Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Sea Spirit Cottage..Couples' getaway for Autumn specials
Wellfleet..adjacent to Bike Tr Vacation Rental - ID 25051

1 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 2
Beds: 1 BR: 1 queen, single sofa bed
Beach: 1 mile to LeCount ocean beach on bike trail
Guest Reviews: 14 reviews
Time active: 2 years, 3 months
Contact details:
  Email Valerie Scheel
Contact Valerie Scheel, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 349-9401.
Please mention Property ID# 25051 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
14 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Delightful Stay at the Sea Spirit

My husband and I recently spent a wonderful week at Valerie and Bill's beautiful Sea Spirit Cottage. As you can see from the pictures, the cottage is beautifully appointed with all the accrutiments one would expect in a "home away from home". Located in Wellfleet, the cottage is only 17 miles from Provincetown. But don't spend all your time there because Wellfleet is a gem of a town.
The Bookstore Restaurant is terrific. And don't forget to walk around back to the real bookstores. The owner knows much of his stock and obviously loves his store.
Valerie and the owners, are very hospitible, willing to give you special hints on where to go and what to do. And they may even serve you ice cream!
P.S. Have Valerie give you a tour of the house, its history is fascinating. Don't miss out on this hidden treasure.
John and Scott.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Member since Feb 2017
Wonderful stay!

My husband and I had such a wonderful vacation visiting Wellfleet and staying at the Sea Spirit Cottage! The cottage is very clean, private and beautifully furnished. The kitchen and cupboards are stocked with everything you could possibly want or need for a very comfortable stay. The beautiful and thoughtful touches all throughout the cottage are very special and allow this property to really stand apart from others. It's not just a generic rental cottage for these owners. They really went above and beyond to create a warm and welcoming environment, and it shows! Also, the shower in the cottage has best water pressure you could ever ask for, and the bed was so comfortable. Both allowed for the perfect endings and beginnings to each new day!

Valerie and Bill (owners) live in their own separate home on the property, close by but not too close by any means! They were such wonderful hosts available for anything, extremely kind, warm, welcoming and were available anytime you need them or had a question, but they were also very respectful or your privacy and in no way intruded on that privacy in anyway. We could not have asked for more!!!

Also, for anybody looking at this rental who may be concerned about its close proximity to Rte 6, all I can say is it didn't bother us in the least, and we had the windows open all week! The cottage is set back so you are certainly not looking directly at Rte 6 out the windows, and there are large bushes in the front of the property which allow for great privacy. We so loved our stay at the Sea Spirit cottage. It was a magical week all around and we can't wait for a return visit!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Owner Response:

This review underscores the vital importance of communication between owners and renters BEFORE payment is received which is now only possible with WNAV and not other rental sites. We have communicated with Pam often and long before her vacation which naturally resulted in a perfect fit. Not only did Pam and Tom love and appreciate Sea Spirit, but we were equally delighted with them and their stay. Guests like these are what makes a cottage rental a joy and great satisfaction. Thank you so much, Pam and Tom.........we already miss you and look forward to your return.

Member since Jan 2017
Sea Spirits Lifts the Spirit

We had a lovely stay at Sea Spirits Cottage. Valerie provided us with all the information we could possibly need regarding the bike trail, beaches, and restaurants in the area. She was clear about being available to answer any questions we might have, but also respecting our privacy. We loved having the option of swimming in the ocean, the bay, or the ponds. The cottage has a deck that was perfect for dinners. Also, the kitchen was extremely well equipped.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Alma, MI
Member since Jul 2017
Wonderful cottage and location!

Valerie and her husband were the best hosts and provided a most lovely accommodation! Their home is surrounded by trees and conveniently located in the heart of it all; steps from the rail trail for walking or biking, the ocean & beaches, kettle ponds for swimming, hiking trails, a 5 minute drive to the village of Wellfleet, 25 minutes to Provincetown, and close to a number of wonderful breakfast, lunch and dinner places. The cottage was private, comfortable, and pleasing. The hammock was a perfect spot for reading and napping. Valerie made us feel very comfortable and welcome. They truly provided a wonderful accommodation for our first visit to the Cape.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Owner Response:

So very glad your first visit to Cape Cod was all you had hoped for......that is always our goal. Wellfleet is a magical place we love to share.

Rochester, NY
Member since Jul 2017
Great location and a cute cottage

This was the perfect location for our few days on the Cape. The cottage is just as described and lovely inside and out. Off road parking and very private. We would consider staying again. One more thing...great water pressure in the shower.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Owner Response:

Many thanks to these ideal guests. Although we finally had a bit rain, this couple had a most fulfilling trip, reading, relaxing,hiking, touring and enjoying the Cape in autumn. We loved their attitude......it is tenants like Siri and Ernie which make "cottage keeping" such a personal pleasure.

Bloomingburg, NY
Member since Aug 2016
Peaceful, relaxing

Enjoyed being close to bike trail, also walk through the woods to Marconi Beach. Cottage clean and comfortable with many extra personal touches like fresh flowers in vases. Owners helpful with area information. We stayed for a week, highly recommend.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: December 2016
Pine Bush, NY
Member since Apr 2015
Un lugar para disfrutar

Mi hijo y yo nos quedamos en la cabaña de Valerie y John en Wellfleet por una semana y la pasamos de primera. El lugar es privado, con una vista bonita pero muy bien situado cerca de restaurantes y playas. Valerie conoce mucho todo el area del Cape y nos dio muy buenas sugerencias de lugares para visitar. La casita esta decorada muy al estilo de Cape Cod y tiene todas las comodidades adentro y afuera. Se puede cocinar adentro o en el BBQ de gas,y hay mesas en la terraza y en el patio para comer. Tambien hay una ducha afuera. Valerie habla español y es una anfitriona muy amable y hospitalaria. Nos encanta recomendar esta casita que es ideal para una pareja.

