Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Charmingly Authentic Cape Cod Cottage
Falmouth Vacation Rental - ID 27400

4 BR
1 ½ bath
Sleeps 8
Beds: 4 BRs: 1 king, 2 doubles, 4 twins
Beach: Under 1/2 mile to Surf Drive Beach
Guest Reviews: 15 reviews
Time active: 7 months
Contact details:
  Email Jane Baronas
Contact Jane Baronas, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (617) 327-4894 (After 6pm), (617) 792-3393 (Cell).
Please mention Property ID# 27400 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
15 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Family Vacation

Your description of your charming, authentic Cape house was right on the mark. It was a perfect vacation for our 1st annual Regan get together. You had all the amenities and more. It was truly a cozy, charming house with so much yard space and extra beds! And it was great that we were right in the middle of a walk away from downtown, bike trails & the beach. Perfect vacation!! Thank you for your amazing hospitality!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Boston, MA
Member since Dec 2016

My family and I rented this Cape house for a week in July and had a great time. It was very charming. We loved the back porch and spent a good deal of time relaxing out there. The rooms were comfortable downstairs and although it was a bit hot upstairs when we arrived, once we opened the windows and got the fans going, it cooled off pretty well. We grilled at the house a few nights but went out a few nights as well to a couple of the restaurants nearby. The location was great... Very close to the beaches on Surf Drive and very close to the Cape Cod Rail Trail which we road on every day. We had a wonderful stay. Thank you!

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: December 2016
Janice L
Oakland, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

Completely helpful and responsive owner. A pleasure to deal with. The house is exactly as described - a Charmingly Authentic Cape Cod cottage. If you want Ritz and Glitz, go elsewhere. If you want Cape Cod as it should be - go here. The house is well stocked with the sorts of things one needs but for a short stay, one might not want to buy. There is no need - most of those things are provided e.g dish washing liquid, soap, kleenex, various sizes of plastic bags etc etc. It is a short drive to all the area beaches, a well stocked supermarket and very close to downtown Falmouth. The street is quiet and pleasant. This is a lovely base for a classic Cape Cod Summer break.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: December 2016
Aubrey D
Brookline, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We could not be happier with our stay at Swing Lane in Falmouth. The house is adorable, we enjoyed many meals on the awesome back patio. Jane was so helpful. I have severe fragrance allergies and she went out of her way to make sure the house was not cleaned with products that bothered me. Would absolutely recommend this property!

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: December 2016
Susan M
Hartford, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We've been using HomeAway for years now, and we LOVED this rental! Quiet, walkable street AND neighborhood. Boat tours and much more in easy walking distance. Shopping in easy walking distance. Good division of space (we rarely saw the teenagers, and they liked having their own space). Also enjoyed sitting in the back yard watching the rabbits frolic. All in all, we recommend this rental, and we'd do it again.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: December 2016
Trey B
Buffalo, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Truly a charming house-it is exactly as described in the posting! We loved that we were located in a very quiet little neighborhood (no street traffic- definitely a plus!) and a 5 minute walk in different directions got us to the beach, the ferry, the market, downtown, or the field for the Falmouth Commodore games! The house was clean, and had everything we needed- we were able to easily cook from the well stocked with pots/utensils kitchen, there was very good connectivity so I could check in with the office on occasion, really, it had everything we could ask for. For a small house, every inch of space is well-utilized. The two bedrooms downstairs are plenty large enough, and the dorm style room upstairs is perfect for even my older-teen kids. There were 5 of us there for the week and we had plenty of space; a larger family would be just as comfortable. The owner is responsive and very easy to work with- our reservation, check-in and check-out process went seamlessly. I cannot think of a single thing we'd change- this house is absolutely perfect for a peaceful getaway. We enjoyed a very relaxing vacation and will absolutely reserve this house for a week next summer. Loved it!

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: December 2016
Bev H
Collinsville, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

My family and I absolutely loved our stay in this antique Cape Cod home! It is a large home, decieving from the outside! The many rooms and plentiful beds was just what we were looking for for our wedding weekend in Falmouth. This home was charming with its built ins, fireplace, lovely bedrooms and beautiful back yard. We were close to some wonderful resturants, I highly recommend the Flying Bridge and The Boat House, both on Scranton Ave. This home supplied us with everything I could have possibly needed and more.I did not need to bring anything but personal items. Many linens, towels, pots, pans, dishes and cleaning supplies, games, books and movies at our disposal. We enjoyed our morning coffee under the covered patio in the very private back yard, and strolled to the harbor down the street. We were close to shopping and beaches, markets and bakeries. The owners were very accommodating and very easy to work with giving us all the information in a timely fashion. The house itself was very clean and comfortable. Plenty of room for everyone, including two t.v.'s. The yard was well kept and neat with beautiful trees and bushes.The description was as stated in the advertisment and allowed us have a stress free vacation that provided us with fond memories. We throughly enjoyed our stay in Old Cape Cod! Diane and family

Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: December 2016
Diane A
Worcester, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We've been vacationing in Falmouth for years but until this year, had not found an affordable house that suited our active family. We have now found the place. The upstairs is wonderful for children who want some space of their own and there is plenty of room for guests. The kitchen is very roomy for a vacation house and having a second room with a TV is a great amenity. The house was clean and the furniture was suitable to a relaxing vacation. Jane could not have been more accommodating before and during our stay. We loved the yard, the proximity to the beach, bike path and downtown. Windfall Market and Clam Shack around the corner was especially nice. The street is quiet and flat -- great place for kids to learn to ride bikes! This is a house we will come back to again and again. Please let us know if you ever want to sell!

