Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Large, charming Cape home in private setting near beach

South Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 29150
5 BR
3 ½ baths
Sleeps 11
Beds: 4 queens, 3 twins
Beach: 2/10 mile to Pleasant Point
Guest Reviews: 14 reviews
Time active: 2 years, 10 months
14 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Very Special Week

We just came back from Wellfleet and I can't wait for next summer, when we get to stay at David's and Cathy's house again.

It's a great house! It's got everything a family (or three) would need – spacious backyard for kids to run around, very comfortable deck (we had lovely meals there), magical front porch (where kids sorted and traded their shells), sunny, comfortable master bedroom (with a separate balcony), well planned out dining room and living room, and four more rooms that are perfect for guests.

The kids loved the hammock (which fits at least three kids!), fire pit and a cute tiny pond with a bench to enjoy a Monet moment (in front of the house). Adults loved the kitchen full of supplies, which you don't see in other houses, such as a coffee grinder, French press (in addition to regular coffee maker), knives to shack oysters, great knives, sharp peelers, garlic smasher, grater, and large variety of utensils.

David and Cathy have been super responsive to our questions. It was a pleasure dealing with them.

As I write this review, kids are asking if we can go back sooner then next summer. David/Cathy, can we??


Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Owner Response:

Your kids are very wise- of course! You are always welcome. Thank you for recognizing all those small items that we obsess about. We offer the house that we are comfortable living in, and we are so glad that you enjoyed it so.
David & Cathy

Jersey City, NJ
Member since Aug 2020
Fabulous Wellfleet home!

Our two close families, 4 adults and 4 kids, travelled to Wellfleet and spent a glorious week at David & Cathy's well-appointed home. They were both so helpful in the lead up to renting their property and promptly answered all our questions. As soon as we arrived, we knew that we had landed in a magical place. The area was so picturesque with a short stroll to a beautiful lookout where we would drink our morning coffee. The house looks small but is actually quite big! The adults each enjoyed a master bedroom with a full bath and the kids and adults all loved that the kids had their own floor!

The house had everything we could need! We loved the full garage space to keep our bikes and gear. The outdoor shower was fantastic, and we enjoyed smores by the outdoor firepit. The house is well located in a central location and connects with some Audubon trails with a lovely lookout over the marsh. There is an easy walk or bike ride down to the local swim spot / marsh beach. We also enjoyed the use of the 2 kayaks.

Finally, the house was very clean, and we appreciated Cathy & David's detailed instructions and information about the area as well as their awareness of COVID-19 and the manner in which they addressed concerns about sanitation etc. We cannot say enough good things about this house - we hope to visit again soon.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Brooklyn, NY
Member since Aug 2020
Fabulous vacation home

Again, a wonderful stay in this great property. We came back for our second year. We made great use of the well equipped kitchen as well as the games and creative, building activities for the kids. Our grandchildren love the nature found all around the grounds of the house, especially the active frog pond. The home, inside and out, is clean, comfortable and quiet. We felt that all cleaning and accommodations for Covid-19, were handled with diligence.

There are multiple places to gather as a family or to retreat for quiet time and zoom access. The addition of a fire pit this year, provided outdoor gathering for eating, singing and s'mores! Who could ask for more?

We love Wellfleet, the beaches, ponds and eateries all convenient to our location. We all can't wait to return next summer.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
Owner Response:

Thank you, and you will be welcomed back with open arms. We are so glad that you enjoy our house so much -David

Providence, RI
Member since Aug 2019
S Wellfleet

A lovely time was had by all. Nice and roomy beach house was appreciated by all! Our hosts, David and Cathy, were more than helpful and accommodating. Would definitely recommend this place for privacy and tranquility.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
Owner Response:

Thank you El. We were glad to welcome you for this first year and hope you return for many more.
David & Cathy

W Hartford, CT
Member since Feb 2019

Enough space for 3 families. Enough fun for 10 families. Its kinda special to be able to walk the trail to the bay. Its fun to be chased by the hermitcrabs. Its fun to find shells, and dunk yourself in the bay!!! There are plenty of games I was particularly Monopolied out after playing it with my 5 grandaughters several nights. Easy home to like! It was a fabulous family vacation time, filled with memories and fun!!!

Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: September 2019
Usa
Member since Sep 2018
Wellfleet Home on Drummer's Cove

This is a large and lovely home in southern Wellfleet. The kitchen and the home in general is very well-stocked and well-maintained. The layout is perfect for several couples or families. The kitchen is larger than it appears in the pictures and was so functional! The living areas on the first floor were spacious and the deck with its multiple bird feeders was fabulous. I had worried there might be many mosquitoes due to the location of this property but we were never bothered at all either sitting on the deck or walking in the area. The first floor master bedroom which opens onto a hallway with first floor laundry and a door into the large, clean garage was perfect for my daughter's family that included a 3 month old. Private and so comfortable! The large Master bedroom on the second floor and two large bedrooms downstairs were also large and private.

