Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Sept 2022 and 2023 w/ Prv. Beach on Pleasant Bay

North Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 26128
5 BR
2 ½ baths
Sleeps 10
Beds: 1 king, 1 queen, 1 double, 4 twins
Beach: 150 yards - private beach
Guest Reviews: 59 reviews
Time active: 5 years, 7 months
59 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review

Good morning, we had a nice week. The views from here are beautiful.

Date of Stay: September 2021
Date Submitted: September 2021
K G
Tolland, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We have had a comfortable stay. A nice stay.

Date of Stay: August 2021
Date Submitted: September 2021
B H
Wellesley, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks again, John, for fun week.

Date of Stay: August 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
A H
Nutley, New Jersey
(Homeowner Entered)

We are having a great time, enjoying the property, and caught lots of fish yesterday off Nauset via boat
....
Thank you for being such a wonderful host!!

Date of Stay: August 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
D R
Northborough, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for sharing such a beautiful home! We had a wonderful time and can't wait for next year!

Date of Stay: July 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
R J
Heath, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

It was a great family week!

Date of Stay: July 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
M D
Dudley, MA
(Homeowner Entered)
Family vacation

We rented this home for a week we had 10 people including three children and one baby. The view from this home is beautiful. The private beach is a little hike down a road and then a walk on the sand to a pretty private beach which we enjoyed very much. The kids loved finding crabs and little sea creatures.

The house itself was disappointing. When we arrived the home did not appear to have been cleaned very well at all. The toilets were not cleaned, the sectional couch to sit on in the living room was all stained and not comforting to sit on. You need to bring your own linen and towels which I was thankful I did as even the mattress pad coverings on all the beds were all stained. I was told no need to bring beach chairs as there were at least 10 in the garage we couldn't find a chair that was useable (they may have been one) the couch out in the garage was filthy none of us would sit on it (this serves as a rec room with a ping pong table) ping pong table was fun! It's too bad about the dirty conditions as the location is amazing but due to the lack of care in cleanliness I would not recommend staying here.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
Owner Response:

Guest,

Thank you for your guest review. I will note that we had established a considerable communication relationship starting in March with your inquiry, in which you had many questions about the house, property, private beach, nearby beaches, activities, swimming, bike trails, cancellation policy, covid protocols from last year, air conditioning, washer and dryer availability, and other items of vacationer interest, the majority of which were handled within weneedavacation archives. I also indicated to ask any question you might have, at any time.

I do admit being surprised, on your arrival Saturday, July 24th, for you to indicate, quote, "We arrived at the house, looking forward to a good week". Other than answering a further question on availability of moorings, nothing was indicated by you about the cleanliness of the house. Should there have been a serious problem, from your perspective. I would have appreciated an immediate notification, with a chance to mitigate, at the time, your indication, later in your review, quote, "when we arrived the home did not appear to have been cleaned very well at all."

The house, was, in fact, was just cleaned by a professional cleaning crew who has been with me for ten years, and who do an exemplary job. The toilets were, in fact, checked and were clean. Paper products, air freshners and hand soaps were restocked. I was the one who is responsible and checked the house personally, as I do every weekend. It is extremely rare to get any comments of this nature. All the previous and post guests from your week have decided to come back next year, and a number of them have repeatedly come back year after year.

Linens and towels are not provided, per the lease agreement you signed, and, ironically, they were under restriction last year due to COVID protocols, I did re-examine the mattress pad coverings at the house today and could find no stains that you claim were "on all the beds".

I do agree that the sectional couch in the living room has some faded areas, from use, but it is not brand new, certainly. As to the old couch in the recreation room, it is indeed not brand new, and it is useful for children to jump around and play on in that part of the house, it wasn't meant to be brand new and pristine, but I will take into consideration purchasing a new one. No one else has commented on this, but I will accept your constructive criticism,

As to beach chairs, they are in a picture on the website and easily available for use, all useable, as well as boogie boards, noodles, buckets, shovels, sand toys, and inflatables for the children. I am sorry you couldn't find them.

I also stand by the accuracy of my listing.

Just as confusing as when you arrived, perhaps, is your quote, upon leaving a week later, with no indication of any problems:. quote "Hello It was a great family week!." sent at 7:20 AM on Saturday.

A week later things must have changed. and you had different thoughts. I am sorry that you feel this way, certainly, that the cleanliness of the house was below your standards, but again, I appreciate your guest review. I am glad the view and private beach met your expectations.

Thanks

John Burlin .

Dudley, MA
Member since Dec 2011

Happy to start thinking about next year!

Date of Stay: July 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
D H
Cheshire, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for a fantastic home to vacation for the week! Weather could have been better but the house and location were amazing!

Date of Stay: July 2021
Date Submitted: July 2021
C W
Duxbury, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We've had a great week and have loved being in your house. So yes please, please pencil us in for this week next year.

Date of Stay: June 2021
Date Submitted: July 2021
R W
Sudbury, Suffolk, UK
(Homeowner Entered)

All the improvements are greatly appreciated!

