Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Ocean View Dining and Deck in Chatham, Cockle Cove, updated!

South Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 26548
2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 4
Beds: 1 queen, 2 twins, also queen sofabed in living room
Beach: 2/10 of a mile to Cockle Cove Beach
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 4 years, 6 months
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Overlook Cottage Chatham, Ma.

My wife and I recently spent a week at the Overlook Cottage. It was exactly as described, a clean and quiet spot close to the beach. Because of the incredible view from the back deck we ended up eating there more often then planned. A short drive to downtown Chatham with little to no traffic. My favorite seafood market down the street, nothing more we could ask for. Our host Steve was awesome and available if needed. There are many rental homes in the area and most with fancy upgrades and large rooms, but NO place had this view. If you just wanted a nice quiet place to get away, this is it!!! Can't wait until next summer.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: July 2019
Owner Response:

Tom, it was very nice to meet you both! I'm glad that you had a good time and a great experience. Thanks for staying at Overlook! Next Summer will be here before you know it!

Bridgewater, MA
Member since Jul 2019
A Great Spot In Chatham

When I grew up, my family had a cottage in Cockle Cove so this was a return many years later to a special place on the Cape. This property had it all from our experience - a great location, proximity to the beach, beautiful views, peace and quiet and a central location for visiting places of interest on the Cape. The owners were helpful and available and the property well kept with everything we needed for a great time. Eat in or go to one of the great places to eat close by. Shop and visit in Chatham. Visit Wellfleet, Provincetown, Hyannis and more. Great resources and ideas available at the house. Watch fishermen, birds and wildlife from the deck and take in beautiful views of the Sound. Loved it. No problems at all. Thanks for the memories!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: June 2018
Owner Response:

Thank you for the review and for staying at Overlook cottage! It was very nice to meet you both. Happy trails, and I hope we will see you again! Steve

Member since Feb 2018
Lovely Cottage with Amazing Views

My wife and I stayed at this beautiful place last year for one week. This property was AMAZING. Quiet neighborhood, beautiful beaches, and amazing views! We loved it so much that we came back this year again! If you are looking for a gorgeous, comfortable place in the perfect location then you’ll love “Overlook” cottage as much as we do. The cottage has incredible views of the water and the marshes with wildlife that you can watch while sitting on the deck eating, talking, reading and just relaxing. This cottage is very clean and is well equipped with everything you could possibly need for your stay. The kitchen is well stocked and sparkling. We enjoyed our stay at the cottage tremendously and didn't want to leave. We would definitely recommend this gorgeous place to our friends!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Owner Response:

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your kind words! It is always nice to meet with someone who appreciates what our little cottage has to offer! I hope to see you both next Summer!

Chestnut Hill, MA
Member since Jul 2017
Chatham Gem

An enchanting view awaits you at this charming cottage. It is cozy and exceptionally clean, with all the amenities you need for a comfortable vacation. Ownership pride is evident here with investment in a new washer/dryer and a new dishwasher. What a magical spot!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: June 2017
Owner Response:

Janet, it was very nice to meet you, a fellow Chatham lover! Thanks for staying in our cottage... I hope we'll see you again soon!

Member since Jun 2017
Soooo perfect

This is the perfect get-a-way ... just enough space with an endless view of the water. We loved the new bath, cozy living room and especially the deck. It was spotless when we checked in and the owners who live nearby were the perfect hosts.... full of ideas where to eat/shop and just enjoy a great vacation. We'll be back !!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: April 2017
Owner Response:

I'm glad you had a great time. See you in the Fall!