Translation:
A place to enjoy
My son and I stayed at the cabin of Valerie and John in Wellfleet for a week and had a great time. The place is private, with a beautiful view. It is conveniently located near restaurants and beaches. Valerie knows much about the area of the Cape and gave us very good suggestions of places to visit. The house is decorated in the style of Cape Cod and it has all the amenities inside and out. You can cook inside or on the gas BBQ, and there are tables on the terrace and in the courtyard to eat. Also there is a shower outside. Valerie speaks Spanish and is a very friendly and hospitable hostess. We are delighted to recommend this cottage which is ideal for a couple.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: April 2017
Roslindale, MA
Member since Aug 2016
Could not have picked a better place!

We loved our stay at the Sea Spirit cottage!

First of all, the listing is extremely accurate and thorough, and the cottage was everything we expected and more. It has everything you need for your stay on the Cape. The cottage was the perfect size for me and my husband, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Probably the best sleep I have ever had!

The cottage was clean and well-maintained and decor was very on theme for a cottage on the Cape. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed to cook (even a lobster pot to cook lobster)! The outdoor shower was a great extra, very happy to have that after a day at the beach or a bike ride on the Rail Trail (which is 1 minute from the cottage).

We contacted Val through a vacation rental site, she got back to us straight away and provided us extra details about the Cape and the property and made our reservation. Val and Bill were amazing hosts, and we are so lucky to have met them and stayed at their cottage (thank you so much for everything, you really went above and beyond to make our stay great)!

The location is awesome! We were a short, short drive to the beaches and ponds (where we spent most days) and also a really great location for traveling other towns (which we did most evenings).

We have already recommended this cottage to a friend! And we can't wait to come back and enjoy another beautiful week in Wellfleet at the Sea Spirit cottage.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Member since Oct 2016
Perfect week in Wellfleet! :)

Valerie and John were superb hosts! My girlfriend, my daughter and I had a perfect week in this beautiful, charming cottage! The cottage is close (5 min on bicycle) from Lecount Hollow Beach, which is very beautiful! We had everything we needed: complete, clean kitchen, grill, exterior shower (very useful when coming back from beach). The bedroom was spacious enough to have a small bed for our daughter in the bedroom beside ours without being encumbered. We really enjoyed everything in this place. Hope to come back next year!

Simon, Jennifer, and Florence

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: December 2016
Member since Dec 2016

My partner and I stayed at the Sea Spirit for a week to enjoy a laid back and low key week together after getting married. We are both very pleased with our decision to stay at the Sea Spirit. First and foremost, the owners Valerie and Bill made us feel welcomed and comfortable from the moment we arrived. They are genuinely nice people that take an interest in being good hosts which came through in many ways. For instance, Valerie provided us with detailed maps and instructions on different things we may want to do, tailored to our interests. We took her suggestions on many things and enjoyed it all. All the while, we didn't feel intruded upon or overburdened by the owners, they are available if needed, otherwise they made our privacy and seclusion a priority. For us, this property was a choice above others because it is suitable for a couple, very well maintained, and visually pleasing in the interior design and outdoor gardens. Also, we loved being a short bike ride to the ocean beaches. We highly recommend the Sea Spirit!

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: March 2015
Stacy W
(Homeowner Entered)

Valerie and John were superb hosts. Having worked in the travel industry previously there is nothing Valerie doesn’t know about Wellfleet and if she doesn’t know ask and she will take great delight in researching this for you. The cottage was cute, lovely and well equipped. We enjoyed our stay; thank you.

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: March 2015
Beverly R
(Homeowner Entered)

Our time on the Cape at Sea Spirit was just amazing. Luck had a bit to do with it as we had picture perfect autumn weather (but even rainy days in the cottage would have been wonderful!)... as fabulous as the weather was, our discovery of the Sea Spirit Cottage and it's delightful hosts, Valerie and Bill, made for a week for which we will always feel nostalgic. There is an old Patti Page old jazz standard, "Old Cape Cod"…and it describes our week perfectly. You will be “sure to fall in love with old Cape Cod" at Sea Spirit. It is everything other reviewers have described|: idyllic setting, spotlessly clean, beautifully appointed, close to beaches and the bike trail, and oh so cozy. But it is thanks, as well, to our hosts Valerie and Bill, and their generous spirit that truly contributes to setting this little hide-away apart from others. Thank you for sharing your home, and your lovely little cottage! We hope we see you soon again! John and Madge

Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: March 2015
John P
(Homeowner Entered)

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sea Spirit cottage last week and we are already wishing we could return! The cottage is lovely - clean and cozy. It's got a beautiful canopy of trees that keeps it cool and shaded. The location is perfect - five minutes from several gorgeous ocean beaches and a ten minute drive to charming downtown Wellfleet. Minutes from the Cape Cod Rail Trail so bring your bicycles (or rent them from the shop right down the road)! Bill & Valerie were wonderful hosts - always available but never at all intrusive and with loads of knowledge about the area. Our only regret is that we didn't book our trip for two weeks! Highly recommend a visit to Sea Spirit.

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: March 2015
Diane R
(Homeowner Entered)

Sea Spirits is a charming, spotlessly clean cottage! Valerie and Bill gave us a warm welcome and great advice as to where to go and what to see! The nearby beaches are beautiful and peaceful, we especially loved White Crest. Drive in, beach walks, lazy afternoons and great food. It was a simple holiday with and old fashioned appeal. The cottage was the perfect setting. We would go again in a minute!

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: March 2015
Clare C
(Homeowner Entered)