Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Waterfront Modern Air Conditioned Cottage on Pleasant Bay
Orleans Vacation Rental - ID 29120

1 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 2
Beds: 1 BR: 1 queen
Beach: 4 miles to Nauset; 3 miles to Skaket
Guest Reviews: 16 reviews
Time active: 9 months
Contact details:
  Email Molly
Contact Molly, by e-mail, or at .
Please mention Property ID# 29120 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
16 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
5 years of peaceful vacations here

We've rented Molly's cottage for two weeks each of five summers. It's been the perfect place for us. Most important is to be able to walk just 200 ft to our kayaks that we keep nestled on the bank of the peaceful Namequoit River near where it joins Little Pleasant Bay. We paddle whatever distance and direction we feel like, exploring and revisiting many destinations. We also enjoy cycling into Orleans and then on to destinations along the Cape Cod Rails to Trails or just walking along nearby quiet dirt roads. And nothing compares to sitting on the back deck sipping coffee each morning as the sun begins to warm us. It's the true definition of a "hideaway"!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Owner Response:

It is always wonderful to have you return to the cottage for your two week sojourn in this beautiful spot. I think you both might love it here more than we do -- hard to imagine. You did paddle everywhere this year and did explore on your bikes more and more of the Cape. We hope we see you next year for your sixth time in the cottage. Thanks again for renting with us. All the best.

Pittsboro, NC
Member since Sep 2018
Exceptional Cottage!

We are finishing up a 2 week stay at this guest cottage. The house and location have exceeded our expectations in every way! The location in the private Mayflower Point area is incredibly quiet and picturesque. The private dirt roads are a pleasure to walk. Residents have made a concerted effort to preserve the natural landscape. Much to our surprise, we have seen turkey and deer on the property. And we have heard the Great Horned Owl at night. While kayaking we have seen an Osprey, seals and a pair of swans.

The cottage is immaculate. The owner has done everything imaginable to assure that renters will be comfortable. The decor is charming. Ceilings are high and there are lots of windows and sliders - all contributing to the bright, airy ambiance of the cottage. We are already chatting about our next visit!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Owner Response:

Thank you! We are so happy that you have had a good two weeks here. The weather was wonderful (OK there were two unbearably hot days but the AC helped) and it seemed like you two explored ALL of Pleasant Bay in your kayaks. This is a wonderful spot to experience the calm of the waters and nature all around. Hope we do see you again next year. Thanks for renting with us.

Member since Jun 2018
Top-notch

Exceptionally quiet, clean and comfortable cottage with 2 deck areas and outdoor gas grill. Layout is great; lots of window light. A perfect fit for two. Owner is pleasant and responsive. Orleans is full of natural beauty and is convenient for Cape excursions.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Owner Response:

So glad you had a great time in the cottage, despite the rain storm one afternoon. . We enjoyed having you both and are glad you appreciated the quiet of the neighborhood. Here you are in the middle of August and "August" is barely noticeable on Mayflower Point -- little traffic and NO noise -- that's what we love about it here. Hope you will be back next year and again, thank you for renting with us.

Bryn Mawr, PA
Member since Mar 2013
Perfect Cottage

This was our 5th year at this wonderful cottage. It has everything you need for a delightful week from home. This year we hiked, beached and shopped (not my husband's favorite thing to do!) and coming back to the cottage to relax on the wraparound deck was the perfect way to end each day! If you are able to visit in June, I highly recommend it. It's a perfect time to visit ..the days are warm, the beaches aren't packed, and you rarely, if ever, wait at a restaurant to be seated. It's our favorite time of year at the Cape.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Owner Response:

It was great to have you back again this summer. We agree that June is probably the best time on the Cape for all the reasons you listed. This year you had a perfect weather week with everything in full bloom on those longest sunny days. See you next summer and again, thank you for renting with us.

Delmar, NY
Member since Jan 2018
Our home away from home

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful cottage for a week at Mayflower Point during the past six summers (2012-2017). After our first stay, we knew that we would return every year because we immediately felt at home there. If we hadn't decided to build our own house and make the Cape our permanent home this year when we retire, we'd be returning to the Mayflower Point.