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: December 2016
Jim H
Flagstaff, AZ
(Homeowner Entered)

This was a wonderfully comfortable home inside and out for our family of 7 (3 generations). The owner was great to work with and wanted to make sure our stay in their home was memorable. This home was very clean and well maintained and could easily accommodate 8 people. It is in a quiet neighborhood setting. With small children we were mostly interested in the beach (Falmouth Heights -a short drive or bike ride), convenience to Main Street, and the bike path - all of which were easily accessible. The yard, especially the back, is a real gem for little ones to run and play safely. Inside, the kitchen is extremely well-stocked,. The bedrooms and baths also had very adequate linens, etc. While we didn't need a/c, we did mention to the owner that we thought it might be a plus in the warmer parts of the summer. We would definitely recommend this property to others

Date of Stay: May 2012
Date Submitted: December 2016
Carol Y
Louisville, KY
(Homeowner Entered)

Staying here was as comfortable as if we had been at home--and it made us feel as if we were veterans of the Cape. Description spot on--a block to the entrance of the inner harbor, easy walk to the beach, loads of sleeping space and we had plenty of room to spread out--inside or out. The neighborhood was nice, the patio a comfortable place to relax, and the back yard big. We felt a complete sense of privacy. The kitchen had everything we needed to eat in and the downtown seemed to have EVERYTHING else--including great ice cream! We tried the Indian and Mexican and both were terrific. Bathroom was nice and clean and the shower is awesome--very important after a day of collecting a salty second skin. One of the best in finishing touches was being able to do a load of laundry and head home with a suitcase full of clean clothes. Easy to get to and easy to find-- and, with a little map help, easy to avoid the downtown area during the busiest times. Will definitely plan to go back and would happily recommend the house to others!

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: December 2016
Richard D
Needham, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Nice house for family vacation. Website gives accurate representation with descriptions and house photos. The owner is excellent to deal with and very helpful with suggestions. Nice back-yard for kids to play. No air-conditioning for the top floor bedrooms may be an issue on very hot days/nights, but was not a problem for our stay. Surf Drive beach about a 15 min walk away, but with a larger family and "equipment" in tow suggest taking the short drive. Falmouth Heights beach a bit further but much nicer - arrive early as only about 20 metered parking spots available for non-residents. Highly recommend biking the Shining Sea Bikeway, or just biking the wonderful shoreline roads nearby. Clam chowder and lobster bisque at the Quarterdeck restaurant on Main St is the real deal, and fried clam strips at The Clam Shack (a three minuite walk from the house) also excellent. Nice kids playground behind the public library on Main St - next to a school.

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: December 2016
Victor M
Osining, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

This Falmouth home is lovely and enjoyable. The location is not an unbearable drive from Central MA because you can avoid major traffic often experienced further down the Cape. The house is extremely clean and well-stocked with kitchen utensils, washing machine, dryer, bedding, towels, 2 tvs, a DVD player, WIFI access, and plenty of beds for the family. There is a porch at the back of the house where my family and I loved to eat our meals. We also spent time outside reading and enjoying the quietness of the neighborhood. Relaxation was key. The house is within walking distance to the nearby Surf Drive Beach, Clam Shack, harbor, and center of town. Stop & Shop is a 5 minute drive from the house, which was convenient when needing last-minute items for meals. The house is also located close enough to the bike path. My family and I were very comfortable and content in this house for our Cape getaway.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: December 2016
Janice R
Shrewsbury, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We truly enjoyed our stay on Cape Cod. The property was as described, clean and in a peaceful neighborhood - this is a classic Cape Cod cottage. The experience reminded me of family vacations to the Cape during my youth. The grounds are relaxing yet big enough for some outdoor games when we felt like it. The owners provided all kinds of information on local activities, restaurants etc.. and were very responsive to the few questions we did have. Downtown Falmouth has lots of great shops and restaurants to choose from. We most enjoyed early evening walks from the house to either the harbor area to watch the boats or to the beach to take in the setting sun. Woods Hole is a short drive away and is worth the trip - something for everyone there. We will most certainly return to this beautiful spot when we have a chance. We would recommend this property to friends - owners were easy to deal with - the whole process was quite smooth.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: December 2016
Harry C
Southboro, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

This location is great! It is truly convenient to everything. The private and well-tended backyard and patio was a great place for "just hanging out", BBQ, allowing the kids to play. Quiet neighborhood. House well equipped with amenities. House as described in listing. Attentive owner.

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: December 2016
Dick M
Sacramento, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

Feel like you are coming home again to the Cape house that has been in the family for years! This is clearly a well-loved and well-cared for home for families to gather and enjoy time together. The house meets or exceeds every bit of its information as posted on this site. It is located one street away from the harbor, where there are boats to stroll by, retaurants, and the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. It is also a short ride through quiet residential streets to the bike path. Downtown Falmouth is a short walk away, a pleasant stroll home after a great meal at one of the many restaurants there. Major grocery stores are also nearby. Located in a quiet neighborhood, the house is quite private with lovely front and back yards, perfect for lawn sports after a day at the beach. There is a gas grill on the patio and a garage to store your bikes. The upstairs is perfectly suited to a family, with a dorm-type room for the kids, and a private double-bed room for the parents. There is a half bath on this floor. The first floor has a double-bed room and a room with two twins and the full bath. Ignore the upstairs, and it is a great romantic get away, or use both floors for a multigenerational extended-family stay. Wood's Hole is a bike ride away, and has an aquarium, more ferries to the Islands, and terrific restaurants and shopping. With a car, you have access to most of the Cape's attractions outside of Falmouth--the National Sea Shore and more terrific bike paths, for example. Our favorite excursion was a whale watch out of Barnstable--much closer than the ones that leave from Provincetown. The owners provide an extensive binder of information and brochures about what to do and see while there. I would absolutely recommend this property to a friend.

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: December 2016
David C
Beverly, MA
(Homeowner Entered)