Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

On the Water in Madaket
Madaket, Nantucket Vacation Rental - ID 32565

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 4
Beds: 1 king, 1 twin
Beach: 0.4 mi To Madaket
Guest Reviews: 22 reviews
Time active: Less than a month
Contact details:
  Email Bill & Kathy Grieder
Contact Bill & Kathy Grieder, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 543-3311 (Bll's cell), (508) 228-1399 (Kathy's cell).
Please mention Property ID# 32565 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
22 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review

Comfortable Cottage Away from the Crowd
The Boathouse remains a wonderful rental, great location and stunning views. Bill and Kathy are wonderful hosts, very accommodating, thoughtful and knowledgeable about what to do on Nantucket! We look forward to coming out again next season.

Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: June 2019
New Milford, CT
Member since Jan 2012

The house with a “Million Dollar View”
Bill greeted us on our arrival and was most helpful in making us feel comfortable with his inside tips and his great sense of humor. The Boathouse has all you’ll need for your stay and is in a perfect part of the island if you’re ready to unwind. We met Kathy a few days later and she was as nice as Bill. We had a wonderful week here and wouldn’t hesitate to visit again.
09/14/2018 at 11:35 AM

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: June 2019
Member since Jun 2019

Perfect sunsets every night!
We couldn’t have asked for a better stay! Thank you so much Kathy and Bill! It was an absolute pleasure to stay at the Boathouse. Exceptionally clean, everything you can think of that you would need even laundry and dish soap, perfect sunset views, pans and a grill to cook breakfast, and I could go on. Thank you again so much for your hospitality! We loved our stay and much needed quiet rest away from the city. Definitely planning to come again.
09/06/2018 at 12:16 PM

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: June 2019
Jennifer D
(Homeowner Entered)

Perfect
Outstanding hosts, view and location!
08/17/2018 at 11:17 AM

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: June 2019
Member since Jun 2019

Amazing sunsets, well appointed waterfront home
Bill and Kathy were amazing; they made us feel right at home. The were so understanding of our son with special needs and made our stay as stress free as possible. Well appointed home with everything you could think of already there. Sunsets were amazing each and every night. Definitely a gem. We can't wait to come back!
06/16/2018 at 4:04 PM

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: June 2019
Member since Jun 2019

Serenity and beauty in Madaket
The Boathouse is a hidden jewel tucked away on Madaket harbor. The house is short walk or bike ride to the beach, but you may just want to lounge on the deck and enjoy the view. The shuttle bus and bike trails are nearby for trips around the island. Property was immaculate and well appointed. Bill and Kathy were lovely hosts, very helpful and quick to respond to questions and offer suggestions for making the most of the trip. We hope to be back again next season!

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: June 2019
New Milford, CT
Member since Jan 2012

Gem in Madaket.....
The Boathouse and it's owner's, Kathy and Bill were wonderful. The house overlooks the water, and the sunsets are amazing. The house was extremely clean, bright, and cozy, with warm attention paid to every detail. A short walk will take you to beautiful Madaket Beach. Stop at Millie's Tavern on the way back, and have some lunch! We truly did not want to leave! As I write this review, I'm thinking about the peaceful feeling I had sitting on the deck, which is literally on the water, watching the boats glide peacefully in and out of the bay, with the sounds of the gulls as they glide overhead. You really can't get any better then this! If you are looking for a "quiet, peaceful, walk to the beach, incredible view" kind of place, look no more. We look forward to returning next summer. Laura and Steve
09/04/2017 at 2:25 PM

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: June 2019
Laura + Steve M
(Homeowner Entered)

Simple, charming living
We had the most wonderful stay at The Boathouse. The views were beautiful from this quaint home and we all enjoyed the simple, relaxing lifestyle of this quintessential Nantucket cottage. The owners couldn't have been nicer and made sure we had what we needed for a comfortable stay.
08/20/2017 at 5:56 PM

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: June 2019
Member since Jun 2019