The cottage has everything you need and its location is perfect - secluded, yet an easy drive to Orleans, Chatham, beaches, ponds, hiking trails, restaurants, etc. There is direct access to launch your kayak or canoe and you don't need to drive anywhere to take a beautiful walk.

If you rent this cottage, you will love that the only thing you need to bring are your sheets and towels. The washer and dryer are a plus, as is the fully equipped kitchen. The cottage has been upgraded over the years since we first stayed and it now has air conditioning - a big help if you're there during the hottest time of the summer. The internet connection is excellent and there's cable TV. You will also find beach chairs, games and puzzles, books, tourist brochures, and videos.

The owners are gracious and available if needed, but never intrusive. You may come across other listings that rent for less, but I assure you that this cottage will spoil you after your first visit and you will agree that it's worth the difference to stay in this comfortable, lovely cottage in such a perfect location.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: March 2018
Owner Response:

We loved having you all those years and are so happy that you found and built your dream place to finally retire here on the Cape. We will miss having you as cottage guests but look forward to having you as part of the Cape community.

York, PA
Member since Mar 2018
Nice secluded cottage

My wife and I stayed here in August of 2017. The place is just the right size for a couple. It has a very nice kitchen and deck with gas grill. Area is secluded next to the owners' home and overlooks the large lawn out to the water. Open living room, dining area. The kitchen is nice and opens to the large main deck with table and chairs. Kitchen has all the amenities with stove, microwave, coffee maker, large refrigerator and cooking and eating utensils. It is a bit out of the way off dirt roads, and you need to follow the directions given as GPS does not work in the area. Close to Orleans for baseball, restaurants, and beaches. The owners are great hosts and the place is immaculate. Would recommend and would love to visit again!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: February 2018
Owner Response:

Thank you for your review -- it is great to know that your first time in the guest cottage was so enjoyable. And we like that we are "off the beaten path," so to speak. Makes for a quiet, peaceful vacation for everyone. We enjoyed having you and look forward to having you come again sometime in the future.

Member since Jan 2016
Peaceful cottage

What a wonderful beginning to summer. We truly love your little cottage and how, when we come down the driveway, it feels like coming home. We had another wonderful week of peace and relaxation.

Thanks for the wine. We had it when we grilled fish - it was delish!

See you next year and enjoy the rest of your summer. Craig & Barb

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Owner Response:

We enjoyed having you stay in the cottage for your fourth year in a row. That week in June is always reserved for you both and so glad you had an even better time this year. See you next year.

Delmar, NY
Member since Jan 2018

We feel lucky to have discovered Molly's cozy little cottage a few years ago on VRBO. This is our third year there for a couple of weeks in September. We surely hope to return again next year. Pleasant Bay is stunningly beautiful, my very favorite place for kayaking at all tidal conditions. Our kayaks are kept snugly upon the bank of the Namequoit River, just a short walk away from the cottage. From there, we can paddle in all directions in Pleasant Bay as well up the river to Arey's Pond! And also from the cottage, it's just a 15 min. cycle to reach the Cape Cod Rails to Trails in the center of Orleans. Stop on your way back at a delightful little garden stand on Monument Rd. to enjoy local vegetables and fruit. We spent our honeymoon in Orleans, 51 years ago and have been coming back ever since because nothing for us compares to the beauty of this area.

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: January 2018
Fran D
Pittsboro, NC
(Homeowner Entered)

My husband and I stayed here for a week and loved it. It's peaceful and very private, yet ideally located for access to all the Orleans waterways and related boating and beach activities. Close to Captain's Golf Course, an easy drive to Chatham, Orleans, Brewster, Harwich. All that said I was content to just sit on the decks and drink coffee (or wine). It was hard to leave each day but we sure did and we had a great time. Very clean and comfortable and well outfitted. Thanks again, Molly.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: January 2018
Susan C
Olympia, WA, USAS
(Homeowner Entered)

This is our third year staying at this perfect Cape Cod cottage and we will be returning next year. The cottage has everything you need for a wonderful visit including birds singing and a delightful breeze off the water. If you are looking for a peaceful charming place this is it. Thank you Molly for sharing this wonderful place -- we love it!

