Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Walk to Dyer Pond-Peaceful Surroundings

Wellfleet; less than a mile to Vacation Rental - ID 27815
3 BR
1 ½ bath
Sleeps 8
Beds: 1 queen, 1 double, 2 twins, Queen Size super comfy sofa bed
Beach: 1 mile Mayo Beach and 1 mile Cahoon Hollow
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 3 years, 8 months
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
It's a house that's hard to leave

This house just guarantees you will feel mellow and happy. The setting in the woods is peaceful. The short walk to Dyer Pond is magical, as is Dyer Pond. The house has many unexpected spaces for privacy as well as good gathering spots for everyone. The deck is lovely; the house is well equipped; the bedrooms are comfy. It's a short easy drive into Wellfleet and close to other ponds and ocean. And Suzanne and Curt are great hosts and people-- responsive, flexible and lovely. You'll have a great vacation here!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Owner Response:

Thank you for your review! We love the location of this house and the ability to step out the door to enjoy peaceful walks through the CC National Seashore and the ponds. The village with restaurants, shops and the harbor is close by. It's hard to beat this location if you like Wellfleet and all it has to offer!

Irvington, NY
Member since Aug 2019
Everything you need for a perfect getaway

My family of 5 (kids ages 8, 6 and 3) plus grandparents stayed a week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in this lovely home. The house was extremely clean, comfortable (including the pull out sofas!) and charming. Everyone loved the outdoor shower to clean up after hitting the beaches and enjoyed dining on the spacious deck nearly every night. Location is close to everything. Thank you to Suzanne and Curt for being so accommodating and responsive from the very beginning! We are already looking forward to next year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Owner Response:

Corin,
Thanks very much for your review! We enjoyed meeting you and your family. Wellfleet has so many wonderful places to explore for families! The ponds, the ocean and the bay! Many (like you) visit with grandparents year after year, creating vacation memories for the generations. Look forward to seeing you again in Wellfleet! Suzanne and Curt

Member since Jan 2020
Magical visit

We had a wonderful week! The location is perfect, and the house is very comfortable and provided everything we needed (we had anywhere between 3 and 8 people staying during the week). Suzanne and Curt were great hosts, very attentive and responsive. We are already thinking about when we might be able to return!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2019
Date Submitted: September 2019
Owner Response:

Colin, You and your family took great care of our house! September IS a magical time to be in Wellfleet. The weather, ponds and ocean are warm plus there is no traffic on Rt 6! We look forward to seeing you again. Suzanne and Curt

Member since Mar 2019

Hi Suzanne,

Wow, what a perfectly beautiful weekend! Thank you so much for renting to us! It was so peaceful. There was a little baby sparrow sunning himself on the deck, and it reminded me that it's ok to take a break! He stayed right there near me for quite some time.
We went to the drive in. That was so nostalgic! I remember my folks taking my sis and me back in the 60's! Knowing you have that beautiful dog, you might like A Dog's Journey. Beautiful movie!
BTW, new restaurant called The Brine, almost across from Fairway, had great breakfast!!

Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: June 2019
Nice L
CT
(Homeowner Entered)
Relax in the perfect location!

We love this house and have returned for years. It is very comfortable and everything you need for a happy family vacation is supplied. Suzanne and Curt go out of their way to help with any questions or issues. The large deck, secluded and surrounded by trees, is a particular joy. And it has the best location in Wellfleet - you can walk to town or to two gorgeous ponds!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: February 2019
Owner Response:

Kate, Thanks for your review. We've lost track of how many years your family has been staying at the house! And we agree, the proximity to the ponds plus the privacy provided by the wooded location make this a special place. We hope you come back to Wellfleet for many years to come. Suzanne and Curt

New York, NY
Member since Feb 2017
A place that has it all

We truly enjoyed everything about our stay here. The house and location are ideal, especially its close proximity (& walking distance) to the best ponds & beached.... & never needing to go on route 6. Curt & Suzanne were wonderful hosts who were there the few times we needed them. Wish it could have been longer & already looking forward to returning.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Owner Response:

Looking forward to seeing you back again in 2019!

United states
Member since Jul 2013
Perfect respite in the woods

We are a family of 7 adults from DC that have been coming to the Cape for 26 years. We wanted to explore Wellfleet and the area. The house was a perfect location from which we could explore the ponds, town and numerous Wellfleet beaches. We spent quiet evenings on the large deck . Kurt and Suzanne were great hosts.. sharing ideas for places to explore and restaurants to try. Loved the area and not having to worry about traffic.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Owner Response:

Thanks for your review, Kathy! We enjoyed meeting you and your family. We are always happy to share our "picks" for local hot spots. Hope to see you in Wellfleet again! Suzanne

Member since Feb 2018
Great house in Wellfleet

We have rented this house for many summers in Wellfleet. We have always had a positive experience. House is in great shape, ability to walk to Wellfleet town, Dyer pond and Long Pond. It is on the ocean side in the woods, a nice quiet retreat. It is a great vacation spot and this house works well for those with small children and older ones. Kitchen is fully stocked with pots and pans, and there is plenty of space to invite friends for dinner. Love the outdoor deck.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: February 2017
Owner Response:

Jenn,
Thanks for your comments about our house! You've told me in the past how much you treasure the proximity to the fresh water ponds. We enjoy having you and the kids stay at the house every year, and hope you will come back for many years to come.
Suzanne

Rye, NY
Member since Feb 2017

This is a “Thank You” to the Grays for sharing their lovely home! We have rented on the Cape several times and this home was the best we have been in to date! The Grays were very gracious and easy to work with and obviously wanted us to be comfortable. A detail of the home that we really appreciated was the wood walkway from the drive way to the front of the house and then around to the outdoor shower (a must on the Cape to rinse off a day at the ocean or bay!) Everything in the house was well maintained and the location is great. Many thanks!Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers.

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: February 2018
Skip and Rebecca H
Los Angeles, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

This adorable house is located in the most perfect spot!! We had so much fun and can't wait to go back next July. The walk to the more secluded dyer pond is easy and my kids favorite place to go swim. The house definitely did suit our needs and it's so peaceful. The owner Suzanne was extremely helpful and so sweet. I recommend this home, just not the week we will go every year, I love it so much I am claiming that week as ours. ;-) see you at the beach Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: February 2018
Pro V
(Homeowner Entered)

This charming house in the woods is well appointed and sleeps 8 comfortably. Long Pond and Dyer Pond are just a short walk in the woods and Wellfleet town center is just a 15 minute walk or short bike ride away. It was great that we didn't all have to pile in the car every time we wanted to go somewhere and it was ideal for my teenage girls who could go off to the ponds or into town on their own. We all had a fantastic time!

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: February 2018
Lu Lu P
(Homeowner Entered)