between the 2 families). They have beach chairs, an umbrella and even some sand toys. You will need to bring or rent linens, but they do have tons of beach towels you can use (and dish towels etc for the kitchen)

My Response
Thank you so much for your nice review. The neighbor is right, the beach changes depending on what the storms have been or which way the wind blows! So glad you enjoyed your stay

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: September 2018
Baltimore, MD
Member since Sep 2018

Secluded Sanctuary1 Massabesic Ave, Tisbury, MA, 02568, United States
We spent a wonderful week in this secluded sanctuary. The drive to the house along the dirt road was an adventure as were truly surprised to see just how tucked away the house was. The house is beautifully laid out and has everything and then some that you will need to feel at home. We stayed during very hot weather, but the fans were perfect. The walk to the private beach wasn't long at all and the beach itself was a delight. Our only regret was not utilizing the beach enough. The owner was always available to answer all of my questions. We enjoyed going out to tour the island and coming back to our peaceful home away from home. If you truly want to get away from it all, this is your place!

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2018
Cherry Hill, NJ
Member since Sep 2007

Practically Paradise1 Massabesic Ave, Tisbury, MA, 02568, United States
We could not have found a better home for our first time staying on Martha's Vineyard. We were in town for a wedding and our only regret was that we were not able to stay longer. The house is beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The setting is peaceful and private. And that porch is awesome!! We spent as much time as we could just sitting out there and enjoying the beautiful surroundings. The owner is very nice as well. We hope that we will be able to come back and stay for a longer time. Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers.

My Response
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed the house as much as we do. The porch is really the best.

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: September 2018
Jean K
Whitman, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Awesome Home1 Massabesic Ave, Tisbury, MA, 02568, United States
We spent a week in this lovely home this summer with another family. The house was plenty big, open and airy. It was clean, comfortable and extremely relaxing. We had dinner outside on the beautiful deck and the kids spent hours playing football and baseball in the yard. Most definitely the nicest house we've ever rented on the Vineyard. Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Girls Getaway, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers.

My Response
Thank you so much. What a nice review

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2018
Wallingford, CT
Member since Sep 2018

10 year returning renter: ''We have been renting the Wallas/Hallen house since is was built in 1998. In fact, we were the first renters there. The photos on the internet don't do justice to the house. It is set in the trees with a grassy yard. There are neighbors but they are mostly hidden by the woods. It's a short walk to the beach. I usually get up very early and walk down to the beach with my cup of coffee for some quiet time before everyone is up. There are small children in our group and it is wonderful not to need to pile in the car to get to the beach. ''The beach is private and we are often the only family on the beach. It's a little rocky in the water and there's been lots of seaweed some years. The beach has beautiful white sand for building sand castles and walking. It's perfect for small children since there is very little surf and the water is shallow going out. There's miles of beach for walking and shell collecting. Again, there's no one on the beach for miles. My husband likes to surf cast from the beach - doesn't catch much but has fun. One year my son brought his sail boat. He docked it at Vineyard Haven and sailed over every day. He would anchor off shore and we could swim out to the boat and go for a sail. Last year we rented kayaks in town. The cottage is close enough to the beach so we could carry the kayak to the beach every day for paddling around. ''The cottage is comfortable and very clean. We have stayed at other houses on the Vineyard that are elegant but we prefer the more relaxed feel of the Hallen's place. The layout is ideal for my family. We have four generations and there is room to be together as well as room for people to have some quiet time. On the first floor there's a den with a television and a full bath. The den can be closed off from the rest of the downstairs so people can watch tv while others are talking or reading in the living room. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a gas grill on the porch. We love to cook and the kitchen is efficient and can accommodate several cooks at once. We spend lots of time on the porch that wraps around the east and north side of the house. There are comfortable chairs for reading in the shade and we enjoy eating al fresco by candle light at the table on the porch after a day at the beach. The location is quiet and away from the traffic and tourists in town. The island is small and it's just a short drive to just about anywhere on the island. We really love the tucked away solitude. There have been years when we have not left the cottage for the whole week except to go to the grocery store. . . . . .Every couple of years we think we should try another location on the Vineyard. We work with the realtor and spend a weekend on the Vineyard in freezing February driving past some of the places. At the end of the weekend we wonder why we bothered to look. We always go back to the Hallens.''

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: March 2010
MaryAnn G
Hartford, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

''Just a little note to you to tell you just how much we enjoyed spending our New Year in your wonderful Vineyard Home. We were very much surprised on how well equipped your kitchen is. I don't think we have ever rented a property with so much to offer.''

Date of Stay: June 2009
Date Submitted: March 2010
Judi M
Mass.
(Homeowner Entered)