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: January 2018
Barb P
Delmar, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

What a wonderful week we had in this cottage. It looks idyllic online, but it's even better in person. Imagine sipping your coffee from the deck, overlooking the lake, while songbirds serenade you. The location is ideal. We were able to easily enjoy Chatham, Harwich Port, Hyannis, Provincetown and more, and easily get back to the cottage. And the beach... what can we say about nearby beautiful Nauset Beach! The kitchen is spacious, and nicely equipped. The cottage is comfortable, well decorated, and spotless! Molly is a wonderful host. We had a great time!

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: January 2018
Bob A
Trumball, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

My husband and I were married in Brewster on June 28th, and we wanted a perfect place to enjoy our Cape Cod honeymoon. This cottage was perfect! It was so bright, peaceful and private. We are both nature lovers, and this cottage suited our love of the outdoors, while still being so modern and comfortable. We loved relaxing outside on the main deck and enjoying that magnificent view! We look forward to returning.

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: January 2018
Mary A
Webster, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

While staying in this cottage, I felt like I had come home. I summered on the Cape in my teens and lived and worked there for 10 years recently. This cottage captured all that I loved about the Cape. The view of the water, the wooded surrounding area, the smell of fresh air and pine, and the quiet and serenity. The house had everything we needed. The owners and management company were very helpful and quick to respond to questions. The location is perfect for touring all the Cape - you can hop on Rt. 28, Rt. 6, Rt 6A within 5-10 minutes. If you want the cape cod experience, I would definitely recommend this cottage/charming house. We plan to return here next year.

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: January 2018
Sharon A
Sarasota, Florida
(Homeowner Entered)

My wife and I had never visited Cape Cod, and are so happy and fortunate to have found this cottage on our first trip here. The cottage is located in a very quite and secluded area that we found very pleasing, but it is centrally located on the Cape to all of the attractions that we visited during the week of our visit, and is very close to all that Orleans has to offer. We especially like the Orleans area for it's small town feel and friendliness. The cottage has everything in the way of amenities that we could have expected, wanted, or needed. It is well maintained, clean, and a very relaxing place to be. Our host, Molly, was warm and gracious was very helpful in recommending local places to visit. This is a place that would be easy to return to and we hope to do just that. I highly recommend this to any couple that wants to visit the Cape.

Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: January 2018
Mark R
Springfield, IL
(Homeowner Entered)

This was our third time renting this wonderful cottage in Mayflower Point. When we discovered it two years ago, we knew that we would be back every year. The setting couldn't be better - easy access to Orleans, yet tucked into the woods where the only sounds you hear are the birds that sing such lovely songs every morning. The grounds are gorgeous, with a stunning view of the water and just enough clearing to allow the sun to shine through the many windows. The cottage has EVERYTHING anyone could want to make the stay comfortable. If you rent here, I am sure you will agree that it will become your home that you look forward to coming back to every day and, perhaps, every year. We will definitely be here the same week in August until we retire to the Cape. We were fortunate to have an absolutely splendid week of weather that allowed us to take full advantage of the many activities on the Cape. These include a bike ride (30+ miles) on the Cape Cod Rail Trail, kayaking for three hours on the Town Cove in Orleans (rented kayaks at Goose Hummock), two splendid hikes - one in the Punkhorns and another on the Great Island Trail in Wellfleet. We certainly slept well every night! Other less physical activities included the block party in Orleans, strolling through the town of Chatham, dining in great restaurants in Orleans and beyond, and attending Pops in the Park, a wonderful annual event in Orleans.

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: January 2018
Cindy D
York, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

From Australia, we searched the VRBO website for a one-bedroom cottage on Cape Cod that was centrally located and in a beautiful setting where we could experience life on the Cape for two weeks. How delighted we were to find that, on arrival, our choice was just perfect! With views over the Namequoit River, amid woodlands and a beautiful garden, the cottage was exactly what we had hoped for...a hidden gem. We were easily able to explore from Hyannis to Provincetown from this site...and even managed a day ferry trip to Nantucket. The cottage itself has two wonderful decks that are ideal to take advantage of the vistas and sunshine. Inside it is light, modern, very clean and has excellent facilities. There was even a bottle of wine to greet us on arrival. We would highly recommend this cottage to both overseas visitors to Cape Cod, and to the many Americans wishing to holiday there.

Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: January 2018
Kay B
Perth, Australia
(Homeowner Entered)