Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Your Private Beach is Just Down the Steps

South Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 15198
3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 6
Beds: 1 queen, 4 twins
Beach: 50 yards to a private swimming beach
Guest Reviews: 23 reviews
Time active: 12 years, 6 months
23 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Sure Cure for the CV-19 Blues...

...was our most excellent vacation week at "The Sea"! Our second time here and, as before, everything was absolutely perfect. Bill B is a kind and generous host. Both his Sand and Sea cottages are unmatched for location, cleanliness, amenities, and comfort. Three bedrooms, two full baths, modern kitchen with every conceivable appliance, new washer & dryer in the basement, and a complete array of outdoor goodies. We originally had this booked for June but Bill graciously allowed us to switch to an October week. In my 40 plus years of Cape Cod vacationing, Bill's properties stand out as the benchmark for excellence!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2020
Date Submitted: October 2020
Member since Jun 2018
Nice Place - Not Nice Cleaning Lady

We really enjoyed our time spent at thIs rental property. It is situated just steps from a private beach. The views from the property are beautiful. The owners were lovely and easy to work with.

Sadly, our departure left a really bad taste in our mouth after what was such a nice week. The cleaning lady had been at the other property (there are 2 identical houses) the morning of our departure. We had been packing our car while also wrangling 2 small children. Check out is at 10am. At 9:50 am the cleaning lady came to our door with all her supplies telling us we needed to check out. We said we thought check out was at 10am. She said we needed to leave and that she was going to start cleaning the outside patio area (worth mentioning I had personally already wiped down the grill, table, and chairs with Clorox wipes we brought).

While we finished packing the car she was hovering and cleaning within 6 feet of us (hello Covid). This flustered our family enough that we couldn't have the kids playing outside while trying to pack since she was so close (again Covid), one of us could only finish packing the car at this point, and it actually delayed us further. We ended up being completely done at 10:10am (so 10 minutes late) and pulled out of the driveway at 10:15am (after making sure gps was set, kids good, and we could be on our way). I understand the need to turn over a property for new guests that are arriving but I think there needs to be some grace given to a family who is visibility trying to hustle and get packed up to leave.

Also, worth noting we left the property spotless, all bathroom and kitchen surfaces disinfected, and floors swept. Hopefully this helped expedite the cleaning process in the house.

Date of Stay: September 2020
Date Submitted: October 2020
Member since Jul 2018
Excellent Waterfront Spot

My family of four had the pleasure of staying at Bill's for a week. The cottage is spacious and just steps away from a private beach. Perfect for swimming, sunbathing, and taking long walks on the beach. The week we were there was quite hot and humid, and the central air was very nice to have.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
San Francisco, CA
Member since Aug 2020
Great spot to enjoy the cape

Our family loves everything about vacationing at Bill's. The house is comfortable and well equipped, the 20 second walk to the private beach and the peaceful neighborhood perfect for family walks. It's a great spot to enjoy the Cape.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Wrentham, MA
Member since Sep 2020
Amazing Location and Hidden Gem

We stayed at the cottage in July and our expectations were exceeded. It was better than the pictures in the listing. In fact, since posting my own pictures of our vacation on social media, I had several friends reach out to me for details on the property. Unfortunately it was already booked solid for the summer! The private beach really is just steps away. With two young children, it was a perfect spot for us to setup each day. We didn't pay to visit a public beach once during our week and we never felt the need to. We had plenty of space to play in the sand, swim, and go for long beach walks.

The cottage is tucked into a nice South Chatham neighborhood right by Forest Street Beach, and this made for nice safe walking and running around the neighborhood. It was extremely quiet and peaceful and truly felt like a vacation.

The cottage itself was clean and spacious and had everything we needed. Beach chairs were provided, which was a nice amenity when your SUV is already packed solid for vacation! The outdoor shower was so good we didn't shower inside once! The patio was a perfect spot for happy hour each night and there is just something about a post-beach cocktail when you can hear, see, and smell the ocean. If you're looking for a place to truly unwind, this is it. We look forward to returning!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Needham, MA
Member since Feb 2012
Wonderful!