Date of Stay: June 2021
Date Submitted: June 2021
O T
Auburndale, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks again for the AWESOME week

Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
A H
Nutley, New Jersey
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful time and truly enjoyed having the view out the windows!. Thank you so much.

Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
L S
North Andover, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you again for everything, great time and host!

Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
D R
Northborough, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

All set. Just took a last dip in the water and on the way out. What a beautiful spot! Thanks

Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
D O
Arlington, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Once again, ... is beautiful and so comfortable and we've just had such a special time with family. Endless gratitude.

Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
N S
Northfield, Vermont
(Homeowner Entered)

Great time. Not sure what our plans will be for next year, but your place was great.

Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: June 2020
J D
Norwell, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for everything! The charm and setting of your house is unparalleled. We had a wonderful time!

Date of Stay: September 2019
Date Submitted: October 2019
N S
Northfield, Vermont
(Homeowner Entered)

Loved our week here again.

Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
A S
London, England
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful week.
The weather was great and all went well.

Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
P J
Highland, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

Love the house & having a WONDERFUL TIME!

Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: July 2019
G K
Fairway, Kansas
(Homeowner Entered)

Great place!

Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: July 2019
J K
Essex, Connecticut
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful time!

Date of Stay: October 2018
Date Submitted: November 2018
A G
Minocqua, Wisconsin
(Homeowner Entered)

We are, indeed, having a wonderful and relaxing vacation at your incredible house! So well equipped, lots of space, beautiful views, relaxing reading in the Adirondack chairs

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: November 2018
John B
Wilbraham, Maryland
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you so much for your email. We had a wonderful week.

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: November 2018
P J
Highland, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

The kids loved staying in the beach house, hope everything was left in good condition!
Please can we book the same week next year?

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: November 2018
A S
London, England
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you , we had a lovely time and great weather.

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: November 2018
P R
Stephentown, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

John, Just wanted you to know we enjoyed your home this week. We have decided to leave on Friday to beat all the 4th of July traffic as we hit it all the way back to our home. Loved the view....the ping pong table was a huge hit with our grandchildren as they have never played. It just worked out great. All was well.....thanks so much.

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: November 2018
D H
York, Maine
(Homeowner Entered)
An amazing experience!

We had 10 adults (in and out throughout the week) and 1 little guy (3 yrs). We were all comfortable, and even on the couple nights where we were all there together we weren't tripping over each other. The upstairs was kind of hot midday, but by evening opening windows provided a quick cooldown. Small kids should probably be kept downstairs for sleeping because of the steep stairs and heat during nap time. Bring a baby gate if you have a little one that won't follow the rules. The outside shower was awesome! The pressure is perfect, and it was the most refreshing shower I have ever had. The shower in the garage is perfect for getting sand off your feet.
The beach was absolutely perfect for little ones. The tidal pools have little pockets of minnows and a little chicken on a string will lure tons of tiny crabs at low tide, which proved super exciting for our little man. We saw some seals while kayacking in the bay.
The views are amazing from several places in the house. While eating our breakfast, we observed an adorable family of otters eating their breakfast. From the master bedroom the view of the bay and the boats is stunning all day, but absolutely breathtaking at sunrise and sunset. The kitchen was fully stocked with cookware. The house was completely stocked with everything you could possibly need for a fun rainy day inside. However, we were lucky and didn't have any rain. I don't know how anyone would want to leave this place to do sightseeing, but there are many cool places within 15 minutes from the house. We had a long list of things we still wanted to check out by the time we left, but we had a really hard time even leaving the grounds because there was so much to do on site. I wouldn't miss the Chatham Fish Market to observe the day's catches coming in and the seals fighting over fish. There is a bait shop about 6 min up the road. They are a little eccentric but they were patient with our little one who was overdue for a nap. They gave us some great advice on where to fish. Great vacation. If you are on the fence, this is the place to stay for sure.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Rochester, NY
Member since Aug 2017

We had a fantastic week ! Great location, near everything we wanted to do. Weather was perfect the whole week !
Thanks again for letting us rent !'

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
J M
Springfield, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Our first week was wonderful. Rainy day yesterday but we did not mind, good day for games and puzzles

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
P R
Stephentown, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

Weather here glorious! Cool and sunny. Have been enjoying the beach and water. And the additions to the house! AC and outdoor shower are wonderful though we haven’t needed the AC after the first day.
We had a fantastic time at the house this year!

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
C K
Fairport, Kansas
(Homeowner Entered)

John, Thank you for having set up a wonderful vacation property, your instructions and attention to details. It was a joyful and peaceful stay.

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
S I
Long Island, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

We all had great time

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
O T
Auburndale, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Again, many thanks for letting us enjoy your wonderful home for another year adding to our family memories.

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
P J
Highland, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

Hello John, We had a lovely time. Thanks for asking. All the best.

