Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Topside Boathouse
Pleasant Bay, South Orleans Vacation Rental - ID 25897

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 4
Beds: 2 BRs: 1 double, 2 twins
Beach: Swim off the deck or walk 1/8 mile to town beach.
Guest Reviews: 15 reviews
Time active: 1 year, 10 months
Contact details:
  Email David Manning
Contact David Manning, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 680-6797.
Please mention Property ID# 25897 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
15 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Memorable Stay!

What a wonderful experience we had at the Boathouse! We stayed for 2 weeks and could not have enjoyed it more. David was wonderful to work with along with Margaret and Scott who pitched in for him while he was away. Waking up each morning to an amazing view and then to also see the sunset at night from the deck was incredible. I also was lucky to catch 6 stripers right off the deck, and we so enjoyed also seeing the seals swim right there as well. The Boathouse itself was so cozy and interesting. Hoping to stay next year...same time...same place!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2017
Date Submitted: November 2017
Enfield, CT
Member since Apr 2013
Serenity and Tranquility

We stayed for a week in August and never were more relaxed in all our years of coming to the Cape. A cup of coffee on the deck at sunrise... a glass of wine at sunset. All the features of staying on a boat without the rocking... waves lapping, seagulls calling, the smell of the ocean... nothing gets better than this.

Great accommodations, clean, neat, and well maintained. David was excellent to work with and could not have been nicer. We plan to come back next year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
Needham, MA
Member since Sep 2011
Authentic and Unique

This is as close to living on a boat as you'll get without getting your feet wet. Walk out the door and you'll experience being right on the bay under the wrap-around boardwalk with the water lapping underneath. Charming and comfortable living room and bedrooms chock full of maritime atmosphere. Great location convenient to Nauset, Skaket beaches and restaurants to suit all appetites from take-out lobster to fine dining. Hosts are gracious and accommodating and on-site in the main house to answer any questions and ensure that you have everything you need for a memorable stay.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Highlands, NJ
Member since Jan 2009
Great stay at the boathouse

We have renting vacation homes on the Cape for the last 15 years. Our stay at the Boathouse was great and ranked high on our list. Being right on the water but with the gentleness of the Bay, the location is just precious. We enjoyed having our coffee in the morning on the deck and can just go paddling right off the dock. The owners are right next door and are super helpful and friendly.

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: June 2017
Boston, MA
Member since Mar 2013
Just as good the second time

We've always enjoyed discovering new spots to spend vacations on the Cape, and last year with the Topside Boathouse we found--hands down--the very best! The other reviews paint the picture exactly as you'll find it at Topside. From David's gracious hospitality, to incredible sunrises and sunsets on Pleasant Bay, to cozy evenings surrounded by warm lighting and vintage décor--Topside has it all. And since last year there have been numerous thoughtful upgrades, including an outdoor shower and vanity, which we used almost exclusively during our stay, and a new mattress in the master bedroom. As another reviewer noted, if we could give ten stars, we would. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: June 2017
Crownsville, MD
Member since Apr 2014
Wonderful stay on Pleasant Bay!

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Topside Boathouse.The house itself actually feels like you are staying in a boat on the water! The proximity to the water is literally about six feet from the back of the house. We enjoyed the comfortable accommodations so much. The home is well appointed and very comfortable. The house has a nice big outdoor shower. The wonderful deck runs along the back of the entire home and around one side. Waking up to the most beautiful sunrise over the water is truly the only way one should wake up! David, the owner, couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: May 2017
Waterford, NY
Member since Dec 2008
Fabulous in every way!

My husband and I happened across the Topside Boathouse on the last day of a trip to Cape Cod last year, called to inquire of its availability for this May, and were thrilled to find it available. Primarily, we fell in love with its location at the very end of Pleasant Bay, uniquely and peacefully situated right on the water, and from the outside we interpreted that it would be equally charming inside. We were not disappointed. Every conceivable aspect of our recent stay at Topside Bothouse was absolute perfection! David, our host, was equally impeccable. Upon arrival he gave us a tour of the property, and was present and extremely helpful throughout the week with any questions we had, and we had many!

My husband and I love to fish and came to the Cape with the intention of going offshore fishing, though we quickly discovered that the most fruitful fishing we experienced all week was right off of the dock at the Boathouse. Which was nothing short of thrilling! We caught over a dozen Striper Bass off our very own dock while sipping coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the late afternoon, and David was there to enthusiastically cheer us on and help us net in a few of the catches.

The kitchen is well appointed for basic cooking needs, and the main living quarters are sconce lit with dimmers, which I adored at night for warm lighting. While the bathroom isn't large, there is ample storage and it is quite cozy, and the master bed is right on the water and gives the feeling of sleeping on a stationary vessel with the faint sound of the lapping waves.

Our experience was so fantastic that we are returning for the entire month of September, and for that trip David has already generously assisted us with sailing class information, boat rentals, etc. for our upcoming stay. If I could give this wonderful retreat 10 stars I would do it, but alas I can only go up to 5! Many thanks again, David, for your fabulous hospitality and for sharing your family home with us. We can't wait to see you and meet your lovely Anna in September!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: May 2017
Nashville, TN
Member since May 2017
Wonderful stay at the Boathouse

What a charming place. My wife and I spent a week here in late August and had a wonderful experience.