My family of 5 had a wonderful stay at this beach home. It was the cleanest house we've ever rented, and Bill and his wife were excellent hosts. The house has beautiful views of the ocean and the private beach can't be beat! FYI, There is a long set of steps to go down to get to the beach. We look forward to returning next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Doylestown, PA
Member since May 2020
Fantastic vacation spot

We had an amazing time here! The house is clean and well maintained. The pictures accurately represent the house. The kitchen was well stocked, as well as the house. We felt very safe staying here. The beach really is just a few steps away and private and beautiful. Any request or question we had was quickly responded to and taken care of. I highly recommend this house and can't wait to go back!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Framingham, MA
Member since Feb 2010
Perfect Location for a Cape Cod Vacation!

We can't say enough good things about Bill and his amazing cottage! Incredibly well done and equally well equipped; stocked with all the basic sundries anyone would need; located in an ideal, convenient, yet secluded South Chatham location...and all this with a readily available if needed, but privacy respecting owner. We've been coming to the Cape for vacations for almost 40 years, and this was by far the best place we've ever rented. Thanks so much, Bill!...we hope to see you again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2018
Date Submitted: November 2018
Member since Jun 2018
Great vacation spot!

We recently enjoyed our sixth annual vacation in Chatham. This cottage is just steps away from a beautiful, private beach. The cottage itself is comfortable, well maintained and fully stocked. So nice to have all the kitchen essentials if you decide to cook in. Love Lane is very quiet, but the location is central to many great restaurants and activities, as well. Bill is a great host and easy to work with. Looking forward to more time spent at this beautiful cottage!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Pembroke, MA, usa
Member since Feb 2013
You can't go wrong with perfect beach cottage

At the risk of interfering with my self interest as I don't want competition for my particular 3 weeks in September, I have to confess that this beach cottage has almost everything you could want in a vacation stay. The cottages are new construction and very well done: You have excellent AC, wireless internet, tv, and a very short walk to a private beach. Yet, you are also only a few miles [3-4 estimate] from the town of Chatham where you can find good to excellent restaurants, a movie theatre, etc. My wife and I have come back every year since we first found this gem for the past decade. I only have one small complaint, the queen bed needs to be replaced because it is not very supportive of renters with bad backs. Fantastic value and the owner is a very nice guy who will respond quickly to any concern/interest you might have.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Santa Clarita, CA
Member since Jul 2015
Beautiful and Tranquil Property!

We have stayed at the Sand Cottage for the past 2 years. It is a wonderful location, steps away from a private beach where you can meet a few other people or be all alone. The house is wonderful and has everything you may need: AC, washing machine, ceiling fans, and we love the outdoor shower. You can wake up and have your coffee with a beautiful view of the beach!! We highly recommend staying here!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Framingham, MA
Member since Jul 2017
Multigenerational Family Retreat (escape life's pressures!)

We have been coming to this lovely, cozy cottage for around six years. We keep coming back because the cottage has everything we need to relax on the warm sand. And it really is just steps to the beach!

We have a kids' room, a room for ourselves, and a room for grandparents.

Our family gets together twice a year and this cottage with private beach has allowed us to create wonderful memories.

We love cycling on the nearby bike trail. Cooking dinners together. Walking on the beach.

One year my father left his sneakers with orthodics at the cottage and our fantastic host, Bill, found them and mailed them back.

I've been spending summers on the Cape for over 20 years and have stayed at many different homes. This is a top pick!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: December 2018
Darien, CT
Member since Apr 2010
Best place

I have stayed in the Sea Cottage for many years, starting when it was the old sand-seep-through-the-door cottage! Now it's a wonderful new cottage! We love the washing facilities, AC, having 2 bathrooms, and love the outdoor shower. The owner is there to help! The beach is awesome and private. I highly recommend staying here!! A++++

Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Pullman, WA
Member since Aug 2018
Hidden Gem of South Chatham

50 steps to a private beach combined with an immaculate and modern house led to a perfect vacation for our family. The house is much larger than the pictures suggest and easily accommodated our family of six. The kitchen was fully stocked, and the front load washer and dryer appeared to be brand new. Bill was an extremely friendly host and was always available if we needed something. The house location is only two minutes off of Route 28 and is perfectly located halfway between Harwich and Chatham. Another perk of the location is that access to the Cape Cod Rail Trail is only 1 mile away and leads to a nice bike trip to either Chatham, Dennis, or Brewster. We will definitely be back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Member since Jan 2017
Sand Cottage - South Chatham

My family has spent the past three years at Sand Cottage in South Chatham Mass. We have totally enjoyed our time. There is an identical cottage across the driveway and the owner lives on site in his separate home. Bill the owner has been exceptionally helpful and kind throughout our time at his cottage. The property itself is fully equipped with everything you need- A/C, washer/dryer, kitchen fully stocked, BBQ grill and deck with table and umbrella, WiFi, TV with cable channels, three bedrooms, two baths,etc. Just a short walk to the private beach and excellent for walking the beach and exploring. Also the cottage is in a quiet location yet only a short 10 minute drive to downtown Chatham. This rental cottage is truly perfect and our family looks forward to every July when we get to enjoy Sand Cottage for a week. And Bill and his wife have been extremely kind and helpful with anything we have asked for or inquired about.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Auburn, NH
Member since Mar 2015
A wonderful property!