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
M S
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
(Homeowner Entered)

We did indeed enjoy our visit to your lovely beach property this past week. The location couldn't be beat and we felt that we didn't have to go anywhere because the enjoyment was right there within view.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
C L
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi John - we did have a wonderful time and the boating was great - also liked the warmer water at the beach - nothing like Nauset.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: September 2016
S C
Farmington, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi John, We had such a fantastic time in Chatham this year---the house was great, the weather was beautiful and we had such a nice visit. I want to reserve the house again for next year. SB - Lincoln, MA

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: September 2016
S B
Lincoln, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a fantastic week and the house was beautiful and perfect for us.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: September 2016
M R
Brooklyn, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi John, We had a great time. The house was perfect for our large group and the ability to moor our boats and leave the Sunfish and kayaks on the beach was just what we needed. Thanks for you help and advice regarding the moorings, etc.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: September 2016
B L
North Easton, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Great week - weather was awesome - family enjoyed so much we want to repeat next year.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: September 2016
A H
Nutley, New Jersey
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a great vacation.

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: September 2016
J G
Cambridge, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a great time at the house and in the Cape. Thank you for opening your home to us for the week.

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: September 2016
M L
Lewisberg, Pennsylvania
(Homeowner Entered)

Enjoyed the visit, did some kayaking, used the beach, and took some day excursions around the Cape.

Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: September 2016
C T
Richmond, Rhode Island
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks John, Its refreshing to be back. We had a few hours on the beach, grilled dinner on the patio, ending the night with the boys played battleship and the girls reading ... doesn't get much better then this. Thanks so much for opening your home to our family. It's a very important time for us to recharge before the intensity of school. And for JS's book on images of Chatham. Love the shots of the marsh.

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2016
P J
Rosedale, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

John, We had a great weekend and enjoyed your property greatly. We are heading out in 20 minutes and have left the keys where instructed and the garage door open for the garbage men. Thanks for a great weekend and memories we can all cherish. This is my 22nd year coming to the Cape and the best summer by far. Thanks,

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2016
E B
Rochester, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

Hello John, we are enjoying our stay at the house. The only issue that needs some attention is the kitchen sink facet. As I'm sure you're aware, the handles are stripped, which makes its hard to turn on/off (dripping). We are dealing with it, but would suggest it be addressed to reduce water/oil/waste usage.

Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: September 2016
J B
New Paltz, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

John, I meant to email you but you beat me to the punch! I wanted to write to say thank you for allowing us to rent your home. We had a great time. The location was great. The only thing missing was some better weather! Again, thank you for letting us rent your home. It was truly perfect and we hope that we could possibly rent it again next year. Have a great winter!

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2016
P M
Belmont, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

John, The home and location were great. My family enjoyed the experience and the view from the house.

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2016
T D
Highland Mills, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

At some point during the weekend, the discussion turned to next summer and prompted me to take a look at the calendar for the Chatham house. I noticed that August is booked but that July 26 - August 2 is open. Can you confirm and let me know the 2014 rate for that week? We would be interested in securing that week. We've really enjoyed the house over the years and look forward to continuing next summer! Kind regards

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: September 2016
D H
Cheshire, Connecticutt
(Homeowner Entered)

JOHN: Just arrived with part of the Crew. House looks GREAT!! The improvements are WONDERFUL, Especially the A/C - it's 92 degrees in North Chatham. Can you Believe that? MANY THANKS!

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: September 2016
G K
Fairway, Kansas
(Homeowner Entered)

"Absolutely wonderful, the weather cooperated, and the house was perfect."

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: September 2016
T M
Millis, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi John, Well, sadly we're on our way home. We had the most wonderful time in your house. You surely didn't forget a thing. The air conditioning was fabulous. It was a very hot and humid week and we don't know how we would have survived without it. Thank you so much! We had the opportunity to meet and chat with your lovely dad when the washing machine conked out. Couldn't believe there was a new one when we came back from the beach. Again, thanks for the attention to all the details we haven't found in any of the "Cousins Camp" houses we've stayed in.

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: September 2016
S M A
Ridgewood, New Jersey
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi John, I'd like to thank you again for making your home available for my family. We are so enjoying the week and the weather. The seclusion, time with my kids and salt air has been wonderful.

Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: September 2016
P J
Rosedale, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

We're going to need your help in pointing out the mooring. No rush, as we won't put the boat in until tomorrow (Mon.). Love the house!

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: September 2016
R L
Amherst, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi John- I wanted to let you know that we enjoyed your house thoroughly!!! I even made Beach Plum Jelly from the bush out front. We found so much more to do than we have in the past...crabbing and clamming included! Thanks so much.

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: September 2016
M F
Hampton, New Jersey
(Homeowner Entered)

We had such a great time at your place! We got to see the Orleans fireworks from the backyard; it was a fun show. Thanks so much!

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: September 2016
C L
New York, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

Lovely spot you have here, John. We got in yesterday, and are amazed at the location.

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: September 2016
R M
Ontario, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)