Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Sunset Hill Lane Cottage
Nantucket town Vacation Rental - ID 14760

2 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 4
Beds: 2 BRs: 1 queen, 2 twins
Beach: approximately 4 blocks-Childrens Beach
Guest Reviews: 12 reviews
Time active: 10 years, 7 months
Contact details:
  Email Curtis Barnes
Contact Curtis Barnes, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 228-4133 (hit *51 to send FAX).
Please mention Property ID# 14760 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
12 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
This is where you want to stay with your family on the island!

Location is perfect - short walk to town but very quiet at night. We stayed with our two children who shared the twin beds in one room and we had king bed in other. Comfortable, safe and very charming.

Mr. Barnes is the ultimate host checking in on us, dropping off eggs from his chickens and was so helpful with transportation and ideas of what to do as we were newer to Nantucket.

Highly recommend as a place to rent for a week (or two.. ;)

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Member since Nov 2017
Spectacular!

This was our sixth time staying here and we love it. It’s so easy to walk or bike to town and the beach. Extremely convenient to everything! The cottage is clean, light and airy and beautifully decorated. There’s a nice private deck to relax on at the end of the day. Curtis is very helpful and always accommodating. We love it and can’t wait to go back!

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Marshfield, MA
Member since Jan 2014
Peaceful and close walk to town

Enjoyed our stay here in town. The loft was bigger than expected and accommodated one adult perfectly! Located on a quiet street. Curtis was so helpful and accommodating. Plenty of seating in living room and dining area for 5. As you can tell by the photos, lots of light with all of the windows. AC units in all rooms that helped stay cool when needed. Plenty of linens, beach towels, and beach equipment. Great week!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Woodstock, MD
Member since Jun 2009
Perfect Cozy Cottage

My mom and I just finished spending a week in the Sunset Hill Lane cottage. The best word to describe it is perfect.

It was a perfect size for a mother / daughter get-away. (It would also be perfect for a family of four.). The cottage was very well stocked upon our arrival. The eggs and wine were an extra treat.

The setting was so picturesque... Away from the hustle of downtown Nantucket but still within easy walking distance. We loved the chickens, flowers and trees. Curtis was the perfect host.

As mentioned, the cottage is within very easy walking distance of downtown---the pier, the Whaling Museum and many shops and restaurants.

I do not know when we will have the opportunity to go to Nantucket again. When we do, though, I would definitely stay here again.

Susan and Nancy

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: May 2016
Member since Oct 2015
Loved the cottage!

We (two couples) stayed at the cottage for three nights while attending a wedding in town. We really enjoyed our stay! The cottage is extremely clean and fresh, with everything we needed. Curtis was a fantastic host who gave us fresh eggs for breakfast (we loved the chickens too)! The cottage was a short walk into town or to the beaches on the sound. It was perfect for two couples, since each of us had a private bath. Our only regret was that our stay was too short!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
Member since Mar 2015
Wonderful cottage!

This was our second stay at Curtis' wonderful cottage on Sunset Hill. It has been the perfect spot for us to enjoy Nantucket with our children. The cottage is clean, adorable and has everything needed. We absolutely love the location... a lovely walk to town and a short bike ride to beaches and bike paths. It's also close to several great restaurants! The yard is spacious and beautiful, and Curtis is so kind and helpful. Our daughter loved collecting eggs from the hen house. We can't wait to go back soon!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Member since Jan 2013
Great place to stay

This was our second stay at this lovely property. Great location just a short walk to town. The cottage is comfortable, spacious and cozy. The owner, Curtis, was attentive to our needs, knowledgeable of our favorite Island and most gracious. We will definitely be returning.every chance we get.

Date of Stay: December 2014
Date Submitted: December 2014
Boston, MA
Member since Dec 2014
Fabulous little in town place

We are a family of four with two children age 7 and 8. This was our second year at this home for a vacation. This year we rented for two weeks. We have stayed in several areas of Nantucket. This home and being in town was our favorite. You are streets away from the Madaket bike trail, which is about an hour or so bike ride out to the end of the island. Perfect amount for children. So close to so many of the beaches. 40 steps was our new discovery this year and only a walk away. We walked to dinner at night and to the local library for events as well as taking out books for the children to read while there.

The yard is large and Mr. Barnes did not mind the children running around, hoola hooping or playing during our down time. The best part for the children is the couple of chickens he has. Ooh they loved getting the eggs every day and helping to feed them. Mr. Barnes is extremely welcoming and hospitable with all your needs. The home is so bright and airy. We had many dinners at the home as well on the back patio using the grill. The home has all the items you need to make it a comfy get away.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Swampscott, MA
Member since Mar 2013
Can't wait to go back!

Arrived early but not a problem. Cottage was spotless and bigger than expected. Plenty of room for guests. kitchen has everything you could need. One of the island's best restaurants, American Seasons, is at the end of the street, Easy walk to town and shuttle to beaches just down the road. No need for a car. We brought our bikes and toured the beautiful island on the great bike paths. Curtis was gracious and kind and went above and beyond to ensure that all of our wants and needs were met. Farm like setting provides great relaxing atmosphere. Could not recommend this place highly enough. Can't wait to go back.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Milton, MA
Member since Nov 2013
Perfect location

We celebrated our wedding anniversary over an extended weekend in this lovely and spacious cottage. The location is absolutely perfect - a very short and pleasant walk into town on a quiet and charming street with beautiful views. The cottage is well equipped and the two porches allow for your choice of sun or shade! Curtis was helpful with suggestions about the island but not in any way obtrusive. The ability to store our bikes on the porch to protect them from the weather was very helpful as well. We will definitively be back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Walpole, MA
Member since May 2010
Fantastic Vacation!

We loved our week in Nantucket, and this cottage was perfect for our family of five. Our 12-year-old slept up in the loft, and our two younger children slept downstairs in the 2nd bedroom. The cottage had everything we needed and was in a wonderful location... a nice walk into town and an easy bike ride to many of the bike paths and to Jetties Beach. Our kids enjoyed playing in the pretty yard, and our daughter loved collecting eggs each morning from the henhouse.

Curtis and Joan were so welcoming and friendly and gave us lots of valuable advice on things to do and places to go. We can't wait to come back to Nantucket and would definitely hope to stay in this cottage again!

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Member since Jan 2013
Wonderful stay

Rented Sunset Hill Cottage for 4 nights while attending a wedding. Each of the two bedrooms has its own bathroom, which was perfect for the four of us. The cottage is spotless and fully equipped. Loved having a kitchen to prepare a few simple meals and snacks. The sunny quiet indoor and outdoor sitting areas were perfect for enjoying morning coffee and an evening glass of wine. Location was an easy walk to the center of town where we enjoyed exploring and trying various restaurants. Delightful owners were helpful without being obtrusive. Highly recommend and hope to return someday!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2013
Date Submitted: June 2013
Olathe, KS
Member since Apr 2012