You will not be disappointed if you book this property as it sits high on a bluff overlooking Nantucket Sound with a short walk down the stairs to a private beach. Very quiet and quaint neighborhood that is 5-10 minutes from downtown Chatham and only a short drive from the National Seashore. The house has everything one would need - a fully stocked kitchen, lovely patio, a large grill, and plenty of square footage for a family. Sits directly across from an identical cottage. The proprietor, Bill, is a kind, wonderful host who you will hopefully have a chance to meet and talk to. Price is very reasonable for the location and amenities. With two young children in tow, we wanted to be right on the beach and this was the perfect place. If we come back to the Cape next year, we are definitely returning to Love Lane!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Member since May 2018
Quintessentially Cape Cod

For the past three summers, my family and I have spent the most perfect week at Sand Cottage! We absolutely love it here. The house is clean and comfortable. It’s the perfect size for our family of five. It’s very well-stocked. Kitchen/dining area are great for those nights you feel like cooking in! The location is idyllic, quiet but very close to downtown Chatham. The beach is heavenly. We swim, explore, and build the week away. Our three young children talk about our return to Love Lane (and the outdoor shower!) all year. Bill is wonderful; he is extremely easy to get hold of pre-visit and there for anything you may need during your stay. I could honestly write a novel about how much we love this place!!! It’s hands-down my favorite week of the year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Clinton, MA
Member since Jan 2015
Amazing!!!

The house is remarkable: quiet location, literally a walk to a gorgeous private beach, and completely well stocked. I was actually shocked at how comfortable the house was, and how well-stocked the kitchen was. There was literally everything we could need. Owner was fantastic, courteous and attentive. Honestly the best vacation rental I've ever been to!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Member since Jul 2016
Perfect Cape Cod week

We loved the cottage. It was clean, organized, fully stocked and missing nothing. We enjoyed the perfect location that was steps from the beach, and a short drive to Chatham.

The beach was calm, private and absolutely swimmable. The kids loved every second.

100% recommend this house.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Ridgewood, NJ, usa
Member since Jul 2014
Home Away From Home

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sand Cottage. It's so much bigger and more beautiful than the pictures show. The beach is absolutely stunning (right on the Nantucket Sound) and is literally a walk down some stairs away. It's a private beach area so it's never crowded and you don't have to pay for parking (BONUS!) Bill is a great communicator and gives you all the directions/instructions you need to arrive at the cottage. Its reasonably priced for the size and accessibility in the area. I love the South side of Chatham better than the East side (less craziness, more calm and relaxing). We hope that this will be a place we can "escape" to for many, many years to come.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: July 2015
Dallas, TX
Member since Jun 2013
The perfect vacation

Bill's cottage was exactly what we were looking for: a great escape with the family. The cottage is perfect: very comfortable for 5 people, lovely wood floors, great layout. Kitchen was stocked with all we needed. Great bbq and patio. It's a very short walk to a beautiful little private beach. Chatham and other nice towns were a quick drive and fun for exploring. Bill was also fast to respond and great to communicate with. Everything was easy. Exceeded expectations; highly recommended.

Thanks, Bill! We hope to come back again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2013
Date Submitted: June 2013
Ridgewood, NY
Member since Apr 2013
We were so blessed to find this rental!!!

Thank you, Bill, for sharing your brand new cottage with us. We feel so fortunate to have stayed here. It is a beautiful location and the private beach was breathtaking. You did such a nice job creating a very clean and spacious getaway. Thank you. I hope we have the opportunity to come back again soon!! Thank you also for your communications prior to our arrival. I felt so comfortable with our choice to rent your property. I highly recommend it to others!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: November 2012
Marlborough, MA
Member since Apr 2012
Wonderful

Great vacation and great site. Family of 4 including 2 teenagers..lots to do in the area as well as enjoy private beach.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: March 2013
Brooklyn, CT
Member since May 2012