I often hesitate to stay in homes where pets are allowed due to some family allergies but this house was so clean that there was never any evidence of previous pet stays.

The owner, David was easy to work with, Very prompt in responding to communications and always very helpful. Overall we all loved this house and hope we may be able to return for a stay next August.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
Hamden, CT
Member since Aug 2019
Wonderful Time in Your Amazing Wellfleet Home!

Some specific memories we appreciated...we arrived to an immaculate house, found a very well stocked kitchen, we never ran out of silverware, mugs, glasses or plates. Any appliance we needed, you had.

Comfortable beds, great showers, especially the outside shower, plenty of space for quiet reading or group play, beautiful views of nature and great light, many choices of games and toys for all ages, bird watching is our new passion.

The fabulous deck, hammock and outdoor table created great happy hours and many happy meal times.

The hermit crab collecting, the kayaks, the local beach walks...!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
Providence, RI
Member since Aug 2019

A comfortable spot surrounded by the wonders of nature!
Staying at this lovely home felt like we were visiting friends. It was a perfect spot for our family gathering...featuring a wonderful great room with a big, long table for time together, plus separate spaces so we could find quiet time apart. The owners’ generous personalities came shining through. We enjoyed their kayaks and board games, used their very well equipped kitchen, borrowed their bird books to identify visitors to the patio feeder. The air conditioning kept us comfortable, as we had some very warm days. And the location away from city lights provided an extraordinary view of the night sky. The location was good for us, too. It was near some favorite Cape restaurants, with easy access to the national seashore.

We spent a wonderful week here.


Submitted: Sep 20, 2018 | Stayed: September 2018

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Dallas, Texas (TX)
Member since Sep 2018
Welcoming, Bright, Ample Space, Well Stocked and Comfortable!

Everything about the house made us feel at home. We loved that our dogs were welcome. We especially enjoyed the cross breezes on hot days and the spacious outdoor shower. We come to Wellfleet every couple of years and usually rent an ocean front property. We really loved being close to the bay on this visit. The short walk to the marsh below the house and to the Pleasant Point beach down the road offered wonderful low tide experiences to our grandson. We hope to return in coming years.

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Member since Sep 2018

Perfect!
5 of 5 stars
The capehouse is great:charming, super comfortable and everything works! There was ample room for 8, 3 families including 4 children under 12. The deck is great too. There are 4 gathering places. The area is super convenient to beaches, ponds, and bay, no more than 10 minutes. It was a pleasure to deal with David and Cathy. They respond within minutes! We would love to return some day.

Submitted: Aug 21, 2018

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Norwich, Vermont
Member since Aug 2018

Terrific property & location.
5 of 5 stars
This is a wonderful property in a great location. Family thouroughly enjoyed the fishing and kayaking. Also, close access to some wonderful beaches on the Bay side. PTown was a blast as well.

Can't go wrong with this property!

Submitted: Jul 26, 2018

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Stamford, Connecticut (CT)
Member since Jul 2018

Our two families of 4 had a wonderful time at this comfortable property. We lacked for nothing - the kitchen was very well supplied - and the house's layout ensured privacy for all. The property backs up to a conservation trail, which was perfect for dog walks. The washer and dryer performed very well - there was always laundry going. Highly recommend!
Submitted: Aug 29, 2017 Stayed: Aug 2017

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
Kate W
Wynnewood, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

Great house. Accommodated 10 of us easily and with privacy for three families. Location provided easy access to beaches, ponds, stores, ... All that access and the house was on a cul de sac! No traffic!
A special benefit was how accommodating the hosts were to us as first time guests. Quick and courteous response to our questions prior to arrival and even quicker when we arrived.
I guess the greatest compliment is that we want to go back next year. Kind of says it all.

Submitted: Aug 15, 2017 Stayed: Jul 2017

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
Rich M
Weymouth, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We stayed at David's Cape house the week of the 4th of July. Everything was in tip-top shape when we arrived. It is a lovely home and pretty much everything you could need is provided. The location is convenient to ocean beaches, bay beaches, the harbor and Wellfleet Center, yet is secluded and feels off the beaten path. We were a relatively small group of 4 adults but the house is perfect for extended families with areas for congregating and areas for privacy. We only had to put on the A/C one afternoon but we were very glad to have it when it was needed! My dog and I walked the conservation trail behind the house and to Pleasant Point every day. The Cape Cod rail trail is close by and we took advantage of that. We had some terrific meals during our stay including at Pearl, Van Rensselaer, PB Boulangerie, Winslow's Tavern, and, of course, the Beachcomber. The rest of the time we lounged and grilled on the deck with a view of Drummers Cove. A perfectly relaxing Cape vacation in perfect Cape setting. We are looking forward to more happy times here!
Submitted: Aug 17, 2016 Stayed: Jul 2016

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: October 2017
Patricia R
Quincy, MA
(Homeowner Entered)