The basics: We arrived to an impeccably clean house that has been well tended to. David was there to greet us and give us a tour of the house and the property, while explaining the basic guidelines for our stay (garbage location, light switch controls, the dock protocols, etc.). The Boathouse is located adjacent to the main house where David and his wife reside, but privacy was never an issue.

The house is, literally, on the bay. There is decking off the back of the house which is perfect for sitting, relaxing, and taking in the glorious views. My wife was lucky enough to watch seals swimming in the bay on one occasion. The main bedroom has windows that look out onto the bay as well, which allowed us to wake up to beautiful sunrises each morning. If you’d like to sleep in, the bedroom is also equipped with heavy curtains to block the morning light.

The house is cozy and rustic, and nicely decorated, almost giving the feeling of being on a boat. The kitchen is adequately stocked if you would like to cook in, and is equipped with microwave, toaster, dishwasher, etc., all of which are new. The second bedroom, which we did not use, is spacious and equipped with twin beds, and would seem best suited for younger children, but that would depend on the people staying, of course.

The house is in a great location. It is a 10 minute drive to Nauset Beach, which you can purchase a weekly parking pass for. It is 10 minutes to downtown Orleans, which has shops, restaurants, and grocery stores. In the other direction, downtown Chatham is a 15 minute drive which offers numerous places to dine, shop, or people watch.

There are a couple of peculiarities about the house that one should be aware of. As David explained, the house utilizes a septic system due to its close location to the bay, and water conservation is a consideration. This means only flushing the toilet when necessary, and using the outside shower if possible, which I used every time I showered as it was my preference. Additionally, the mattress in the master bedroom is very firm, which my wife and I liked, and when I mentioned this to David in passing, he commented that he had installed slats underneath the mattress because he felt it was too soft, so those can probably be removed if need be.

Overall, this is place was a home run for us. We hope to be back next year, and cannot say enough about the hospitality shown to us by David and his wife.

Kind regards,
Andrew and Donna McIntosh

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Nanuet, NY
Member since Jun 2008
Truly on the water

My husband and I stayed here with our daughter, and all three of us had a marvelous week. The perfect location over the water, the boathouse makes you feel like you're in the cabin of a ship! We enjoyed the sounds of the lapping waves under our bed and all enjoyed the fully enclosed, brand-new outdoor shower. The kitchen was outfitted as well as you'd expect of a large home. Our daughter spent the day lounging on the water, steps from her room. The owner, David, was terrific, friendly and helpful.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Chappaqua, NY
Member since Jul 2016
Perfect vacation!!!

This was the perfect vacation getaway! The house is charming and lovely. The views of the Bay are absolutely amazing! The owners were wonderful and accomodating. I woke up this morning longing for the cool breeze and sunrise from the Boathouse deck. I would love to stay here again!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Member since Jul 2016
Chillax!

This was the first vacation I've been on where I actually came home relaxed and refreshed. Loved waking up to the sunrise outside my window, reading on the deck and watching the stars at night while listening to lapping waves and enjoying cool breezes all day and evening. If you're a boater, or always wanted to be, you'll appreciate the charming nooks and crannies and authentic boat features within the home. It's like being on a boat without the hassle! Conveniently located to shopping, beaches and dining but miles away from stress and tension. Nice too, that linens and towels were included.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Highlands, NJ
Member since Jan 2009
Topside Boathouse

We thoroughly enjoyed our week on the Cape. The weather was perfect and the Topside Boathouse was everything we imagined from the pictures and the positive reviews. The house is charming. It was obviously built with great pride and has an authentic, nautical feel to go along with its ideal location on the water and views of Pleasant Bay. The kitchen is well equipped and the owners who live next door were gracious and delightful hosts. I highly recommend the Boathouse and give it a perfect five out of five.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Member since Jul 2016
Amazing view

I already miss our wonderful boathouse! We so enjoyed this quaint property that is arranged so nicely. Our family loved waking up to a beautiful sunrise and jumping out onto the dock. The beach is close by for clamming, there is a slip for the boat, and a wonderful patio out back for grilling! What else do you need?

Also, I'd like to thank the owners for showing us around and being there for any questions. What a lovely family!

We will absolutely be back!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Ridgefield, CT
Member since Jul 2016
Stunning views, cozy comfort, ON the water

We've rented vacation homes on the Cape for more than 15 years, but have never been in one that so utterly charmed us--with its location, its comfort, and its amenities. If you've ever wondered what old Cape Cod felt like, look no further than Topside Boathouse. From the gracious welcome by the owner (whose house is next door), to being able to see fish jump in Pleasant Bay--and then walk down the dock to catch those fish, to the vintage nautical décor, Topside Boathouse has all this and more. And there's nothing more pleasant than lying in bed at night, watching the moon rise over the bay, and then rolling over the next morning to watch the sun rise over that same bay. Pure delight. Highly recommended.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: May 2016
Crownsville, MD
Member since Apr 2014
It doesn't get better than this!

Honeymooned here many ears ago, and have returned every year since then. I could roll out of bed, onto the deck, and into the water without going more than 8 feet. The water in Pleasant Bay is much calmer than the ocean and is beautiful for swimming, canoeing/kayaking, sailing and wind-surfing. My daughter, her husband, and their two little girls have stayed here many times. Sleeping at night, almost right on the water, with the gentle surf sounds, is intoxicating. This is Cape Cod charm at its best! There is a wonderful sandy beach right next door, a 2 minute walk, to the right in the photo.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: January 2016
Henniker, NH
Member since Jan 2016