Saint Louis, MO
Member since Dec 2011

Great getaway!
5 of 5 from Homeaway
This little cottage is easy to fall in love with - out the back door is a short stretch of flat marsh (with countless birds, animals and a lovely breeze) and beyond is the ocean. You can hear the lapping tide and see the sailboats as you sit on the deck and have your morning coffee. The beach is just a short walk and is absolutely lovely! Be sure to check out low tide, when you can walk out really far and still stay only up to your knees, and the tidal pools are filled with lots of critters.
The house has everything you need, including the charm of the Cape as we hear it once was (this was our first time!). Working with Steve, the owner, was easy and he's quite nice. We will be back for sure! Don't forget to try the seafood pie at the nearby pie shop, and their cinnamon buns! :)

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
Stacey K
Narberth, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

View alone is worth the stay.
5 of 5 from Homeaway
The yellow cottage is a nature lovers paradise, views of both the ocean and the marsh(which is teeming with wild life). The cottage was as described, clean and well supplied, just bring your bedding. Location was close to restaurants and attractions including a short walk to Cockle Cove beach. Would recommend to family and friends.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
Nancy B
Colchester, Ct
(Homeowner Entered)


Best stay in Chatham in over 30 years!!!
5 of 5 from Homeaway
We had an amazing vacation and loved our stay in the yellow cottage. Perfect for my family of 4 and a view of the Ocean to die for. The wildlife is wonderful: heron,deer,rabbits, and a pack of coyotes and their pups shared the property with us for a true South Chatham experience. I have been going to the Cockle Cove area almost every year since 1982 and this was by far my best experience. Up to date cottage just seconds from the beach. I would highly recommend if you want a true Cape Cod experience and truly relax.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: April 2016
Elijah B
Rochester, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Can't wait to go back!

5 of 5 from Homeaway

This was our second time staying at the little yellow cottage and certainly won't be our last! The size is perfect for my husband and I and our two young daughters and the location is just perfect. The walk to the beach is short and pleasant and the view from the back deck is just gorgeous! We enjoyed watching a mother coyote and her two pups frolicking in the marsh behind the cottage a few mornings which was a special treat along with other wildlife and countless birds. The beds were comfortable and the cottage is outfitted with absolutely everything we needed. Chatham is the perfect location for a family with young ones as there is a wonderful playground and ball field downtown along with fun shops and restaurants. Can't wait to go back!

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: April 2016
Kelley M
Middleboro, Ma
(Homeowner Entered)

Perfect, quiet place on the Cape with great views

5 of 5 from Homeaway

The cottage is perfect for me. The first time I saw it, I was so pleased because it was exactly like the online posting's description. I wanted a quiet, private place that would make me feel like I was living there, not just vacationing. It has just the right amount of space and amenities. It is always clean (love the new bathroom remodel), the view is spectacular (sitting on the back deck is so relaxing) and it is very easy to get to. A great location from which to explore the rest of the Cape. Steve and Barb are so nice and allow you the peace you look forward to when getting away from it all. I have been there 5 times in 2 years and will be returning as long as they will have me. I love referring to it as "my cottage" and HIGHLY recommend it!

Date of Stay: May 2014
Date Submitted: April 2016
Judy S
Shorewood, WI
(Homeowner Entered)

5 of 5 from Homeaway
My aunt and I have rented this little piece of heaven for three years in a row in the early days of May, and I'm afraid we do feel quite attached to it now. There's plenty of space for us since we each have our own room (but it would be fine for four adults and still doable for six friends). My aunt is in her 70's, so the single-floor layout is as important as the quiet neighborhood location.
And we have all the conveniences of home: a well-appointed kitchen, comfy furnishings, laundry, TV, books, games, a fireplace, and more. Of course the deck and view (to echo other reviewers) are bonus features that make this cottage a very special place. We love to stroll on the beach or pop into town for treats and shopping, but the location in Chatham is also convenient for exploring up or down the coast without making it a really long day. Steve (the owner) is friendly, accessible and helpful but rarely seen otherwise, so it feels like our own private cottage on The Cape, even if it's only for a few days a year.

Date of Stay: May 2008
Date Submitted: April 2016
Nancy M
Endicott, NY
(Homeowner Entered)