A true Gem!
This is a special place lovingly cared for and executed by a wonderful couple. I can't say enough about how everything was perfect from the cottage, that had everything you needed, to the deck that has one of the most special view's of the water in the whole world. Viewing the stars at night was another nature experience that the Greider's told us about and I am so glad they did. We just loved this place!
07/04/2017 at 7:41 PM

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: June 2019
Member since Jun 2019

Heaven on Earth
I just had such a wonderful long weekend at Bill and Kathy's Boat House, celebrating the 70th birthday of a dear friend with our mutual friend who flew in from Chicago. The location was exactly what we wanted - private, quiet, peaceful, and just so beautiful that we couldn't stop taking photographs. The accommodations were fresh and clean, and we had everything that we needed. The location can't be beat - a short walk to beautiful Madaket Beach and to Millie's, a delicious restaurant. We were also a quick walk to the island shuttle when we wanted to venture into downtown. But who would want to ever leave that magical deck??? I can't say enough great things about our stay. Bill and Kathy were perfect hosts, and they were very helpful when I was planning the trip. Thank you for an incredible wonderful weekend, and I hope to return again someday! HIGHLY recommended!!!!
06/27/2017 at 7:26 PM

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: June 2019
Member since Jun 2019

Kathy and Bill were very helpful and welcoming. The Boathouse is a wonderful retreat, nestled in for a feeling of complete privacy, but in walking distance to beach, restaurant and small shop w necessities. We would definitely return!
08/15/2017 at 8:36 PM

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: June 2019
Tasha S
(Homeowner Entered)

Awesome
Kathy and Bill's Boathouse home is an awesome place to visit and relax. Beautiful views, away from the hustle and bustle of downtown (two blocks from the bus stop and only a 15min ride to town). Their home comes stocked with all the amenities you could want and is also very clean. The house is a mile walk from the gorgeous beach and also close to a small market and great restaurant(Millie's). Sit back, relax and enjoy the views in their home away from home in Madaket!
08/15/2017 at 8:38 PM

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: June 2019
Kerry F
(Homeowner Entered)

Perfect Setting
The Boathouse is a perfect setting for a relaxing vacation. The descriptions don't do it justice-- the view is beautiful. Very close to Madaket beach, which is stunning. Millie's restaurant and beach market are within walking distance, which is very convenient. The cottage is well appointed with all the small niceties that you will appreciate. Nice towels, sheets, all the kitchen tools you'll need. (Adorable, bathroom that seemed newly decorated). Cute living room with TV and radio, good seating area, nice dining area. Great view right from the sofa! The grounds are perfectly maintained as well. Bill was a very hospitable host; met us there upon our arrival and saw us off as we left. Very friendly and helpful. I absolutely would come back to stay here and give it a five star rating.
08/15/2017 at 8:39 PM

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: June 2019
Kris B
(Homeowner Entered)

Good Things
I cannot say enough good things about the hosts, Bill & Kathy, as well as their rental, The Boathouse. From the ease of access and communication with Bill and Kathy, to the charming little cottage right on Hither Creek, to the prime location for those who want to experience a quieter Nantucket with access to many great beaches to discover and walk, this is the place! My only regret is that we had to come back to the real world and couldn't stay longer.
08/15/2017 at 8:41 PM

Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: June 2019
Kathleen H
(Homeowner Entered)

Fantastic
The boathouse was fantastic for our first stay in Nantucket. It is not near downtown, but only a 15 minute drive or 30-40 bike ride from the boathouse to downtown. The view of the marsh was perfect and the house had all of the amenities that we could have needed. Kathy and Bill were great hosts and we'll certainly return in the future.
08/15/2017 at 8:42 PM

Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: June 2019
Steven D
(Homeowner Entered)

Wonderful Experience
Bill & Kathy were fantastic hosts. We felt very welcome in their home. The location was perfect. The views were spectacular -even better than the pictures! Bill & Kathy even lent us a kayak to use so that we could explore the creek. We had a wonderful experience and we would love to come back someday. Thanks for everything!
10/14/2016 at 7:59 PM

Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: June 2019
Member since Jun 2019

Gracious Hosts
Kathy & Bill are lovely, gracious hosts! They took the time to show us around and make sure we knew how to work everything so we could relax and enjoy the perfect view! The pictures truly can't do justice to the picturesque setting, and as they're on the west side of the Island. It's the best spot on island to watch the sun set! Everything we needed for a perfect girls weekend was here waiting for us. :)
09/26/2016 at 8:14 PM

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: June 2019
Rory M
(Homeowner Entered)

Clean quiet place right on the water
Owners live close by, were very friendly and greeted us upon arrival. The place completely met our expectations and had everything we needed. I would definitely rent this place again if we went back to Nantucket.
10/04/2016 at 7:39 PM

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: June 2019
Member since Jun 2019

Fantastic!
What a relaxing, beautiful spot with very friendly, gracious owners who try to do all they can to make your stay feel absolutely comfortable. The Boathouse is in a location which can not be beat. Comfortable, clean, totally updated home. Gorgeous sunsets, short walk to the beach, an easy drive to town but when it is time to get away from the crowds, you settle in to a totally relaxed spot. We did a girls getaway there, 2 people, it was perfect. I would highly recommend.
09/20/2016 at 11:22 AM

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: June 2019
Member since Jun 2019

A sweet little house with a GREAT VIEW!
My husband and our 2 children had the pleasure of staying at Bill and Kathy's beautiful boathouse at the end of August. It is a quaint home with sliding doors to the great deck that allows you to take in the amazing view. It was well furnished and had all the necessities to make us feel right at home. The house was exactly as described, well maintained, and very clean when we arrived. Close enough to walk to madaket beach and Millie's restaurant. Bill and Kathy could not have been more accommodating, making themselves available before, during, and after our stay to answer any questions and was thoughtful enough to ship back some personal items we had inadvertently left at the home. Would highly recommend this property and we are already talking about revisiting next year!
09/09/2016 at 3:08 PM

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: June 2019
Kerri E
(Homeowner Entered)

Simple yet perfect in idyllic setting
The "Boat House" is a wonderful cottage on Hither Creek- the gateway to fishing paradise. It is clean, recently refurbished and appointed with everything you need for your stay on Nantucket. Spectacular sunsets on the deck rival any on the island. Millie's is a short walk away with a small market for essentials and a legendary pub style restaurant. Smith's Point is a short jeep ride away and is a must. Kathy and Bill could not have been more hospitable and are lovely. It is small as advertised but perfect for 3 possibly 4 and in Nantucket your days are lived outdoors. Our Madakat experience at the Boat House was well above expectations and we have rented all over the island for decades. We will definitely return.
08/29/2016 at 2:41 PM

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: June 2019
Member since Jun 2019

BEAUTIFUL COTTAGE
My husband and I stayed at this cottage for one week. He had to work during the days but I stayed at the cottage and enjoyed every minute of the peacefulness and serenity of it!! This cottage is so beautiful and quaint!! The large deck overlooks the water and boats. The sunsets are amazing from the deck!! The beds were so comfortable and the linens were very plush. The cottage rental includes bath towels, beach towels, beach chairs, all of your cooking needs (including spices), soaps, shampoos....and the list goes on. All you need to bring are your clothes and you will be all set here. The owners are wonderful, kind people who live next door and are available at all times. Although there are brochures of Nantucket listing places to eat, they were more than happy to recommend their favorites. Thanks Bill and Kathy...we LOVED Brant Point Grill!! There is a beautiful beach just down the street, within walking distance. Also down the street is a small market, which is very convenient, and a great Mexican restaurant, Millie's. We are looking forward to returning to this beautiful cottage in September for a nice week away (without my husband working)!! I cannot wait!! I would DEFINITELY recommend renting this home away from home. You will not be disappointed!! Tricia and Kenny

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: June 2019
Tricia G
(Homeowner Entered)